Official Receiver

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of:
John Brock Hobbs
Hobbs and Company


Directions for Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas John Brock Hobbs is the holder of an individual license as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas Hobbs and Company is the holder of a corporate trustee license;

Whereas an investigation made by the Superintendent pursuant to section 5(3)(e) of the Act revealed that John Brock Hobbs had an unacceptably high number of estate files under administration for more than three years as well as banking deficiencies in the administration of his estates;

Whereas on July 23rd, 2003 the Division Assistant Superintendent (DAS), Hamilton Division Office, Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB), and a Senior Bankruptcy Analyst (SBA) met with John Brock Hobbs to discuss the closing plan to be submitted by the trustee under the Initiative for the Orderly and Timely Administration of Files (IOTA);

Whereas during this meeting, the trustee signed his closing plan which provided that he would be closing 22 files per month;

Whereas on September 10, 2003 the DAS of the Hamilton Division Office, and the SBA met again with John Brock Hobbs to discuss matters pertaining to IOTA and more specifically having to do with the trustee's deficiencies in banking, in particular issues dealing with the reconciliation of consolidated trust accounts;

Whereas from that time until today, the SBA met with the trustee on October 24, November 28, December 17, 2003 as well as on March 9, April 22 and June 11, 2004 to follow up on the progress of the trustee as well as to discuss either of these two matters;

Whereas as of today and notwithstanding repeated communication between the SBA and the trustee on this issue, the trustee has not complied with his closing plan under IOTA;

Whereas I believe on reasonable grounds that the estates require protection;

Whereas the Superintendent may, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstances referred to in subsection 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with section 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in paragraph 14.03(2)(b), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act;

Whereas paragraphs 14.03(1)(d) of the Act apply;

I, the undersigned, Karl Bueckert, Senior Bankruptcy Analyst, in my capacity as delegate for the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, direct:

The Official Receiver not to appoint John Brock Hobbs and Hobbs and Company to administer any new estates.

These directions take effect immediately and will stay in place until such time as I am satisfied the estates no longer need protection.

In accordance with subsection 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind their addressee, who must comply with them.

In accordance with subsection 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with these directions is not liable for any act done only to comply with them.

Signed, in the City of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan,
this .

Karl Bueckert
Senior Bankruptcy Analyst

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Séquestre officiel

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire :
John Brock Hobbs
Hobbs and Company


Instructions de mesures conservatoires
(Article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi) attribue au surintendant des faillites (le Surintendant) un pouvoir général de surveillance des actifs et des affaires régis par ladite Loi;

Considérant que John Brock Hobbs est titulaire d'une licence individuelle de syndic de faillite;

Considérant que Hobbs and Company est titulaire d'une licence de syndic corporative;

Considérant qu'une enquête menée par le surintendant en vertu de l'alinéa 5(3)e) de la Loi a révélé que John Brock Hobbs avait conservé un nombre inacceptable de dossiers d'actifs sous administration pendant plus de trois ans et présentait des lacunes bancaires dans l'administration de ses actifs;

Considérant que le 23 juillet 2003, le surintendant adjoint de division (SAD), bureau de division de Hamilton, Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) et un analyste principal de faillite (APF) ont rencontré John Brock Hobbs pour discuter du plan de fermeture à être présenté par le syndic dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour l'administration ponctuelle et ordonnée des dossiers d'insolvabilité (IAPO);

Considérant qu'au cours de cette rencontre, le syndic a signé son plan de fermeture qui prévoyait qu'il fermerait 22 dossiers par mois;

Considérant que le 10 septembre 2003, le SAD; du bureau de division de Hamilton et l'APF ont de nouveau rencontré John Brock Hobbs pour discuter de questions ayant trait à l'IAPO et, plus précisément, aux lacunes du syndic dans les affaires bancaires, et en particulier de questions portant sur la conciliation de comptes en fiducie consolidés;

Considérant qu'à compter de ce moment jusqu'à aujourd'hui, l'APF a rencontré le syndic le 24 octobre, le 28 novembre et le 17 décembre 2003 ainsi que le 9 mars, le 22 avril et le 11 juin 2004 pour assurer le suivi des progrès réalisés par le syndic et pour discuter de l'une ou l'autre de ces deux questions;

Considérant qu'en date d'aujourd'hui et malgré des communications répétées entre l'APF et le syndic sur cette question, le syndic ne s'est pas conformé à son plan de fermeture aux termes de l'IAPO;

Considérant que j'ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les actifs doivent être sauvegardés;

Considérant que le surintendant peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs visés au paragraphe  14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant m'a délégué, en vertu de l'autorité du paragraphe  14.01(2) de la Loi, les attributions du surintendant prévues au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues à l'alinéa 14.03(2)(b), des copies de la délégation et des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi sont jointes aux présentes;

Considérant que l'alinéa 14.03(1)d) de la Loi s'applique;

Je soussigné, Karl Bueckert, analyste principal de faillite, en ma qualité de délégué du surintendant des faillites, donne instructions :

au séquestre officiel de ne plus nommer John Brock Hobbs et Hobbs and Company pour administrer de nouveaux actifs.

Ces instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et demeureront en vigueur jusqu'à ce que j'estime que les actifs ne nécessitent plus de protection.

Conformément au paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, ces instructions lient leur destinataire, lequel est tenu de s'y conformer.

Conformément au paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Et j'ai signé dans la ville de Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan,
ce .

Karl Bueckert
Analyste principal de faillite

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :