James Gordon Touchie —

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada
Province of New Brunswick
Judicial District of Moncton

In the Matter of Professional Disciplinary Proceedings under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the "Act")

Opposing:
Ms. Ann Speers,
Senior Analyst in the Toronto District Office of the Office of the
Superintendent of Bankruptcy (hereinafter "the Senior Analyst")

And

James Gordon Touchie
(hereinafter "the Trustee") and
J.G. Touchie & Associates Ltd.
(hereinafter "the Corporate Trustee")
(hereinafter together referred to as "the Trustees")

Presiding:
The Honourable Benjamin J. Greenberg, Q.C.
Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy
(hereinafter sometimes referred to as "the Delegate")

Montreal,

Decision on the Sanctions

  1. Whereas in this case the Trustees were reproached with:
    1. Issues in regard to the administration by the Corporate Trustee of the related bankruptcies of Perfection Dairy Foods Limited. (hereinafter "Perfection") and McKay's Dairy Ltd. (hereinafter "Mckay's"). The Perfection and Mckay's Bankruptcies are herein collectively referred to as "the Dairy Estates");
    2. Complaints related to the CBA's operated by the Corporate Trustee and particularly the issue of bank reconciliations and failing to efficiently and expeditiously deal with NSF cheques, stale-dated cheques and the posting and allocation of interest earned to individual estates; and
    3. Complaints alleging that the Trustees failed to cooperate with the representatives of the Superintendent, namely the Auditor and the Senior Analyst, during the course of, respectively, the Audits and the Investigation; and
  2. Whereas the Hearing on the Merits on the matter of the complaints regarding the professional conduct of the Trustees was held in Moncton, New Brunswick on , , , and ; and
  3. Whereas in his Decision on the Merits dated , the undersigned found that several of the complaints which had been brought against the Trustees were established and maintained; and
  4. Whereas each of the terms defined in the said Decision on the Merits shall be taken to have the same meaning in the present Decision on the Sanctions; and
  5. Whereas, of the complaints maintained, there was included the second most serious one, that of having failed to co-operate with the representatives of the Superintendent; and
  6. Whereas, however, other than that latter complaint which involved wilful misconduct, the evidence at the Merits Hearing failed to establish any morally culpable conduct on the part of the Trustees, but rather administrative failings, to which the Trustees candidly admitted during the Merits Hearing; and
  7. Whereas the Parties, their counsel and the Delegate met again in Moncton, New Brunswick on in order to permit counsel to lead evidence and make their representations on the appropriate sanctions to be imposed; and
  8. Whereas of those not maintained, one complaint was withdrawn at the opening of the Merits Hearing and two were not proven and were consequently dismissed; and
  9. Whereas the complaint withdrawn was that of having improperly netted bank service charges against the interest earned on the CBA's, because several years ago the Halifax District office of the Superintendent had explicitly authorized that practice by a letter addressed to the Corporate Trustee; and
  10. Whereas the evidence at the Sanctions Hearing revealed that although the Senior Analyst decided to withdraw that complaint approximately one month before the Merits Hearing, neither the Trustees nor their counsel were advised of that decision until the start of the Merits Hearing; and
  11. Whereas it behoved the Senior Analyst to inform or have her counsel inform the Trustees or their counsel of that decision as soon as it was made and thereby dispense the Trustees from having to needlessly prepare to meet that complaint at the Merits Hearing; and
  12. Whereas the two complaints not proven and dismissed were, firstly the most serious complaint involving moral culpability reproached to the Trustees, that of having taken large unauthorized draws of fees from the Dairy Estates, and secondly, that of not maintaining on an ongoing basis a monthly list of all individual estates; and
  13. Whereas, even though pursuant to the Decision on the Merits, the latter three complaints were off the table, and in spite of the undersigned having put that issue squarely to her and her counsel at the Sanctions Hearing, the Senior Analyst persisted in not moderating her recommended sanctions as per her letter to the Trustees of (see at TAB 4 of the Senior Analyst's pre-Sanctions Hearing Submission dated ), which obviously had been predicated on the supposition that all the complaints reproached to the Trustees would be proven and maintained; and
  14. Whereas those originally recommended sanctions, maintained by the Senior Analyst until after the Sanction Hearing, were to the effect that the licence of the Trustee be suspended for twelve months, that the licence of the Corporate Trustee be restricted for a period of six months from accepting and filing appointments under the ACT, and that for a twelve month period, an independent accountant acceptable to the OSB be put in place to supervise certain aspects of the Corporate Trustee's functioning and report quarterly to the Halifax District office of the Superintendent; and
  15. Whereas it was only by her unsolicited letter of , one month after the Sanctions Hearing that the Senior Analyst unilaterally modified her recommendations by adding the requirement that the Trustee close and tax the Dairy Estates within 120 days of the date of the present Decision, and by deleting the requirement that an acceptable independent accountant supervise the functioning of the Corporate Trustee, and moreover as follows:
    1. "With respect to J.G. Touchie & Associates two months full restriction on accepting new files, with a further two months restriction accepting new files but limited to the Moncton judicial district;
    2. With respect to James Gordon Touchie, a four month suspension, and a requirement that the Dairy Estates be closed and taxed within 120 days of Your Lordship's decision."
  16. Whereas in their pre-Sanctions Hearing Brief, counsel for the Trustees recommended that, since our finding in the Decision on the Merits with respect to the Trustee related to administrative failings rather than moral failings, that any restriction imposed by us on him should be "measured in days or at most two weeks and that a suspension of any sort would be wholly inappropriate"; and
  17. Whereas at paragraphs 20, 21 and 22 of our Decision on the Merits, we declared:

    "20. We wish firstly to comment upon the fact that the Report is replete with references in regard to the Trustees such as "shortages", "shortfalls", and "missing funds". Those references could not but give the impression to a reasonable and informed reader that the Senior Analyst believed that some element of dishonesty existed, involving misappropriation or defalcation of funds, or worse. More appropriate language would have been "variances", the term used by Mr. Sherrard, or "differences", the term used by the Auditor.

    21. Yet, at the opening of the Hearing in Moncton, on , in his preliminary comments, Mr. Tim Hill, counsel for the Senior Analyst, declared:

    "… (the) report deals with, amongst other things, trust accounts and money and words are used from time to time, missing or shortage. I want to make it absolutely clear on behalf of the Department that there is no indication of, and no suggestion that, there has been any defalcation or anything other than or that Mr. Touchie is in any way, or any of his staff, in any way done anything dishonest. It's simply not suggested and I want to make that clear now."

    22. The Trustees, their firm and its associated trustees laboured under a cloud of suspicion of dishonesty from , the date of the Report, until . That surely caused the Trustee considerable anxiety, stress and sleepless nights. That cloud of suspicion could and should have been lifted much earlier and it was unfair not to do so. When the time comes to determine the Sanction(s) to be imposed on the Trustees, we will be mindful of that unfairness."

  18. Whereas the time has now come for us to be so mindful; and
  19. Whereas the Senior Analyst emphasized the fact that the sanctions must be representative of the seriousness of the wrongdoing and underline the concept of exemplarity and deterrence; and
  20. Whereas the Trustees pleaded that the undersigned should consider the following attenuating circumstances which have been established in evidence:
    1. during his entire career spanning 34 years, the Trustee has otherwise demonstrated good conduct and has an unblemished disciplinary record, both before and after the events of the present case;
    2. he is consequently to be considered and treated as a first-time offender;
    3. the Trustees did not personally benefit or gain in any way as a result of the issues in this case and in fact the Trustee was obliged to deposit approximately $19,700 of his personal funds into the CBA's in order to make up the "differences" ("variances") between the corrected bank reconciliations and the actual balances in those CBA's, which sum it appears will never be repaid to him;
    4. the complaints for which the Trustees are to be sanctioned herein did not result in any loss or negative consequences to the creditors of the various bankruptcies concerned; and
  21. Whereas one of counsel for the Trustees, Mr. David T. Hashey, Q.C., pleaded for compassion for the Trustee, taking into account the serious detrimental consequences to his health already occasioned by these disciplinary proceedings; and
  22. Whereas, in order to preserve the privacy of the Trustee's personal life, we will refrain from describing those health problems here as they are known to the Parties and their counsel; and
  23. Whereas that submission has struck a responsive chord in our thinking; and
  24. Whereas in special cases where the facts and circumstances permit, such as this one, it would not be inappropriate, in consideration of such a submission, to temper justice with mercy as one element to be factored into a decision by a delegate of the Superintendent; and
  25. Whereas, however, a disciplinary sanction must not be tailored to reflect only the specific needs and situation of each trustee, but should also take into account the integrity of the bankruptcy and insolvency system; and
  26. Whereas in professional conduct matters, the purpose of the sanction is not primarily to punish the professional, but also to have the effects of exemplarity and deterrence, so as to also protect the public and the integrity of the profession of bankruptcy trustee; and
  27. Whereas, on the other hand, the principle of exemplarity and deterrence must not be over emphasized to the point where it becomes oppressive to the offender; and
  28. Whereas, although the principal office of the Corporate Trustee is in Moncton, New Brunswick, in order to better serve the francophone population of Northern New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, it also operates seven satellite offices located in Bathurst, Edmunston, Caraquet, Miramichi and Grand Falls, New Brunswick and Charlottetown and Summerside, Prince Edward Island; and
  29. Whereas during any period of a restriction placed on the licence of the Corporate Trustee, that population would be deprived of the services of Mr. Ronald Arsenault, a very competent and experienced bankruptcy trustee in the employ of the Corporate Trustee, who regularly travels to serve those seven satellite offices; and
  30. Whereas in regard to trustees in bankruptcy generally, some of the complaints established herein constitute serious infractions which strike at and undermine the core of a trustee's responsibilities, directly impact the integrity of the bankruptcy and insolvency system and negatively affect the general public's perception of and confidence in that system; and
  31. Whereas we have evaluated and weighed all the above-described facts and considerations; and
  32. Whereas we have also examined the jurisprudence submitted by counsel for both Parties, including some of our Decisions in other bankruptcy trustee disciplinary cases, and we have taken them all into consideration in the determination and fixing of the Sanctions in the present case.
  33. Closing Provision

    Each duplicate original of this Decision on the Sanctions, signed by the Delegate, is equally valid and authentic and may serve as such for all legal purposes.

I, the Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy pursuant to the statutory powers delegated to me under Subsection 14.01(2) of the Act, having weighed and considered all of the foregoing and all of the facts and circumstances in this case, Do Hereby Order as Follows:

  1. That the Licence of Mr. James Gordon Touchie, Trustee in Bankruptcy, be and it is Hereby Suspended for a period of six weeks, from , to , during which time he will not be permitted to be appointed and/or act in matters under the Act;
  2. That the Trustee, Mr. James Gordon Touchie, be and he is Hereby Required to CLose and Tax the Dairy Estates within 120 days of the date of the present Decision on the Sanctions;
  3. That the Licence of J.G. Touchie & Associates Ltd., the Corporate Trustee, be and it is Hereby Restricted, for a period of One Month, from to , to the Administration of Estates to which the Corporate Trustee has been appointed prior to ;
  4. That for a further period of One Month from to , that the Licence of J.G. Touchie & Associates Ltd.. be and it is Hereby Restricted to the Administration of Estates to which the Corporate Trustee has been appointed prior to . However, the present restriction shall be limited to the Judicial District of Moncton.
  5. The various provisions of this Order will come into effect on each of the dates stipulated above.

The Honourable Benjamin J. Greenberg, Q.C.
Delegate of the Superintendent

Mr. Tim Hill
Counsel for the Senior Analyst;

Messrs. George L. Cooper and David T. Hashey, Q.C.
Counsel for the Trustees.



This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

James Gordon Touchie —

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada

Province du Nouveau-Brunswick
District judiciaire de Moncton

Dans l'affaire de l'instance de discipline professionnelle tenue en vertu de la loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (ci-après la « Loi »)

Entre:
Mme Ann Speers
Analyste principale, bureau du district de Toronto du Bureau du surintendant des faillites
(appelée ci-après l'« Analyste principale »)

Et

James Gordon Touchie
(appelé ci-après le « Syndic »)
Et

J.G. Touchie & Associates Ltd.
(appelée ci-après la « Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic » (appelés collectivement ci-après les « Syndics »)
Président :
L'honorable Benjamin J. Greenberg, C.R.

Délégué du surintendant des faillites (parfois appelé ci-après le « Délégué »)

Montréal, le

Décision sur les Sanctions

  1. Attendu que des plaintes ont été déposées contre les Syndics en l'espèce en ce qui concerne :
    1. l'administration par la Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic des faillites liées de Perfection Dairy Foods Limited (ci-après « Perfection ») et de McKay's Dairy Ltd. (ci-après « Mckay's »). Les faillites Perfection et Mckay's étant ci-après désignées collectivement comme (les « Dairy Estates »);
    2. l'administration par la Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic des CBC et particulièrement les conciliations bancaires, l'omission de s'occuper efficacement et rapidement des chèques sans fonds et des chèques périmés et l'inscription et la répartition des intérêts gagnés à chaque actif individuellement;
    3. l'omission des Syndics de coopérer avec les représentants du Surintendant, en l'occurrence le Vérificateur et l'analyste principale durant le cours des vérifications et des enquêtes;
  2. Attendu que l'audience sur le fond sur les plaintes concernant la conduite professionnelle des Syndics a eu lieu à Moncton, Nouveau-Brunswick les , , , et ;
  3. Attendu que dans sa décision sur le fond datée du , le soussigné a conclu que plusieurs des plaintes portées contre les Syndics avaient été établies et elles ont été retenues;
  4. Attendu que chacun des termes définis dans la décision sur le fond sera réputé avoir la même signification dans la présente Décision sur les sanctions;
  5. Attendu que dans la deuxième plainte en gravité parmi celles qui ont été retenues, il est mentionné que les Syndics n'ont pas coopéré avec les représentants du Surintendant;
  6. Attendu toutefois que, exception faite de la plainte mentionnée au paragraphe précédent où il est reproché aux Syndics d'avoir eu un comportement répréhensible, les éléments de preuve présentés à l'audience sur le fond n'ont pas réussi à démontrer que les Syndics avaient eu un comportement moralement répréhensible. Les éléments de preuve ont plutôt démontré que les Syndics avaient commis des erreurs administratives, ce que les syndics ont candidement admis à l'audience sur le fond;
  7. Attendu que les parties, leur avocat et le Délégué se sont réunis de nouveau à Moncton, Nouveau-Brunswick le en vue de permettre aux avocats de présenter des éléments de preuve et de faire leurs observations sur les sanctions appropriées à imposer;
  8. Attendu que parmi les plaintes qui n'ont pas été retenues, une a été retirée au début de l'audience sur le fond et deux n'ont pas été prouvées et ont, en conséquence, été rejetées;
  9. Attendu que la plainte retirée est celle portant sur la déduction inappropriée des frais d'administration des intérêts gagnés sur les CBC, étant donné que le Bureau de division de Halifax du Surintendant avait, plusieurs années auparavant, explicitement autorisé cette pratique dans une lettre adressée à la Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic;
  10. Attendu que les éléments de preuve présentés à l'audience sur les sanctions ont démontré que bien que L'analyste principale ait décidé de retirer cette plainte un mois avant l'audience sur les sanctions, ni les Syndics ni leur avocat n'avaient été informés de cette décision avant le début de l'audience sur les sanctions;
  11. Attendu qu'il aurait été approprié que l'analyste principale informe les Syndics ou leur avocat de cette décision ou demande à son avocat d'informer les Syndics ou leur avocat de cette décision aussitôt qu'elle avait été prise pour éviter ainsi aux Syndics d'avoir à se préparer inutilement à répondre à cette plainte à l'audience sur les sanctions;
  12. Attendu que deux plaintes n'ont pas été établies et ont été rejetées, que l'une de ces plaintes était la plainte la plus grave, car elle imputait une culpabilité morale aux Syndics en leur reprochant d'avoir fait des retraits importants d'honoraires des Dairy Estates sans autorisation et que l'autre plainte reprochait aux Syndics de ne pas avoir maintenu continuellement une liste mensuelle de tous les actifs individuels;
  13. Attendu que l'analyste principale a persisté à ne pas réduire les sanctions qu'elle avait recommandé d'imposer dans sa lettre du aux Syndics (voir à 1'onglet 4 des représentations écrites de l'analyste principale en vue de l'audience sur les sanctions, datées du ), lettre qui était évidemment fondée sur l'hypothèse que toutes les plaintes portées contre les Syndics seraient prouvées et retenues même si, conformément à la décision sur le fond, la plainte retirée et les deux plaintes rejetées étaient exclues de la discussion et qu'à l'audience sur les sanctions le soussigné a clairement indiqué à l'analyste principale et à son avocat que ces trois plaintes étaient exclues de la discussion;
  14. Attendu que les sanctions que l'analyste principale avait recommandées d'imposer dans sa lettre du et qu'elle a continué de demander jusqu'après l'audience sur les sanctions étaient les suivantes : suspendre la licence du Syndics pour douze mois, restreindre la licence de la Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic pendant six mois durant lesquels il lui serait défendu d'accepter ou de déposer des nominations conformément à la Loi, et nommer un comptable indépendant acceptable au BSF qui, pendant douze mois, aurait la responsabilité de superviser certains aspects des activités de la Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic et de remettre des rapports trimestriels au Bureau de division de Halifax du Surintendant;
  15. Attendu que c'est seulement dans une lettre non sollicitée datée du , envoyée un mois après l'audience sur les sanctions, que l'analyste principale a unilatéralement modifié ses recommandations. Elle exigeait en outre que le Syndic soit tenu de fermer le dossier Dairy Estates et de procéder à la taxation dans les 120 jours suivant la date de la présente décision, mais elle n'exigeait plus qu'un comptable indépendant acceptable supervise les activités de la Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic. Dans cette lettre, l'analyste principale formulait les autres recommandations suivantes :

    [Traduction]

    1. « En ce qui concerne J.G. Touchie & Associates, restreindre la licence pendant deux mois avec défense d'accepter tout nouveau dossier et restreindre la licence pendant une période supplémentaire de deux mois avec défense d'accepter des dossiers seulement dans le district judiciaire de Moncton;
    2. En ce qui concerne James Gordon Touchie, suspendre la licence pendant quatre mois avec obligation de fermer le dossier Dairy Estates et de procéder à la taxation dans les 120 jours de votre décision. »
  16. Attendu que dans ses observations écrites en vue de l'audience sur les sanctions, le procureur des Syndics a recommandé, puisque mes conclusions dans la décision sur le fond en ce qui concerne le Syndics faisaient référence à des lacunes administratives plutôt qu'à une culpabilité morale, que toute restriction que j'imposerais au Syndics devrait [Traduction] « être mesurée en jours et durer, au maximum, deux semaines et qu'une suspension de quelque nature que ce soit serait totalement inappropriée »;
  17. Attendu que dans les paragraphes 20, 21 et 22 de la décision sur le fond, j'ai déclaré ce qui suit  :

    20. Je voudrais, d'entrée de jeu, commenter un fait. Dans son Rapport, l'analyste principale se sert continuellement de mots ou d'expressions telles que « manques », « insuffisances » ou « fonds qui manquent » lorsqu'elle fait référence aux Syndics. L'emploi d'un tel langage ne peut faire autrement que donner l'impression au lecteur raisonnable et informé que l'analyste principale estimait qu'il existait un certain élément de malhonnêteté ou qu'il y avait eu détournement de fonds ou pire. Il aurait été plus approprié d'utiliser des mots tels que « écarts », utilisé par M. Sherrard, ou « différences », utilisé par le Vérificateur.

    21. Au début l'audience à Moncton, le , Me Tim Hill, l'avocat de l'analyste principale, a déclaré ce qui suit dans ses remarques préliminaires :

    [TRADUCTION] « … dans le rapport, il est question, entre autres choses, de comptes en fiducie et d'argent, et on y emploie parfois des mots tels que « manques » ou « fonds qui manquent ». Je veux affirmer clairement au nom du ministère que nous n'avons nullement l'intention d'indiquer ou de laisser entendre qu'il y a eu détournement de fonds ou quoi que ce soit, ou que M. Touchie ou ses employés ont, de quelque façon que ce soit, été malhonnêtes. Nous ne laissons pas entendre cela, et je veux maintenant l'affirmer clairement. »

    22. Du , la date du Rapport, jusqu'au des soupçons de malhonnêteté ont plané sur les Syndics, leur société et les syndics employés par la société. Cette situation a certainement causé beaucoup d'inquiétude, de stress et d'insomnies au Syndics. Ces soupçons auraient pu et auraient dû être levés bien plus tôt, et il était injuste de ne pas le faire. Lorsque viendra le temps d'imposer une ou des sanctions aux Syndics, je tiendrai compte de cette injustice. »

  18. Attendu que le moment est venu pour moi de tenir compte de cette injustice;
  19. Attendu que l'analyste principale a insisté sur le fait que les sanctions doivent correspondre à la gravité de la faute et faire ressortir le concept d'exemplarité et de dissuasion;
  20. Attendu que les Syndics ont fait valoir que le soussigné devrait considérer les circonstances atténuantes suivantes que les éléments de preuve ont démontrées :
    1. durant toute sa carrière de 34 ans, le Syndics a, par ailleurs, démontré une bonne conduite et a eu un dossier disciplinaire sans tache, tant avant qu'après les événements dont il est question en l'espèce;
    2. il doit, par conséquent, être considéré et traité comme un délinquant qui en est à sa première infraction;
    3. les Syndics n'ont pas bénéficié ni tiré profit personnellement de quelque façon que ce soit de leur mauvaise conduite en l'espèce. De fait, le Syndics a dû puiser dans ses fonds personnels et déposer environ 19 700 $ dans les CBC pour combler la « différence » (l'« écart ») entre les soldes des CBC d'après les conciliations corrigées et les soldes réels des CBC, et il semble que ce montant ne lui sera jamais remboursé;
    4. la mauvaise conduite pour laquelle des sanctions doivent être imposées aux Syndics n'a pas causé de perte aux créanciers des diverses faillites concernées et n'a pas eu de conséquences négatives à leur égard;
  21. Attendu que l'un des avocats des Syndics, Me David T. Hashey, c.r., a fait valoir que, vu les conséquences négatives sérieuses que l'instance disciplinaire a eues jusqu'à maintenant sur la santé du Syndics, je devrais faire preuve de compassion à son égard;
  22. Attendu que pour ne pas violer la vie privée du Syndics, et puisque les problèmes de santé du Syndics sont connus des parties et de leurs avocats, j'éviterai à ce stade de les décrire;
  23. Attendu que cet argument a fait vibrer une corde sensible;
  24. Attendu que dans des cas particuliers où les faits et les circonstances le permettent, comme dans le cas présent, il ne serait pas inapproprié, lorsqu'un tel argument est soulevé, que la miséricorde nous fasse adoucir le cours de la justice et que le délégué du Surintendant tienne compte de cet élément lorsqu'il rend sa décision;
  25. Attendu toutefois, que lorsque l'on détermine une sanction disciplinaire, on ne doit pas tenir compte uniquement des besoins particuliers et de la situation particulière de chaque syndic, mais également de l'intégrité du système de faillite et d'insolvabilité;
  26. Attendu que qu'en matière de conduite professionnelle, la sanction ne vise pas principalement à punir le professionnel, mais également à servir d'exemple et à avoir un effet dissuasif de sorte à protéger également le public et l'intégrité de la profession de syndic de faillite;
  27. Attendu qu'il ne faut pas non plus mettre l'accent sur le principe de l'exemplarité et de la dissuasion au point que la sanction opprime le délinquant;
  28. Attendu que bien que son siège soit à Moncton au Nouveau-Brunswick, la Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic exploite également sept succursales à Bathurst, à Edmunston, à Caraquet, à Miramichi et à Grand Falls, Nouveau-Brunswick, et à Charlottetown et à Summerside, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, pour mieux répondre aux besoins de la population francophone dans le Nord du Nouveau-Brunswick et dans l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard;
  29. Attendu que tant et aussi longtemps que la licence de la Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic ferait l'objet d'une restriction, cette population serait privée des services de M. Ronald Arsenault, un syndic de faillite très compétent et expérimenté qui travaille pour la Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic et visite régulièrement ces sept succursales;
  30. Attendu qu'en ce qui concerne les syndics de faillite en général, certaines des plaintes prouvées en l'espèce concernent des infractions graves qui attaquent et minent l'essence même des responsabilités d'un syndic, ont des répercussions directes sur l'intégrité du système de faillite et d'insolvabilité, ont des effets négatifs sur la perception du public en général à l'égard de ce système et minent la confiance du public en général à l'égard de ce système;
  31. Attendu que j'ai évalué et soupesé tous les faits et considérations mentionnés ci-dessus;
  32. Attendu que j'ai également examiné les décisions que les avocats des deux parties ont soumises, y compris les décisions que j'ai rendues dans certaines autres instances disciplinaires instituées contre des syndics de faillite et que j'ai tenu compte de toutes ces décisions lorsque j'ai déterminé les sanctions dans le cas présent.
  33. Conclusion

    Chaque copie de la présente Décision sur les sanctions signée par le Délégué revêt la même validité et la même authenticité et peut être utilisée comme telle à toutes fins légales.

Le soussigné, délégué du surintendant des faillites conformément au paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, ayant soupesé et considéré tout ce qui précède ainsi que tous les faits et les circonstances dans le présent cas, Ordonne ce qui suit :

  1. que la Licence de M. James Gordon Touchie, Syndic de faillite, soit suspendue, et elle est Suspendue par les présentes, pour une période de six semaines, à compter du jusqu'au , et durant cette période il ne sera pas autorisé à être nommé ou à agir dans des affaires en vertu de la Loi;
  2. que le Syndic, M. James Gordon Touchie soit tenu et est Par Les présentes tenu de fermer le dossier des Dairy Estates et de procéder à la taxation dans les 120 jours suivant la date de la présente Décision sur les sanctions;
  3. que la Licence de J.G. Touchie & Associates Ltd., la Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic, soit restreinte et est Par les présentes restreinte, pour une période d'un mois, à compter du jusqu'au , à L'administration des actifs pour lesquels la personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic a été nommée avant le ;
  4. que la Licence de J.G. Touchie & Associates Ltd. soit et est Par les présentes restreinte, pour une période supplémentaire d'un mois, du au , à l'administration des actifs pour lesquels la Personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic a été nommée avant le . La présente restriction, toutefois, ne s'appliquera que dans le District judiciaire de Moncton.
  5. Les diverses dispositions de la présente Ordonnance entrent en vigueur à chacune des dates mentionnées ci-dessus.

L'honorable Benjamin J. Greenberg, Q.C.
Dé du Surintendant

Me Tim Hill
Avocat de l'analyste principale;

Mes George L. Cooper et David T. Hashey, Q.C.
Avocates des Syndics.



Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :