Jean-Guy St-Georges and St-Georges Hébert Inc. —

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada
Province of Quebec

In the Matter of Professional Discipline Proceedings under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act Respecting St-georges Hébert Inc., a Corporate Licensed Trustee, and Jean-guy St-Georges, an Individual Licensed Trustee.

Decision on Preliminary Motions

This matter came on for proof and hearing before me on and , in respect of certain preliminary motions. The case has been set down for proof and hearing on the merits for one week commencing . The motions are as follows:

  1. Preliminary objection of the Intervenant, the Attorney-General of Canada, to my jurisdiction to deal with constitutional and Charter issues raised in the Trustees' motion to declare the applicable sections of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) inoperative in the present case, and to order that the proceedings instituted herein to be stopped

    The Intervenant submits that, as an administrative tribunal, to wit, the Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, I cannot deal with the constitutional and Charter issues raised by the Trustees in their motion.

    Having carefully considered the arguments on this point and the authorities cited by the parties, I have concluded that I have the right to declare sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the BIA inoperative, although I agree with the Intervenant that I cannot declare them unconstitutional or bind any other persons.

    I rely in this regard on the opinion of Gonthier, J.S.C.C., in the unanimous decision of a full bench of the Supreme Court of Canada in Martin v. Nova Scotia (Workers' Compensation Board) rendered , which held that it was perfectly in order for an administrative tribunal to decide Charter issues. The Court noted that such a decision would be subject to judicial review, and that, in any event, the administrative tribunal could not make a general declaration of invalidity, but could only declare a provision of the enabling statute inoperative in the instant case, without in any way binding any future decision maker.

    In spite of the differences between the administrative regime in Martin and that under which I presently sit, Martin is sufficiently broad to cover hearings by the Superintendent or his Delegate under sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the BIA, and I believe I am implicitly authorized to decide questions of law, including those arising under the Charter, and have the necessary competence to do so.

    I note also that any such decision by me would be reviewable under the Federal Court Act, in virtue of Subsection 14.02(5) of the BIA.

    In arriving at this conclusion, I am also following the decisions of my fellow Delegates, the Honourable Fred Kaufman, Q.C., on , in Sam Lévy and Associates, and the Honourable Lawrence A. Poitras, on , in Jacques Roy.

    For the above reasons, the preliminary objection of the Intervenant is dismissed.

  2. Motion of the Trustees to stop proceedings and declare the relevant sections of the BIA inoperative in the present case.

    Turning now to the merits of the Trustees' motion, Counsel have provided me with a large number of authorities and I have listened to their arguments with great interest. After studying the various points raised, I agree with the conclusions arrived at by my colleagues Kaufman (in Lévy on ) and Poitras (in Roy on ).

    Their decisions follow that of the Quebec Court of Appeal in Métivier v. Mayrand rendered on , which is most persuasive in this regard.

    Like the Court of Appeal, I find that the applicable sections are not intrinsically unacceptable and the question then becomes one of determining whether the actual practice in their implementation is offensive.

    As Dussault, J.A., points out in Métivier, if the manner in which a Delegate is named does not guarantee his independence, the Court would not declare sections 14.01 and 14.02 to be inoperative but would simply conclude that the process used in the particular case raises a reasonable fear of partiality.

    With respect, I do not believe that Counsel for the Trustees has demonstrated any reasonable apprehension of BIAs in the present case, e.g., because of the multi functional character of the Superintendent's office, or the fact that I, as Delegate, may be removed for cause, or do not have financial security in this position, or do not have the power to coerce witnesses by issuing subpoenas or punishing for contempt. Those grounds which are not clearly unfounded are, at the very least, premature and hypothetical, and would have to be dealt with if, as, and when the problem arises (for example, by compelling the attendance of a witness, etc., through the good offices of the Federal Court).

    It should also be mentioned that the "cumul des functions" in the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy is very different from the situation in other cases on which Counsel for the Trustees wishes to rely, such as MacBain v. Lederman [1985] 1 F.C. 856, which the Quebec Court of Appeal was quite right to distinguish in Métivier.

    In Metivier, Dussault, J.A., refers to the substantial differences between the structures imposed by statute and the actual procedures involved in MacBain, (where two sequential decisions can be rendered by two different statutory bodies, the Human Rights Commission and the Human Rights Tribunal, the latter's members being selected by the former) and those in Métivier and the present case (where there is only one decision, by the Superintendent or his Delegate, after an investigation and report by an expert, the Senior Analyst).

    I should also mention the production by the Trustees of Exhibit R-14, a formal document emanating from the Superintendent dated July 12, 2001, which deals with the process for exercising the decision-making powers of the Superintendent (or his Delegate). This document confirms the care taken to ensure a fair hearing with no apprehension of BIAs in the disciplinary process and would appear to add further confirmation of the correctness of the decision in Métivier.

    As stated in Métivier, the guarantees of independence and impartiality do not have to be in the law itself, for an administrative tribunal, but rather in the practice, and the "cumul des fonctions" itself is not an intrinsic problem. In fact, it would appear that Métivier is fully relevant with the earlier case law, such as 2747-3174 Quebec Inc. v. RPAQ [1996] 3 SCR 919 (opinion of Gonthier J.S.C.C.).

    In sum, the statutory guarantees in the BIA itself are not inadequate for an administrative tribunal, and the practice of the OSB in the present case has not been shown to be unacceptable, by the Trustees, who have the burden of proof of imputing its sufficiency, but have failed to adduce any such evidence.

    For the foregoing reasons, the Trustees' motion is dismissed and the case will proceed on the merits as scheduled.

    Addendum: At the hearing on , Counsel for the Trustees indicated that he intended to object to the first witness called by the Senior Analyst at the hearing on the merits, because of my lacking the power to compel witnesses and punish for contempt, as a ground for an immediate "arrêt de procédures".

    Since I have already dealt with this problem above, I wish to put the parties on notice that I intend to reject this argument forthwith, should it be made again, and proceed immediately with the hearing, notwithstanding any such objection, which would be purely hypothetical.

  3. Motion by the Trustees to determine the burden of proof.

    This motion was discussed towards the end of the hearing on . The parties agreed in principle to the rules laid down by my fellow Delegate, the Honourable Benjamin Greenberg, in Henry Sztern and Associates Inc () and the Honourable Fred Kaufman in Lévy (), and they were to provide me with a joint wording for an order to be signed by me. Since they have been unable to do so, I hereby render my decision on this motion as well, as follows:

    I declare that I intend to accept the rules as to the burden of proof laid down by the Honourable Benjamin Greenberg in Sztern, and followed by the Honourable Fred Kaufman in Lévy.

    The Senior Analyst will first present his proof by tabling his report and providing the requisite testimony and documentary evidence, by himself and/or others, to establish its credible and trustworthy character. Once the accuracy of the report has been established, the Trustees will have the burden to show that the faults reproached are not supported by the facts proved. Thus, the Trustees' evidence will take place after the Senior Analyst declares his proof closed.

    Any questions concerning rebuttal or counter-rebuttal evidence will be decided if, as, and when they arise at the hearing on the merits.

Given at Montreal, Quebec, this day of

The Honourable Perry Meyer
Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Counsel for the Trustees:
Pierre Larue (not present at the hearing)
(Malo Dansereau)
Jean-Philippe Gervais
(Gervais & Gervais)

Counsel for the Senior Analyst, Michel Leduc: Louis-Philippe Delage

Counsel for the Attorney-General of Canada: Bernard Letarte
(Intervenant)



This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Jean-Guy St-Georges et St-Georges Hébert Inc. —

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada
Province de Québec

Dans l'instance de discipline professionnelle tenue en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité concernant St-Georges Hébert Inc., titulaire d'une licence de syndic pour une personne morale, et Jean-Guy St-Georges, titulaire d'une licence de syndic.

Décision concernant certaines requêtes préliminaires

J'ai entendu la présente affaire les  et  relativement à certaines requêtes préliminaires. Une période d'une semaine débutant le a été fixée pour l'audition du fond de l'affaire. Les requêtes sont les suivantes  :

  1. Objection préliminaire de l'intervenant, le Procureur général du Canada, quant à ma compétence pour examiner les questions constitutionnelles et les questions liées à la Charte que les syndics ont soulevées dans leur requête visant à faire déclarer inopérants les articles applicables de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI) en l'espèce et à mettre fin aux instances engagées aux présentes.

    L'intervenant soutient qu'en qualité de tribunal administratif et de délégué du Surintendant des faillites, je ne puis examiner les questions constitutionnelles et les questions liées à la Charte que les syndics ont soulevées dans leur requête.

    Après avoir examiné attentivement les arguments invoqués à ce sujet et les autorités que les parties ont citées, j'en suis arrivé à la conclusion que j'ai le droit de déclarer inopérants les articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la LFI, même si je conviens avec l'intervenant que je ne puis déclarer qu'ils sont inconstitutionnels ou qu'ils lient d'autres personnes.

    Je me fonde à cet égard sur l'avis qu'a exprimé le juge Gonthier, J.C.S.C., dans le jugement unanime qu'a rendu la Cour suprême du Canada dans Martin c. Nouvelle-Écosse (Workers' Compensation Board) le et dans lequel elle a statué qu'un tribunal administratif pouvait à juste titre se prononcer sur des questions relatives à la Charte. La Cour a souligné que cette décision serait assujettie au contrôle judiciaire et que, en tout état de cause, le tribunal administratif ne pourrait formuler de déclaration générale d'invalidité, mais simplement déclarer inopérante une disposition de la loi habilitante dans le cas sous étude sans lier de quelque façon que ce soit les décideurs qui se prononceront ultérieurement.

    Malgré les différences entre le régime administratif pertinent dans l'arrêt Martin et celui qui s'applique en l'espèce, l'arrêt Martin a une portée suffisamment large pour couvrir les audiences que tient le surintendant ou son délégué en vertu des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la LFI et je crois que je suis implicitement autorisé à trancher les questions de droit, notamment celles qui découlent de la Charte, et que je possède la compétence nécessaire à cette fin.

    Je souligne également que la décision que je rendrais à ce sujet serait susceptible de révision en vertu de la Loi sur la Cour fédérale, comme le prévoit le paragraphe 14.02(5) de la LFI.

    Pour en arriver à cette conclusion, je me fonde également sur les décisions qu'ont rendues mes collègues l'honorable Fred Kaufman, c.r., le , dans Sam Lévy and Associates, et l'honorable Lawrence A. Poitras, le , dans Jacques Roy.

    Pour les motifs exposés ci-dessus, l'objection préliminaire de l'Intervenant est rejetée.

  2. Requête des syndics en vue de mettre fin aux instances et de déclarer inopérants les articles pertinents de la LFI en l'espèce.

    En ce qui a trait au fond de la requête des syndics, les avocats m'ont cité un grand nombre d'autorités et j'ai écouté leurs arguments avec grand intérêt. Après avoir étudié les différents points soulevés, je souscris aux conclusions auxquelles en sont arrivés mes collègues Kaufman (dans Lévy le ) et Poitras (dans Roy le ).

    Leurs décisions suivent le jugement qu'a rendu la Cour d'appel du Québec le dans Métivier c. Mayrand et qui est très convaincant sur ce point.

    À l'instar de la Cour d'appel, j'estime que les dispositions applicables ne sont pas foncièrement inacceptables et que la question devient celle de savoir si la pratique suivie dans le cadre de leur mise en œuvre est répréhensible.

    Comme le juge Dussault le souligne dans Métivier, si la façon dont un délégué est nommé ne garantit pas son indépendance, la Cour ne déclarera pas inopérants les articles 14.01 et 14.02, mais conclura simplement que la procédure suivie dans le cas sous étude soulève une crainte raisonnable de partialité.

    Avec égard, je ne crois pas que l'avocat des syndics ait démontré l'existence d'une crainte raisonnable de partialité en l'espèce, par exemple, en raison de la nature polyvalente de la charge du surintendant ou du fait qu'en qualité de délégué, je peux être démis de mes fonctions pour un motif valable, que je ne possède aucune sécurité financière liée à ce poste ou que je n'ai pas le pouvoir de contraindre des personnes à témoigner en délivrant des assignations ou en imposant des sanctions pour outrage au tribunal. Ceux des arguments soulevés qui ne sont pas manifestement dénués de tout fondement, sont, à tout le moins, prématurés et hypothétiques et devraient être examinés au moment où le problème serait soulevé, le cas échéant (par exemple, par la délivrance d'assignations à comparaître par l'entremise de la Cour fédérale).

    Il convient également de préciser que le « cumul des fonctions » inhérent à la charge du surintendant des faillites est très différent de la situation décrite dans les autres décisions que l'avocat des syndics invoque, comme MacBain c. Lederman, [1985] 1 C.F. 856, que la Cour d'appel a eu raison d'écarter dans Métivier.

    Dans Métivier, le juge Dussault fait état des différences majeures entre les structures imposées par la loi et les procédures en cause dans MacBain (selon lesquelles deux décisions peuvent être rendues successivement par deux organismes différents, la Commission des droits de la personne et le Tribunal des droits de la personne, les membres de ce dernier étant choisis par la première) et celles de l'affaire Métivier et de la présente affaire (où une seule décision est rendue par le Surintendant ou son délégué après la tenue d'une enquête et la production d'un rapport par un spécialiste, l'analyste principal).

    Je devrais également mentionner que les syndics ont produit la pièce R-14, soit un document formel en date du dans lequel le surintendant expose la procédure à suivre pour l'exercice des pouvoirs décisionnels du surintendant (ou de son délégué). Ce document confirme les mesures prises pour assurer une audience impartiale qui ne soulève aucune crainte de partialité touchant le processus disciplinaire et qui semblerait confirmer à son tour le bien-fondé de la décision rendue dans Métivier.

    Tel qu'il est mentionné dans Métivier, les garanties d'indépendance et d'impartialité ne doivent pas provenir du texte législatif lui-même dans le cas d'un tribunal administratif, mais plutôt de la pratique, et le « cumul des fonctions » ne constitue pas un problème intrinsèque. En fait, il semblerait que la décision rendue dans Métivier soit tout à fait compatible avec les décisions antérieures comme 2747-3174 Québec Inc. c. RPAQ. [1996] 3 RCS 919 (opinion du juge Gonthier, J.C.S.C.).

    En résumé, les garanties législatives énoncées dans la LFI elle-même ne sont pas insuffisantes dans le cas d'un tribunal administratif et les syndics, qui avaient le fardeau de la preuve à cet égard, n'ont nullement établi que la pratique du BSF en l'espèce était inacceptable.

    Pour les motifs exposés ci-dessus, la requête des syndics est rejetée et l'affaire sera entendue au fond à la date prévue.

    Addendum : À l'audience tenue le , l'avocat des syndics a soutenu qu'il avait l'intention de s'opposer à ce que le premier témoin convoqué par l'analyste principal à l'audience sur le fond témoigne, parce que je n'ai pas le pouvoir de contraindre une personne à témoigner et d'imposer des sanctions pour outrage au tribunal, ce qui constituerait un motif justifiant un « arrêt de procédures » immédiat.

    Étant donné que j'ai déjà statué sur cette question, j'aimerais prévenir les parties que j'ai l'intention de rejeter cet argument sur-le-champ, s'il devait être formulé à nouveau, et de poursuivre l'audience sans tarder, malgré toute pareille objection, qui serait purement hypothétique.

  3. Requête des syndics en vue de déterminer le fardeau de la preuve.

    Cette requête a été débattue vers la fin de l'audience tenue le . Les parties ont accepté en principe les règles exposées par mes collègues, l'honorable Benjamin Greenberg, dans Henry Sztern and Associates Inc. () et l'honorable Fred Kaufman dans Lévy () et devaient me fournir un projet d'ordonnance conjoint à être signé par moi. Étant donné qu'elles n'ont pu le faire, je rends ma décision sur cette requête comme suit :

    Je déclare que j'ai l'intention d'accepter les règles qu'a exposées l'honorable Benjamin Greenberg dans Sztern et qu'a suivies l'honorable Fred Kaufman dans Lévy relativement au fardeau de la preuve.

    L'analyste principal présentera d'abord sa preuve en déposant son rapport et en présentant la preuve testimoniale et documentaire nécessaire, que ce soit en témoignant lui-même ou en faisant témoigner d'autres personnes, afin d'établir sa crédibilité et sa fiabilité. Une fois que l'exactitude du rapport aura été établie, les syndics auront le fardeau de prouver que les fautes reprochées ne sont pas appuyées par les faits mis en preuve. Ainsi, les syndics présenteront leur preuve une fois que l'analyste principal aura déclaré sa preuve close.

    Toute question concernant la contre-preuve ou la contre-contre-preuve sera tranchée lorsqu'elle sera soulevée à l'audience sur le fond.

Signé à Montréal (Québec), le

L'honorable Perry Meyer
Délégué du Surintendant des faillites

Avocats des Syndics :
Pierre Larue (non présent à l'audience)
(Malo Dansereau)
Jean-Philippe Gervais
(Gervais & Gervais)

Avocat de l'Analyste principal, Michel Leduc : Louis-Philippe Delage

Avocat du Procureur général du Canada : Bernard Letarte
(Intervenant)



Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :