Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of the bankruptcy of:
Michel Côté, bankrupt
and
Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée, corporate trustee


Directions for Conservatory Measures
(section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas the Superintendent of Bankruptcy may, for the protection of an asset, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, under the circumstances referred to in subsection 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the debtor, Michel Côté, filed an assignment on January 31, 1989 with corporate trustee Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée;

Whereas among the debtor's assets was a property known and designated as lot 417-51 in the Charlesbourg land registry;

Whereas the corporate trustee, Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée, registered a certificate of bankruptcy against said property on February 20, 1989 under the number 1314600, and a certificate of trustee appointment under the number 1314599;

Whereas given the lack of equity, said corporate trustee was not able to realize the abovementioned property;

Whereas the trustee, Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée, was discharged from the administration of this estate on December 5, 1991, without previously registering notice of quit claim of its rights in this property;

Whereas the only individual trustee working in the corporate trustee office, i.e., Grégoire Bellavance, has since died;

Whereas in order to legalize ownership, a notice should be filed divesting any rights trustee Grégoire Bellavance et Associés Ltée might claim to hold against this property;

Whereas it is not necessary to appoint a trustee for the sole purpose of registering said notice pursuant to the provisions of section 20 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;

Whereas the Superintendent of Bankruptcy has delegated to me, in accordance with subsection 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at subsection 14.03 (1) of the Act, in circumstances referred to in subsection 14.03(2), copies of which delegation are attached, along with copies of subsections 14.01(2) and 14.03(1) to (4) of the Act;

Whereas subsections 14.03(1)a) and b) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act apply;

I, Alain Lafontaine, in my capacity of Deputy Superintendent, Programs, Standards and Regulatory Affairs, mandate Sylvie Laperrière in order to sign a quit claim of rights, titles and interests that could be claimed by Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée against a property formerly designated as lot 417-51 in the Charlesbourg land registry and now known and designated as renovated lot 1045259 in the Quebec City land registry.

In accordance with subsection 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind their addressees, who must comply with them;

In accordance with subsection 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with these directions is not liable for any act done by that person only to comply with these directions.

Signed, in the City of Ottawa, Ontario
May 15, 2003

Alain Lafontaine
Deputy Superintendent
Programs, Standards and Regulatory Affairs

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire de la faillite:
Michel Côté, failli
et
Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée, syndic corporatif


Instructions de mesures conservatoires
(article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité attribue au surintendant un pouvoir général de surveillance des actifs et des affaires régis par ladite Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant des faillites peut et doit, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs visés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi et ce, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le débiteur, Michel Côté, a déposé une cession de ses biens le 31 janvier 1989 entre les mains du syndic corporatif Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée;

Considérant que parmi les actifs du débiteur se trouvait un immeuble connu et désigné comme étant le lot 417-51 du cadastre de Charlesbourg;

Considérant que le syndic corporatif, Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée, a enregistré contre ledit immeuble le 20 février 1989, un certificat de faillite sous le numéro 1314600 et un certificat de la nomination du syndic sous le numéro 1314599;

Considérant le manque d'équité, ledit syndic corporatif n'a pu réaliser l'immeuble ci-dessus décrit;

Considérant que le syndic, Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée, a été libéré de l'administration de cet actif le 5 décembre 1991, sans avoir au préalable enregistré à l'encontre de cet immeuble un avis de renonciation de ses droits;

Considérant que le seul syndic individuel exerçant au sein de ce syndic corporatif, à savoir, monsieur Grégoire Bellavance, est depuis lors décédé;

Considérant qu'il y a lieu, afin de régulariser les titres, d'enregistrer à l'égard de cet immeuble, un avis de renonciation à tout droit que pouvait prétendre y détenir le syndic Grégoire Bellavance et Associés Ltée;

Considérant qu'il n'y a pas lieu de procéder à la nomination d'un syndic aux seules fins de procéder à l'enregistrement dudit avis de renonciation selon les dispositions de l'article 20 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Considérant que le surintendant des faillites m'a délégué, en vertu de l'autorité du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, dans certaines situations mentionnées au paragraphe 14.03(2), les attributions du surintendant prévues au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, copies de la délégation et des paragraphes 14.01(2) et 14.03(1) à (4) de la Loi sont jointes aux présentes;

Considérant les dispositions des alinéas 14.03(1)a) et b) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Je, Alain Lafontaine, en ma qualité de surintendant associé, Programmes, Normes et Affaires réglementaires, mandate Sylvie Laperrière afin de signer une renonciation des droits, titres et intérêts auxquels pouvait prétendre le syndic Grégoire Bellavance & Associés Ltée, à l'encontre d'un immeuble antérieurement désigné comme étant le lot 417-51 du cadastre de Charlesbourg maintenant connu et désigné comme étant le lot rénové 1045259 du cadastre du Québec.

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient leurs destinataires, lesquels sont tenus de s'y conformer;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Et j'ai signé, en la ville d'Ottawa, Ontario
ce 15 mai 2003.

Alain Lafontaine
Surintendant associé
Programmes, Normes et Affaires réglementaires

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :