Todd Y. Sheriff and Segal & Partners, Inc. —

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

In the matter of professional discipline proceedings under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency act involving Todd Y. Sheriff, an individual licensed trustee, and Segal & Partners, inc., a corporate licensed trustee.

In my interlocutory Decision given on , I noted (on pages 7 and 10) that while the Senior Analyst acknowledged that certain materials in her possession had not been disclosed to the Respondent, she claimed that they were privileged, confidential and, in any case, irrelevant, and therefore exempt from disclosure. I took these claims under advisement, and said that I would "decide the questions raised once I have received and reviewed the documents in question," which Mr. Matte, counsel for the Senior Analyst, undertook to furnish.

On , Mr. Matte wrote to me and stated, in part, as follows:

I am writing to you further to our attendance before you earlier this month in Toronto, and further to your decision dated . As you will no doubt recall, counsel for the trustee had suggested, and I had agreed, to provide you those notes prepared by Ms. Speers which have not been produced to Counsel for the trustees on the grounds of privilege. The purpose for doing so was to resolve the question of whether these notes are subject to solicitor-client privilege, or are irrelevant.

I have consulted with my superiors on this matter: the Crown maintains her privilege with respect to these notes and is not prepared to disclose them. As an alternative, and in order to facilitate this stage of the proceedings, we offer the following information which sets out the basis for the Crown's claim of solicitor-client or litigation privilege in relation to each of the documents at issue.

What follows is a description of six documents, five of them dated , , May without date, and , and one undated, but believed to have been prepared on .

Counsel for the trustees object to this revised proposition by the Crown, noting, inter alia, that my Decision "was made on consent of the Parties," and that "[i]t is not open for the Superintendent, after submissions have been made and your order issued, to now attempt to withdraw that consent." The normal process, counsel stress, involves three steps and there is no reason why this should not be followed in the present case:

  1. The party claiming privilege must list the privileged documents, including a description of such documents;
  2. The party claiming the privilege produces the privileged documents to the Court on a voire dire;
  3. The Court reviews the documents in question to determine, on a document by document basis, whether privilege attaches in the circumstances.

In support, counsel for the trustees point to Samson Indian Nation and Band v. Canada, [2001] F.C.J. No. 1115, where MacKay J. held as follows (at para. 5):

Then, as the case management process was winding down, the plaintiffs asked that the documents then claimed as privileged be reviewed by the Court on a document by document basis. That is the process approved, for the resolution of differences over claims of privilege, by the Supreme Court of Canada in Descôteau et al. v. Mierzwinski.

On the other hand, as Mr. Matte points out, Rule 30.04(6) of the Ontario Rules of Civil Procedure states that the Court may inspect a document to determine the validity of a claim of privilege but, as Master Peppiat said in Falconbridge Ltd. v. Hawker Siddeley Diesels & Electrics, Ltd., [1985] O.J. No. 1646, disputes of this nature should, whenever possible, be determined "from the affidavit of documents and other supporting material."

I do not think that these two rulings are incompatible, and while I agree that the course of action taken by MacKay J. is the ultimate way of resolving issues of privilege, I see no reason why a less formal procedure might not, in appropriate cases, be utilized.

In my view, this is one of those cases, and I accept the description of the six documents set out by Mr. Matte in his letter dated . It seems clear to me that the Senior Analyst is entitled to rely on solicitor-client privilege in four of the cases, and litigation privilege in the remaining two. No useful purpose would therefore be served if I were to examine these documents.

I realize that this is contrary to what I said in my previous Decision (where I gave effect to the Crown's offer to furnish me with the material in question), but at that point I did not have the detailed description of the items that has now been furnished. It would have been better, of course, if the questions of privilege could have been argued at the hearing in June, but no harm has been done and no injustice has been caused to the parties. In any case, as section 14.02(2) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act provides, at hearings held in virtue of subsection (1), the Superintendent or his delegate is not bound "by any legal or technical rules of evidence," and he or she shall deal with all matters "as informally and expeditiously as the circumstances and a consideration of fairness shall permit."

The claim of privilege over the six documents set out in Mr. Matte's letter is, therefore, maintained.

Given in Toronto this 9th day of .

HON. FRED KAUFMAN, Delegate

Counsel for the Senior Analyst: Allan Matte, Industry Canada Legal Services

Counsel for the Trustees: Craig R. Colraine and Joanna Birenbaum, Birenbaum, Steinberg, Landau, Savin & Colraine, L.L.P.

Counsel for the Attornery General of Canada: Valerie Anderson, Department of Justice, Toronto.


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Todd Y. Sheriff et Segal & Partners Inc. —

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Dans l'instance de discipline professionnelle tenue en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité concernant Todd Y. Sheriff titulaire d'une licence de syndic, et Segal & Partners, Inc., titulaire d'une licence de syndic pour une entreprise morale.

L'analyste principale a admis que certains documents en sa possession n'avaient pas été divulgués à l'intimé. Elle a soutenu qu'ils étaient privilégiés, confidentiels et, en tout état de cause, non pertinents. Elle en a conclu qu'il n'était pas obligatoire de les divulguer. Dans la décision interlocutoire que j'ai rendue le , j'ai souligné ces faits (aux pages 7 et 10). J'ai pris ces revendications en délibéré et j'ai ajouté que je « trancherai les questions soulevées après avoir reçu et examiné les documents en question ». M. Matte, avocat de l'analyste principale, s'est engagé à fournir ces documents.

Le , M. Matte m'a écrit et a affirmé notamment ce qui suit :

Je vous écris suite à notre comparution devant vous plus tôt ce mois-ci, à Toronto, et suite à votre décision datée du . Comme vous vous en souviendrez sans aucun doute, l'avocat du syndic avait suggéré que vous soient fournies les notes préparées par Mme Speers, qui n'avaient pas été divulguées à l'avocat des syndics au motif qu'elles étaient privilégiées. J'avais souscrit à cette suggestion. Cette démarche visait à résoudre la question de savoir si ces notes sont assujetties au privilège du secret professionnel de l'avocat ou si elles sont pertinentes.

J'ai consulté mes supérieurs à cet égard : le ministère public soutient toujours que ces notes sont assujetties au privilège du secret professionnel de l'avocat et il n'est pas disposé à les divulguer. Comme solution de rechange et de façon à faciliter la présente étape des procédures, nous offrons l'information suivante, qui énonce le fondement de la revendication par le ministère public du privilège du secret professionnel de l'avocat ou du privilège relatif au litige pour chacun des documents qui font l'objet du litige.

Suit une description de six documents. Cinq d'entre eux sont datés respectivement des , , mai (sans précision de la date), et . Un des documents n'est pas daté, mais il aurait été préparé le .

L'avocat des syndics conteste cette proposition révisée formulée par le ministère public. Il souligne, notamment, que ma décision [TRADUCTION] « a été rendue sur consentement des parties », et que [TRADUCTION] « le surintendant n'est pas autorisé à tenter maintenant de retirer ce consentement, après que les plaidoiries ont été faites et que votre ordonnance a été rendue ». L'avocat insiste pour dire que le processus normal consiste en trois étapes. Il soutient en outre que rien ne justifie que ce processus ne soit pas suivi en l'espèce :

  1. La partie qui invoque le privilège doit dresser une liste des documents qui y sont assujettis et il doit y joindre une description de ces documents;
  2. La partie qui invoque le privilège fournit les documents privilégiés à la Cour dans le cadre d'un voir-dire;
  3. La Cour examine les documents en question afin de déterminer, document par document, si le privilège s'applique dans les circonstances.

Au soutien de ses prétentions, l'avocat des syndics cite l'affaire Samson Indian Nation and Band c. Canada, [2001] F.C.J. No. 1115, dans laquelle le juge MacKay a tranché comme suit (au par. 5) :

Puis, comme le processus de gestion de l'instance tirait à sa fin, les demandeurs ont demandé que les documents revendiqués alors comme documents sujets au privilège soient examinés par la Cour individuellement. Il s'agit là, pour la résolution des divergences de vues relatives aux revendications de privilège, du processus approuvé par la Cour suprême du Canada dans l'arrêt Descôteau et autres c. Mierzwinski.

Par ailleurs, comme l'a souligné M. Matte, la règle 30.04(6) des Règles de procédure civile de l'Ontario prévoit que le tribunal peut examiner un document afin de décider si la prétention est fondée. En revanche, comme l'a affirmé le protonotaire Peppiat dans Falconbridge Ltd. c. Hawker Siddeley Diesels & Electrics Ltd., [1985] O.J. No. 1646, chaque fois que cela est possible, les litiges de cette nature devraient être tranchés [TRADUCTION] « sur la foi de l'affidavit de documents et des autres documents à l'appui ».

Je ne crois pas que ces deux décisions soient incompatibles. En outre, la voie empruntée par le juge MacKay est bel et bien celle qu'il faut ultimement emprunter pour trancher les questions de privilèges, j'en conviens. Néanmoins, je ne vois aucun motif qui empêcherait l'utilisation d'une procédure moins formelle dans des causes qui s'y prêtent.

À mon avis, la présente affaire se classe parmi ces dernières. En outre, j'accepte la description des six documents dont M. Matte fait état dans sa lettre datée du . Il me semble évident que l'analyste principale a le droit d'invoquer le privilège du secret professionnel de l'avocat à l'égard de quatre de ces documents de même que le privilège relatif au litige à l'égard des deux autres. Il serait donc inutile que j'examine ces documents.

Je suis conscient que ce qui précède est contraire à ce que j'ai affirmé dans la décision que j'ai rendue antérieurement (par laquelle j'ai donné effet à l'offre du ministère public de me fournir la documentation en question). Cependant, au moment où j'ai rendu cette décision, je ne disposais pas de la description détaillée des pièces qui m'a été fournie depuis. Bien entendu, il aurait été préférable que les questions de privilège puissent être débattues lors de l'audience qui s'est tenue en juin. En revanche, les parties n'ont subi ni préjudice, ni injustice. Quoi qu'il en soit, tel que le prévoit le paragraphe 14.02(2) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité, lors de l'audition, le surintendant ou son délégué « n'est lié par aucune règle juridique ou procédurale en matière de preuve », et il ou elle doit régler toutes questions « avec célérité et sans formalisme, eu égard aux circonstances et à l'équité ».

En conséquence, je fais droit à la revendication de privilège relative aux six documents, telle que formulée dans la lettre de M. Matte.

Décision rendue à Toronto, le .

L'honorable Fred Kaufman,
Délégué

Avocat de l'analyste principale : Allan Matte, Services juridiques d'Industrie Canada

Avocat des syndics  : Craig R. Colraine et Joanna Birenbaum, Birenbaum, Steinberg, Landau, Savin & Colraine, LL.P.

Avocate du Procureur général du Canada : Valerie Anderson, ministère de la Justice, Toronto.


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :