Preliminary professional conduct: Éric Métivier, Robert Brochu and Serge Morency and trustee firms PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc. and Serge Morency & Associés Inc. — July 4, 2002

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada
Province of Quebec


Preliminary Decision
made pursuant to the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act


In Matters Concerning The Professional Conduct Of: 

Éric Métivier
holder of a trustee licence for the province of Quebec

PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
holder of a corporate trustee licence with an office in the city of Québec, province of Quebec
and
Robert Brochu
holder of a trustee licence for the province of Quebec
Serge Morency & Associés Inc.
holder of a corporate trustee licence having an office in the city of Sainte-Foy, province of Quebec
and
Serge Morency holder of a trustee licence for the province of Quebec

On May 8, 2001 the Superintendent of Bankruptcy delegated authority to the undersigned to act in the three aforementioned matters and informed the parties concerned on June 6 following. These are three separate cases but each has to do with an important transaction which establishes a connection between them. This particular background is the reason that only one preliminary decision is made regarding the holding of the forthcoming hearings.

On July 3, 2001 the undersigned held three successive telephone conferences with counsel for each party so as to decide on the procedure for the said hearings.

On July 25, 2001 counsel for the trustee Métivier informed me of his intention to initiate proceedings to have the provisions contained in ss. 14.01 and 14.02 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (hereinafter referred to as "the Act") declared invalid and unconstitutional. He also informed me of his intention to file a motion for a stay in the Court if counsel for the principal analyst refused to agree voluntarily to a stay of the hearing the undersigned was to hold. These two motions were filed with the Court on August 21, 2001.

On September 14, 2001 counsel for the Superintendent of Bankruptcy filed a motion for a declinatory exception, to be heard on October 29 following, on the ground that only the Federal Court of Canada had jurisdiction to decide some of the conclusions sought.

Following an agreement between the parties it was settled that only the motion for a stay would be submitted, but not until the following December 17. However, the latter agreement had to be re-negotiated again and the hearing fixed pro forma for January 28, 2002.

The motion for a declaratory judgment and in evocation was ultimately heard on March 5 and 6, 2002 and a judgment signed by Yvon Godin J. of the Superior Court was handed down on May 24 last confirming the validity of ss. 14.01 and 14.02 of the Act.

On June 17, 2002 counsel for the trustee Métivier appealed the judgment of Yvon Godin J.

As a result of this judicial detour, the undersigned again invited counsel for the parties to participate in a new series of telephone conferences on June 28 last so as to clarify matters.

The latter wanted to know:

  • Should we initiate disciplinary hearings at once or await the judgment to be rendered in Métivier by the Quebec Court of Appeal?
  • Is it still necessary to hold a joint hearing on the fact common to the three cases (namely, the sale of the Auberge Jacques-Cartier Enr.)?
  • What might be the hearing dates, in view of the professional commitments of each counsel?

The following emerged from these discussions:

  • Counsel for the trustee Métivier asked that the hearing be stayed until the Quebec Court of Appeal had made a ruling. He added that a joint hearing was not necessary on evidence connecting the three cases. He submitted that this was an urgent matter where public protection was involved. Finally, he maintained that his client would suffer irreparable harm if a hearing had to be held and his appeal was subsequently allowed.
  • Counsel for the principal analyst, in his turn, objected to the hearing being delayed again and asked that we proceed as soon as possible regardless of the appeal. He added that according to certain decisions rendered by other delegates of the Superintendent, I did not have the discretion to grant a stay in this way and consequently had a duty to act at once. He also felt that a joint hearing was necessary for part of the evidence to be presented.
  • Counsel for PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc. and the trustee Robert Brochu questioned the need for a joint hearing and added that they had preliminary arguments to present (other than the constitutional question). These concerned the legislation applicable at the time and [they] wanted a preliminary hearing to be held on their points of law. During the telephone conference they undertook to submit written pleadings on this matter by September 1 at the latest. Counsel for the principal analyst in his turn undertook to reply by September 16 following.
  • Counsel for the trustee Morency insisted on the need for a joint hearing on part of the evidence to be presented and added that he had no representations to make on whether to postpone the hearing until the Quebec Court of Appeal had ruled in Métivier.

After hearing counsel for each of the parties, I have come to the following conclusions.

  1. Although urgency and protection of the public are not decisive factors, I note that the facts surrounding the alleged actions date back at least as far as 1993, and the fact remains that in s. 14.02 of the Act Parliament has imposed on the Superintendent or his delegates a duty to act "as informally and expeditiously as the circumstances… permit". Further, the same provisions whose constitutionality has been challenged have been upheld and, until there is a further ruling, must be regarded as valid. In such a legal context, it seems to me that I have a duty to convene the parties for a hearing as soon as possible.
  2. A joint hearing seems necessary on the actions of the trustees involved in the sale of the Auberge Jacques-Cartier Enr. These are so inter-related that any attempt to sever them into three separate hearings would be contrary to all logic as well as creating serious problems of logistics in administration of the evidence. I wish to reserve a week of hearing on this matter, as suggested by counsel for the trustee Morency. Two further days of hearing may be reserved for the evidence on the other actions alleged against the trustee Métivier, and one day should suffice for those alleged against the trustee Morency.
  3. I reserve my decision on the advisability of holding a hearing devoted exclusively to the preliminary argument raised by counsel for PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc. and the trustee Robert Brochu. I will give them my decision after reviewing their written pleading and the reply by counsel for the principal analyst.
  4. After comparing the availability of each counsel, it appears that January 2003 is the first opportunity for hearing these cases unless counsel for the trustee Métivier informs me by the end of August that he is available to proceed in November (the other counsel were available at the time of the conference calls). Accordingly, I would ask each counsel to reserve the week of January 13, 2003 to proceed with the hearing on facts common to the three cases. If it is possible to hold a hearing more quickly, I will convene new pre-trial conferences in early September to reconfirm that each person is available.

Signed at Aylmer, Quebec, July 4, 2002.

Jean-Claude Demers, Q.C.
Delegate of Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Counsel of record:

Jacques Larochelle
Counsel for trustee Éric Métivier
Michel Jolin, Bâtonnier
and Alain Robitaille
Counsel for PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc. and the trustee Robert Brochu
Daniel O'Brien
Counsel for Serge Morency & Associés Inc. and the trustee Serge Morency
Pierre Lecavalier
and Louis-Philippe Delage
Counsel for the principal analyst


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Décision préliminaire sur la conduite professionnelle : Éric Métivier, Robert Brochu et Serge Morency et des syndics corporatifs PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc. et Serge Morency & Associés Inc. — 4 juillet 2002

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada
Province de Québec


Décision préliminaire
rendue en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité


Dans les affaires concernant la conduite professionnelle de :

Éric Métivier
détenteur d'une licence de syndic pour la province de Québec
PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.,
détenteur d'une licence de syndic corporative opérant un bureau dans la ville de Québec, province de Québec
et
Robert Brochu
détenteur d'une licence de syndic pour la province de Québec
Serge Morency & Associés Inc.,
détenteur d'une licence de syndic corporative opérant un bureau dans la ville de Sainte-Foy, province de Québec
et
Serge Morency
détenteur d'une licence de syndic pour la province de Québec

Le 8 mai 2001, le surintendant des faillites déléguait au soussigné l'autorité d'agir dans les trois affaires mentionnées en titre et en informait les parties concernées le 6 juin suivant. Il s'agit de trois dossiers distincts comportant chacun toutefois une importante transaction les reliant les uns aux autres. C'est à cause de ce contexte particulier qu'une seule et même décision préliminaire est rendue concernant le déroulement des auditions à venir.

Le 3 juillet 2001, le soussigné tenait trois conférences téléphoniques successives avec les procureurs de chacune des parties dans le but de préciser les modalités de ces mêmes auditions.

Le 25 juillet 2001, le procureur du syndic Métivier m'informait de son intention d'entamer des procédures visant à faire déclarer inopérantes et inconstitutionnelles les dispositions contenues aux articles 14.01 et 14.02 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (ci-après appelée la Loi). Il m'informait aussi de son intention de présenter à la Cour une requête en sursis si le procureur de l'analyste principal refusait une suspension à l'amiable de l'audition que le soussigné devait tenir. Ces deux requêtes furent déposées à la Cour le 21 août 2001.

Le 14 septembre 2001, le procureur du surintendant des faillites présentait une requête, devant être entendue le 29 octobre suivant, pour exception déclinatoire au motif que seule la Cour fédérale du Canada avait compétence pour décider de certaines des conclusions recherchées.

À la suite d'une entente entre les parties, il fut convenu que seule la requête pour sursis serait présentée, mais seulement le 17 décembre suivant. Toutefois, cette dernière entente devait être à nouveau renégociée et l'audition fixée « pro forma » au 28 janvier 2002.

La requête pour jugement déclaratoire et en évocation fut, en fin de compte, entendue les 5 et 6 mars 2002 et un jugement signé par l'honorable juge Yvan Godin de la Cour supérieure fut rendu le 24 mai dernier confirmant la validité des articles 14.01 et 14.02 de la Loi.

Le 17 juin 2002, le procureur du syndic Métivier interjetait appel de la décision de l'honorable juge Yvan Godin.

C'est à la suite de ce détour judiciaire que le soussigné a convié à nouveau les procureurs des parties à participer à une nouvelle série de conférences téléphoniques le 28 juin dernier dans le but de faire le point.

À l'ordre du jour de celles-ci :

  • Devrions-nous entamer les auditions disciplinaires dès maintenant ou attendre le jugement à être rendu par la Cour d'appel du Québec dans l'affaire Métivier?
  • Y a-t-il toujours lieu de tenir une enquête commune quant au fait reliant les trois dossiers (à savoir la vente de l'Auberge Jacques-Cartier enr.)?
  • Quelles pourraient être les dates d'audition possibles compte tenu des engagements professionnels de chacun des procureurs?

Il est ressorti de ces entretiens ce qui suit  :

  • Le procureur du syndic Métivier demande que l'audition soit suspendue jusqu'à ce que la Cour d'appel du Québec se soit prononcée. Il ajoute qu'une audition commune est nécessaire quant aux éléments de preuve reliant les trois dossiers. Il ne s'agit pas, selon lui, d'une affaire urgente où la protection du public est en cause. Il souligne enfin que son client subirait un tort irréparable si une audition devait avoir lieu et que, par la suite, son appel était favorablement accueilli.
  • Le procureur de l'analyste principal s'oppose, quant à lui, à ce que l'audition soit à nouveau retardée et demande que nonobstant l'appel, nous procédions dès que possible. Il ajoute que suivant certaines décisions rendues par d'autres délégués du surintendant, je n'aurais pas la discrétion d'ainsi surseoir et que, conséquemment, j'ai le devoir d'agir dès maintenant. Il est aussi d'avis qu'une enquête commune est nécessaire pour partie de la preuve à être présentée.
  • Les procureurs de PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc. et du syndic Robert Brochu questionnent, quant à eux, l'opportunité d'une enquête commune et ajoutent qu'ils ont des moyens préliminaires à faire valoir (autres que la question constitutionnelle). Ceux-ci porteraient sur la législation alors applicable et souhaitent la tenue d'une audition préliminaire sur leurs points de droit. Au cours de la conférence téléphonique, ils se sont engagés à produire un plaidoyer écrit sur cette question au plus tard le 1er septembre. Le procureur de l'analyste principal s'est engagé, quant à lui, à y répondre avant le 16 septembre suivant.
  • Le procureur du syndic Morency insiste, quant à lui, sur la nécessité d'une audition commune pour partie de la preuve à être faite et ajoute qu'il n'a pas de point de vue à faire valoir quant à l'opportunité de reporter ou non l'audition jusqu'à ce que la Cour d'appel du Québec se soit prononcée dans l'affaire Métivier.

Après avoir entendu les procureurs de chacune des parties, j'en arrive aux conclusions suivantes  :

  1. Bien que l'urgence et la protection du public ne sauraient constituer des facteurs déterminants, je rappelle que les faits entourant les agissements reprochés remontent à aussi loin que 1993, il n'en demeure pas moins que le législateur, aux termes de l'article 14.02 de la Loi, impose au surintendant ou à ses délégués d'agir « avec célérité et sans formalisme ». Au surplus, ces mêmes dispositions dont on questionnait la constitutionnalité ont vu leur bien-fondé confirmé et, jusqu'à nouvel ordre, doivent être considérées comme telles. Il m'apparaît, dans un tel cadre juridique, que j'ai le devoir de convoquer les parties à une audition dès que faire se peut.
  2. Une audition commune m'apparaît nécessaire en ce qui concerne les faits et gestes des syndics impliqués dans la vente de l'Auberge Jacques-Cartier enr. En effet, ceux-ci sont à ce point liés que de tenter de les départir en trois auditions distinctes serait contraire à toute logique en plus d'engendrer de sérieux problèmes de logistique au niveau de l'administration de la preuve. Je désire réserver une semaine d'audition à cette question comme l'a suggéré le procureur du syndic Morency. Deux journées d'audition additionnelles pourraient être réservées à la preuve des autres gestes reprochés au syndic Métivier alors qu'une journée devrait suffire en ce qui concerne ceux reprochés au syndic Morency.
  3. Je réserve ma décision quant à l'à-propos de tenir une audition consacrée uniquement au moyen préliminaire soulevé par le procureur de PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc. et du syndic Robert Brochu. Je leur communiquerai celle-ci après avoir pris connaissance de leur plaidoyer écrit ainsi que de la réponse du procureur de l'analyste principal.
  4. Après avoir comparé les disponibilités de chacun des procureurs, il semble que janvier 2003 soit la première occasion d'entendre ces affaires à moins que le procureur du syndic Métivier ne m'ait informé d'ici la fin août qui lui est loisible de procéder en novembre (les autres procureurs étaient disponibles au moment des appels conférences). Je demande donc à chacun des procureurs de réserver la semaine du 13 janvier 2003 pour procéder à l'audition des faits communs aux trois dossiers. S'il s'avérait possible de tenir une audition plus rapidement, je convoquerai de nouvelles conférences préparatoires au début septembre afin de reconfirmer les disponibilités de chacun.

Signé à Aylmer, Québec, ce 4e jour de juillet 2002.

Jean-Claude Demers, c.r.
Délégué du surintendant des faillites

Procureurs aux dossiers :

Me Jacques Larochelle
procureur du syndic Éric Métivier
Me Michel Jolin, bâtonnier
et Me Alain Robitaille
procureur de PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc. et du syndic Robert Brochu
Me Daniel O'Brien
procureur de Serge Morency & Associés Inc. et du syndic Serge Morency
Me Pierre Lecavalier
et Me Louis-Philippe Delage
procureur de l'analyste principal


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :