Sydney H. Pfeiffer and Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. — October 29, 2004

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada
Province of Quebec
District of Montreal

In the Matter of Professional Disciplinary Proceedings Under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act ("the Act")

Opposing:
Ms. Sylvie Laperrière
Senior Analyst in the Sainte-Foy
District Office of the Office of the
Superintendent of Bankruptcy
(hereinafter "the Senior Analyst")

And

Sydney H. Pfeiffer
And
Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc.
(hereinafter together referred to as "the Trustees")

Presiding: the Honourable Benjamin J. Greenberg, Q.C.
Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy
(hereinafter sometimes referred to as ("the Delegate")

Montreal,

Interlocutory Decision

  1. Pursuant to section 5(1) of the Act, Me Marc Mayrand, of Gloucester, Ontario, was by Order of the Governor-in-Council (P.C. 1997–693, ) appointed Superintendent of Bankruptcy, effective . He is hereinafter referred to as "the Superintendent".
  2. Sub-section (2) and sub-paragraph (e) of sub-section (3) of section 5 of the Act place upon the Superintendent the duty to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the ACT applies and from time to time, as he may deem it expedient, to "make or cause to be made…" "inspection or investigation of estates…" "including the conduct of a trustee…"
  3. Pursuant to the exercise of that duty, on , in virtue of Section 14.01(2)Footnote 1 of the Act, the Superintendent delegated to the Senior Analyst certain of his powers, duties and functions, other than the duty to afford a trustee a reasonable opportunity for a Hearing.
  4. Thereafter, the Senior Analyst conducted an investigation into certain conduct of the Trustees and, after completing such investigation, submitted a report dated to the Superintendent respecting their conduct (hereinafter, together with the 53 Exhibits annexed thereto, called "the Report"), giving "(…) reasons why the Superintendent may choose to exercise any of the powers referred to in subsection 14.01(1) of the Act ".
  5. Pursuant to the Report, the Superintendent decided to exercise against the Trustees the former's powers set out in Sub-section 14.01(1) of the Act.
  6. Consequently, acting as the Superintendent's delegate, the Senior Analyst gave written notice to the Trustees of the Superintendent's said intention, as well as the reasons for same, and furnished to the Trustees a copy of the Report.
  7. Thereafter, the Superintendent determined that, in the interests of natural justice and of proceeding in a timely manner with the hearing of the herein disciplinary proceedings against the Trustees, it would be advisable to delegate certain of the adjudicative and associated conservatory measures powers, duties and functions of the Superintendentto an independent jurist.
  8. Accordingly, on , pursuant to Section 14.01(2) of the Act, the Superintendent delegated to the undersigned the aforementioned powers, duties and functions in respect of the herein disciplinary proceedings against the Trustees.
  9. At a Preliminary Conference presided by the undersigned and held on , there were also present Mtre Allan Matte, counsel for the Senior Analyst, and Mtre Aaron G. Rodgers, counsel for the Trustees.
  10. Formal Minutes of that Preliminary Telephone Conference were thereafter prepared by the undersigned and transmitted to counsel on .
  11. At that Preliminary Hearing, we provisionally fixed the Merits Hearing for the two weeks of and .
  12. .By his letter submission of , Me Rodgers filed his Motion for a Stay of the Proceedings herein "pending final judgment by the Federal Court of Canada concerning docket number T-1094-04 and the Superior Court of Quebec, Commercial Division concerning the taxation of receipts and disbursements".Footnote 2
  13. The Federal Court proceeding filed by the Trustees and referred to above attacks the validity of the decision of the Superintendent to appoint the Senior Analyst to carry out the investigation leading to the proceedings herein.
  14. Counsel for the Trustees argued that should the Federal Court ultimately rule that the decision to investigate the Trustees was invalid or illegal, the same invalidity or illegality would apply to the delegations by the Superintendent both to the Senior Analyst and the undersigned Delegate.
  15. Morever, based on the legal principle of lis pendens, Me Rodgers evoked the "clear possibility of conflicting judgments" as between, on the one hand, the undersigned and the Federal Court of Canada and, on the other hand between the undersigned and the Quebec Superior Court.
  16. In his written submission, Me Rodgers also reviewed the jurisprudence which established the threefold test to determine if a request for a stay of proceedings should be granted, namely:
    1. is there a serious issue to be tried;
    2. will the applicant suffer irreparable harm if the stay is not granted; and
    3. the balance of convenience.
  17. In his written response dated Me Matte advanced his arguments. He cited the judgment in Anheuser-BuschFootnote 3 to the effect that, although as part of his inherent authority to control the process before him the Superintendent or his delegate has the right to adjourn a hearing on procedural grounds, he does not have the authority to grant a stay of proceedings pending the conclusion of related litigation.
  18. Me Matte also contested the argument advanced by the Trustees based upon lis pendens, for which there is a threefold test:
    1. identity of parties;
    2. identity of object; and
    3. identity of cause.
  19. He argued that although here there is identity of parties and the same facts, there is no identify of object between, on the one hand, these proceedings and, on the other hand, those before the Federal Court and the Quebec Superior Court. Each one seeks different relief.
  20. An analogy to the situation here would be a case of a criminal assault charge against A for having assaulted B and a civil claim by B against A for the damages sustained by him as a result of the assault. Although both legal processes stem from the same set of facts, each one seeks different relief in a different legal jurisdiction and there would be no lis pendens.
  21. For all those reasons, we agree with the position of counsel for the Senior Analyst in regard to the question of lis pendens.
  22. As to our jurisdiction to grant a Stay of Proceedings, we have studied in depth the decisions of delegates Kaufman, Meyer and Poitras.Footnote 4
  23. Generally, these decisions held that a delegate of the Superintendent does not have the jurisdiction to grant a Stay of Proceedings since to do so would be a refusal to exercise his jurisdiction under the Act and his delegation.
  24. We agree and therefore conclude that we do not have that jurisdiction.
  25. If it should be determined by higher judicial authority that we indeed have the jurisdiction to grant a Stay of Proceedings, in view of the directive in Section 14.02 of the Act which calls for a "speedy and expeditious" hearing, we would exercise our said jurisdiction by refusing a Stay of Proceedings in the circumstances of this case.
  26. At the Oral Hearing referred to in footnote 2 above, Me Rodgers presented a subsidiary motion, should we refuse to grant a Stay of Proceedings. That is, he requested an adjournment (postponement) of the Merits Hearing until the final decision of the Federal Court concerning the Trustees.
  27. After study and consideration, we conclude that such a request for an adjournment (postponement) is a disguised request for a Stay of Proceedings and must also be refused.
  28. However, we are of the view that when such an adjournment is requested, a delegate can always grant less, i.e. an adjournment to a given date, as part of the exercise by the delegate of his unchallenged authority to control the process before him.
  29. Because of the schedules and commitments of both counsel and the undersigned, we believe that at this late date it would be unfair to counsel for the Trustees to force on the Merits Hearing on the dates referred to in paragraph 11 above.
  30. Seeing those Schedules and Commitments, we will fix the Merits Hearing, based on the availability of counsel, the parties and the witnesses, to any two consecutive weeks during the five-week period from to . We will consult with counsel to determine the exact dates for the two week Merits Hearing within that five-week timeframe.

    Conclusions

  31. For All the above Reasons, the Motion presented by counsel for the Trustees for a Stay of Proceedings is hereby Dismissed.
  32. For All the above Reasons, the Subsidiary Motion presented by counsel for the Trustees for an adjournment (postponement) tied to the completion of the proceedings brought by the Trustees before the Federal Court of Canada is Dismissed as Such, but is Granted in Part in that the Merits Hearing is hereby adjourned to two consecutive weeks during the five-week period from to , to be definitively established after consultation with counsel.

    Closing Provision

  33. Each duplicate original of this Interlocutory Decision signed by the Delegate is equally valid and authentic and may serve as such for all legal purposes.


The Honourable Benjamin J. Greenberg, Q.C.
Delegate of the Superintendent

Mtre Allan Matte
Counsel for the Senior Analyst;

Mtre Aaron G. Rodgers
Counsel for the Trustees.


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Sydney H. Pfeiffer et Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc. — 29 octobre 2004

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada
Province de Québec
District de Montréal

Dans l'affaire de l'instance de discipline professionnelle tenue en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (ci-après la « Loi »)

Entre :
Mme Sylvie Laperrière
Analyste principale, Bureau du district de
Sainte-Foy du Bureau du surintendant des
faillites
(appelée ci-après l'« Analyste principale »)

Et

Sydney H. Pfeiffer

Et

Pfeiffer & Pfeiffer Inc.
(appelée collectivement ci-après « les Syndics »)

Président :
L'honorable Benjamin J. Greenberg, C.R.
Délégué du surintendant des faillites (parfois appelé ci-après le « Délégué »)

Montréal, le

Décision interlocutoire

  1. Me Marc Mayrand, de Gloucester en Ontario, est surintendant des faillites depuis le par suite de sa nomination par décret du gouverneur en conseil (C.P. 1997-693, ) en vertu du paragraphe 5 de la Loi. Il est appelé ci-après le « Surintendant »).
  2. En vertu du paragraphe (2) et de l'alinéa (3)e) de l'article 5 de la Loi, il incombe au surintendant de contrôler l'administration des actifs et des affaires régis par la Loi et d'effectuer ou de faire effectuer « les investigations ou les enquêtes au sujet des actifs », « notamment la conduite des syndics » « qu'il peut juger opportunes. »
  3. Dans le cadre de l'exercice de ce devoir, le surintendant a, le , en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) Note de bas de page 1 de la Loi, délégué à l'analyste principale certaines de ses attributions, sauf le devoir de donner à un syndic la possibilité de se faire entendre.
  4. Par la suite, l'analyste principale a mené une enquête sur une certaine conduite des Syndics et, l'enquête terminée, elle a remis au Surintendant un rapport daté du sur la conduite des Syndics (le rapport ainsi que les cinquante trois pièces qui y sont annexées étant appelés ci-après le « Rapport ») exposant [Traduction] « les motifs pour lesquels le surintendant pourrait décider d'exercer un des pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par le paragraphe 14.01(1) de la Loi ».
  5. Le surintendant a, conformément à ce qui était recommandé dans le Rapport, décidé d'exercer contre les Syndics les pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par le paragraphe 14.01(1) de la Loi.
  6. Par conséquent, l'analyste principale, agissant à titre de déléguée du surintendant, a donné aux Syndics un avis écrit et motivé de la décision du surintendant et leur a remis une copie du Rapport.
  7. Par la suite, le surintendant a déterminé qu'il serait souhaitable, dans l'intérêt de la justice naturelle et pour que l'audition de la présente instance disciplinaire contre les Syndics ait lieu dans les plus brefs délais, de déléguer certains de ses pouvoirs décisionnels et certains de ses pouvoirs connexes de prendre des mesures conservatoires à un juriste indépendant.
  8. Par conséquent, le , le surintendant a, en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, délégué les attributions susmentionnées au soussigné en ce qui concerne la présente instance de discipline professionnelle contre les Syndics.
  9. Me Allan Matte, avocat de l'analyste principale et Me Aaron G. Rodgers, avocat des Syndics ont participé à une conférence téléphonique préparatoire tenue le et présidée par le soussigné.
  10. Le soussigné a ensuite préparé le Procès-verbal de cette conférence téléphonique préparatoire et l'a transmis aux avocats le .
  11. À cette conférence téléphonique préparatoire, nous avons fixé provisoirement l'audience sur le fond dans la présente instance pour les deux semaines du  et du .
  12. Lorsqu'il a remis ses représentations écrites datées du , Me Rodgers a demandé au soussigné, par voie de motion, de surseoir à la présente instance [Traduction] « jusqu'à ce que les jugements de la Cour fédérale du Canada dans le dossier T-1094-04 et le jugement de la Cour supérieure du Québec (Division commerciale) sur la taxation des recettes et des débours soient définitifs » Note de bas de page 2.
  13. Dans l'instance qu'ils ont introduite devant la Cour fédérale et qui est mentionnée ci-dessous, les Syndics attaquent la validité de la décision du surintendant de nommer l'analyste principale pour qu'elle effectue l'enquête qui a mené à la présente instance.
  14. L'avocat des Syndics a fait valoir que, si la Cour fédérale concluait en fin de compte que la décision d'enquêter sur les Syndics était invalide ou illégale, les délégations de pouvoirs par le surintendant à l'analyste principale et au Délégué soussigné seraient frappées de la même invalidité ou illégalité.
  15. Se fondant, en outre, sur le principe de droit de la litispendance, Me Rodgers a évoqué la [Traduction] « possibilité réelle que des jugements contradictoires soient rendus » par, d'une part, le soussigné et la Cour fédérale du Canada et, d'autre part, par le soussigné et la Cour supérieure du Québec.
  16. Dans ses représentations écrites, Me Rodgers a examiné également les décisions qui ont établi le critère à trois volets que l'on applique pour déterminer si une demande de sursis doit être accordée, à savoir :
    1. est-ce que la question à trancher est importante?
    2. Est-ce que le requérant subira un dommage irréparable si le sursis est refusé?
    3. La prépondérance des inconvénients.
  17. Me Matte a fait valoir ses arguments dans sa réponse écrite datée du . Il a cité le jugement rendu dans l'affaire Anheuser-BuschNote de bas de page 3 selon lequel, bien que le droit du surintendant et de son délégué d'ajourner une audience pour une question de procédure fasse partie de leur pouvoir inhérent de diriger les instances qui se tiennent devant eux, ils n'ont pas le pouvoir d'accorder le sursis d'une instance en attendant l'issue d'un litige connexe.
  18. Me Matte a aussi contesté l'argument fondé sur la litispendance avancé par les Syndics à l'égard duquel il existe un critère à trois volets :
    1. identité de parties;
    2. identité d'objet;
    3. identité de cause.
  19. Il a fait valoir que, bien qu'il y ait en l'espèce identité de parties et que les faits soient les mêmes, il n'y a pas identité d'objet entre, d'une part, la présente instance et, d'autre part, celles devant la Cour fédérale et la Cour supérieure. Dans chacune de ces instances, on demande une mesure de redressement différente.
  20. Il y aurait analogie entre le cas en l'espèce et le cas suivant : une accusation criminelle a été déposée contre A parce qu'il a commis des voies de fait contre B, et B poursuit A au civil pour les dommages-intérêts qu'il a subis à cause des voies de fait. Bien que les deux instances reposent sur le même ensemble de fait, dans chaque cas, une partie cherche à obtenir une mesure de redressement différente devant un tribunal différent, et il n'y a pas litispendance.
  21. Pour tous ces motifs, je suis d'accord avec la position avancée par l'avocat de l'analyste principale sur la question de la litispendance.
  22. Quant à ma compétence d'accorder un sursis de l'instance, j'ai lu attentivement les décisions des délégués Kaufman, Meyer et Poitras Note de bas de page 4.
  23. En général, les délégués ont conclu qu'un délégué du surintendant n'a pas la compétence d'accorder un sursis de l'instance puisque cela équivaudrait à refuser d'exercer sa compétence sous le régime de la Loi et de sa délégation de pouvoirs.
  24. Je suis d'accord avec cette observation et, en conséquence, conclus que je n'ai pas cette compétence.
  25. Si un tribunal supérieur en venait à déterminer que j'ai effectivement la compétence d'accorder un sursis de l'instance, considérant la directive contenue dans l'article 14.02 de la Loi selon laquelle l'audience doit avoir lieu dans les plus brefs délais, j'exercerais mon pouvoir discrétionnaire et refuserais d'accorder un sursis de l'instance dans les circonstances en l'espèce.
  26. À l'audience dont il est fait état dans la note de bas de page 2 ci-dessus, Me Rodgers a présenté une motion subsidiaire pour le cas où je refuserais d'accorder un sursis de l'instance. Il a demandé un ajournement de l'audience sur le fond jusqu'à ce que la décision rendue par la Cour fédérale en ce qui concerne les Syndics soit définitive.
  27. Après avoir étudié et considéré la question, je conclus qu'une telle demande d'ajournement constitue une demande de sursis de l'instance déguisée et qu'elle doit aussi être refusée.
  28. Toutefois, lorsqu'un tel ajournement est demandé, je suis d'avis qu'un délégué, dans l'exercice de son pouvoir incontestable de diriger l'instance qui se tient devant lui, peut toujours accorder moins que ce qui est demandé et, par exemple, accorder un ajournement à une date donnée.
  29. À cause des horaires de travail et des rendez-vous des deux avocats et du soussigné, j'estime que ce serait être injuste à l'égard des avocats des Syndics d'insister, à cette date tardive, que l'audience sur le fond ait lieu aux dates mentionnées dans le paragraphe 11 ci-dessus.
  30. Étant donné ces horaires de travail et ces rendez-vous, je vais fixer la date de l'audience sur le fond en tenant compte de la disponibilité des avocats, des parties et des témoins durant deux semaines consécutives à n'importe lequel moment durant la période de cinq semaines commençant le et se terminant le . Je consulterai les deux avocats pour déterminer les dates exactes de l'audience de deux semaines sur le fond durant cette période de cinq semaines.

    Conclusions

  31. Pour tous les motifs mentionnés ci-dessus, la Motion en sursis de l'instance présentée par l'avocat des Syndics est, par les présentes, Rejetée.
  32. Pour tous les motifs mentionnés ci-dessus, la Motion présentée par l'avocat des Syndics en vue d'obtenir un ajournement de la présente instance jusqu'à ce que la décision de la Cour fédérale dans l'instance instituée par les Syndics soit finale, est Rejetée en tant que telle, mais Accordée en partie en ce sens que l'audience sur le fond est, par les présentes, ajournée à deux semaines consécutives durant la période de cinq semaines commençant le 24 janvier 2005 et se terminant le , les dates d'audience devant être déterminées définitivement après consultation avec les avocats.

    Disposition finale

  33. Chaque copie de l'original de la présente Décision interlocutoire signée par le Délégué revêt la même validité et la même authenticité et peut être utilisée comme telle à toutes fins légales.


L'honorable Benjamin J. Greenberg, c.r.
Délégué du surintendant

Me Allan Matte
Avocat de l'analyste principale;

Me Aaron G. Rodgers
Avocat des Syndics.


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :