Pierre Guay —

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

In re:
Pierre Guay,
Holder of an Individual Trustee Licence
For the Province of Quebec

Decision Rendered Pursuant to the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act

Whereas a general audit of the office of Raymond Chabot Inc. in Sherbrooke was conducted in by a senior evaluation officer of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB);

Whereas pursuant to that general audit the senior analyst, professional conduct, of the OSB, in accordance with the general delegation of powers in section 14.02(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act), submitted a report on the conduct of the individual trustees Yves Guay and Pierre Guay and the corporate trustee Raymond Chabot Inc.;

Whereas the following infractions alleged in the report were established against the individual trustee Pierre Guay, acting on behalf of the corporate trustee, namely that he:

  • on withdrew the sum of $779.33 as fees in the estate of Pierre Sirois Construction Inc. without first obtaining permission from the Court, thereby contravening section 25(1.3) of the Act;
  • withdrew the sum of $500 from the estate of Réal Audet as fees without first obtaining permission from the Court, thereby contravening section 25(1.3) of the Act;
  • withdrew the sum of $350 from the estate of Pierre Lessard as fees without first obtaining permission from the Court, thereby contravening section 25(1.3) of the Act;
  • did not dispose of the estate and insolvency account balances held in trust in the "Normand Bourque Syndic Ltée (interest)" file by a supplementary or amended dividend slip, thereby contravening section 5(5) of the Act and section 15 of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy's Directive No. 8 on Unclaimed Dividends and Undistributed Funds;
  • made payments of disbursements by cheques drawn on the "Normand Bourque Syndic Ltée (interest)" account instead of being drawn on the estate account, thereby contravening section 25(2) of the Act;
  • on signed and submitted to the Court and to the Superintendent of Bankruptcy an amended report on the application for discharge of Jean-Louis Pratte which he should reasonably have known was misleading, by failing to indicate in the amounts realized the sum of $200 paid by this bankrupt to obtain a new hearing date for his discharge application, thereby contravening sections 13.5 and 170(1) of the Act and section 45 of the Rules;
  • on signed a cheque for $200 made out to the corporate trustee from the [TRANSLATION] "summary bankruptcies, disbursements" bank account and then paid unauthorized fees to the corporate trustee, since there had been no deemed taxation of the account of the estate of Jean-Louis Pratte at that date, thereby contravening section 25(1.3) of the Act;

Whereas in relation to the acts alleged against the trustee Pierre Guay in the estate files, he was acting in the files of the trustee Yves Guay;

Whereas, in view of all the facts and circumstances mentioned, the undersigned does not consider it advisable or in the public interest to modify or reject the modified recommendation of the senior analyst, professional conduct, giving rise to the penalty accepted on both sides and described herein;

I the undersigned, as delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, in accordance with the powers conferred on me pursuant to section 14.01(2) of the Act, approve the following agreement and order the following:

  1. the licence of Pierre Guay, trustee, is suspended for a period of three weeks beginning on , and during that period the trustee may not act as a trustee in bankruptcy nor accept any instructions under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;
  2. if the trustee does not comply with the restriction imposed on his licence in this order, he shall be in default pursuant to section 13.2(5)(b) of the Act;
  3. each duplicate original of this Order signed by the undersigned delegate shall have the same force and effect and may be used as such for all legal purposes.

Signed at Montréal, Quebec, .

Original signed by

(signed)


Hon. Benjamin J. Greenberg, Q.C.
Delegate of Superintendent of Bankruptcy



This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Pierre Guay —

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Dans l'affaire de:

Pierre Guay,
Détenteur d'une licence de syndic individuel
Pour la province de Québec

Décision rendue en vertu de la loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité

Considérant qu'une vérification générale du bureau de Raymond, Chabot inc. à Sherbrooke fut effectuée en par un agent principal d'évaluation du Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF);

Considérant que suite à cette vérification générale, l'analyste principale, conduite professionnelle, du BSF a, conformément à la délégation générale des attributions prévue au paragraphe 14.02(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi), soumis un rapport sur la conduite des syndics individuels Yves Guay et Pierre Guay, et du syndic corporatif Raymond, Chabot inc.;

Considérant que les infractions suivantes alléguées dans le rapport ont été retenues contre le syndic individuel Pierre Guay, agissant pour le compte du syndic corporatif, à savoir qu'il :

  • a retiré, le , la somme de 779,33 $ à titre d'honoraires de l'actif de Pierre Sirois Construction inc. sans avoir obtenu la permission du tribunal, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 25(1.3) de la Loi ;
  • a retiré à titre d'honoraires la somme de 500,00 $ de l'actif de Réal Audet sans avoir obtenu la permission du tribunal, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 25(1.3) de la Loi ;
  • a retiré à titre d'honoraires la somme de 350,00 $ de l'actif de Pierre Lessard sans avoir obtenu la permission du tribunal, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 25(1.3) de la Loi ;
  • n'a pas disposé des soldes des comptes d'actif et d'insolvabilité détenus en fiducie dans le dossier « Normand Bourque Syndic Ltée (intérêts) » au moyen d'un bordereau de dividendes additionnel ou amendé, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 5(5) de la Loi et à l'article 15 de la Directive No 8 du surintendant des faillites sur les dividendes non réclamés et les fonds non distribués ;
  • a effectué des paiements de déboursés au moyen de chèques qui étaient tirés du compte « Normand Bourque Syndic Ltée (intérêts) » au lieu d'être tirés du compte de l'actif, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 25(2) de la Loi ;
  • a signé, le , et a soumis au tribunal et au surintendant des faillites, un rapport amendé sur la demande de libération de Jean-Louis Pratte qu'il devait raisonnablement savoir être trompeur en omettant d'indiquer dans les montants réalisés la somme de 200,00 $ versée par ce failli pour faire fixer une nouvelle date d'audition pour sa demande de libération, contrevenant ainsi à l'article 13.5, au paragraphe 170(1) de la Loi et à l'article 45 des Règles ;
  • a signé un chèque de 200,00 $, le , à l'ordre du syndic corporatif à partir du compte bancaire « Faillites sommaires déboursés » et alors versé des honoraires non autorisés au syndic corporatif puisqu'il n'y avait pas eu de taxation présumée du compte de l'actif de Jean-Louis Pratte à cette date, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 25(1.3) de la Loi.

Considérant que, dans le cadre des faits reprochés au syndic Pierre Guay dans des dossiers d'actif, il agissait dans des dossiers du syndic Yves Guay ;

Considérant que, compte tenu de tous les faits et circonstances mentionnés, le soussigné ne juge pas opportun ou conforme à l'intérêt public de modifier ou de rejeter la recommandation modifiée de l'analyste principale, conduite professionnelle donnant lieu à la sanction acceptée de part et d'autre et décrite aux présentes ;

Je soussigné, en qualité de délégué du surintendant des faillites, conformément aux pouvoirs qui me sont conférés en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, approuve l'accord suivant et ordonne ce qui suit :

  1. la licence de Pierre Guay, syndic, est suspendue pour une période de trois semaines à compter du et, au cours de cette période, le syndic ne pourra agir à titre de syndic de faillite ni accepter de mandat en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité ;
  2. si le syndic ne respecte pas la restriction imposée dans la présente ordonnance relativement à sa licence, il sera en défaut conformément à l'alinéa 13.2(5)b) de la Loi;
  3. chaque double original de la présente Ordonnance que signe le délégué soussigné a la même valeur et fait également foi et peut être utilisé à ce titre à toutes les fins juridiques.

Signé à Montréal (Québec), le .

original signé par


L'honorable Benjamin J. Greenberg, c.r.
Délégué du surintendant des faillites



Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :