Segal & Partners Inc. and Todd Y. Sheriff (Ontario) — June 23, 2003

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada
Ottawa, Ontario

In the matter of the professional conduct of
Todd Y. Sheriff
holder of a trustee licence and
Segal & Partners Inc. Holder
of corporate trustee license for
the province of Ontario

Counsel for the Trustees:
Mr. Craig R. Colraine
Birenbaum, Steinberg, Landau, Savin & Colraine LLP

Counsel for the Senior Analyst:
Mr. Marcel Gauvreau
Justice Canada

Licensing Order

Whereas this is further to my decision of , finding the trustees responsible for a number of wrongdoings regarding the administration of certain insolvency estates;

Whereas this is also further to my decision of February 12, 2003, rejecting the trustees' motion to stay proceedings for failure on the part of the Senior Disciplinary Analyst's (hereinafter referred to as the SDA) to disclose evidence;

Whereas subsequent to my February decision, both the trustees and the SDA agreed to submit written submissions as to the appropriate sanction to be imposed in this matter without further oral hearing. Counsel for the trustees submitted written representations on , followed by counsel for the SDA on March 14th and with a subsequent reply from the trustees on ;

Whereas by the decision dated , the following findings were arrived at against the trustees (the particulars of which can be found in the September decision):

  1. That in the matter of Bruce Michael Grayson:
    1. the trustee did not demonstrate the due care, competence and diligence expected of trustees in assessing the affairs of the debtor nor in determining that a proposal was viable under the circumstances known to them; and
    2. the lack of due care, competence and diligence on behalf of the trustees in reviewing and verifying the debtor's financial affairs caused the latter to engage in costly proceedings which were doomed to fail.
  2. That in the matter of John Gordon Sargant:
    1. the trustees did not display the competence and diligence expected of a trustee in overseeing the preparation of a consumer proposal documentation and more specifically, in adequately verifying the affairs of the debtor; and
    2. the trustees advised and assisted the debtor to proceed with a proposal to repay in full the only two listed creditors for a total of $4,800 plus fees of $2,800 while the trustees knew the debtor had secured a loan of $4,000 the day before filing the proposal and never did disclose the existence of such a loan to the creditors.
  3. That in the estates of Grayson and Sargant:
    1. the trustees and their staff failed to properly conduct an assessment of the debtor as required by Directive no. 6R; and
    2. the failure to conduct such proper assessment resulted in both debtors initiating proceedings which, had they been properly assessed, would never have been filed.
  4. That the trustees failed to comply with Directive 4 – Delegation of Tasks, in allowing a non-licensed trustee staff member to sign the report to creditors on a consumer proposal. That failure was mitigated however, by the representations of the staff member that she was authorized to sign the said report.
  5. That the trustees solicited proxies for a meeting of creditors. Such solicitation by the trustees is mitigated by the fact that it failed to secure the required votes to resist an anticipated motion for substitution that in the end was not pursued.
  6. That the trustees deliberately and knowingly attempted to obtain from the bankruptcy estate of Bruce Michael Grayson, the payment of fees for work done in relation to the failed proposal without disclosing to the inspectors the true nature of the fee claimed until challenged by the inspectors.
  7. That in the bankruptcy estate of Sargant, the trustee inadvertently filed a false proof of claim, having failed to deduct from his claim the interim fees already collected.

Whereas the SDA recommends that:

  1. the licence of Todd Y. Sheriff be suspended for a period of 8 months;
  2. the licence of the corporate trustee Segal & Partners Inc. be restricted for a period of 4 months from accepting and filing new appointments under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA);
  3. the corporate trustee be ordered to restitute the amount of $168.00 and $90.95 to the estate of Bruce Michael Grayson;
  4. the licence of Todd Y. Sheriff remain suspended until he has successfully completed a requalification process; and
  5. that trustee Todd Y. Sheriff be required to enroll in and complete a course in professional ethics within a period of 12 months.

Whereas the trustees submits the following as a suitable penalty:

  1. a recorded reprimand in respect of the findings against them;
  2. reimbursement of all fees expended by Grayson and Sargant on their consumer proposals;
  3. the completion of any reasonable course of continuing education as required by the Superintendent; and
  4. an order that the trustees' office be monitored on a periodic basis and for such length of time as determined to be appropriate.

Whereas the findings against the trustees point out a general lack of understanding of their role in administering small personal insolvency estates;

Whereas the findings point out a severe lack of diligence in reviewing and verifying the affairs of a debtor in a personal insolvency file;

Whereas the findings point out negligence and a lack of concern in ensuring that creditors receive complete and accurate information on the debtor's financial affairs;

Whereas the trustees' failings have resulted in debtors entering proceedings which prima facia had no chance of being successfully completed;

Whereas the trustees' failings have caused excessive and expensive time and effort by creditors that could have been easily avoided had the trustees carried out their duties with due diligence and been forthcoming in the provision of information to creditors;

Whereas the trustees' failings resulted in both Mr. Grayson and Mr. Sargant not receiving the professional, objective and independent quality services they were entitled to receive;

Whereas the failings of the trustees showed disregard for the importance and significance of conducting a thorough assessment interview and proper verification of the debtor's financial affairs;

Whereas the trustees' failings in these matters bring disrepute to the insolvency system and lend credit to those who advocate that trustees are in a conflict of interest at the time of assessment and that such an assessment should be conducted by an independent party;

Whereas trustee Todd Y. Sheriff has failed to demonstrate a full appreciation of the wrongdoings found against the trustees, opting to see these wrongdoings as a series of errors rather than breaches of the fundamental responsibilities of trustees to be thorough, accurate and forthcoming in performing their statutory duties under the BIA; and

Whereas I take notice that the corporate trustee has, since these incidents, hired two new individual trustees who had nothing to do with the present matter.

I, Superintendent of Bankruptcy, hereby order that:

  1. the licence of Segal and Partners be restricted for a period of one month from filing any estates under the BIA;
  2. the licence of Todd Y. Sheriff be suspended for a period of 6 months;
  3. the licence of Todd Y. Sheriff be, upon the expiration of the six month suspension, restricted thereafter to the filing and administration of corporate estates for a minimum of 18 months before the trustee can apply to appear before an Ad Hoc Oral Board to have the restriction lifted in total or in part and until such restriction is lifted;
  4. that the Ad Hoc Oral Board referred to previously be tasked with assessing Todd Y. Sheriff's knowledge, competence and professional ethics in relation to the administration of personal insolvencies;
  5. that within the next year, the trustee Todd Y. Sheriff successfully pass a business ethics course at a recognized school of business acceptable to the National Director — Compliance and Investigation of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy;
  6. that Segal & Partners Inc. must restitute to the estate of Bruce Michael Grayson the sum of $168.00 and of $90.95 and provide satisfactory evidence to that effect to the Toronto Division Assistant Superintendent within 10 days; and
  7. that this order be served on the Official Receiver to allow for full consideration of the particulars upon taxation of the Sargant and Grayson estates should the trustees seek any fees for work performed in these estates.

This order takes effect on .

Ottawa,

Marc Mayrand
Superintendent of Bankruptcy

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Segal & Partners Inc. et Todd Y. Sheriff (Ontario) — 23 juin 2003

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)

Procédure concernant la conduite professionnelle de
Todd Y. Sheriff,
détenteur d'une licence de syndic, et de
Segal & Partners Inc.,
détentrice d'une licence de syndic corporatif
pour la province d'Ontario

Avocat des syndics :
Me Craig R. Colraine
Birenbaum, Steinberg, Landau, Savin & Colraine LLP
Avocat de l'analyste principale :
Me Marcel Gauvreau
Justice Canada

Ordonnance en matière de licences

Attendu que par décision en date du , j'ai trouvé ces syndics responsables de diverses fautes dans l'administration de l'actif de certaines personnes insolvables;

Attendu que par décision en date du 12 février 2003, j'ai rejeté la requête de ces syndics en suspension de la procédure pour cause de défaut de l'analyste principale/Affaires disciplinaires (l'analyste principale) de communiquer des éléments de preuve;

Attendu qu'à la suite de ma décision de février, les syndics et l'analyste principale se sont entendus pour soumettre des conclusions écrites quant à la sanction appropriée à appliquer en l'espèce sans qu'une audience soit tenue. L'avocat des syndics a soumis ses conclusions écrites le , celui de l'analyste principale a soumis les siennes le 14 mars, suivies d'une réponse des syndics le ;

Attendu que par la décision du , les conclusions suivantes ont été tirées contre les syndics (on peut en trouver les détails dans cette décision) :

  1. Dans le dossier Bruce Michael Grayson :
    1. les syndics ne justifiaient pas de la diligence ni de la compétence requises dans l'évaluation des affaires du débiteur ni dans leur décision qu'une proposition pouvait être mise en œuvre eu égard aux circonstances qu'ils connaissaient; et
    2. à cause de l'incompétence et de la négligence manifestées par les syndics dans l'examen et la vérification de la situation financière du débiteur, celui-ci a engagé une procédure coûteuse et vouée à l'échec.
  2. Dans le dossier John Gordon Sargant :
    1. les syndics ne justifiaient pas de la compétence ni de la diligence requises dans la surveillance de la préparation de la documentation relative à la proposition, et plus spécifiquement, dans la vérification de la situation financière du débiteur; et
    2. les syndics ont engagé et aidé le débiteur à faire une proposition pour désintéresser intégralement les deux seuls créanciers inscrits à raison d'un total de 4 800$ plus des honoraires de 2 800$, tout en sachant que celui-ci avait obtenu un prêt de 4 000 $ la veille du dépôt de la proposition et sans jamais révéler l'existence de ce prêt aux créanciers.
  3. Dans les deux dossiers Grayson et Sargant :
    1. les syndics et le personnel sous leurs ordres n'ont pas évalué convenablement le débiteur, ainsi que le prescrit l'Instruction no 6R; et
    2. par suite du défaut d'évaluation convenable, les deux débiteurs ont engagé des procédures qu'ils n'auraient jamais engagées, s'ils avaient été convenablement évalués.
  4. Les syndics ne se sont pas conformés à l'Instruction no 4 sur la délégation des tâches, en autorisant une employée non détentrice de licence de syndic à signer le rapport aux créanciers dans le cadre d'une proposition de consommateur. Ce défaut est cependant atténué par l'affirmation par cette employée qu'elle avait qualité pour signer ce rapport.
  5. Les syndics ont sollicité des procurations en vue de l'assemblée des créanciers. Cette sollicitation par les syndics est atténuée par le fait qu'elle n'a pas permis de recueillir suffisamment de voix pour combattre une motion de changement, laquelle était prévue, mais n'a pas été poursuivie en fin de compte.
  6. Les syndics ont, sciemment et délibérément, cherché à se faire payer sur l'actif de la faillite Bruce Michael Grayson, leurs honoraires relatifs au travail fait au titre de la proposition demeurée sans suite et n'en ont révélé la nature aux inspecteurs qu'après que ceux-ci les eurent remis en question.
  7. Dans la faillite Sargant, les syndics ont déposé par inadvertance une fausse preuve de réclamation portant sur une somme qu'ils avaient déjà perçue à titre de provision d'honoraires.

Attendu que l'analyste principale a recommandé :

  1. de suspendre la licence de Todd Y. Sheriff pour une période de 8 mois;
  2. de restreindre la licence du syndic corporatif Segal & Partners Inc. pour une période de 4 mois, pendant lesquels il ne pourra accepter aucune nouvelle nomination sous le régime de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi);
  3. d'ordonner au syndic corporatif de restituer les sommes de 168,00$ et de 90,95$ à la masse de l'actif de Bruce Michael Grayson;
  4. de maintenir la suspension de la licence Todd Y. Sheriff jusqu'à ce qu'il passe avec succès des épreuves de nouvelle qualification; et
  5. d'imposer au syndic Todd Y. Sheriff de suivre et de terminer, dans les 12 mois, un cours de déontologie.

Attendu que les syndics proposent ce qui suit à titre de sanction appropriée :

  1. blâme inscrit au dossier à l'égard des fautes relevées;
  2. restitution de tous les débours subis par Grayson et Sargant au titre de leurs propositions de consommateur;
  3. participation à tout cours de perfectionnement professionnel, tel que peut l'ordonner raisonnablement le surintendant; et
  4. ordonnance que le bureau des syndics soit soumis à un contrôle périodique pendant le temps qui sera jugé indiqué.

Attendu que les conclusions tirées contre les syndics révèlent une ignorance générale de leur rôle dans l'administration des petits actifs de personnes insolvables;

Attendu que les conclusions tirées révèlent un défaut grave de diligence dans l'examen et la vérification des affaires du débiteur dans un dossier d'insolvabilité personnelle;

Attendu que les conclusions tirées révèlent la négligence et l'insouciance des syndics lorsqu'il s'agit de s'assurer que les créanciers reçoivent des renseignements complets et exacts sur la situation financière du débiteur;

Attendu que par suite des manquements de ces syndics, les débiteurs ont engagé une procédure qui n'avait manifestement aucune chance d'aboutir;

Attendu que par suite des manquements de ces syndics, les créanciers ont perdu beaucoup de temps, d'efforts et de dépenses qu'ils auraient pu facilement éviter, si les syndics avaient fait preuve de diligence raisonnable dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions et de franchise dans la communication des renseignements;

Attendu que par suite des manquements de ces syndics, ni M. Grayson ni M. Sargant n'a reçu les services professionnels de qualité, objectifs et impartiaux, auxquels ils avaient droit;

Attendu que les manquements de ces syndics trahissent le peu de cas qu'ils font de l'importance et de l'utilité des entrevues d'évaluation approfondie et de la vérification convenable de la situation financière du débiteur;

Attendu que leurs manquements jettent le discrédit sur le système d'administration de l'insolvabilité et confortent la position de ceux qui soutiennent que les syndics sont en situation de conflit d'intérêts lors de l'évaluation et que celle-ci devrait être faite par un tiers impartial;

Attendu que le syndic Todd Y. Sheriff n'a pas montré qu'il avait pleinement conscience des fautes relevées contre ces syndics, en choisissant d'y voir une succession d'erreurs et non des manquements à la responsabilité fondamentale qui leur incombe d'être consciencieux, précis et honnêtes dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions sous le régime de la Loi; et

Attendu que je prends acte qu'à la suite de ces incidents, le syndic corporatif a engagé deux nouveaux syndics qui n'avaient rien à voir avec l'affaire en instance;

Je soussigné, surintendant des faillites, ordonne par les présentes :

  1. que la licence de Segal and Partners soit restreinte pour un mois, pendant lequel celui-ci ne pourra déposer aucun dossier sous le régime de la Loi;
  2. que la licence de Todd Y. Sheriff soit suspendue pour une période de 6 mois;
  3. qu'à l'expiration de la suspension de six mois, la licence de Todd Y. Sheriff soit subséquemment limitée à l'administration des actifs de société pour au moins 18 mois, avant qu'il ne puisse demander à se présenter devant un jury d'examen oral ad hoc en vue de la levée totale ou partielle de la restriction, et jusqu'à ce que cette restriction soit levée;
  4. que le jury d'examen ad hoc oral susmentionné soit chargé de juger les connaissances, la compétence et l'éthique professionnelle de Todd Y. Sheriff en matière d'administration des dossiers d'insolvabilité personnelle;
  5. que, dans le courant de l'année qui vient, le syndic Todd Y. Sheriff termine avec succès un cours de déontologie dans une école de commerce reconnue et jugée acceptable par la directrice nationale, Conformité et Enquêtes, du Bureau du surintendant des faillites;
  6. que Segal & Partners Inc. restitue à la masse de l'actif de Bruce Michael Grayson les sommes de 168,00$ et de 90,95$ et en produise, dans les 10 jours, la preuve satisfaisante au surintendant adjoint de division de Toronto; et
  7. que la présente ordonnance soit signifiée au séquestre officiel afin qu'il ait en main tous les éléments nécessaires pour la taxation de l'administration des actifs Sargant et Grayson au cas où ces syndics réclameraient des honoraires pour le travail effectué dans cette administration.

La présente ordonnance prendra effet le .

Ottawa, le

Marc Mayrand
Surintendant des faillites

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :