Jean-Pierre Chatigny — February 18, 2002

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada
Province Of Québec

Before Mr. Roger Tassé, Legal Counsel
Delegate Of The Superintendent Of Bankruptcy

In The Matter Of:
Jean-Pierre Chatigny, an individually licensed trustee for the Province of Québec,
-and-
J.P. Chatigny & Associés, Inc., a corporate licensed trustee for the Province of Québec


Decision Made On February 18, 2002


In my decision dated September 7, 2001, I stated my reasons for finding Trustee Jean-Pierre Chatigny and Trustee J.P. Chatigny & Associés, Inc., the former being an individually licensed trustee and the latter a corporate licensed trustee (designated herein as the 'trustee' or the 'trustees', as the case may be) responsible for major and serious breaches in their administration of the bankruptcy of Ms. Gisèle Mercier.

On December 13, 2001, I heard the submissions made by counsel for the trustees and for the Department of Justice of Canada in respect my earlier decision dated September 7, 2001. Furthermore, I conducted a telephone conference with counsel for the parties on January 28, 2002, for the purpose of obtaining additional information.

The September 7, 2001 decision

In my earlier decision dated September 7, 2001, I identified the following major and serious deficiencies in the administration of the bankruptcy of Ms. Mercier:

  1. First, even if the evidence did not show the trustee to have advised Ms. Mercier not to include in her statement of assets and liabilities her interest in a real estate property located at 528 Geneviève St., or to have enticed her not to include it, as has been alleged by the Senior Analyst, Ms. Sylvie Laperrière, my own analysis of the evidence would lead me to conclude that the trustee had simply chosen not to mention the real estate interest in the statement of assets and liabilities prepared by him, thereby breaching his duties as a trustee in bankruptcy, contrary to Section 13.5 of the Act and Rule 45.
  2. The trustee was also in breach of his duties for failing to indicate, in the preparation of the reports and other documents required by law, the share owned by the debtor in the real property located at 528 Geneviève St.
  3. The trustee failed to discharge his duty to adequately ascertain in a timely manner the value of Ms. Gisèle Mercier's assets.
  4. The trustee provided incomplete and inaccurate information to the Office of the Superintendent.
  5. The trustee has shown a lack of due diligence in the discharge of his duties and responsibilities by omitting to follow up after registering his interest against the property and by delaying his response to an offer to settle.
  6. By stating in a letter addressed to the debtor that she had concealed her undivided half-interest in the real estate property, the trustee knew that he was making an untrue and inaccurate statement.

These are the reasons for which I found generally the conduct of the trustee during the administration of Ms. Mercier's file to be unacceptable from the start and to be contrary to the sustained confidence of the public in the integrity of the bankruptcy process.

Submissions by counsel

Mr. Lecavalier, counsel for the Department of Justice of Canada, submitted that the breaches alleged against the trustees were major and serious in nature and that we are dealing in this case with a professional who "attempted to cover up his mistakes by providing misleading explanations, half-truths and even outright lies in order to justify his conduct." Mr. Cavalier stressed that the standards of conduct applicable to trustees in bankruptcy are extremely high and that Mr. Chatigny failed in that respect. He concluded that the initial recommendation by Ms. Laperrière to impose a four (4) month suspension remains appropriate even though there is no mention in my decision of the fact that Ms. Mercier was enticed by the trustee to conceal her real estate interest from the statement of assets and liabilities.

Mr. Dancose, counsel for the trustees, appeared at the second hearing without prejudice, and stated that he had filed an application in Federal Court for judicial review of my September 7 decision. He took objection to my whole approach to this case and, in substance, repeated the submission made by him at the main hearing to the effect that the trustee's delay and negligence might perhaps have constituted a technical breach, but certainly not a major and serious one. As a result, Mr. Dancose argued, even if my findings of fact were accepted (which, at any rate, he was not prepared to do), the period of suspension should not exceed two (2) months.

The trustee's track record

Mr. Chatigny was issued a trustee license on April 11, 1974. He practised as an individual trustee until December 31, 1979. In January 1980, he obtained a corporate trustee license under the name of J.P. Chatigny & Associés, Inc., a firm within which he practised as sole trustee.

Mr. Chatigny has been practising as a trustee since June 27, 1997, for the trustee firm of Jean Fortin & Associés, Syndics Inc.

As for the corporate license issued under the name of J.P. Chatigny & Associés, Inc., it was to remain in effect until December 31, 1998, for the sole purpose of finishing off the estate files filed prior to June 30, 1997. The corporate license was nevertheless renewed in 1999 as well as in 2000, since the trustee had not yet completed the administration of the remaining estate files. In March 2000, the estate files that were still active were then transferred to Trustee Jean Fortin & Associés, Syndics Inc., which meant that these files were no longer handled under the name of Mr. Chatigny or under the name of J.P. Chatigny & Associés, Inc.

Mr. Chatigny's record as a trustee is perfectly clean and the complaint filed in this matter is the only one ever brought against him.

Conclusion

After re-examining the facts highlighted in my decision of September 7, 2001, and with due consideration for the submissions made before me for both parties in the case, I find that a three (3) month suspension would be warranted in the circumstances.

The omissions and other deficiencies attributed to Mr. Chatigny in connection with the administration of the bankruptcy of Ms. Mercier constitute a major and serious breach, and as such are unacceptable and unjustifiable in the case of a trustee in bankruptcy. The actions and conduct of Mr. Chatigny were such as to undermine the proper administration of bankruptcies as well as the public confidence in the enforcement of the law and, for these reasons, he must be made to bear the consequences of his actions.

In reaching this conclusion, I have given due consideration to the fact that trustee Chatigny has seen his reputation tarnished as a result of the disciplinary proceedings brought against him and as a result of the decision I issued on September 7. I have also given due consideration to the substantial legal costs incurred by him in these proceedings for the purpose of explaining his conduct.

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me by the Superintendent of Bankruptcy on December 8, 2000, I order that the trustee license of Mr. Jean-Pierre Chatigny be suspended for a period of three (3) months during which Mr. Chatigny will be barred from practising as a trustee in bankruptcy and from acting for anyone under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, either under his own name or under a corporate trustee name.

Made, this 18th day of February, 2002.

original signed by


Roger Tassé
Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy
DOC # 161095



This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Jean-Pierre Chatigny — 18 février 2002

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada
province de Québec

Devant Me Roger Tassé
délégué du surintendant des faillites


Dans l'affaire de :
Jean-Pierre Chatigny, détenteur d'une licence individuelle de syndic pour la province de Québec,
-et-
J.P. Chatigny & associés, inc., détenteur d'une licence corporative de syndic pour la province de Québec


Décision rendue le 18 février 2002


Dans ma décision du 7 septembre 2001, j'ai expliqué les raisons pour lesquelles, à mon avis, le syndic Jean-Pierre Chatigny et le syndic J.P. Chatigny & Associés, Inc., respectivement titulaire d'une licence individuelle et d'une licence corporative (ci-après, les "syndics" ou le "syndic") s'étaient rendus coupables de lacunes graves et sérieuses dans l'administration de la faillite de madame Gisèle Mercier.

Le 13 décembre 2001, j'ai entendu les représentations des procureurs des syndics et du ministère de la Justice du Canada quant aux mesures disciplinaires qui devraient être imposées aux syndics suite à la décision du 7 septembre 2001. J'ai aussi tenu une conférence téléphonique avec les procureurs des parties, le 28 janvier 2002, afin d'obtenir un supplément d'information.

La décision du 7 septembre 2001

Dans ma décision du 7 septembre 2001, j'ai retenu les lacunes graves et sérieuses suivantes dans l'administration de la faillite de madame Gisèle Mercier :

  1. si, d'une part, la preuve n'avait pas été faite que le syndic avait conseillé à madame Mercier de ne pas inscrire à son bilan son droit à l'immeuble sis au 528, rue Geneviève ou l'y avait encouragé, comme l'avait prétendu l'analyste principale, madame Sylvie Laperrière, mon analyse de la preuve d'autre part m'amenait à conclure que le syndic avait simplement choisi de ne pas l'inscrire au bilan qu'il a lui-même préparé et que se faisant il avait manqué à ses obligations comme syndic de faillite contrairement à l'article 13.5 de la Loi et à la Règle 45;
  2. le syndic avait été fautif dans la préparation des rapports et autres documents statutaires en ne mentionnant pas la part de la débitrice dans l'immeuble sis au 528, rue Geneviève;
  3. le syndic ne s'était pas acquitté de son obligation de vérifier adéquatement et dans les meilleurs délais la valeur de l'actif de madame Mercier;
  4. le syndic avait fourni des renseignements incomplets et inexacts au Bureau du surintendant;
  5. le syndic avait fait preuve d'un manque de diligence dans l'exercice de ses fonctions en ne faisant pas de suivi après son inscription sur l'immeuble et en tardant à donner suite à une offre de règlement;
  6. le syndic, en indiquant dans une lettre à la débitrice qu'elle avait caché le fait qu'elle était propriétaire d'une moitié indivise, avait fait une affirmation qu'il savait fausse et inexacte.

J'en arrivais donc à la conclusion générale que le comportement du syndic au cours de l'administration du dossier de madame Mercier, dès le début, était inacceptable et de nature à nuire au maintien de la confiance du public dans la mise en application de la loi.

Représentations

Me Lecavalier, le représentant du ministère de la Justice du Canada, a fait valoir que les manquements retenus contre les syndics étaient graves et sérieux et que l'on était en présence d'un professionnel « qui avait tenté de camoufler ses bavures en donnant des explications trompeuses, des demi-vérités voire des mensonges pour expliquer sa conduite ». Me Lecavalier a noté que les règles de conduite qui s'appliquent aux syndics de faillite sont très élevées et que M. Chatigny a failli de s'y conformer. Il conclut que la recommandation initiale de madame Laperrière qui était de quatre (4) mois de suspension demeure toujours à-propos même si dans ma décision je n'ai pas retenu qu'il y avait eu incitation de la part du syndic, auprès de madame Mercier, de ne pas inscrire l'actif à son bilan.

Me Dancose, le représentant des syndics a comparu sous toutes réserves que le droit en indiquant qu'il avait logé en Cour fédérale un recours en révision de ma décision du 7 septembre 2001. Il sait particulièrement dit en désaccord avec ma « vision » du dossier. Comme il l'avait fait à l'audience principale, Me Dancose a plaidé que le syndic s'était peut-être traîné les pieds, qu'il avait été négligent, qu'il avait commis, si l'on veut, une erreur technique, qu'il n'irait pas jusqu'à qualifier de grossière. En conclusion, Me Dancose a fait valoir que même en acceptant ma « vision » de la preuve, ce qu'il nie, la sanction ne devrait pas être de plus que deux (2) mois.

Profil du syndic

M. Chatigny a obtenu une licence de syndic le 11 avril 1974. Il a agi comme syndic individuel, indépendant, jusqu'au 31 décembre 1979. En janvier 1980, il a obtenu une licence corporative au nom de J.P. Chatigny & Associés, Inc., une firme pour laquelle il agissait alors comme unique syndic.

Depuis le 27 juin 1997, M. Chatigny travaille comme syndic pour la firme de syndic Jean Fortin & Associés, Syndics Inc.

Quant à la licence corporative de J.P. Chatigny & Associés, Inc., elle devait demeurer en vigueur jusqu'au 31 décembre 1998, aux seules fins de compléter les dossiers déposés avant le 30 juin 1997. La licence corporative a toutefois été renouvelée en 1999 et l'année 2000, le syndic n'ayant pas compléter l'administration des dossiers. En mars 2000, les dossiers qui étaient encore ouverts ont été substitués au syndic Jean Fortin & Associés, Syndics Inc., de sorte qu'il n'y a plus de dossiers au nom de M. Chatigny ou de J.P. Chatigny & Associés, Inc.

Le syndic Chatigny a un parcours sans tache depuis qu'il est syndic et la plainte dans ce dossier constitue la seule plainte formelle qui ait été logée contre lui.

Conclusion

Après avoir examiné à nouveau les faits tels que relatés dans ma décision du 7 septembre 2001 et considéré attentivement les représentations qui m'ont été faites, de part et d'autre, j'en arrive à la conclusion qu'une suspension de trois (3) mois serait justifiée dans les circonstances.

Les lacunes et manquements qui ont été retenus quant à l'administration de la faillite de madame Mercier par le syndic Chatigny sont graves et sérieux et sont absolument inacceptables et inexplicables de la part d'un syndic de faillite. Le comportement de M. Chatigny et ses agissements étaient de nature à ternir l'administration des faillites et à nuire au maintien de la confiance du public dans la mise en application de la loi et il doit en supporter les conséquences.

En arrivant à cette conclusion, j'ai tenu compte du fait que le syndic avait déjà souffert dans sa réputation suite aux procédures disciplinaires qui ont été prises contre lui ainsi que suite à la décision qui a été rendue le 7 septembre. J'ai aussi tenu compte du fait qu'il avait encouru des frais juridiques importants pour expliquer son comportement.

En vertu des pouvoirs qui m'ont été délégués par le Surintendant des faillites, le 8 décembre 2000, je décide que la licence du syndic Jean-Pierre Chatigny soit suspendue pour une période de trois (3) mois, période pendant laquelle il ne pourra d'aucune manière agir à titre de syndic de faillite, n'accepter aucun mandat en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité, et ce, tant en son nom personnel qu'au nom d'un syndic corporatif.

Daté le 18 février 2002.

original signé par


Roger Tassé
Délégué du Surintendant des faillites

DOC # 161095



Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :