Deemed Annulments of Consumer Proposals and the Treatment of Moneys Available for Distribution

May 11, 2004

Subject

The purpose of this document is to communicate the Superintendent's position on two issues affecting the administration of consumer proposals. First of all, it will deal with the treatment of consumer proposals where a deemed annulment occurs without any of the steps set out in the Act having been taken. Secondly, it will look at the ancillary question of the distribution of moneys held at the time of the deemed annulment, or even collected after the fact.

Background

The consumer proposal system prescribed by the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) has seen constant growth over the past several years. Currently, there are approximately 50,000 ongoing consumer proposals. The reason for the increasingly frequent use of the consumer proposal system is doubtless the fact that a viable proposal is far more advantageous for the debtor and the creditors than a bankruptcy pure and simple. It has been noted that consumer proposals enable creditors to receive dividends that are on average seven (7) times greater than the average dividends distributed in bankruptcies. In addition, proposals enable debtors to maintain their property and avoid the stigma associated with bankruptcy.

Despite the regime's unquestionable success, it has been observed that approximately 35% of consumer proposals fail for a variety of reasons, and the vast majority of these failures give rise to what the BIA refers to as deemed annulments. Section 66.31 of the BIA reads as follows: 

66.31 (1) Independently of section 66.3, (a) where payments under a consumer proposal are to be made monthly or more frequently and the consumer debtor is in default to the extent of three months payments, or

(b) where payments under a consumer proposal are to be made less frequently than monthly and the consumer debtor is in default for more than three months on any payment, the consumer proposal shall thereupon be deemed to be annulled unless the court has previously ordered otherwise or unless an amendment to the consumer proposal has previously been filed, and the administrator shall forthwith so inform the creditors and file a report thereof in the prescribed form with the official receiver.
(2) Where an amendment to a consumer proposal filed before the deemed annulment of the consumer proposal by virtue of subsection (1) is withdrawn or refused by the creditors or the court, the consumer proposal shall thereupon be deemed to be annulled.
(3) A deemed annulment of a consumer proposal by virtue of subsection (1) or (2) does not prejudice the validity of any sale, disposition of property or payment duly made, or anything duly done under or in pursuance of the consumer proposal, and notwithstanding the deemed annulment of the consumer proposal, a guarantee given pursuant to the consumer proposal remains in full force and effect in accordance with its terms.
Source: Laybolt (2000), N.S.J. No. 285

Exemplary Practices

In order to comply with s. 66.31(1), the administrator/trustee should therefore: 

  1. Ensure proper monitoring of the proposal he or she is administering;
  2. As soon as the debtor is late with a payment that can not be remedied forthwith, and before default gives rise to the deemed annulment of the proposal, determine whether there is cause to present an amendment to the proposal or obtain a Court Order;
  3. As soon as the proposal is deemed annulled, so inform the creditors and the official receiver.

A well advised administrator/trustee will help the debtor to prepare a proposal that can satisfy the interests of the creditors while reducing the instances of default mentioned in the Act.

Problem

There have been instances in which the administrator/trustee did not immediately realize that a proposal had been deemed annulled, and did not inform the debtor, the creditors or the official receiver. In numerous cases, the administrator/trustee continued to accept payments from the debtor after the deemed annulment. In other cases, there has been a series of defaults which in theory would have caused several deemed annulments in the same proposal that have all gone unnoticed by the administrator/trustee. Finally, there have been situations in which, after the deemed annulment, the debtor has resumed making the payments provided for in the annulled proposal and has satisfied his or her financial commitments to the extent that the creditors have received the entire dividend anticipated in the proposal.

The courts have dealt with a number of these cases and have ruled on the scope of s. 66.31 BIA. After some hesitation, most of the jurisprudence concluded that the courts did not have jurisdiction to remedy a deemed annulment. In short, courts have ruled that their intervention should be sought before the proposal is deemed annulled, as anticipated in section 66.31 BIA.

Position of the Superintendent

While it is difficult to determine the exact number of proposals in which the problems described above have been encountered, it is believed that they are sufficiently numerous to warrant the Superintendent issuing a position statement on how to deal with such circumstances. This position is based on the following considerations in particular: 

  • the need to put an end to confusion with regard to the deemed annulment of consumer proposals;
  • ensuring fair and equitable treatment of debtors who have respected the terms of their proposals even after a deemed annulment;
  • ensuring fair and equitable treatment of creditors;
  • avoiding situations in the future in which proposals that are deemed annulled are not treated as such, i.e. in a manner not in accordance with the provisions of s. 66.31 BIA;
  • pursuing the legislator's goal of promoting and facilitating proposals as the preferred means of resolving situations of insolvency;
  • to the extent possible, avoiding burdening the courts with problems that are first and foremost of an administrative nature.
  1. Position of the Superintendent With Regard to Debtors:
    1. If, despite the deemed annulment of a proposal, the debtor has fully satisfied his or her financial obligations under the proposal prior to the administrator/trustee taking the actions prescribed by section 66.31, the administrator/trustee must forthwith issue a Certificate of Full Performance.
    2. If the administrator/trustee becomes aware of the deemed annulment after the debtor has resumed payments, but before the debtor has completely fulfilled his or her commitments pursuant to the proposal, and the administrator/trustee believes that the debtor will be in a position to pay the full amount anticipated in the proposal, the administrator/trustee must forthwith:
      1. Notify the creditors who have previously proven their claims and the official receiver of the situation in writing, and
      2. provide in the notice an opinion as to the likelihood that the debtor will be able to make all of the payments.

      In these situations, the proposal should be considered valid unless one or more creditors opposes its continuation within 10 days of the notice; and the administrator/trustee must provide the debtor with a Certificate of Full Performance as soon as the debtor has made all of the payments anticipated in the proposal.

    3. If the administrator/trustee becomes aware of the deemed annulment after the debtor has resumed payments, but is of the opinion that the debtor will not likely be in a position to make all of the payments anticipated in the proposal, the administrator/trustee must forthwith put an end to the proposal process by following the instructions in section 66.31 BIA and issuing Form 56.

    Application

    The position set out above with regard to debtors applies to all consumer proposals that are deemed to be annulled at the time the position is issued or within thirty (30) days of its issuance. This position is therefore temporary and is intended to deal with existing situations. After the expiry of the thirty (30) days, the Superintendent and his representatives will insist on the rigorous application of section 66.31.

    Administrators/trustees would therefore be well advised to review all of the consumer proposal files for which they are responsible in order to determine whether there are existing or anticipated situations of deemed annulment in their consumer proposal portfolios. Following this review, and no later than fifteen (15) days after the expiration of the thirty (30) days, administrators/trustees should inform the official receiver of any existing or anticipated cases of deemed annulment that have been identified and determine how they will be handled.

    In future, the Superintendent expects all administrators/trustees to ensure that the consumer proposals for which they are responsible are closely monitored so as to avoid, to the extent appropriate, situations of deemed annulment, and in cases where that is not appropriate, to take note of the annulment as soon as it arises and to comply with the provisions of section 66.31.

  2. Position of the Superintendent With Regard to the Treatment of Statements of Receipts and Disbursements

    In all of the situations described above, the OSB may issue a negative letter of comment after having taken into account all of the circumstances known to have given rise to the deemed annulment, particularly the diligence of the administrator/trustee in following up on it, the resumption of payments by the debtor, the amounts distributed to the creditors, and any other factors to which the administrator/trustee might call attention.

    In preparing their comments, the Superintendent's representatives will also take into account the administrator/trustee's general practices in administering consumer proposals, whether the administrator/trustee has been advised of deficiencies in this regard in the past, the type and frequency of deficiencies, and finally, their impact on the creditors and debtor.

    In order that they fulfill the monitoring mandate conferred on them by the Act, before issuing a letter of comment, the Superintendent's representatives will require that the administrator/trustee attach to each statement of receipts and disbursements a written certificate attesting to the fact that there has been no deemed annulment. This certificate, of which an example is appended, will be required for all proposals which were not the subject of a deemed annulment, and for which statements of receipts and disbursements will be produced after the publication date of this position statement.

  3. Position of the Superintendent With Regard to the Treatment of Moneys to be Distributed

    Ancillary to the problem of deemed annulments of consumer proposals is the issue of who should receive any money that is in the possession of the administrator/trustee at the time of the deemed annulment, or that he or she receives afterwards.

    It is the Superintendent's position that the moneys held by the administrator/trustee should be distributed to the proposal creditors, regardless of when these moneys were received. This position is based, among other things, on section 66.26, which states that "All moneys payable under the consumer proposal shall be paid to the administrator… the administrator shall distribute available moneys to the creditors in accordance with the terms of the consumer proposal" as well as the provisions of subsection 66.31(3) regarding the validity of actions taken pursuant to a proposal that is deemed annulled.

    This position serves to minimize losses to the proposal creditors and to avoid them having to share the receipts of the proposal with subsequent creditors whose remedies were not stayed. Furthermore, when the debtor made the payments to the administrator/trustee, it was in order to comply with the proposal, and therefore to reimburse the creditors of that proposal. This position statement applies regardless of whether or not the deemed annulment is followed by a bankruptcy.

    Application

    This position with regard to the treatment of moneys available for distribution applies as soon as it is published.

Annex

Attestation

I, space to insert name of administrator/trustee, administrator/trustee of the consumer proposal of space to insert name of consumer, hereby attest that at no time between the filing of this proposal on space to insert date and today's date, was the proposal deemed to be annulled as provided for in section 66.31 BIA.

Signed, this space to insert date

space to insert signature of Administrator/trustee
Administrator/trustee

Date modified:

Annulations présumées de propositions de consommateur et traitement des sommes à distribuer

11 mai 2004

Objet

Le présent document vise à établir et à communiquer la position du surintendant des faillites sur deux questions touchant l'administration de propositions de consommateur. Dans un premier temps, il sera question du traitement des propositions de consommateur dont l'annulation présumée est survenue sans que les mesures prescrites par la loi aient été prises et, dans un deuxième temps, sera abordée la question subsidiaire de la distribution des sommes détenues au moment de l'annulation présumée ou même perçues après coup.

Contexte

Le régime de propositions de consommateur prescrit par la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI) connaît une croissance constante depuis quelques années. On compte quelque 50 000 propositions de consommateur en activité présentement. Le recours de plus en plus fréquent au régime de propositions de consommateur tient sans doute au fait que la proposition, lorsqu'elle est viable, est nettement plus avantageuse pour le débiteur et ses créanciers que la faillite pure et simple. Ainsi, on constate qu'une proposition de consommateur permet aux créanciers de recevoir un dividende moyen sept (7) fois supérieur au dividende moyen distribué dans une faillite. Quant au débiteur, la proposition lui permet de conserver ses actifs et d'éviter les stigmates découlant de la faillite.

Malgré un succès certain, on observe qu'environ 35 p.100 des propositions de consommateur échouent pour diverses raisons, et la grande majorité de ces échecs donnent lieu à ce que la LFI décrit comme étant des annulations présumées. En effet, on peut lire à l'article 66.31 LFI ce qui suit :

66.31 (1) Indépendamment de l'article 66.3, lorsque le débiteur, dans le cas où les paiements prévus par la proposition de consommateur doivent être effectués mensuellement ou plus fréquemment, omet de les effectuer pendant trois mois ou bien lorsque le débiteur, dans le cas où les paiements doivent être effectués moins fréquemment que sur une base mensuelle, est en défaut, depuis plus de trois mois, par rapport à n'importe quel paiement, la proposition est dès lors réputée être annulée, à moins que le tribunal n'en ait ordonné autrement ou qu'une modification de la proposition n'ait été déposée antérieurement; l'administrateur doit, sans délai, en informer les créanciers et en faire rapport, en la forme prescrite, au séquestre officiel.

(2) La proposition est réputée annulée dès le retrait ou le rejet, par les créanciers ou le tribunal, d'une modification apportée à celle-ci et déposée avant l'annulation présumée visée au paragraphe (1).
(3) L'annulation présumée visée aux paragraphes (1) ou (2) ne porte pas préjudice à la validité de la vente ou de la disposition de certains biens ou d'un paiement dûment faits, ou d'une chose dûment exécutée, en vertu de la proposition ou conformément à celle-ci; malgré l'annulation présumée de la proposition, une garantie donnée conformément à celle-ci conserve tout son effet conformément à ses conditions.
Source : Laybolt (2000), N.S.J. no 285

Pratiques exemplaires

Afin de se conformer au paragraphe. 66.31(1), l'administrateur ou le syndic doit donc :

  1. assurer un suivi serré de la proposition qu'il administre;
  2. dès que le débiteur est en retard dans ses paiements et que ce retard n'est pas aussitôt comblé, et avant que le défaut entraînant l'annulation présumée ne se produise, déterminer s'il y a lieu de présenter une modification à la proposition ou d'obtenir une ordonnance du tribunal;
  3. dès que la proposition est réputée annulée, en informer les créanciers et le séquestre officiel.

L'administrateur ou le syndic bien avisé aidera donc le débiteur à formuler une proposition qui saura satisfaire les intérêts des créanciers tout en réduisant les occasions de défauts mentionnées à la Loi.

Problématique

Il arrive que l'administrateur ou le syndic n'ait pas constaté immédiatement la survenance de l'annulation présumée d'une proposition et n'en ait donc informé ni le débiteur, ni les créanciers, ni le séquestre officiel. Dans de nombreux cas, l'administrateur ou le syndic a même continué de percevoir des paiements du débiteur après l'annulation présumée. Dans certains autres cas, on a même pu observer une série de défauts qui, en théorie, auraient entraîné plusieurs annulations présumées d'une même proposition sans qu'aucune n'ait jamais été constatée par l'administrateur ou le syndic. Enfin, il y a des situations où, après l'annulation présumée, le débiteur a repris le versement des paiements prévus à la proposition annulée et a même satisfait à ses engagements financiers, de sorte que les créanciers ont reçu la totalité du dividende prévu à la proposition.

Les tribunaux ont été saisi d'un certain nombre de ces situations et ont eu à se prononcer sur la portée de l'article. 66.31 de la LFI. Après quelques hésitations, la tendance jurisprudentielle majoritaire a conclu que les tribunaux n'avaient pas juridiction pour remédier à une annulation présumée. En somme, les tribunaux ont jugé que leur intervention devait être sollicitée avant que ne survienne l'annulation présumée tout comme le prévoit l'article 66.31 de la LFI.

Position du surintendant

Bien qu'il soit difficile de préciser le nombre exact de propositions faisant l'objet de la problématique ci-haut décrite, on estime qu'elles sont suffisamment nombreuses pour que le surintendant énonce une position quant à la meilleure façon de traiter ces cas. Cette position tient compte notamment des considérations suivantes :

  • la nécessité de mettre fin à la confusion qui règne à l'égard des annulations présumées de propositions de consommateur;
  • assurer un traitement juste et équitable du débiteur qui a respecté les termes de sa proposition même après son annulation présumée;
  • assurer un traitement juste et équitable des créanciers;
  • éviter que les situations d'annulation présumée de proposition non traitées comme telles, c'est-à-dire de manière non conforme aux dispositions de l'article. 66.31 de la LFI, ne se reproduisent à l'avenir;
  • donner suite à l'intention du législateur de promouvoir et faciliter la proposition comme moyen privilégié pour résoudre les situations d'insolvabilité;
  • éviter autant que possible d'encombrer les tribunaux avec des problèmes qui sont d'abord et avant tout d'ordre administratif.
  1. Position du surintendant à l'égard des débiteurs
    1. Si malgré l'annulation présumée de sa proposition, le débiteur s'est entièrement acquitté de ses obligations financières en vertu de celle-ci et ce, avant que l'administrateur ou le syndic n'ait pris les mesures prescrites par l'article 66.31, l'administrateur ou le syndic doit dès lors émettre un certificat d'exécution intégrale de la proposition.
    2. Si l'administrateur ou le syndic constate l'annulation présumée après que le débiteur ait repris ses paiements mais avant que ce dernier n'ait entièrement complété ses engagements en vertu de la proposition et que l'administrateur/syndic estime que le débiteur sera en mesure de verser la totalité des sommes prévues à la proposition, l'administrateur/syndic doit dès lors :
      1. aviser par écrit les créanciers qui ont prouvé leur réclamation et le séquestre officiel de la situation; et
      2. exprimer dans l'avis ainsi donné son opinion quant à la vraisemblance que le débiteur puisse verser la totalité des paiements.

      Dans ce cas, la proposition pourra être considérée valide à moins qu'un ou plusieurs créanciers s'opposent à sa continuation dans les 10 jours de l'avis; et l'administrateur ou le syndic devra délivrer au débiteur un certificat d'exécution intégrale dès que ce dernier aura complété les versements prévus dans la proposition.

    3. Si l'administrateur ou le syndic constate l'annulation présumée après que le débiteur ait repris ses paiements mais qu'il est d'avis que le débiteur ne sera vraisemblablement pas en mesure d'effectuer tous les versements prévus dans la proposition, l'administrateur ou le syndic doit dès lors mettre fin au processus de proposition en suivant les prescriptions de l'article 66.31 L'administrateur ou le syndic sera donc bien avisé de réviser l'ensemble des dossiers de propositions de consommateur dont il est responsable afin de déterminer s'il y a lieu de constater l'existence actuelle ou anticipée d'annulations présumées au sein de son portefeuille de propositions de consommateur. Suite à sa révision, et au plus tard dans les quinze (15) jours de l'expiration du délai de trente (30) jours ci-haut mentionné, l'administrateur ou le syndic devra faire part au séquestre officiel des cas actuels ou anticipés d'annulation présumée qui ont pu être identifiés et établir la façon dont il ou elle entend les traiter.

      Pour l'avenir, le surintendant s'attend à ce que tous les administrateurs ou le syndics assurent un suivi serré des propositions de consommateur sous leur responsabilité de façon à éviter, dans la mesure où cela est approprié, les situations d'annulation présumée; et dans les cas où ce n'est pas approprié, à constater l'annulation dès qu'elle survient et à se conformer aux dispositions de l'article 66.31.

    4. Position du surintendant à l'égard du traitement des relevés de recettes et débours

      Dans tous les cas ci-haut décrits, le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) se réserve la possibilité d'émettre une lettre de commentaires négative après avoir tenu compte de l'ensemble des circonstances ayant entraîné l'annulation présumée qui lui sont connues et, notamment, de la diligence de l'administrateur ou du syndic à y donner suite, de la reprise des paiements par le débiteur, des sommes distribuées aux créanciers et de tout autre facteur que l'administrateur ou le syndic pourrait faire valoir.

      Les représentants du Surintendant tiendront également compte dans la préparation de leurs commentaires de la pratique générale de l'administrateur ou le syndic en matière d'administration de propositions de consommateur, du fait que l'administrateur ou le syndic ait été avisé de déficiences à cet égard dans le passé, du type de déficiences, de leur fréquence et, enfin, de leurs impacts sur les créanciers et le débiteur.

      Afin de leur permettre de remplir le mandat de surveillance que la loi leur confie, les représentants du Surintendant requerront de l'administrateur ou du syndic qu'une attestation écrite à l'effet qu'il n'y a eu aucune annulation présumée accompagne tout relevé de recettes et des débours d'une proposition de consommateur avant d'émettre une lettre de commentaires. Cette attestation, dont un exemplaire se trouve annexé aux présentes, sera requise pour toutes les propositions qui n'auront pas fait l'objet d'une annulation présumée et dont les relevés seront produits après la date de publication des présentes.

    5. Position du surintendant à l'égard du traitement des fonds à distribuer

      Subsidiairement à la problématique des annulations présumées de propositions de consommateur se soulève la question de savoir à qui doivent être remis les fonds que l'administrateur ou le syndic détient au moment de l'annulation présumée ou qu'il ou elle peut avoir reçus par la suite.

      Le surintendant adopte la position que les sommes ainsi détenues doivent être distribuées aux créanciers visés par la proposition, peu importe le moment où lesdites sommes ont été reçues. Cette position s'appuie, entre autres, sur l'article 66.26 qui énonce que « es montants payables aux termes de la proposition sont versés à l'administrateur… qui en distribue le solde conformément à celle-ci » ainsi que sur les dispositions du paragraphe 66.31(3) quant à la validité des choses faites en vertu d'une proposition réputée annulée.

      La position ainsi adoptée permet de minimiser les pertes des créanciers de la proposition et d'éviter que ceux-ci aient à partager les recettes de la proposition avec les créanciers subséquents dont les recours n'étaient pas suspendus. En outre, lorsque le débiteur a effectué des paiements à l'administrateur ou au syndic, son intention était bel et bien de se conformer à la proposition et donc de rembourser les créanciers visés par celle-ci. La présente position s'applique peu, importe que l'annulation présumée soit suivie d'une faillite ou non.

      Application

      La présent exposé de position sur le traitement des fonds à distribuer s'applique dès sa publication.

    Annexe

    Attestation

    Je, champ de saisie de l'administrateur/syndic, administrateur/syndic de la proposition de consommateur de champ de saisie du consommateur, atteste par les présentes qu'en aucun temps entre le dépôt de la proposition le champ de saisie de la date et aujourd'hui, la proposition ne s'est retrouvée en situation d'annulation présumée tel que le prévoit l'article 66.31 de la LFI.

    Et j'ai signé, ce champ de saisie de la date

    champ de saisie de la signature de l'administrateur ou syndic
    Administrateur ou syndic

    Date de modification :