Official Receiver

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of :
Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc.
Sydney H. Pfeiffer

Instructions For Conservatory Measures
(section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)

Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act provides the Superintendent with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas Mr. Robert Massé, auditor, for the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, began a general audit of the trustee firm Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. on May 1st, 2002;

Whereas during the course of this audit and despite the trustee's lack of collaboration, Mr. Massé identified numerous irregularities in the trustee's practice, specifically that estate funds are not invested in authorized investment products, the interest is not distributed and/or paid to estate accounts in accordance with the Superintendent's Directives, fees have been withdrawn without proper authorization, the accounting system as used by the trustee does not meet the minimal standards imposed by the Superintendent's Directives, thereby not permitting an adequate evaluation of accounting data or of transactions performed within each estate, and consequently, making it impossible to render an opinion as to the proper administration of the estates;

Whereas, when questioned about these various irregularities, the trustee could not provide satisfactory explanations, he provided copies of bank documents which appeared to be incomplete and he refused to produce the originals of these documents, also not producing others documents pertaining to accounting and banking matters as requested by the auditor Robert Massé;

Whereas the delays, the lack of collaboration by the trustee and his refusal to produce documents requested by the auditor Robert Massé prevented Mr. Massé from continuing his audit of the trustee Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. causing him to leave the trustee's office on June 19, 2002;

Whereas Mr. Raymond Villemure, Assistant Superintendent Audit, required the trustee Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc., by letter dated June 21, 2002 to produce various banking and accounting documents on or before June 26, 2002;

Whereas the trustees did not respond in a satisfactory manner to Mr. Raymond Villemure;

Whereas on July 5, 2002, for the above mentioned reasons and with a view to protecting the estates, the undersigned issued conservatory measures which enjoined financial institutions where, according to information given by the trustees, estate funds had been deposited to make no debit, payment or transfer on funds credited to the estates administered by the trustees unless they be co-signed by a representative of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy;

Whereas these measures also enjoined the Official Receiver to stop appointing the trustees to new files and also enjoined a representative of Industry Canada, to make a copy of the trustees' electronic data and accounting data related to the estates;

Whereas subsequent to the issuance of these conservatory measures, the investigation revealed that the trustees misled representatives of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy by making false statements and by knowingly providing incomplete, erroneous and false documents;

Whereas on July 15th, 2002, the trustees Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. and Sydney H. Pfeiffer were required to account for estates trust funds that they were presumably holding in a consolidated trust account;

Whereas the trustees were unable to account for a substantial part of the estates trust funds;

Whereas the Superintendent of Bankruptcy may and must, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers referred to in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act in the circumstances stipulated in subsection 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent of Bankruptcy has delegated to the Deputy Superintendent (Policy, Programs and Standards, now Programs, Standards and Regulatory Affairs) in accordance with subsection 14.01(2) of the Act, in certain situations mentioned in subsection 14.03(2), his powers as specified at subsection 14.03 (1) of the Act, copies of which delegation are attached along with copies of subsections 14.01(2) and 14.03(1) to (4) of the Act ;

In accordance with paragraphs 14.03(1)a) and b) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;

I, Alain Lafontaine, in my capacity as Deputy Superintendent (Programs, Standards and Regulatory Affairs), give instruction to:

Official Receiver, to take possession and control of the property of the estates and the estates files, and also of accounting and electronic data related to estate files administered by Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. and Sydney H. Pfeiffer, trustees, a list of which estates is provided as Appendix A, wherever they may be located, namely at the following locations:

1085, Saint-Alexandre St, suite 400, Montreal

and to move them to the office of the guardian trustee, Samson, Bélair, Deloitte & Touche Inc. located at 5 Place Ville Marie, 10th Floor, Montreal. To accomplish this instruction, the Official Receiver may seek the help of all the persons he or she considers necessary.

These instructions take effect immediately and will stay in place until further notice or until a decision is rendered under section 14.01 of the Act;

In accordance with subsection 14.03(3) of the Act, these instructions bind their addressee, who must comply with them;

In accordance with subsection 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with the present instructions is not liable for any act done by the person only to comply with them.

Signed, in the City of Ottawa, Ontario, July 24th, 2002

Alain Lafontaine,
Deputy Superintendent (Programs, Standards and Regulatory Affairs)

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Séquestre Officiel

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire de :
Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc.
Sydney H. Pfeiffer

Instructions de mesures conservatoires
(article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)

Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité attribue au surintendant un pouvoir général de surveillance des actifs et des affaires régis par ladite Loi;

Considérant que Monsieur Robert Massé, vérificateur pour le Bureau du surintendant des faillites a commencé le 1er mai, 2002, une vérification générale de la firme de syndics Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. ;

Considérant que dans le cours de sa vérification et malgré le manque de collaboration du syndic, M. Massé a dénoté de nombreuses lacunes dans la pratique du syndic notamment en ce que des fonds d'actifs sont investis dans des véhicules de placement non autorisés, les intérêts ne sont pas répartis et/ou payés aux comptes des actifs selon les instructions du surintendant, des retraits d'honoraires ont été effectués sans autorisation, le système comptable utilisé par le syndic ne rencontre pas les normes minimales imposées par les instructions du surintendant et de ce fait ne permet pas de vérifier l'exactitude des données comptables ni d'assurer le suivi des transactions effectuées pour chaque actif ce qui, par conséquent, empêche d'évaluer adéquatement l'administration des actifs par le syndic;

Considérant que lorsque questionné en regard de ces différentes lacunes, le syndic n'a pu donner d'explication satisfaisante, a fourni des copies de documents bancaires qui semblent incomplètes et a refusé de fournir les originaux de ces documents et, de plus, a refusé de fournir certains autres documents comptables et bancaires exigés par le vérificateur, M. Massé;

Considérant que les délais, le manque de collaboration du syndic Sydney H. Pfeiffer et le refus de fournir les documents demandés par le vérificateur, M. Massé, ont placé M. Massé dans l'impossibilité de continuer la vérification de la pratique de la firme Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. causant ainsi son départ du bureau du syndic le 19 juin 2002;

Considérant que monsieur Raymond Villemure, surintendant adjoint vérification, par une lettre datée et transmise le 21 juin 2002, a exigé du syndic Sydney H. Pfeiffer, qu'il produise différents documents bancaires et comptables le ou avant le 26 juin 2002;

Considérant que les syndics visés n'ont pas répondu de façon satisfaisante à la demande de M. Raymond Villemure;

Considérant que le 5 juillet dernier, pour les motifs ci-hauts énumérés et dans le but de sauvegarder les actifs, le soussigné émettait des mesures conservatoires lesquelles enjoignaient aux institutions financières où les actifs étaient déposés, selon les informations données par les syndics en cause, de ne plus honorer aucun effet de commerce, transfert de fonds, paiements ou autre, à moins qu'ils ne soient contresignés par un représentant du Bureau du surintendant des faillites;

Considérant que lesdites mesures enjoignaient également au séquestre officiel de ne plus nommer les syndics en cause afin d'administrer de nouveaux dossiers et enjoignait également à un représentant d'Industrie Canada, de prendre copie du système informatique des syndics en cause et des données comptables se rapportant aux dossiers d'actifs;

Considérant que subséquemment à l'émission de ces mesures conservatoires, l'enquête concernant ces syndics a démontré que ces derniers ont sciemment induit en erreur les représentants du Bureau du surintendant des faillites par de fausses déclarations et en leur fournissant des documents incomplets, erronés et faux en les sachant tel;

Considérant que le 15 juillet 2002, les syndics Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. et Sydney H. Pfeiffer furent requis de démontrer, en produisant des documents originaux, où sont investis ou détenus les argents provenant du compte consolidé qu'ils étaient présumés détenir;

Considérant que les syndics furent incapables de rendre compte d'une grande partie des fonds d'actifs détenus en fidéicommis;

Considérant que le surintendant des faillites peut et doit, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs visés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi et ce, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant des faillites a délégué au surintendant associé (Politiques, programmes et normes, maintenant Programmes, Normes et Affaires réglementaires) en vertu de l'autorité du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, dans certaines situations mentionnées au paragraphe 14.03(2), les attributions du surintendant prévues au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, copies de la délégation et des paragraphes 14.01(2) et 14.03(1) à (4) de la Loi sont jointes aux présentes;

Considérant les dispositions de l'alinéa 14.03(1)a) et b) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Je, Alain Lafontaine, en ma qualité de surintendant associé (Programmes, normes et affaires réglementaires), donne instruction au :

Séquestre Officiel:

  • De prendre possession et contrôle des biens et dossiers d'actifs administrés par les syndics Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. et Sydney H. Pfeiffer et ce où qu'ils soient situés et notamment à la place d'affaires des syndics au 1085, Saint-Alexandre, bureau 400, Montréal, Québec, ainsi que des données comptables et informatiques qui sont liées aux dossiers. Une liste desdits dossiers est jointe à la présente à l'annexe A.
  • De remettre lesdits biens et dossiers au gardien nommé à savoir Samson Bélair Deloitte Touche Inc. au 5 Place Ville-Marie, 10ième étage, Montréal, Québec; Aux fins d'exécuter les présentes instructions, le séquestre officiel peut s'adjoindre toutes autres personnes.

Ces instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le resteront jusqu'à avis contraire ou jusqu'à ce qu'une décision soit rendue aux termes de l'article 14.01 de la Loi;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient leurs destinataires, lesquels sont tenus de s'y conformer;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Et j'ai signé, en la ville d'Ottawa, Ontario,
ce 24 juillet 2002

Alain Lafontaine,
Surintendant associé (Programmes, Normes et Affaires réglementaires)

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :