D. Geoffrey Orrell — November 1, 2004

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Trustee Licence Limitation Order Issued
Under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act

In the Matter of D. Geoffrey Orrell,
a Licensed Trustee For the
Province of British Columbia

Whereas Mr. D. Geoffrey Orrell, licensed Trustee, has operated in the Province of British Columbia since 1991;

Whereas the Senior Analyst, Professional Conduct (Senior Analyst) of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) has submitted a Report (the Report) on the administration of D. Geoffrey Orrell, Trustee, pursuant to a general delegation under subsection 14.01(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act ((BIA));

Whereas the Report identifies a number of deficiencies where the Trustee has failed to fulfil his statutory duties in respect of the administration of the consumer proposal of John Geraint Davies and April Violet Davies, including:

  1. The Trustee, having accepted an appointment to act in relation to the cited Estate and perform the duties required of a trustee until he is discharged or another trustee is appointed, failed to perform his duties in that regard, contrary to subsection 14.06(1) of the (BIA) and Rule 36 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees;
  2. The Trustee, in failing to perform those duties, failed to investigate, or cause to be investigated, the property and financial affairs of the debtors, contrary to paragraph 66.13(2)(a) of the (BIA) and Rule 36 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees;

Whereas the Trustee has acknowledged that he acted improperly in the administration of this estate, by relying upon another licensed Trustee to investigate the property and financial affairs of the debtors and permitting that Trustee to administer the estate without having been properly substituted;

Whereas the Trustee has acknowledged the facts set out in the Senior Analyst's report and does not wish to contest them;

Whereas the parties have jointly drafted and submitted to me the proposed text of the present decision, duly approved by them in writing, and have requested that I issue an order accordingly;

Whereas in the specific circumstances of this case the proposed draft appears to be reasonable, and there does not seem to be any reason to derogate from it;

For These Reasons:

I, the undersigned Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, by virtue of the powers delegated to me under section 14.01 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, hereby Order:

That the trustee licence held by D. Geoffrey Orrell be limited for a period of two (2) months from the date this Order comes into force, during which time the Trustee shall not be appointed in any new bankruptcies, proposals or receiverships or act as an interim receiver, and shall be limited to administering estates to which the Corporate Trustee has been appointed prior to the coming into force of this Order.

That in the event the Trustee does not comply with the Order herein, the Trustee shall be in default pursuant to paragraph 13.2(5)(b) of the Act.

That this Order will come into force three business days after it is signed.

Signed at Montreal, in the Province of Quebec, this .

The Honourable Perry Meyer, Q.C.
Delegate


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

D. Geoffrey Orrell — 1er novembre 2004

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Ordonnance restreignant une licence de syndic rendue
sous le régime de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité

Dans l'affaire de D. Geoffrey Orrell,
syndic titulaire de licence pour
la province de la Colombie-Britannique

Attendu que M. D. Geoffrey Orrell, un syndic titulaire de licence, exerce comme syndic dans la province de la Colombie-Britannique depuis 1991;

Attendu que l'analyste principale, Conduite professionnelle, (l'« analyste principale ») du Bureau du surintendant des faillites (le « BSF ») a soumis un rapport au surintendant des faillites (le « rapport ») sur l'administration de D. Geoffrey Orrell, syndic, conformément à une délégation générale dans le cadre de l'application du paragraphe 14.02(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la « LFI »);

Attendu que le rapport fait état d'un certain nombre d'irrégularités de la part du syndic, qu'il n'a pas exécuté les devoirs imposés par la loi dans le cadre de l'administration de la proposition de consommateur de John Geraint Davies et de April Violet Davies et notamment de ce qui suit :

  1. le syndic, qui a accepté une nomination à titre de syndic de l'actif susmentionné et d'exécuter les devoirs requis d'un syndic jusqu'à ce qu'il soit libéré ou qu'un autre syndic soit nommé, n'a pas rempli ses devoirs à cet égard contrairement au paragraphe 14.06(1) de la LFI et à l'article 36 du Code de déontologie des syndics;
  2. le syndic n'a pas rempli ses devoirs en se sens qu'il n'a pas enquêté ou fait enquêter sur les biens et les affaires des débiteurs, contrairement à l'alinéa 66.13(2)a) de la LFI et à l'article 36 du Code de déontologie des syndics;

Attendu que le syndic a reconnu avoir agi de façon inappropriée dans l'administration de cet actif en se fiant à un autre syndic titulaire de licence pour enquêter sur les biens et les affaires des débiteurs et en permettant à un syndic qui ne l'avait pas régulièrement remplacé d'administrer l'actif;

Attendu que le syndic reconnaît les faits mentionnés dans le rapport de l'analyste principale et ne désire pas les contester;

Attendu que les parties ont rédigé ensemble une ébauche de la présente décision, l'ont dûment approuvé par écrit, me l'ont soumise et m'ont demandé de rendre une ordonnance en ces termes;

Attendu que, dans les circonstances particulières en l'espèce, l'ébauche de décision semble raisonnable, et qu'il ne semble pas y avoir de raisons d'y déroger;

Pour ces motifs :

Je, soussigné, délégué du surintendant des faillites, en vertu des pouvoirs qui m'ont été délégués sous le régime de l'article 14.01 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité, ordonne, par les présentes, ce qui suit :

Que la licence de syndic dont D. Geoffrey Orrell est titulaire soit restreinte pour deux (2) mois à compter de la date où la présente ordonnance entre en vigueur. Durant cette période, le syndic ne pourra pas être nommé dans aucune nouvelle faillite, proposition ou mise sous séquestre, ni agir à titre de séquestre intérimaire et il pourra seulement administrer les actifs pour lesquels il a été nommé avant l'entrée en vigueur de la présente ordonnance.

Que si le syndic ne se conforme pas à la présente ordonnance, il sera en défaut conformément à l'alinéa 13.2(5)b) de la LFI.

Que la présente ordonnance entre en vigueur le troisième jour ouvrable suivant la date où elle est signée.

Signé à Montréal, dans la province de Québec, ce .

L'honorable Perry Meyer, Q.C.
Délégué


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :