Morley B. Miller — November 9, 2001

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada
Province of Ontario

In The Matter Of
Morley B. Miller
Holder Of A Corporate Trustee Licence
For The Province Of Quebec

Trustee Licensing Order
SS. 13.2(5) and 14.01 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act

Whereas Morley B. Miller is a licensed trustee in the city of Montreal, province of Quebec;

Whereas from 1980 to 1997 the said Morley B. Miller operated a corporate licence under the name of M. Miller and Associates Ltd. / M. Miller et Associés Ltée;

Whereas in April 1997, a corporate licence was issued to Miller Hersh Inc. and whereas by court order, all files under Miller and Associates were transferred to Miller Hersh;

Whereas on January 17, 2001, the Senior Analyst, Ms. Sylvie Laperrière of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, pursuant to the general delegation received by her as Senior Discipline Analyst for the application of subsection 14.04(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (hereinafter referred to as BIA) has submitted a report on the administration of the said Morley B. Miller;

Whereas the report submitted by the Senior Analyst identified a number of deficiencies and wrongdoings on the part of Morley B. Miller which were prejudicial to creditors as well as debtors, and which undermine the integrity of the bankruptcy and insolvency system and more specifically identified the following:

  • Failure to maintain proper books and records by:
    • not recording certain transactions;
    • not carrying monthly reconciliations of trust accounts;
    • not disposing of the balance funds in the trust accounts in accordance with the Act upon his discharge;
    • not correcting book entry errors;
  • Failure to maintain a proper internal control system;
  • Failure to pay filing fees when they were due;
  • In five estates, failure to include assets of various types (cars, shares, RRSP's, cash deposited with a third party, etc.) in the statement of affairs and to document adequately the value and disposition of such assets;
  • In three estates, failure to maintain proper insurance on his name for all the usable property of the bankrupt;
  • In two estates, failure to prepare the pre-bankruptcy tax returns;
  • In two estates, failure to disclose in the 170 Report, information in his possession that debtors had been bankrupt earlier and in one estate failure to disclose all relevant information regarding an RRSP and a loaned vehicle which could justify a Court to refuse an unconditional discharge;
  • In one case the trustee issued the debtor's certificate 13 months after the debtor became entitled to automatic discharge and after collecting $825 subsequent to the date of automatic discharge;
  • In one case, after the debtors became automatically discharged by effect of section 168.1 BIA, the trustee issued a demand letter for the payment of $1169.00 indicating falsely that if the debtor failed to pay the said amount within 10 days the debtor would be referred as an undischarged bankrupt and that it would cost him more money to get his discharge;
  • In four estates, failure to properly handle proofs of claims and to document his decision to pay funds to a claimant.

Whereas throughout her report, the Senior Analyst described the general lack of diligence of the trustee in dealing with matters in a timely manner with due consideration for all interests involved and with the level of care expected of trustees when they produce information to either the Court or the Superintendent's representatives that may affect the rights and interests of third parties or the public in general;

Whereas Morley B. Miller has not been designated as trustee to any new files since 1998;

Whereas Morley B. Miller has been offered a reasonable opportunity to be heard;

Whereas at a pre-hearing conference held on October 3, 2001 with the Senior Analyst and her counsel, Morley B. Miller indicated that he did not wish to be heard any further on this matter and did not offer any explanations for his administration;

Whereas in a letter dated August 28, 2001, Morley B. Miller wrote to advise the licensing section of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy that he did not intend to renew his licence for 2002 and that he would thereby put an end to the discipline proceeding and
Whereas the full scope of that letter is only understood by reading a separate letter issued the same day on behalf of Miller Hersh Inc.

Whereas pursuant to section 14.01(1.1) of the BIA a trustee cannot avoid or put an end to an investigation on his conduct under section 14.01(1) of the BIA simply by surrendering his licence.

Whereas , Morley B. Miller has been made aware during the preparatory conference call of the existence and substance of section 14.01(1.1) of the BIA

Whereas Mr. Morley B. Miller was offered the opportunity to consult a lawyer before this matter is brought to closure and he declined to do so.

Whereas Morley B. Miller indicated he did not wish to make any further representations on the matter raised in the report of the Senior Analyst.

Whereas the matter raised in the report appears to be sufficiently documented, the statements made in the said report must consequently be taken as accurately describing the administration and conduct of trustee Morley B. Miller.

Order: 

I, the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, pursuant to the statutory powers provided to me by virtue of subsection 13.2(5) and 14.01(1) of the BIA, hereby Order as follows:

That the trustee licence of Morley B. Miller of Montreal, Quebec, be cancelled 10 days after the issuance of this order.


Ottawa, November 9, 2001

original signed by


Marc Mayrand
The Superintendent of Bankruptcy

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Morley B. Miller — 9 novembre 2001

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada
Ottawa, Ontario

Dans l'affaire de
Morley B. Miller
titulaire d'une licence de syndic
pour une personne morale
pour la province de Québec

Ordonnance relative à la licence de syndic
PAR. 13.2(5) ET ART. 14.01 de la loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité

Attendu que Morley B. Miller est un syndic titulaire de licence dans la ville de Montréal, province de Québec;

Attendu que de 1980 à 1997, Morley B. Miller a exploité une licence de syndic pour une personne morale sous le nom de M. Miller and Associates Ltd. / M. Miller et Associés Ltée;

Attendu qu'en avril 1997, une licence pour personne morale a été délivrée à Miller Hersh Inc. et que tous les dossiers administrés par M. Miller and Associates Ltd./ M. Miller et Associés Ltée ont, en vertu d'une ordonnance du tribunal, été transférés à Miller Hersh Inc.;

Attendu que le 17 janvier 2001, Sylvie Laperrière, l'analyste principale du Bureau du surintendant des faillites, a, conformément à la délégation générale qui lui avait été accordée à titre d'analyste principale/Affaires disciplinaires dans le cadre de l'application du paragraphe 14.04(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (ci-après appelée la « LFI » ), soumis un rapport sur l'administration de Morley B. Miller;

Attendu que le rapport remis par l'analyste principale fait état d'un certain nombre d'irrégularités et d'infractions de la part de Morley B. Miller lesquelles ont causé préjudice aux créanciers et aux débiteurs et porté atteinte à l'intégrité du système de faillite et d'insolvabilité et, en particulier, de ce qui suit :

  • Mauvaise tenue de la comptabilité :
    • omission d'inscrire certaines opérations;
    • aucun rapprochement des comptes en fiducie chaque mois;
    • utilisation des soldes des comptes en fiducie en violation de la loi au moment de sa libération;
    • omission de corriger les inscriptions erronées;
  • Absence d'un système de contrôle interne permanent;
  • Omission de payer les droits d'enregistrement à leur date d'échéance;
  • Dans cinq dossiers, omission d'inclure divers biens (automobiles, actions, REERs, argent comptant déposé auprès d'un tiers, etc.) dans le bilan et de documenter adéquatement la valeur et l'aliénation de ces biens;
  • Dans trois dossiers, omission d'assurer adéquatement tous les biens utilisables du failli et de se faire désigner bénéficiaire de l'assurance;
  • Dans deux dossiers, omission de préparer les déclarations d'impôt pour la période antérieure à la faillite;
  • Dans deux dossiers, omission de mentionner dans le rapport prévu par l'article 170 qu'il était au courant que les débiteurs avaient déjà été des faillis, et, dans un dossier, omission de dévoiler tous les renseignements pertinents sur un REER et un véhicule prêté qui pourraient justifier un tribunal de refuser d'accorder une libération inconditionnelle;
  • Dans un dossier, le syndic a délivré un certificat au débiteur 13 mois après que ce dernier eût acquis le droit à une libération automatique et après avoir perçu 825 $ après la date de la libération automatique;
  • Dans un dossier, un débiteur qui avait été libéré automatiquement par l'application de l'article 168.1 de la LFI, a reçu une mise en demeure du syndic dans laquelle ce dernier le sommait de lui payer le montant de 1 169 $ dans les 10 jours et lui indiquait qu'en cas de refus il serait considéré comme un failli non libéré et devrait payer davantage pour obtenir sa libération;
  • Dans quatre dossiers, le syndic a mal administré les preuves de réclamation et n'a pas documenté sa décision de verser un montant à un créancier.

Attendu que, du début à la fin de son rapport, l'analyste principale décrit comment le syndic a, de façon générale, négligé de traiter les dossiers en temps utile, de tenir compte adéquatement de tous les intérêts en jeu et d'agir avec le degré de soin attendu des syndics lorsqu'ils fournissent au tribunal ou aux représentants du surintendant des renseignements pouvant influer sur les droits et les intérêts de tiers ou du public en général;

Attendu que Morley B. Miller n'a pas été nommé comme syndic dans aucun nouveau dossier depuis 1998;

Attendu que Morley B. Miller a eu la possibilité de se faire entendre;

Attendu que lors d'une conférence téléphonique avec l'analyste principale et son avocat tenue le 3 octobre 2001 avant l'audience, Morley B. Miller a indiqué qu'il ne désirait pas être entendu davantage dans la présente instance et n'a pas fourni d'explications sur son administration;

Attendu que dans une lettre datée du 28 août 2001 adressée à la section des licences du Bureau du surintendant des faillites, Morley B. Miller a indiqué qu'il n'avait pas l'intention de renouveler sa licence pour 2002 et qu'il mettrait ainsi fin à l'instance disciplinaire et
attendu que la portée de la lettre en question ne peut être comprise complètement qu'à la lecture d'une autre lettre transmise pour le compte de Miller Hersh Inc. le même jour;

Attendu que conformément au paragraphe 14.01(1.1) de la LFI, un syndic ne peut éviter ou faire cesser une enquête sur sa conduite aux termes du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI en remettant simplement sa licence;

Attendu que, durant la conférence téléphonique préparatoire, Morley B. Miller a été informé de l'existence et de la substance du paragraphe 14.01(1.1) de la LFI;

Attendu que Morley B. Miller a eu la possibilité de consulter un avocat avant la conclusion de la présente instance et qu'il a refusé de le faire;

Attendu que Morley B. Miller a indiqué qu'il ne désirait pas faire d'autres représentations sur les points soulevés dans le rapport de l'analyste principale;

Attendu que les points soulevés dans le rapport semblent suffisamment documentés et, qu'en conséquence, les affirmations figurant dans le rapport en question sont censées décrire précisément l'administration et la conduite du syndic Morley B. Miller.

Ordonnance : 

Je, surintendant des faillites, conformément aux pouvoirs statutaires qui me sont conférés aux termes des paragraphes 13.2(5) et 14.01(1) de la LFI, ordonne par les présentes ce qui suit :

Que la licence de syndic de Morley B. Miller de Montréal, province de Québec, soit annulée dans les 10 jours suivant le prononcé de la présente ordonnance.

Ottawa, le 9 novembre 2001

l'original signé par


Marc Mayrand
Surintendant des faillites

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :