Peter Wolkove — November 1, 2001

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada

In The Matter Of Professional Disciplinary Proceedings Under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act ("the ACT")


Province of Quebec
District of Montreal

Opposing:

Mr. Michel Leduc
Senior Analyst in the Montreal District Office of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy
(hereinafter "the Senior Analyst")

And

Mr. Peter Wolkove
(hereinafter "the Trustee")


Presiding: The Honourable
Benjamin J. Greenberg, Q.C.
Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy
(hereinafter sometimes referred to as "the Delegate")


Montreal, September 28, 2001

Decision on the Sanction

Whereas the Hearing on the Merits was held on June 14, 2001 on the matter of the complaint regarding the professional conduct of the Trustee; and

Whereas the Senior Analyst's Report dated March 30, 2000 dealt with two separate bankruptcies, one (2329-6288 Québec Inc., hereinafter "2329") in which Mr. Wolkove had not acted as Trustee and a second (Can Am Up Tac Limitée, hereinafter"CAN AM") in which he had acted as Trustee; and

Whereas the Delegate's jurisdiction having been questioned in regard to 2329, also on June 14, 2001, the undersigned heard representations from counsel for both parties on that matter and subsequently decided that he did not have jurisdiction; and

Whereas the Trustee was reproached with having acted in a situation of conflict of interest in the Estate of CAN AM, by having accepted to act and having acted as Trustee for that Estate even though one of the shareholders thereof was a business partner of the Trustee in an investment and development venture in Spain; and

Whereas in his Decision on the Merits dated August 31, 2001, the undersigned found that the complaint which had been brought against the Trustee to the effect that he had acted in a conflict of interest with respect to CAN AM was established and maintained; and

Whereas the parties, their counsel and the Delegate met on September 20, 2001 to permit counsel to lead evidence and/or make their representations on the appropriate sanction to be imposed; and

Whereas consequent to the undersigned's Decision on Jurisdiction dated July 25, 2001, determining that he did not have jurisdiction in respect of 2329, the Senior Analyst has withdrawn his original recommendation for a restitution order in favour of 2329 pursuant to Section 14.01(f) of the ACT and has moreover revised his original recommendation of a four year suspension order under Section 14.01(d) of the Act to one of a four month suspension order, during which period the Trustee would not be permitted to be appointed and/or act in any matter under the Act; and

Whereas the Senior Analyst has urged the Delegate to consider the following aggravating factors which have been disclosed by the evidence:

  1. the Trustee acted with full knowledge of his actions;
  2. the Trustee's vast experience of 37 years as a Trustee in bankruptcy and as a Chartered Accountant;
  3. failure by the Trustee to declare to the Official Receiver that he was acting in a possible conflict of interest while filing the assignment and thereafter by carrying out the engagement, and further, by failing to declare same to the creditors in the Trustee's preliminary report filed for the purpose of the first meeting of creditors; and
  4. the Trustee has evidenced no remorse for his actions nor any intention of admitting to any wrongdoing, going so far as to blame the Official Receiver for failing to notice that the conflict of interest box had not been filled out on the Estate Information Sheet; and

Whereas the Senior Analyst emphasized the fact that the sanction must be representative of the seriousness of the wrongdoing and underline the concept of exemplarity and deterrence; and

Whereas the Trustee pleaded that the undersigned should consider the following attenuating circumstances which have been established in evidence:

  1. at his present age of 74, the Trustee no longer intends to practise as a Trustee in bankruptcy and, in fact, since more than one year has no longer practised as such nor as a Chartered Accountant;
  2. during his entire career spanning 37 years, the Trustee demonstrated good conduct and has an unblemished disciplinary record, both before and after the events of the present case, which occurred ten years ago;
  3. he is consequently to be considered and treated as a first-time offender;
  4. the Trustee did not personally benefit or gain in any way as a result of the conflict of interest in this case; and
  5. the conflict of interest for which the Trustee is to be sanctioned herein did not result in any loss or negative consequences to the Estate of CAN AM or the creditors thereof; and

Whereas the Trustee has suggested that the Delegate acknowledge and ratify the Trustee's undertakings made orally and of his own volition at the September 20, 2001 Sanction Hearing, to no longer practise until the end of his services contract with John Lucka (J. Lucka & Associés Inc.), Trustee, which will remain in effect until June 30, 2003 and, following that date, that the Trustee will not seek the renewal of his licence; and

Whereas the Trustee's counsel has urged the Delegate, in addition to such acknowledgement and ratification, to impose a reprimand on the Trustee, without any suspension; and

Whereas the sanction must not be tailored to reflect only the specific needs and situation of each Trustee, but should also take into account the integrity of the bankruptcy and insolvency system; and

Whereas in professional conduct matters, the purpose of the sanction is not primarily to punish the professional, but also to have the effects of exemplarity and deterrence, so as to also protect the public and the integrity of the profession of bankruptcy Trustee; and

Whereas, on the other hand, the principle of exemplarity and deterrence must not be over emphasized to the point where it becomes oppressive to the offender; and

Whereas in the case of Trustees in bankruptcy, conflict of interest constitutes a serious infraction which strikes at and undermines the core of a Trustee's responsibilities, directly impacts the integrity of the bankruptcy and insolvency system and negatively affects the general public's perception of and confidence in that system; and

Whereas even though the Trustee is no longer practising as a Trustee and has no disciplinary antecedents, the seriousness of a conflict of interest infraction is such that the sanction must be more than a reprimand or be merely symbolic.

Closing Provision

Each duplicate original of this Decision On The Sanction signed by the Delegate is equally valid and authentic and may serve as such for all legal purposes.

I, THE DELEGATE OF THE SUPERINTENDENT OF BANKRUPTCY, having weighed and considered all of the foregoing and all of the facts and circumstances in this case, DO HEREBY SUSPEND THE LICENCE OF MR. PETER WOLKOVE, TRUSTEE IN BANKRUPTCY, FOR A PERIOD OF THREE MONTHS, during which he will not be permitted to be appointed and/or act in any matter under the Act.

This ORDER will come into effect on NOVEMBER 1, 2001.

the original signed by


The Honourable Benjamin J. Greenberg, Q.C.
Delegate Of The Superintendent

Maîtres Pierre Lecavalier and Louis-Philippe Delage
Counsel for the Senior Analyst;

Maître Bruno J. Pateras, Q.C.
Counsel for the Trustee.



This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Peter Wolkove — 1 novembre 2001

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada

Dans l'affaire d'une procédure disciplinaire professionnelle en vertu de la loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la «Loi»)


Province de Québec
District de Montréal

Entre :

M. Michel Leduc
Analyste principal, bureau du district de Montréal du Bureau du surintendant des faillites
(ci-après dénommé l'« Analyste Principal »)

Et

M. Peter Wolkove
(ci-après dénommé le « Syndic »)


Président : L'honorable Benjamin J. Greenberg, c.r.
Délégataire du surintendant des faillites
(ci-après dénommé parfois le « Délégataire »)


Montréal, le 28 septembre 2001

Décision sur la sanction

Attendu que l'audience sur le fond de la plainte concernant la conduite professionnelle du Syndic a eu lieu le 14 juin 2001;

Attendu que le rapport de l'analyste principal daté du 30 mars 2000 portait sur deux faillites, celle de 2329- 6288 Québec Inc., (ci-après dénommée « 2329 ») dans laquelle M. Wolkove n'avait pas agi à titre de syndic et celle de Can Am Up Tac Limitée, (ci-après dénommée « CAN AM ») dans laquelle il avait agi à titre de syndic;

Attendu que le 14 juin 2001, la question à savoir si le Délégataire avait la compétence pour entendre et se prononcer sur la plainte portée relativement à 2329 avait aussi fait l'objet d'un débat, que le soussigné avait entendu les arguments des avocats des deux parties sur ce point et conclu, par la suite, qu'il n'était pas compétent;

Attendu qu'il était allégué dans la plainte que le Syndic s'était retrouvé en conflit d'intérêt dans la faillite de CAN AM pour avoir accepté d'agir comme Syndic et avoir agi comme Syndic de cet actif alors que l'un des actionnaires de cette société était associé avec le Syndic dans une entreprise d'investissement et de construction en Espagne;

Attendu que dans sa décision sur le fond datée du 31 août 2001 le soussigné a conclu que la plainte portée contre le Syndic voulant qu'il se soit retrouvé en conflit d'intérêt dans la faillite de CAN AM était fondée;

Attendu que les parties, leurs avocats et le Délégataire se sont réunis le 20 septembre 2001 pour permettre aux avocats de présenter des éléments de preuve ou de faire valoir leurs arguments sur la sanction équitable à imposer;

Attendu que dans sa décision sur la compétence datée du 25 juillet 2001, le soussigné a conclu qu'il n'avait pas la compétence d'entendre et de se prononcer sur la plainte portée relativement à la faillite de 2329 et que, par conséquent, l'analyste principal ne recommande plus qu'une ordonnance de remboursement soit rendue en faveur de 2329 en vertu de l'alinéa 14.01c) de la LOI et, de plus, recommande maintenant que la licence du Syndic soit suspendue pour quatre mois et non pour quatre ans en vertu de l'alinéa 14.01a) de la LOI et que pendant cette période il ne soit pas permis au Syndic d'être nommé ou d'agir dans une affaire relevant de la LOI;

Attendu que l'analyste principal a demandé au Délégataire de tenir compte des circonstances aggravantes suivantes qui ont été révélées par la preuve :

  1. le Syndic a agi en toute connaissance de cause;
  2. la vaste expérience du Syndic qui exerce les fonctions de Syndic de faillite et de comptable agréé depuis 37 ans;
  3. l'omission par le Syndic de déclarer au séquestre officiel qu'il se retrouvait peut-être en conflit d'intérêt en déposant la cession de biens et, par la suite, en exécutant ses fonctions et, en outre, en omettant de mettre les créanciers au courant de la situation dans le rapport préliminaire du Syndic déposé pour les fins de la première réunion des créanciers;
  4. le Syndic n'a pas démontré qu'il regrettait ses actions ou qu'il avait l'intention d'admettre avoir mal agi et a même reproché au séquestre officiel de ne pas avoir remarqué que la boîte concernant le conflit d'intérêt sur la Fiche de renseignements sur l'actif n'avait pas été remplie;

Attendu que l'analyste principal a insisté sur le fait que la sanction doit correspondre à la gravité de l'infraction et constituer une sanction exemplaire;

Attendu que le Syndic a fait valoir que le soussigné devrait tenir compte des circonstances atténuantes suivantes qui ont été révélées par la preuve:

  1. actuellement âgé de 74 ans, le Syndic n'a plus l'intention d'exercer la profession de Syndic de faillite et, de fait, n'a pas exercé cette fonction ni celle de comptable agréé depuis un an;
  2. durant les 37 années pendant lesquelles le Syndic a exercé sa profession, il a eu une bonne conduite. Son dossier disciplinaire, tant avant qu'après les événements dont il est question dans le présent cas et qui se sont produits il y a dix ans, est sans tache;
  3. il devrait, en conséquence, être considéré et traité comme un délinquant primaire;
  4. le Syndic n'a lui-même tiré aucun bénéfice du conflit d'intérêt dont il est question dans le présent cas;
  5. l'actif de CAN AM et les créanciers de la faillite de CAN AM n'ont pas subi de perte ou de préjudice en raison du conflit d'intérêt pour lequel le Syndic sera sanctionné;

Attendu que le Syndic a demandé au Délégataire de reconnaître et de ratifier les engagements que le Syndic a promis verbalement de respecter lors de l'audience sur la sanction tenue le 20 septembre 2001. Le Syndic s'est alors engagé à ne pas exercer sa profession jusqu'au 30 juin 2003, soit la date à laquelle son contrat de travail avec John Lucka (J. Lucka & Associés Inc.), Syndic, prend fin et à ne pas demander le renouvellement de sa licence par la suite;

Attendu que l'avocat du Syndic a demandé au Délégataire, d'une part, de reconnaître et de ratifier les engagements mentionnés ci-dessus et, d'autre part, d'imposer une réprimande au Syndic mais de ne pas suspendre sa licence;

Attendu que la sanction ne doit pas être déterminée seulement en fonction des besoins et de la situation de chaque Syndic en particulier mais qu'elle doit aussi tenir compte de l'intégrité du système de faillite et d'insolvabilité;

Attendu qu'en matière de conduite professionnelle, la sanction ne vise pas principalement à punir le professionnel mais également à en dissuader d'autres de perpétrer une infraction similaire pour protéger le public et l'intégrité de la profession de Syndic de faillite;

Attendu par contre, qu'une sanction ne doit pas être exemplaire et dissuasive au point de constituer un fardeau pour le délinquant;

Attendu que le fait pour un Syndic de faillite de se retrouver en conflit d'intérêt constitue une infraction grave. Attendu que cette infraction implique que le syndic a omis de respecter une partie essentielle de ses obligations professionnelles, qu'elle ternit l'intégrité du système de faillite et d'insolvabilité, qu'elle porte atteinte à la perception que le public en général se fait de ce système et qu'elle mine la confiance du public à l'égard de ce système;

Attendu que même si le Syndic n'exerce plus la profession de Syndic et qu'il a toujours eu une bonne conduite professionnelle, le fait de s'être retrouvé en conflit d'intérêt est si grave qu'il est nécessaire de lui imposer plus qu'une réprimande ou une sanction purement symbolique.

Disposition finale

Chaque double original de la présente Décision sur la sanction signé par le Délégataire est également valide et authentique et peut être utilisé comme tel à toutes fins légales.

JE, Délégataire DU SURINTENDANT DES FAILLITES, après avoir soupesé tout ce qui précède et considéré tous les faits ainsi que les circonstances du présent cas, SUSPENDS LA LICENCE DE M. PETER WOLKOVE, Syndic DE FAILLITE POUR TROIS MOIS. Durant cette période, il ne sera pas permis à M. Peter Wolkove d'être nommé en vertu de la LOI ni d'agir dans une affaire relevant de la LOI.

La présente ORDONNANCE entre en vigueur le 1er Novembre 2001.

l'original signé par


L'honourable Benjamin J. Greenberg, c.r.
Délégataire du surintendant

Maîtres Pierre Lecavalier et Louis-Philippe Delage
Avocats de l'analyste principal;

Maître Bruno J. Pateras, c.r.
Avocat du Syndic.



Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :