Murray Leon Pinsky and Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc. — September 12, 2001

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

In The Matter Of
Murray Leon Pinsky
Holder Of A Trustee Licence
For The Province Of Québec
And
Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc.
Holder Of A Corporate Trustee Licence
For The Province Of Québec

Trustee Suspension And Limitation Order
And
Corporate Trustee Limitation Order
Issued Under The
Bankruptcy And Insolvency Act

Whereas Murray Leon Pinsky, trustee, and Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., corporate trustee, operate an office in the City of Montréal in the Province of Québec;

Whereas the Senior Analyst, Disciplinary Affairs of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy has submitted to the Superintendent of Bankruptcy a report (the "Report") on the administration of Murray Leon Pinsky, trustee and Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., corporate trustee pursuant to the general delegation received from the Superintendent of Bankruptcy concerning the application of Subsection 14.02(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (Act);

Whereas the Report alleges the following serious deficiencies in the trustees' administration of the bankruptcy estate of Réal Constantineau:

  1. the trustees, Murray Leon Pinsky and Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., acted in a dual capacity, as trustee and agent, without respecting all applicable requirements, thereby contravening sections 5(5), 13.4, 245 and 246 of the Act and Directives 15R on Costs and disclosure associated with the realization by the trustee of secured creditors' assets and Directive 32 on Trustee's report to the creditors on preliminary administration;
  2. the trustee Murray Leon Pinsky did not carry out his functions in a timely manner and did not act with due care following the judgments rendered on May 21, 1998 by the Honourable Justice Denis Lévesque and on July 9, 1998, by the Honourable Pierrette Rayle, ordering him respectively to remit the rent monies to the petitioners and to keep in trust the proceeds of the sale of a building, thereby contravening section 13.5 of the Act and Rules 36 and 48;
  3. the trustee Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., acting by Murray Pinsky, filed the section 170 report on the application for discharge of Mr. Réal Constantineau without respecting all applicable requirements, thereby contravening sections 13.5 and 168.1 (a), 170(1) of the Act and Rules 36 and 45;
  4. the trustee Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., acting by Murray Pinsky, did not perform their duties in a timely manner and carry out their functions with due care by failing to follow up on the requests made by the inspectors in the resolution on bank debits, thereby contravening section 13.5 of the Act and Rule 36;
  5. the trustee Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., acting by Murray Pinsky, failed, following their substitution of November 24, 1998, to forthwith pass their accounts before the Court and deliver to the substituted trustee all the property of the estate, thereby contravening sections 13.5 and 36 of the Act and Rule 36;
  6. the trustee Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., acting by Murray Pinsky, on November 26, 1998, withdrew from the estate account, fees of $185,000.00, excluding applicable taxes, without the inspectors' authorization, thereby contravening subsections 25(1.3) and 119(1) of the Act;
  7. the trustee Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., acting by Murray Pinsky, failed to request inspectors' authorization at all times and to have the bills of costs for legal services taxed by the Court before paying them, in contravention with sections 25(1.3), 36, 119(1) and 197(4) of the Act and subsection 18(1) of the Rules;
  8. the trustee Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., acting by Murray Pinsky, submitted to creditors, inspectors, the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy and the Court, a statement of receipts and disbursements which did not contain a complete account of all moneys received and disbursed, thereby contravening subsections 5(5) and 152(1) of the Act and Directive 8R on the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act Forms;
  9. the trustee Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., acting by Murray Pinsky, did not cooperate fully with representatives of the Superintendent, thereby contravening section 13.5 of the Act and Rules 36 and 37;
  10. the trustee Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., acting by Murray Pinsky, did not apply to the taxing officer, within 30 days after the Superintendent gave a letter of comment, for a date for a taxation hearing and did not diligently provide this hearing date to the representative of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, thereby contravening sections 13.5 and 152(4) of the Act and Rules 36 and 60;

Whereas pursuant to Subsection 14.02(1) of the Act, the Senior Analyst, Disciplinary Affairs to the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy has sent to the trustee and corporate trustee, a written notice of the powers that the Superintendent of Bankruptcy could exercise and the reasons therefor;

Whereas prior to the calling of any witnesses on September 10, 2001, the first day of the Hearing which had been scheduled to last four days or more, the parties came to an agreement which resulted in the modification of the recommendations in the report of the Senior Analyst, Disciplinary Affairs, which agreement and modification took into account the following factors:

  1. While the Trustee and the corporate trustee did not accept all of the findings of the report as factually or legally correct, the Trustees did acknowledge that their conduct with respect to the matters in question fell below the standard expected of a licensed trustee or corporate trustee;
  2. The Report of the Senior Analyst did not allege any intentional prejudice to any parties, or any intent to defraud on the part of the Trustee or the corporate trustee;

Whereas the trustee and the corporate trustee now accept the modified recommendations of the Report as to sanctions in accordance with the following;

Whereas taking into consideration all the facts and circumstances above referred to, the undersigned does not deem it appropriate or in the public interest to vary or reject the modified recommendations made by the Senior Analyst, Disciplinary Affairs resulting in the consensual sanctions described herein;

I, Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, pursuant to the statutory powers delegated to me under Subsection 14.01(2) of the Act, approve the following agreement and hereby order as follows:

  1. That the licence of Murray Leon Pinsky, trustee, be suspended for a period of 6 months commencing November 1, 2001, during which time the trustee cannot act or represent himself as a trustee in bankruptcy or receiver in any file;
  2. That, subsequent to this suspension period of six months, the licence of Murray Leon Pinsky, trustee, be limited as follows: for another period of six months during which time he will be supervised by a licensed trustee acceptable to the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy,
    1. who will oversee the validity and legality of all payments, disbursements and trustee fees and that all documents, reports, notices and certificates are accurate and filed in the prescribed delays;
    2. who will make a report to the Montreal Division Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy at the end of the third and sixth month to confirm that the trustee has complied with the requirements mentioned in paragraph 2 (a) of this Order;
    3. whose fees and disbursements for the above-mentioned supervision, will not be taken from the estates;
  3. That the licence of Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., corporate trustee, be restricted for a period of 3 months commencing November 1, 2001, to the administration of estates to which it has been appointed as corporate trustee prior to November 1, 2001, during which period of time the corporate trustee cannot be appointed in any matter under the Act;
  4. Failure of the trustee and/or the corporate trustee to comply with any of the conditions and/or limitations imposed on their respective licences pursuant to this order, shall place the trustee and the corporate trustee in default pursuant to paragraph 13.2(5)(b) of the Act;
  5. Each duplicate original of this ORDER signed by the undersigned Delegate is equally valid and authentic and may serve as such for all legal purposes.

Signed in Montréal, in the province of Québec this 12th day of September 2001.

original signed by

The Honourable Benjamin J. Greenberg, Q.C.
Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy



This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Murray Leon Pinsky et Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky inc. — 12 septembre 2001

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Dans l'affaire de
Murray Leon Pinsky,
détenteur d'une licence de syndic
pour la province de Québec,
et
Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc.,
détenteur d'une licence de syndic corporatif
pour la province de Québec

Ordonnance de suspension et de restriction
de la licence de syndic
et
ordonnance de restriction
de la licence de syndic corporatif
en vertu de la loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité

Attendu que Murray Leon Pinsky, syndic, et Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., syndic corporatif, ont un bureau dans la ville de Montréal, province de Québec;

Attendu que l'analyste principal/Affaires disciplinaires du Bureau du surintendant des faillites, conformément à la délégation générale reçue du surintendant des faillites pour l'application du paragraphe 14.02(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI), a présenté au surintendant des faillites un rapport sur l'administration dudit Murray Leon Pinsky, syndic, et de Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., syndic corporatif;

Attendu que le rapport fait état des manquements graves suivants dans l'administration par les syndics de l'actif de la faillite de Réal Constantineau :

  1. les syndics Murray Leon Pinsky et Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc. ont agi à la fois à titre de syndics et de mandataires sans respecter toutes les exigences applicables, contrevenant de ce fait au paragraphe 5(5), aux articles 13.4, 245 et 246 de la LFI et à l'Instruction 15R, qui concerne les coûts et divulgations relatifs à la réalisation d'actifs pour le compte d'un créancier garanti, ainsi qu'à l'Instruction 32, qui concerne le rapport du syndic aux créanciers sur l'administration préliminaire;
  2. le syndic Murray Leon Pinsky n'a pas exercé ses fonctions en temps utile ni n'a agi avec la prudence nécessaire par suite des jugements rendus le 21 mai 1998 par l'honorable juge Denis Lévesque et le 9 juillet 1998 par l'honorable Pierrette Rayle, qui le sommaient respectivement de remettre les versements de loyer aux requérants et de conserver en fidéicommis le produit de la vente d'un immeuble, contrevenant de ce fait à l'article 13.5 de la LFI et aux Règles 36 et 48;
  3. agissant par l'entremise de Murray Pinsky, le syndic Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc. a déposé le rapport prévu à l'article 170 au sujet de la demande de libération de M. Réal Constantineau sans respecter toutes les exigences applicables, contrevenant de ce fait à l'article 13.5, à l'alinéa 168.1a) et au paragraphe 170(1) de la Loi ainsi qu'aux Règles 36 et 45;
  4. agissant par l'entremise de Murray Pinsky, le syndic Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc. n'a pas exercé ses fonctions en temps utile ni n'a agi avec la prudence nécessaire en omettant de faire suite aux demandes formulées par les inspecteurs au sujet du règlement des débits en banque, contrevenant de ce fait à l'article 13.5 de la LFI et à la Règle 36;
  5. agissant par l'entremise de Murray Pinsky, le syndic Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc. a omis, après sa substitution en date du 24 novembre 1998, de soumettre immédiatement ses comptes au tribunal et de remettre au syndic substitué tous les biens de l'actif, contrevenant de ce fait aux articles 13.5 et 36 de la LFI et à la Règle 36;
  6. agissant par l'entremise de Murray Pinsky, le syndic Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc. a, le 26 novembre 1998, retiré du compte de l'actif des honoraires de 185 000 $, abstraction faite des taxes applicables, sans l'autorisation des inspecteurs, contrevenant de ce fait aux paragraphes 25(1.3) et 119(1) de la Loi;
  7. agissant par l'entremise de Murray Pinsky, le syndic Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc. a omis de demander l'autorisation des inspecteurs en tout temps et de faire taxer par le tribunal les mémoires de frais relatifs aux services juridiques avant de les payer, contrevenant de ce fait à l'article 36 et aux paragraphes 25(1.3), 119(1) et 197(4) de la Loi ainsi qu'au paragraphe 18(1) des Règles;
  8. agissant par l'entremise de Murray Pinsky, le syndic Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc. a soumis aux créanciers, aux inspecteurs, au Bureau du surintendant des faillites et au tribunal un relevé des recettes et débours qui ne contenait pas un relevé complet de toutes les sommes d'argent reçues et déboursées, contrevenant de ce fait aux paragraphes 5(5) et 152(1) de la LFI et à l'Instruction 8R concernant les formulaires de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;
  9. agissant par l'entremise de Murray Pinsky, le syndic Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc. n'a pas collaboré pleinement avec les représentants du surintendant, contrevenant de ce fait à l'article 13.5 de la LFI et aux Règles 36 et 37;
  10. agissant par l'entremise de Murray Pinsky, le syndic Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc. a omis de s'adresser au fonctionnaire taxateur, dans les 30 jours suivant la remise de la lettre de commentaires du surintendant, pour obtenir une date d'audition de la taxation et de communiquer sans délai cette date au représentant du surintendant des faillites, contrevenant de ce fait à l'article 13.5 et au paragraphe 152(4) de la LFI ainsi qu'aux Règles 36 et 60;

Attendu que, conformément au paragraphe 14.02(1) de la LFI, l'Analyste principal/Affaires disciplinaires du Bureau du surintendant des faillites a fait parvenir au syndic et au syndic corporatif un avis écrit, avec motifs à l'appui, des pouvoirs que le surintendant pourrait exercer;

Attendu qu'avant la convocation des témoins le 10 septembre 2001, soit la date fixée pour le début de l'audience qui devait durer au moins quatre jours, les parties en sont venues à un accord qui a donné lieu à la modification des recommandations contenues dans le rapport de l'Analyste principal/Affaires disciplinaires, lesquels accord et modification tenaient compte des facteurs suivants :

  1. bien que le syndic et le syndic corporatif n'aient pas accepté toutes les conclusions du rapport au plan factuel ou juridique, ils ont reconnu que leur conduite au sujet des questions mentionnées était inférieure à la conduite attendue d'un détenteur d'une licence de syndic ou d'une licence de syndic corporatif;
  2. le rapport de l'Analyste principal n'a fait état d'aucun préjudice intentionnel ou intention de commettre une fraude de la part du syndic ou du syndic corporatif;

Attendu que le syndic et le syndic corporatif acceptent maintenant les recommandations modifiées du rapport au sujet des sanctions conformément à ce qui suit;

Attendu que, compte tenu de tous les faits et circonstances susmentionnés, le soussigné ne juge pas opportun ou conforme à l'intérêt public de modifier ou de rejeter les recommandations modifiées de l'Analyste principal/Affaires disciplinaires donnant lieu aux sanctions acceptées de part et d'autre et décrites aux présentes;

Je soussigné, en qualité de délégué du surintendant des faillites, conformément aux pouvoirs qui me sont conférés en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la LFI, approuve l'accord suivant et ordonne ce qui suit ;:

  1. la licence de Murray Leon Pinsky, syndic, est suspendue pour une période de six mois à compter du 1er novembre 2001 et, au cours de cette période, le syndic ne pourra agir ou se présenter à titre de syndic de faillite ou de séquestre dans d'autres dossiers;
  2. après la période de suspension de six mois, la licence de Murray Leon Pinsky, syndic, sera restreinte comme suit ;: pendant une autre période de six mois, ledit syndic exercera ses fonctions sous la surveillance d'un détenteur d'une licence de syndic qui est acceptable pour le Bureau du surintendant des faillites, dont les honoraires et débours liés à la surveillance susmentionnée ne seront pas prélevés à même les actifs et qui
    1. surveillera la validité et la légalité de tous les paiements, débours et honoraires de syndic et s'assurera que tous les documents, rapports, avis et certificats sont conformes et déposés dans les délais prescrits;
    2. présentera un rapport au Bureau de la division de Montréal du surintendant des faillites à la fin des troisième et sixième mois afin de confirmer que le syndic a respecté les exigences mentionnées à l'alinéa 2a) de la présente ordonnance.
  3. la licence de Wasserman Stotland Bratt Grossbaum & Pinsky Inc., syndic corporatif, est restreinte pour une période de trois mois à compter du 1er novembre 2001, à l'administration d'actifs pour lesquels le syndic a été nommé à titre de syndic corporatif avant le 1er novembre 2001 et, au cours de cette période de trois mois, le syndic corporatif ne pourra être nommé dans aucun dossier en vertu de la LFI;
  4. si les syndics ne respectent pas les conditions et restrictions imposées dans la présente ordonnance relativement à leurs licences respectives, ils seront en défaut conformément à l'alinéa 13.2(5)b) de la LFI;
  5. chaque double original de la présente ORDONNANCE que signe le délégué soussigné a la même valeur et fait également foi et peut être utilisé à ce titre à toutes les fins juridiques.

Signé à Montréal (Québec), le 12 septembre 2001.

original signé par

Benjamin J. Greenberg, c.r.
Délégué du surintendant des faillites



Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :