Samson Bélair Deloitte Touche Inc.

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of:
Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc.
Sydney H. Pfeiffer

Instructions for Conservatory Measures
(section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)

Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act provides the Superintendent with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas during the course of an investigation regarding the corporate trustee Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. and individual trustee Sydney H. Pfeiffer, the Deputy Superintendent (Programs, Standards and Regulatory Affairs), Alain Lafontaine, on July 5, 2002, with a view to protecting the estates, issued conservatory measures which notably enjoined financial institutions where, according to information given by the trustees, estate funds had been deposited, to make no debit, payment or transfer on funds credited to the estates administered by the trustees unless they be co-signed by a representative of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy;

Whereas, in light of the seriousness of the irregularities identified, the Deputy Superintendent, Alain Lafontaine, on July 24, 2002, issued a second series of conservatory measures which enjoined the Official Receiver to take possession of the bankruptcy and proposal files administered by the trustees and to deliver them to Samson, Bélair, Deloitte & Touche Inc., guardian trustee, which has since been ensuring their administration;

Whereas subsequent to the issuance of these measures, undischarged bankrupts where the trustee himself is discharged have expressed their desire to obtain their discharge;

Whereas the measures previously issued were not directed at files in which the trustees have been discharged;

Whereas in files in which the trustees have already obtained their discharge, there could remain certain actions to perform in order to complete the administration;

Whereas since the issuance of these measures, the trustees Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. and Sydney H. Pfeiffer are no longer able to administer new estates or to conduct transactions in the estate bank accounts;

Whereas the Superintendent of Bankruptcy may and must, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers referred to in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act in the circumstances stipulated in subsection 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent of Bankruptcy has delegated to Sylvie Laperrière, Senior Analyst, Disciplinary Affairs, in accordance with subsection 14.01(2) of the Act, in certain situations mentioned in subsection 14.03(2), his powers as specified at subsection 14.03 (1) of the Act, copies of which delegation are attached along with copies of subsections 14.01(2) and 14.03(1) to (4) of the Act;

In accordance with paragraphs 14.03(1)a) and b) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;

I, Sylvie Laperrière, in my capacity as Senior Analyst, Disciplinary Affairs, give instruction to:

Samson Bélair Deloitte Touche Inc., as agent of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, to take all the necessary steps to complete the administration of the estates and estate files that were administered by Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. and Sydney H. Pfeiffer trustees in which the trustees have already obtained their discharge, and namely:

  • To keep the property and records, deeds, books, documents, electronic data and bank accounts related to these files, to make an inventory of them, to preserve them in accordance with the provisions of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;
  • To complete the administration of these files in accordance with the duties and responsibilities incumbent on trustees in bankruptcy according to the Act.

These instructions take effect immediately and will stay in place until further notice or until a decision is rendered under section 14.01 of the Act;

In accordance with subsection 14.03(3) of the Act, these instructions bind their addressee, who must comply with them;

In accordance with subsection 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with the present instructions is not liable for any act done by the person only to comply with them.

Signed, in the City of Sainte-Foy, Quebec, August 13th, 2002

Sylvie Laperrière,
Senior Analyst, Disciplinary Affairs

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Samson Bélair Deloitte Touche Inc.

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire de :
Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc.
Sydney H. Pfeiffer

Instructions de Mesures Conservatoires
(article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)

Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité attribue au surintendant un pouvoir général de surveillance des actifs et des affaires régis par ladite Loi;

Considérant que dans le cours d'une enquête visant le syndic corporatif Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. et le syndic individuel Sydney H. Pfeiffer, le surintendant associé (Programmes, normes et affaires réglementaires), Alain Lafontaine, émettait, le 5 juillet dernier, dans le but de sauvegarder les actifs, des mesures conservatoires lesquelles enjoignaient, entre autres, aux institutions financières où les actifs étaient déposés, selon les informations données par les syndics en cause, de ne plus faire aucun débit, paiement et transfert sur les fonds déposés au crédit des actifs de faillites et de propositions administrés par les syndics à moins qu'ils ne soient contresignés par un représentant du Bureau du surintendant des faillites;

Considérant que, vu la gravité des lacunes constatées, le surintendant associé, Alain Lafontaine, émettait le 24 juillet 2002, une deuxième série de mesures conservatoires enjoignant au séquestre officiel de prendre possession des dossiers de faillites et de propositions administrés par les syndics en cause et de les remettre à Samson Bélair Deloitte Touche Inc., syndic gardien, laquelle en assure depuis lors l'administration;

Considérant que subséquemment à l'émission de ces mesures, des faillis non libérés, alors que le syndic est lui-même libéré, ont manifesté le désir d'obtenir leur libération;

Considérant que les mesures antérieurement émises ne visent pas les dossiers des syndics dans lesquels ils ont obtenu leur libération;

Considérant que dans des dossiers dans lesquels les syndics visés ont déjà obtenu leur libération, il pourrait y avoir certains gestes à poser afin de parfaire l'administration;

Considérant que depuis l'émission des mesures conservatoires ci-haut décrites, les syndics Sydney H. Pfeiffer et Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. ne sont plus habilités à administrer de nouveaux actifs ni à transiger sur les comptes bancaires des actifs;

Considérant que le surintendant des faillites peut et doit, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs visés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi et ce, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant des faillites a délégué à Sylvie Laperrière, analyste principale, affaires disciplinaires, en vertu de l'autorité du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, dans certaines situations mentionnées au paragraphe 14.03(2), les attributions du surintendant prévues au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, copies de la délégation et des paragraphes 14.01(2) et 14.03(1) à (4) de la Loi sont jointes aux présentes;

Considérant les dispositions de l'alinéa 14.03(1) a) et b) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Je, Sylvie Laperrière, en ma qualité d'analyste principale, affaires disciplinaires, donne instruction à :

Samson Bélair Deloitte Touche inc., à titre de mandataire du Bureau du surintendant des faillites, de prendre les mesures qu'elle estime nécessaires pour parfaire l'administration des dossiers d'actifs de Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. et Sydney H. Pfeiffer, dans lesquels lesdits syndics ont déjà obtenu leur libération et notamment :

  • De garder les biens et dossiers, titres, livres, documents, données informatiques et comptes de banque reliés à ces dossiers, d'en dresser inventaire, de les conserver et de les traiter selon les dispositions prévues à la Loi; et
  • De parfaire l'administration de ces dossiers conformément aux fonctions, devoirs et responsabilité dévolus aux syndics de faillite par la Loi.

Ces instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le resteront jusqu'à avis contraire ou jusqu'à ce qu'une décision soit rendue aux termes de l'article 14.01 de la Loi;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient leurs destinataires, lesquels sont tenus de s'y conformer;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Et J'ai signé, en la ville de Sainte-Foy, Québec,
ce 13 août 2002

Sylvie Laperrière,
Analyste principale, affaires disciplinaires

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :