Official Receiver

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of:
Henry Sztern & Associés inc.
and
Henry Sztern


Directions for Conservatory Measures
(section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (Act) provides the Superintendent with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas the Superintendent of Bankruptcy may and must, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers referred to in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act in the circumstances stipulated in subsection 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas on April 3, 2003, for the above mentioned reasons and with a view to protecting the estates, the undersigned issued conservatory measures which enjoined the financial institution where, according to information given by the trustees, estate funds had been deposited, to no longer honour bills of exchange, transfers of funds, payments or otherwise, unless they be co-signed by a representative of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy;

Whereas these measures also enjoined the Official Receiver to stop appointing the trustees to new files and also enjoined a representative of Industry Canada to make a copy of the trustees' computerized accounting system and of the accounting data pertaining to the estates;

Whereas subsequent to the issuance of these conservatory measures, the investigation concerning the trustees revealed that the trustees misled representatives of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy by making false statements and by knowingly providing incomplete, erroneous and false documents;

Whereas on April 14, 2003, for reasons also mentioned therein, the undersigned issued a second series of conservatory measures through which, among other things, all files of trustees Henry Sztern & Associés inc. and Henry Sztern open as of April 14, 2003 are now administered by H.H. Davis & assoc. inc. as agent of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy;

Whereas certain actions must be taken to complete the administration of estate files not affected by these conservatory measures as a result of the trustee's discharge from these estates on or before April 14, 2003;

Whereas the Superintendent of bankruptcy has delegated to the Deputy Superintendent (Policy, Programs and Standards, now Programs, Standards and Regulatory Affairs) in accordance with subsection 14.01(2) of the Act, in certain situations mentioned in subsection 14.03(2), his powers as specified at subsection 14.03 (1) of the Act, copies of which delegation are attached along with copies of subsections 14.01(2) and 14.03(1) to (4) of the Act ;

Whereas subsections 14.03(1)a) and b) of the Act apply;

I, Alain Lafontaine, in my capacity as Deputy Superintendent (Programs, Standards and Regulatory Affairs), direct: 

Gilles-Normand Lavallée, official receiver, or in the event he is unable to act, Bernadette Blain, also an official receiver, to take any necessary action in order to complete the administration of bankruptcy estates formerly administered by Henry Sztern & Associés Inc. and Henry Sztern and not affected by the directions for conservatory measures issued by the undersigned on April 14, 2003 as a result of the trustee's discharge from these estates as of that date. These individuals are hereby invested with all the necessary powers for this purpose, and without limiting the generality of the foregoing, to sign all judicial proceedings, legal documents, contracts, notices, and certificates provided for in the Act, open the appropriate bank accounts and use them to make any transactions necessary to complete the administration of these estates. These individuals may seek assistance from any other official receiver in order to carry out these directions.

These directions take effect immediately and will stay in place until further notice or until a decision is rendered under section 14.01 of the Act;

In accordance with subsection 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind their addressee, who must comply with them;

In accordance with subsection 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with the present directions is not liable for any act done only to comply with them.

Signed, in the City of Ottawa, Ontario, May 6, 2003

Alain Lafontaine
Deputy Superintendent
Programs, Standards and Regulatory Affairs

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Séquestre Officiel

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire de :
Henry Sztern & Associés inc.
et
Henry Sztern


Instructions de mesures conservatoires
(article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité attribue au surintendant un pouvoir général de surveillance des actifs et des affaires régis par ladite Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant des faillites peut et doit, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs visés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi et ce, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le 3 avril 2003, pour les motifs qui y sont mentionnés et dans le but de sauvegarder les actifs, le soussigné émettait des mesures conservatoires, lesquelles enjoignaient à l'institution financière où les actifs étaient déposés, selon les informations données par les syndics en cause, de ne plus honorer aucun effet de commerce, transfert de fonds, paiements ou autre, à moins qu'ils ne soient contresignés par un représentant du Bureau du surintendant des faillites;

Considérant que lesdites mesures enjoignaient également au séquestre officiel de ne plus nommer les syndics en cause afin d'administrer de nouveaux dossiers et enjoignaient également à un représentant d'Industrie Canada, de prendre copie du système comptable informatisé des syndics en cause et des données comptables se rapportant aux dossiers d'actifs;

Considérant que subséquemment à l'émission de ces mesures conservatoires, l'enquête concernant ces syndics a démontré que ces derniers ont sciemment induit en erreur les représentants du Bureau du surintendant des faillites par de fausses déclarations et en leur fournissant des documents incomplets, erronés et faux en les sachant tels;

Considérant que le 14 avril 2003, pour les motifs qui y sont également mentionnés, le soussigné émettait une deuxième série de mesures conservatoires en vertu desquelles notamment tous les dossiers des syndics Henry Sztern & Associés inc.et Henry Sztern, ouverts au 14 avril 2003 sont maintenant administrés par H.H. Davis & Assoc. Inc. à titre d'agent du surintendant des faillites;

Considérant que dans des dossiers d'actifs non visés par les mesures conservatoires en ce que le syndic était libéré au 14 avril 2003, certains actes doivent être posés afin de parfaire l'administration de ces dossiers;

Considérant que le surintendant des faillites a délégué au surintendant associé (Politiques, Programmes et Normes, maintenant Programmes, Normes et Affaires réglementaires) en vertu de l'autorité du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, dans certaines situations mentionnées au paragraphe 14.03(2), les attributions du surintendant prévues au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, copies de la délégation et des paragraphes 14.01(2) et 14.03(1) à (4) de la Loi sont jointes aux présentes;

Considérant les dispositions des alinéas 14.03(1)a) et b) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Je, Alain Lafontaine, en ma qualité de surintendant associé (Programmes, Normes et Affaires réglementaires), donne instruction à :

Gilles-Normand Lavallée, séquestre officiel, ou à défaut de pouvoir agir, Bernadette Blain, également séquestre officiel, de poser tous les gestes requis afin de parfaire l'administration des dossiers de faillites anciennement administrés par Henry Sztern & Associés inc. et Henry Sztern et non visés par les instructions de mesures conservatoires émises par le soussigné le 14 avril 2003 en ce que ledit syndic était libéré à cette date. Ces personnes étant par les présentes investies de tous les pouvoirs nécessaires pour ce faire et, sans restreindre la généralité de ce qui précède, signer toutes les procédures judiciaires, documents légaux, tous contrats, tous avis et certificats prescrits par la Loi, ouvrir les comptes de banque appropriés et y effectuer toutes les transactions nécessaires afin de parfaire l'administration de ces dossiers. Aux fins d'exécuter les présentes instructions, ces personnes peuvent s'adjoindre tout autre séquestre officiel.

Ces instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le resteront jusqu'à avis contraire ou jusqu'à ce qu'une décision soit rendue aux termes de l'article 14.01 de la Loi;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient leurs destinataires, lesquels sont tenus de s'y conformer;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Et j'ai signé, en la ville d'Ottawa, Ontario, ce 6 mai 2003

Alain Lafontaine
Surintendant associé
Programmes, Normes et Affaires réglementaires

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :