Harry Bick and Friedman & Friedman Inc. — April 24, 2002

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

In the matter of

Friedman & Friedman Inc. —
holder of a corporate trustee licence
for the province of Québec

and

Harry Bick —
holder of an individual trustee
licence for the province of Québec

Decision under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act


Whereas a complaint has been filed by a creditor against Friedman & Friedman Inc. and Mr. Harry Bick in relation to the administration of the bankruptcy estate of the Pourvoirie J.B Scott Inc.;

Whereas the National Auditing Group was asked to audit the administration of the bankruptcy estate and, as a result, issued a report which found that the abovementioned licensed trustees had failed in various respects to properly fulfil their statutory duty in the administration of the said estate;

Whereas the said report resulted in the appointment of Mr. Michel Leduc, a Senior Analyst, Disciplinary Affairs, to conduct a disciplinary investigation;

Whereas on August 10, 1999, Mr. Leduc issued a disciplinary report;

Whereas the said disciplinary report alleges that both the corporate trustee and the individual trustee have committed offences in the administration of the bankruptcy estate of the Pourvoirie J.B. Scott Inc., namely in that:

  1. Trustee Friedman & Friedman Inc., acting through Harry Bick, sold the assets of the debtor at a price that was grossly inadequate, even by liquidation standards;
  2. Trustee Friedman & Friedman Inc.inspectors as well as to the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) and to the Court a statement of receipts and disbursements that did not include all the monies collected by the Trustee and that did not provide the full details of the uncollected receipts and on the disbursements;
  3. Trustee Friedman & Friedman Inc., acting through Harry Bick, failed to collect all monies owed to the estate;
  4. Trustee Friedman & Friedman Inc. failed to provide the OSB with a supplementary statement of receipts and disbursements after it collected further monies subsequent to the initial statement of receipts and disbursements;
  5. Trustee Friedman & Friedman Inc. failed to deposit in the estate account all monies collected in the course of their administration of the estate.

Whereas both trustees, though not having made any admission with respect to the breaches alleged against them in the disciplinary report, did not seek to challenge the findings of the report;

Whereas, aside from Trustee Harry Bick, the other trustees performing duties within the firm of Friedman & Friedman Inc. were neither employees nor associates of the firm at the time of the bankruptcy of Pourvoirie J.B. Scott Inc.;

Whereas the parties have submitted to me the draft of this decision, which in my opinion is fair and reasonable in the specific circumstances of this case and requires no amendment;

By these reasons: 

I, the undersigned, Fred Kaufman, Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy by virtue of the powers vested in me under section 14.01 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act,

Do Suspend, for a period of two years, the individual trustee licence held by Harry Bick; as a result, Mr. Bick will be barred from practicing as a trustee in bankruptcy and from acting in that capacity for any person under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;

Do order the firm of Friedman & Friedman Inc. to:

  1. reimburse to the bankruptcy account of Pourvoirie J.B. Scott Inc., the amount of $5,000.00 which shall be distributed to creditors;
  2. reimburse to the bankruptcy estate of Pourvoirie J.B. Scott Inc., the amount of $1,001.16 which was owed to the estate by Ted Berenstein & Vinsteve Investments Inc. for the lease of land, and which shall be distributed to creditors;
  3. reimburse to the bankruptcy estate of Pourvoirie J.B. Scott Inc., the amount of $375.00 which was owed to the estate by Ted Berenstein & Vinsteve Investments Inc. as landlord, and which shall also be distributed to creditors;
  4. distribute to the creditors the amount of $813.00 collected by the firm on February 14, 1996.

The payment of the aforementioned amounts shall be completed within fifteen (15) days from the date of signature of this order, failing which the corporate trustee shall be considered in breach of a condition of its licence, as provided for in section 13.2(5)(b).

Signed this 24th day of April, 2002.

original signed by


Fred Kaufman, Q.C.



This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Harry Bick et Friedman & Friedman Inc. — 24 avril 2002

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Dans l'affaire de:

Friedman & Friedman Inc. —
détenteur d'une licence de syndic corporatif
pour la province de Québec

et

Harry Bick —
détenteur d'une licence de syndic
individuel pour la province de Québec

Décision rendue en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité


Considérant qu'une plainte avait été déposée par un créancier contre Friedman & Friedman Inc. et Harry Bick relativement à leur administration du dossier de la faillite de Pourvoirie J. B. Scott Inc.;

Considérant que le Groupe national de vérification fut mandaté afin de vérifier l'administration de cet actif et que le rapport dénotait des manquements des syndics licenciés susmentionnés, à remplir adéquatement ses devoirs statutaires dans l'administration de cet actif;

Considérant que ce rapport a donné lieu à un mandat d'enquête disciplinaire, lequel fut confié à M. Michel Leduc en sa qualité d'analyste principal, affaires disciplinaires;

Considérant que le 10 août 1999, M. Leduc produisait un rapport disciplinaire;

Considérant que ledit rapport disciplinaire allègue que le syndic corporatif et le syndic individuel ont commis des infractions dans l'administration de la faillite de Pourvoirie J. B. Scott Inc. à savoir :

  1. le syndic Friedman & Friedman Inc., agissant par Harry Bick, a vendu les actifs de la débitrice à un prix nettement insuffisant et ce, même dans un contexte de liquidation;
  2. le syndic Friedman & Friedman Inc., agissant par Harry Bick, a divulgué des informations qu'il savait fausses et trompeuses en soumettant aux créanciers, aux inspecteurs, au Bureau du surintendant des faillites et au Tribunal un relevé des recettes et déboursés qui ne contenait pas un relevé complet de toutes les sommes d'argent reçues par le syndic ainsi que tous les détails concernant les sommes non perçues et les déboursés;
  3. le syndic Friedman & Friedman Inc., agissant par Harry Bick, n'a pas perçu toutes les sommes dues à l'actif;
  4. le syndic Friedman & Friedman Inc. n'a pas soumis au Bureau du surintendant des faillites, un relevé des recettes et déboursés supplémentaires, suite à la perception d'une somme d'argent postérieurement à la production de son état des recettes et déboursés;
  5. le syndic Friedman & Friedman Inc. n'a pas déposé dans le compte de l'actif tous les fonds reçus dans le cadre de son administration du dossier.

Considérant que les syndics, bien que n'admettant pas le contenu du rapport disciplinaire, ont décidé de ne pas le contester;

Considérant que outre le syndic Harry Bick, les autres syndics oeuvrant au sein de la firme Friedman & Friedman Inc. n'étaient ni employés ni associés de cette firme au moment de la faillite de Pourvoirie J.B. Scott Inc.

Considérant que les parties m'ont soumis le présent projet de décision lequel m'apparaît, dans les circonstances particulières de cette affaire, juste et raisonnable et qu'il n'y pas lieu d'y déroger;

Par ces motifs :

Je soussigné, Fred Kaufman, délégué du surintendant des faillites et en vertu des pouvoirs qui m'ont été délégués en vertu de l'article 14.01 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité :

Suspend pour une période de 2 ans la licence du syndic individuel Harry Bick, période durant laquelle ce dernier ne pourra d'aucune manière agir à titre de syndic de faillite ni accepter de mandat en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Ordonne à Friedman & Friedman Inc. de :

  1. rembourser à l'actif de Pourvoirie J. B. Scott Inc., la somme de 5 000 $, laquelle somme sera distribuée aux créanciers;
  2. rembourser à l'actif de Pourvoirie J. B. Scott Inc., la somme de 1 001,16 $, montant que Ted Berenstein et Vinsteve Investments Inc. auraient dû payer à l'actif à titre de loyer d'occupation (land rent), laquelle somme sera distribuée aux créanciers;
  3. rembourser à l'actif de Pourvoirie J. B. Scott Inc., la somme de 375 $, montant que Ted Berenstein et Vinsteve Investments Inc. auraient dû payer à l'actif à titre de locateur, laquelle somme sera distribuée aux créanciers;
  4. distribuer aux créanciers la somme de 813 $ qu'il a perçue le 14 février 1996.

Le paiement des sommes ci-dessus mentionnées devra avoir été exécuté dans les quinze (15) jours de la signature de la présente décision. À défaut, le syndic corporatif sera considéré ne pas avoir observé l'une des conditions de sa licence au sens de l'article 13.2(5)b).

Signé ce 24 jour d'Avril 2002

l'original signé par


Fred Kaufman, c.r.



Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :