Éric Métivier — January 28, 2004

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada
Province of Québec

In the Matter of
Éric Métivier

Whereas Éric Métivier holds a trustee licence pursuant to the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act for the province of Québec;

Whereas on January 16, 2001, the Senior Analyst/Disciplinary Affairs of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy issued a report under Subsection 14.02(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;

Whereas this report alleges disciplinary offences against the said Act;

Whereas the trustee does not admit and has challenged the said alleged offences; and, in particular, in the matter of Auberge Jacques Cartier, does not admit the alleged facts nor any responsibility that might flow therefrom;

Whereas during the hearing, the parties nonetheless came to an agreement in order to submit a joint recommendation to the undersigned;

Whereas there is no previous disciplinary record of the trustee;

Whereas the parties have submitted to me the text of this decision, which, in the circumstances, seems to me to be fair, reasonable and not contrary to public policy.

By These Reasons:

I, Jean-Claude Demers, Q.C., undersigned, delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy and by virtue of the powers that have been delegated to me under section 14.01 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act,

Suspend the licence of trustee Éric Métivier for a period of one (1) month starting on March 15, 2004, during which period he will be barred from acting as a trustee, an interim receiver or a receiver under Part XI of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;

Restrict for a period of two (2) months starting at the end of the suspension mentioned in the previous paragraph the licence of trustee Éric Métivier during which period he will be barred from lodging new files as a trustee, interim receiver and receiver within the meaning of Part XI of the Act in files of assets where the debtor is not an individual.

Signed at Québec, this 28th Day of January 2004

Jean-Claude Demers, Q.C.


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Éric Métivier — 28 janvier 2004

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada
Province de Québec

Dans l'affaire de
Éric Métivier

Considérant que Éric Métivier est détenteur d'une licence de syndic en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité pour la Province de Québec;

Considérant que le 16 janvier 2001, l'analyste principal /Affaires disciplinaires au Bureau du Surintendant des faillites a produit un rapport selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.02(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Considérant que dans ce rapport il est allégué des infractions disciplinaires à ladite loi;

Considérant que le syndic n'admet pas et a contesté lesdites infractions reprochées; et, en particulier, dans le dossier Auberge Jacques Cartier, il n'admet ni les faits reprochés ni toute responsabilité pouvant en découler;

Considérant qu'en cours d'audition, les parties en sont néanmoins arrivés à une entente afin de soumettre au soussigné une recommandation commune;

Considérant l'absence de dossier disciplinaire antérieur du syndic;

Considérant que les parties m'ont soumis le texte de la présente décision, lequel m'apparaît dans les circonstances, juste, raisonnable et non contraire à l'ordre public.

Par ces motifs :

Je, soussigné, Jean-Claude Demers, c.r., délégué du Surintendant des faillites et en vertu des pouvoirs qui m'ont été délégués en vertu de l'article 14.01 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité :

Suspends la licence du syndic, Éric Métivier, pour une période de un (1) mois à compter du 15 mars 2004; période pendant laquelle il ne pourra agir à titre de syndic, de séquestre intérimaire ou de séquestre en vertu de la Partie XI de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Restreinds pour une période de deux (2) mois à compter de la fin de la suspension mentionnée au paragraphe précédent la licence du syndic Éric Métivier; période pendant laquelle il ne pourra déposer de nouveaux dossiers à titre de syndic, séquestre intérimaire et séquestre au sens de la Partie XI de la Loi dans les dossiers d'actifs dans lesquels le débiteur n'est pas une personne physique.

Signé à Québec, ce 28e jour de janvier 2004

Jean-Claude Demers, c.r.



Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :