Robert Rusinek — December 19, 2002

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

In the Matter of

Robert Rusinek
Holder of a Trustee Licence
for the Province of Ontario

and

Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc.
Holder of a Corporate Trustee Licence
for the Province of Ontario


Order Issued Under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act


Whereas Robert Rusinek, trustee, and Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc., corporate trustee, operate offices in the City of Toronto, Ontario;

Whereas the Senior Analyst, Disciplinary Affairs of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy has submitted a Report (the "Report") on the administration of Robert Rusinek, trustee and Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc., corporate trustee, collectively as the "Trustee", pursuant to the general delegation received regarding the application of Subsection 14.02 (1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;

Whereas the Report identifies a number of irregularities and deficiencies where the Trustees have failed to properly fulfil their statutory duties of an administrative nature in respect of the Trustees' administration of estate during the period covered by the Report, based on audits conducted in June 1999 and March 2000, such as:

  1. Unauthorized draw of final fees in summary bankruptcies:

    The Trustee drew, during the months of April and May 1999, final fees in the amount of $43,841.38 on or before the date when the Final Statements of Receipts and Disbursements were forwarded to the Official Receiver for comment. This amount was determined to constitute unauthorized draws of final fees contrary to Section 156 and Rule 65(1)(a) of the Act.

  2. Improper notice of deemed taxation of trustee's accounts and discharge of trustee:

    Notices of Deemed Taxation of Trustee's Accounts and Deemed Discharge of Trustee were issued to the proven creditors in all estates before the Trustee had received letters of comment from the Official Receiver, contrary to Rule 64(1) of the Act.

  3. Netting of Bank service charges against interest earned:

    An amount of $295 per month in bank service charges has been netted against bank interest earned since April 1999, prior to allocating interest income to the Summary Bankruptcy estates within the consolidated trust bank account contrary to Rule 128 of the Act.

  4. Improper administration of consolidated trust bank account:

    The Trustee operates only one consolidated trust bank account for both summary bankruptcy and Division II (consumer) proposal estates. The co-mingling of funds is contrary to Section 66.26(2) of the Act and Directive 5.

Whereas Robert Rusinek, in his capacity as President of Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc., is responsible for the banking policies, procedures and transactions of Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc. and also executed the relevant statutory documents;

Whereas in all cases referred to in the Report, the individual trustee was acting on behalf of Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc., which was appointed trustee in all of the estates reviewed;

Whereas the designation of an individual trustee shall not relieve the corporate trustee of its ethical responsibility under any professional engagement it has accepted;

Whereas the amount of $43,841.38 in unauthorized draws of final fees was reimbursed by the Trustee to the consolidated trust bank account on June 17, 1999;

Whereas the amount of $2,065.00 of bank service charges was reimbursed on May 3, 2000 to the summary bankruptcy estates and the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy is satisfied that no service charges have been netted against interest earned since August 1999;

Whereas the Trustee has ceased the practice of co-mingling Division II (consumer) proposal estate trust funds;

Whereas Robert Rusinek does not intend to practice again as a trustee;

Whereas Robert Rusinek's trustee licence has ceased to be valid on January 1, 2002 due to the failure of the trustee to renew his licence in accordance with Rule 134(2) of the Act;

Whereas pursuant to subsection 14.01 (1.1), of the Act,the provisions of Sections 14.01 and 14.02 of the Act are also applicable with respect to former Trustees;

Whereas Robert Rusinek does not admit the allegations and has chosen not to defend against them;

Whereas none of the trustees involved in the improper and non-conforming management of consolidated bankruptcy accounts are partners and/or (active) employees of Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc. any longer, and the trustees and insolvency practitioners currently with the said firm were not in any way involved in the improprieties noted;

Whereas the parties have submitted to me this draft decision, which in my opinion is fair and reasonable in the specific circumstances of this case, and there is no reason to derogate from it;

Whereas the parties have agreed that the corporate trustee reimburse $10,000 of the cost of the investigation into the professional conduct of the said corporate trustee.

By These Reasons: 

I, the undersigned, Fred Kaufman, Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcies by virtue of the powers delegated to me under section 14.01 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act,

Order Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc, corporate trustee, to pay to the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy the sum of $10,000.00 as reimbursement of the costs of the investigation into the professional conduct of the said corporate trustee;

Take Notice that Robert Rusinek, trustee, did not renew his trustee licence in December 2001 and said licence ceased to be effective on January 1, 2002;

hereby cancel the licence of trustee Robert Rusinek;

The payments referred to above shall be made within twenty (20) days of the signing of this decision, failing which the parties shall be called before the undersigned for a hearing.

Signed in Toronto, in the province of Ontario, this 19th day of December, 2002.


The Honourable Fred Kaufman C.M. Q.C.
Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy



This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Robert Rusinek — 19 décembre 2002

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Dans l'affaire de

Robert Rusinek
Titulaire d'une licence de syndic
Pour la province d'Ontario

et de

Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc.
Titulaire d'une licence de syndic
Pour une personne morale
Pour la province d'Ontario


Ordonnance rendue en vertu de la loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité


Attendu que Robert Rusinek, syndic, et que Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc., titulaire d'une licence de syndic pour une personne morale, exploitent des bureaux dans la ville de Toronto en Ontario;

Attendu que l'analyste principal, Affaires disciplinaires du Bureau du surintendant des faillites a soumis un rapport (le « rapport ») sur l'administration de Robert Rusinek, syndic, et de Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc., titulaire d'une licence de syndic pour une personne morale, désignés ci-après collectivement comme le « Syndic », conformément à la délégation générale reçue dans le cadre de l'application du paragraphe 14.02(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Attendu que le rapport fait état d'un certain nombre d'irrégularités et de déficiences et indique que le Syndic n'a pas exécuté adéquatement ses fonctions statutaires de nature administrative dans le cadre d'administration d'actifs au cours de la période visée par le rapport, lequel est fondé sur des vérifications menées en juin 1999 et en mars 2000, telles que :

  1. Prélèvements d'honoraires définitifs dans des cessions sommaires en contravention de la Loi et des Règles :

    Durant les mois d'avril et de mai 1999, le Syndic a prélevé le montant de 43, 841,38 $ à titre d'honoraires définitifs le ou avant le jour où les États définitifs des recettes et des débours ont été transmis au séquestre officiel pour commentaires. Il a été déterminé que ce montant représente des prélèvements défendus par l'article 156 de la Loi et l'alinéa 65(1)(a) des Règles sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (ci-après les « Règles »).

  2. Transmission anticipée de l'Avis de la taxation présumée des comptes et de la libération présumée du syndic :

    Le Syndic a transmis les Avis de la taxation présumée des comptes et de la libération présumée du syndic aux créanciers qui avaient prouvé leur réclamation avant d'avoir reçu les lettres de commentaires du séquestre officiel et violé le paragraphe 64(1) des Règles.

  3. Déduction des frais de service bancaires de l'intérêt gagné :

    Des frais de service bancaires s'élevant à 295 $ par mois sont déduits de l'intérêt bancaire gagné depuis le mois d'avril 1999 avant que le revenu d'intérêt soit imputé aux cessions sommaires dont l'actif est déposé dans le compte bancaire consolidé en fiducie en violation de l'article 128 des Règles.

  4. Administration du compte bancaire consolidé en fiducie non conforme à la Loi :

    Le Syndic n'opère qu'un compte bancaire consolidé en fiducie tant pour les cessions sommaires que les propositions de consommateur aux termes de la Section II. Le mélange des fonds viole le paragraphe 66.26(2) de la Loi et l'Instruction no 5.

Attendu que Robert Rusinek, en sa qualité de président de Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc., est responsable des politiques bancaires, des procédures bancaires et des transactions bancaires de Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc. et qu'il a également signé les documents prévus par la loi à cet effet;

Attendu que, dans tous les cas visés dans le rapport, le syndic individuel agissait au nom de Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc., qui avait été nommé syndic dans tous les dossiers examinés;

Attendu que la désignation d'un syndic individuel ne libère pas la personne morale agissant en qualité de syndic de sa responsabilité déontologique eu égard aux activités professionnelles qu'elle a acceptées;

Attendu que, le 17 juin 1999, le Syndic a remis dans le compte bancaire consolidé en fiducie le montant de 43 841,38$ d'honoraires définitifs qu'il avait prélevés sans droit;

Attendu que le montant de frais de service bancaires qui s'élève à 2 065 $ a été remboursé le 3 mai 2000 aux cessions sommaires et que le Bureau du surintendant des faillites est convaincu qu'aucuns autres frais de service bancaires n'ont été déduits des intérêts gagnés depuis août 1999;

Attendu que le Syndic a mis fin à la pratique de mélanger les fonds en fiducie des propositions de consommateur aux termes de la Section II avec d'autres fonds en fiducie;

Attendu que Robert Rusinek n'a plus l'intention de pratiquer comme syndic;

Attendu que la licence de syndic de Robert Rusinek n'est plus valide depuis le 1er janvier 2002, le syndic ne l'ayant pas renouvelée conformément au paragraphe 134(2) des Règles;

Attendu que, conformément au paragraphe 14.01(1.1) de la Loi, les dispositions des articles 14.01 et 14.02 de la Loi s'appliquent également aux anciens syndics;

Attendu que Robert Rusinek n'admet pas les irrégularités qui lui sont reprochées et qu'il a décidé de ne pas les contester;

Attendu que qu'aucun des syndics ayant pris part à l'administration non conforme à la Loi et aux Règles du compte bancaire consolidé en fiducie n'est maintenant un associé ou un employé actif de Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc. et que les syndics et les praticiens en insolvabilité qui font maintenant partie de ce cabinet n'ont rien eu à voir avec les irrégularités reprochées;

Attendu que les parties m'ont présenté cette ébauche de décision, qu'elle me semble juste et raisonnable dans les circonstances en l'espèce et qu'il n'y a aucun motif de la modifier;

Attendu que les parties ont convenu que le titulaire d'une licence de syndic pour une personne morale remboursera le coût de l'enquête menée relativement à sa conduite professionnelle, soit 10 000 $.

Pour ces motifs :

Le soussigné, Fred Kaufman, délégataire du surintendant des faillites en vertu des pouvoirs qui m'ont été délégués en vertu de l'article 14.01 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité,

Ordonne à Robert Rusinek & Associates Inc, titulaire d'une licence de syndic pour une personne morale, de verser au Bureau du surintendant des faillites le montant de 10 000 $ en remboursement des coûts de l'enquête menée relativement à sa conduite professionnelle;

Constate que Robert Rusinek, syndic, n'a pas renouvelé sa licence de syndic en décembre 2001 et que sa licence n'est plus en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2002;

Annule, par les présentes, la licence de syndic de Robert Rusinek;

Le paiement visé ci-dessus sera effectué dans les vingt (20) jours suivant la signature de la présente décision, à défaut de quoi, les parties seront convoquées à une audience devant le soussigné.

Signé à Toronto, dans la province d'Ontario, ce 19e jour de décembre 2002.


Fred Kaufman C.M. c. r.
Délégué du surintendant des faillites



Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :