Jacques Roy —

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada
Bankruptcy District
of the Province of Quebec

In Re: Disciplinary File of Trustee Jacques Roy

Applicant: Jacques Roy, trustee

Respondent: Marc Mayrand, Superintendent of Bankruptcy


Before Hon. Lawrence A. Poitras, Q.C.,
Delegate of Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Decision on opposing applications by parties


On a complaint was filed with the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy regarding the administration of the applicant trustee.

The undersigned (replacing the late François Rioux) was appointed delegate of the respondent Superintendent of Bankruptcy Marc Mayrand pursuant to a delegation of authority signed on in accordance with s. 14.01(2) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA)

On the applicant trustee filed a preliminary exception with the undersigned, asking him to rule that ss. 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) were of no force or effect with respect to him.

Motion to dismiss

By a motion to dismiss the preliminary exception made verbally on behalf of the analyst, the latter argued that the undersigned delegate did not have jurisdiction to determine the compatibility of ss. 14.01 and 14.02 BIA with the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the Canadian Bill of Rights. By a decision rendered on , the undersigned dismissed the motion to dismiss made by counsel for the analyst and ruled that he had the necessary jurisdiction to hear the applicant's motion asking that ss. 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 BIA be declared of no force or effect and that the disciplinary proceeding involving the applicant trustee be stayed.

Sitting as an administrative tribunal, the delegate had by implication authority to dispose of points of law submitted to him and jurisdiction to hear the motion by the applicant for a preliminary exception, to the extent that the motion related to the applicant's rights in the case before the delegate.

Preliminary exception

The applicant trustee's motion for a preliminary exception on was accordingly argued before the undersigned on and .

By a decision rendered on the applicant's motion for a preliminary exception, asking that ss. 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 BIA be found to be of no force or effect, was dismissed. The case accordingly had to be heard on the merits as soon as possible.

On the applicant trustee Roy applied to the Federal Court of Canada asking it to reverse the decision of on the applicant trustee's preliminary exception. Unless the Federal Court gives this priority, it is doubtful that the appeal will be heard before 2005.

Parties' applications

On both parties, through their counsel, appeared before the undersigned. The senior analyst, despite an appeal by the Attorney General of Canada to the Federal Court from a decision rendered to the same effect by Hon. Fred Kaufman Q.C. as delegate in the Sam Lévy case, ruling he had the necessary jurisdiction to hear the trustee Lévy's request asking that ss. 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 BIA be found to be of no force or effect, and that the judicial proceeding involving the trustee be stayed, and despite the appeal filed by the applicant trustee in this case on from the decision by the undersigned dismissing his application asking that ss. 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 BIA be found to be of no force or effect, asked that the case proceed on the merits before the undersigned as quickly as possible. The applicant trustee Roy, on the ground that the Federal Court had neither ruled in Sam Lévy on the delegate's jurisdiction to hear the aforesaid motion by Lévy, or on the appeal filed by the applicant trustee from the decision of the undersigned dismissing his motion asking that ss. 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 BIA be found to be of no force or effect, maintained that this case clearly could not be heard on the merits as long as the Federal Court had not first ruled on the two motions.

The applicant added that if the Federal Court allowed the grounds of appeal put forward by the respondent, it would be proper [TRANSLATION] "in view of the circumstances and equity" to adjourn the hearing on the merits to a later date, so as to allow the parties to move the case forward in the Federal Court regarding the delegate's jurisdiction and avoid forcing the applicant to submit to the jurisdiction of an administrative tribunal whose powers in the matter the respondent himself had challenged.

Pending cases

Counsel for the applicant trustee even undertook to file a priority application with the Federal Court without delay, so that the various appeals, including the appeal from a decision by Hon. Perry Meyer in Jean-Guy St-Georges, to the same effect as that rendered on the preliminary exception by the undersigned, could be joined for hearing and heard as soon as possible.

In Sam Lévy Hon. Fred Kaufman, on the grounds that the Federal Court had before it the appeal by the Attorney General of Canada against his decision that he had the necessary jurisdiction to hear the trustee's motion on the compatibility of ss. 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 BIA, that the length of the proceeding on the merits could easily exceed four weeks and that in the meantime the trustee had been directed not to take any new cases, decided to adjourn the hearing of the case to a later date.

In another similar case involving the trustees Sheriff and Segal, Kaufman J. by a decision rendered on promised to set down the date for hearing the matter on the merits for late June, when the Federal Court might be able to rule on the Superintendent's powers in that case.

The case involving the trustees Sheriff and Segal should only last two weeks, and their activities were not limited in any way.

Reasoning

In the circumstances of this case, should the undersigned allow the applicant trustee's application to stay the suspension of ss. 14.01 and 14.02 BIA until the Federal Court makes a ruling on the constitutionality of these provisions? By allowing the applicant trustee's application, would the delegate, despite his decision of , be acting as if ss. 14.01 and 14.02 BIA were of no force or effect as long as the Federal Court had not ruled on their constitutionality?

Nonetheless, the constitutionality of these sections has in fact been recognized by the Quebec Court of Appeal in Métivier v. Mayrand, , Q.C.A. (200–09–004077–027).

Additionally, Messrs. Roger Tassé, François Rioux and Jean-Claude Demers, in view of the decisions in Manitoba (Attorney General) v. Metropolitan Stores Ltd., [1987] 1 S.C.R. 110, and RJR-MacDonald Inc. v. Attorney General of Canada, [1994] 1 S.C.R. 311, dismissed the suspension applications made to them in each of the cases (including this one) assigned to them, on the ground that no decision had been rendered finding the sections in question of no force or effect and the rule that statutes are constitutional had to be observed.

By a judgment on Hon. Pepita G. Capriolo of the Quebec Superior Court (500–05–071751–026) agreed entirely with Mr. Rioux, concluding that [TRANSLATION] "therefore, the balance of convenience favours continuing the proceedings". Her decision was upheld by the Court of Appeal.

Further, we refer to our decision of on the point.

According to Jean Beetz J. in Metropolitan Stores (at 135), staying the application of legislation may have the effect of depriving the public of duly adopted legislation and frustrating the common good.

Under s. 14.02(2)(c) BIA the Superintendent, or his delegate under s. 14.01(2) BIA, "shall deal with the matters set out in the notice of the hearing as informally and expeditiously as the circumstances and a consideration of fairness permit".

In Anheuser-Busch, Inc. v. Carling O'Keefe Breweries of Canada Limited and Registrar of Trade Marks, [1983] 2 F.C. 71, Darrel V. Heald J. held per curiam that under s. 44 of the Trade Marks Act, S.C.R. 1970, c. T-10, as amended, "the … procedure is clearly intended to be a summary and expeditious one" and there was "no power in the Registrar to unduly prolong those proceedings by the imposition of a stay pending the outcome" of other Court litigation.

Conclusions

In view of the indicated length of this case and taking into account the public interest in protection and the advantages conferred by the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, and in particular the obligation stated therein to proceed expeditiously, we set the proof and hearing of the questions set out in the notice of hearing for the first days on which counsel said they are available, namely , at a location to be determined by the hearing clerk.

Montréal,

Hon. Lawrence A. Poitras, Q.C.
Superintendent's Delegate



This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Jacques Roy —

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada
District de faillite
de la province de Québec

Dans l'affaire du dossier disciplinaire du syndic Jacques Roy

Requérant :
Jacques Roy, syndic

Intimé : Marc Mayrand, surintendant des faillites


Devant l'Honorable Lawrence A. Poitras, c.r.
Délégué du Surintendant des faillites

Décision sur les demandes opposées des parties


Le , une plainte était déposée auprès du Bureau du surintendant des faillites concernant l'administration du syndic, requérant.

Le soussigné (en remplacement de feu Me François Rioux) fut nommé délégué du surintendant des faillites Marc Mayrand, intimé, aux termes d'une délégation de pouvoir souscrite le conformément à l'article 14.01(2) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (L.F.I.).

Le , le syndic-requérant s'adressait au soussigné par voie d'exception préliminaire afin de faire déclarer inopérants les articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (L.F.I.) à son égard.

Requête en irrecevabilité

Par voie de requête en irrecevabilité de l'exception préliminaire présentée verbalement au nom de l'analyste, ce dernier plaidait que le délégué, le soussigné, n'avait pas compétence pour apprécier la compatibilité des articles 14.01 et 14.02 L.F.I. avec la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et la Déclaration canadienne des droits. Par décision prononcée le 10 décembre 2003, le soussigné rejetait l'exception en irrecevabilité formulée par le procureur de l'analyste et déclarait disposer de la compétence nécessaire pour entendre la requête du requérant pour faire déclarer inopérants les articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 L.F.I. et pour arrêt du processus disciplinaire du syndic-requérant.

Siégeant comme tribunal administratif, le délégué était implicitement autorisé à disposer des questions de droit qui lui étaient soumises et avait compétence pour se saisir de la requête par voie d'exception préliminaire du requérant dans la mesure où la requête visait les droits du requérant dans la cause dont était saisi le délégué.

L'exception préliminaire

La requête par voie d'exception préliminaire du syndic-requérant du fut donc débattue devant le soussigné les  et .

Par décision prononcée le , la requête par voie d'exception préliminaire du requérant pour faire déclarer inopérants les articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 L.F.I. fut rejetée. La cause devait donc être entendue au fond dans les meilleurs délais.

Le , le syndic-requérant Roy s'adressait à la Cour Fédérale du Canada afin de faire renverser la décision du sur l'exception préliminaire du syndic-requérant. À moins que la Cour Fédérale n'en ordonne la préséance, il est douteux que l'appel soit entendu avant l'année 2005.

La demande des parties

Le , les deux parties, par leurs procureurs, se présentèrent devant le soussigné. L'analyste principal, malgré un appel par le Procureur Général du Canada à la Cour Fédérale à l'encontre d'une décision rendue dans le même sens en tant que délégué dans l'affaire Sam Lévy par l'honorable Fred Kaufman c.r., déclarant qu'il disposait de la compétence nécessaire pour entendre la requête du syndic Lévy pour faire déclarer inopérants les articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 L.F.I. et pour arrêt du processus judiciaire du syndic et malgré l'appel interjeté par le syndic-requérant dans cette cause le à l'encontre de la décision du soussigné rejetant sa demande de déclarer inopérants les articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 L.F.I., demanda que la cause au fond procède devant le soussigné dans les meilleurs délais. Le syndic-requérant Roy, au motif que la Cour Fédérale ne s'était ni prononcée dans l'affaire Sam Lévy sur la compétence du délégué pour entendre la susdite requête de Lévy ni sur l'appel interjeté par le syndic-requérant à l'encontre de la décision du soussigné rejetant sa requête pour faire déclarer inopérants les articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 L.F.I., fit valoir que cette cause ne saurait être entendue au fond tant et aussi longtemps que la Cour Fédérale ne se serait d'abord prononcée sur les deux requêtes.

D'ajouter le syndic-requérant, si la Cour Fédérale accueillait les moyens d'appel présentés par l'intimé, il serait approprié « eu égard aux circonstances et à l'équité » d'ajourner l'audition au fond à une date ultérieure afin de permettre aux parties de faire progresser le dossier en Cour Fédérale sur la compétence du délégué et d'éviter de forcer le requérant à se soumettre à la juridiction d'un tribunal administratif dont l'intimé avait contesté lui-même la compétence en la matière.

Causes pendantes

Le procureur du syndic-requérant s'est même engagé à formuler une demande de préséance sans délai devant la Cour Fédérale afin que les divers appels, y compris l'appel d'une décision de l'honorable Perry Meyer dans l'affaire Jean-Guy St-Georges, dans le même sens que celle rendue sur l'exception préliminaire par le soussigné, soient entendus ensemble et dans les meilleurs délais.

Dans l'affaire Sam Lévy, l'honorable Fred Kaufman, aux motifs que la Cour Fédérale était saisie de l'appel du Procureur Général du Canada à l'encontre de sa décision qu'il disposait de la compétence nécessaire pour entendre la requête du syndic sur la compatibilité des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 L.F.I., que la durée de la cause au fond pourrait facilement dépasser quatre semaines et que, dans l'entre-temps, le syndic avait été enjoint de ne se saisir d'aucun nouveau dossier, a décidé de remettre l'audition de la cause à une date ultérieure.

Dans une autre affaire semblable, impliquant les syndics Sheriff et Segal, le juge Kaufman, par décision rendue le , promit de fixer la date d'audition au fond de la cause à la fin du mois de juin alors que la Cour Fédérale pourrait se prononcer sur la compétence du surintendant dans cette cause.

La cause impliquant les syndics Sheriff et Segal ne devaient durer que deux semaines et leurs activités n'étaient aucunement restreintes.

Raisonnement

Le soussigné, dans les circonstances de cette cause, doit-il accorder la demande du syndic-requérant de suspendre la suspension des articles 14.01 et 14.02 L.F.I. jusqu'à la décision de la Cour Fédérale sur la constitutionalité de ces dispositions? En se rendant à la demande du syndic requérant, le délégué, malgré sa décision du , agirait-il comme si les articles 14.01 et 14.02 L.F.I. étaient inopérants tant et aussi longtemps que la Cour fédérale ne se serait prononcée sur leur constitutionalité?

Pourtant la constitutionalité de ces articles a déjà été reconnue par la Cour d'Appel du Québec dans l'affaire Métivier c. Mayrand, le , C.A.Q. (200-09-004077-027).

Au surplus, Mes Roger Tassé, François Rioux et Jean-Claude Demers, à la lumière des arrêts dans Manitoba (Procureur Général) c. Metropolitain Stores Ltd. [1987] 1 R.C.S. 110, et de RJR-MacDonald Inc. c. Le Procureur général du Canada, [1994] 1 R.C.S. 311, ont refusé la demande de suspension qui leur avait été présentée dans chacune des causes (dont celle-ci) qui leur avaient été confiées, au motif qu'aucune décision n'avait été rendue déclarant inopérants les articles en question et que le principe de la constitutionalité des lois devait être respecté.

Par jugement rendu le , l'honorable Pepita G. Capriolo de la Cour supérieure du Québec (500–05–071751–026) abondait dans le même sens que Me Rioux, concluant que « la prépondérance des inconvénients favorise donc la continuation des procédures ». Sa décision fut affirmée par la Cour d'Appel.

Nous nous référons au surplus à notre décision du en la matière.

Selon l'honorable Jean Beetz dans l'arrêt Metropolitain Stores (p. 135), le sursis de l'application d'une disposition législative peut avoir pour effet de priver le public d'une loi dûment adoptée… et de contrecarrer le bien commun.

En vertu de l'article 14.02(2) c, L.F.I., le surintendant, ou son délégué en vertu de l'article 14.01(2) L.F.I., « règle les questions exposées dans l'avis d'audition avec célérité et sans formalisme, eu égard aux circonstances et à l'équité. »

Dans l'arrêt Anheuser-Busch, Inc. c. Carling O'Keefe Breweries of Canada Limited et Registraire des marques de commerce, [1983] 2 C.F. 71, l'honorable Darrel V. Heald décidait, per curiam, qu'en vertu de l'article 44 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, S.R.C. 1970, chap. T-10, depuis modifiée, « le législateur a clairement voulu que la procédure…; soit sommaire et expéditive » et le registraire n'avait aucun « pouvoir inhérent de prolonger excessivement (les) procédures en imposant une suspension d'instance jusqu'à l'issue » d'autres litiges devant la Cour.

Conclusions

Vu la longueur annoncée de cette cause et tenant compte de l'intérêt public quant à la protection et aux avantages a conférés par la Loi de la faillite et de l'insolvabilité et, en particulier, à l'obligation qui y est prévue de procéder avec célérité, nous fixons l'enquête et l'audition des questions exposées dans l'avis d'audition aux premiers jours auxquels les procureurs se sont dits disponibles, soit du  au , à l'endroit à être précisé par la Greffière des dossiers d'audition.

Montréal, le

L'honorable Lawrence A. Poitras, c.r.
Délégué du surintendant


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :