John Hainsworth Todd and Todd McMahon Inc. (British Columbia)

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

In the Matter of
John Hainsworth Todd
Holder of a Trustee License
For the Province of British Columbia
and
Todd McMahon Inc.
Holder of a Corporate Trustee License
for the Province of British Columbia

Decision on Sanction
under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
in Respect of Professional Conduct

The hearing of all the evidence in this case, and of argument on responsibility only, took place in Vancouver from April 6 to 12, 2005. It was agreed at the hearing that I would first decide the question of responsibility, and that if I found that it did exist, written briefs on the second issue of sanction would be submitted, followed by oral argument by way of a telephone conference.

I rendered my first decision on , finding that responsibility existed, and the parties' briefs were duly submitted as agreed. That of counsel for the Senior Analyst was followed by that of counsel for the Trustees, then by a reply from counsel for the Senior Analyst, and finally by a rebuttal letter from counsel for the Trustees. Oral argument by telephone conference took place on . Participants included counsel for the Trustees as well as the individual Trustee himself (in Vancouver); counsel for the Senior Analyst (in Ottawa); the Senior Analyst (in Toronto); and the undersigned Delegate (in Montreal).

I have carefully studied the arguments and authorities cited by both parties, the evidence, and the applicable law, and am now in a position to render my decision on the appropriate sanction and penalty, taking into account the reasoning and recommendations of both counsel. It will not be necessary for me to go into great detail, to the extent that I have already rendered a decision on the question of responsibility in which much has already been dealt with.

I should like to first consider the final letter of Mr. Clark for the Trustees, which raises objections to paragraph 10 of the reply to his brief by Ms Lang for the Senior Analyst.

In this reply, Ms Lang responds to Mr. Clark's allegations, concerning Mr. Todd's allegedly unblemished disciplinary record and his being a first offender, by referring to and attaching a number of decisions or official findings in the OSB, of a negative character concerning Mr. Todd, but not of a disciplinary nature. Mr. Clark objected strenuously to that portion of her brief which, in effect, alleged new facts not previously in evidence.

I concluded at the telephone conference that Mr. Clark's objection was well-founded, in that of I took any notice whatsoever of the documents in question I would have to order the re-opening of the hearing, in order to afford Mr. Clark the opportunity of leading further evidence in this regard. After some discussion, Ms Lang agreed to withdraw everything in paragraph 10 after the word "counter-intuitive" in the seventh line, as well as the documents in question. I have consequently paid no attention whatsoever to the said documents or the withdrawn part of the paragraph; Mr. Clark declared himself satisfied, and both counsel agreed that it would not be necessary to re-open the hearing.

In considering the appropriate sanction, I have taken into account the facts established, the arguments and authorities cited, the purpose of imposing a penalty, and the subjective and objective factors that must be weighed, as well as the specific recommendations of both parties.

It is true that the individual Trustee did not seek or obtain for himself any inappropriate financial or other advantage, though the perpetration of a fraudulent act, and that his sole intention may well have been to minimize the time and expense involved by "cutting corners". It is also true that this case only involves one specific joint consumer proposal, that of Mr. and Mrs. Davies, and that this is the first time Mr. Todd has been the subject of disciplinary proceedings under the BIA.

In spite of this, the case in an extremely serious one, and is also one of the very few in which violations of the Code of Ethics for Trustees are alleged. Mr. Todd's conduct, and the numerous inexplicable acts and omissions established by the evidence, have compromised the integrity of the insolvency system. In addition, serious harm has been caused to a number of persons and institutions, including: Mr. Orrell, a friend and fellow-trustee, who through naiveté was induced to do Mr. Todd a favour, and as a result suffered a disciplinary sanction and negative consequences to his career; Deloitte Touche, a respected accounting firm, which was lucky to avoid disciplinary action itself and had to take proceedings to disentangle itself from the file; AFC, the debtors' most important creditor, excluded by Mr. Todd from the list of creditors, and obliged to institute legal action to annul the proposal; and the debtors themselves, whose fully satisfied proposal was totally ineffective to solve their problems, because of Mr. Todd's acts and omissions, particularly in the case of Mr. Davies, whose substantial indebtedness to AFC persists to this day, as a result of the annulment of his proposal. (AFC had graciously agreed to withdraw its motion to annul Mrs. Davies' proposal on compassionate grounds, although presumably it would otherwise have been granted as well)

Every case is unique, and the appropriate sanction must be determined having regard to the particular situation involved. In the present matter, the individual Trustee does not seem to have internalized and accepted the wrongfulness of his behaviour in so many respects: failing to follow the basic rules and procedures in consumer proposals; failing to legally change the administrator appropriately; failing to call required meetings of creditors; failing to give notice to the most important creditor; administering the estate and signing documents and representing himself and/or the corporate Trustee as the administrator without right; illegally altering an already signed or sworn document without right; failing to legally amend the proposal; failing to observe the rules concerning the admissibility of a proof of claim; and in general, failing to understand what the duties of an administrator of a proposal are, or deliberately ignoring them.

Having regard to all the circumstances, I conclude that the appropriate sanctions are as follows:

  1. As to the individual Trustee:

    1. The license of John Todd is hereby suspended for a period of not less than one year from the date of this decision, during which he shall not perform the duties and functions of a Trustee in Bankruptcy.

    2. The suspension of the license of John Todd shall not be lifted until he has:

      1. appeared before an Ad Hoc Oral Board, and successfully demonstrated his knowledge, competence and professional ethics in relation to the administration of Consumer Proposals

      2. successfully completed a course in business ethics at a recognized institution, said course and institution to be acceptable to the Regional Director of the OSB for Western Canada.

  2. As to the corporate Trustee, Todd McMahon Inc.:

    The license of the corporate Trustee is hereby restricted for a period of ninety (90) days from the date of the present decision, during which time the corporate Trustee is not permitted to accept any new appointment under the BIA in its Abbotsford office, and no new appointment in its Vancouver office arising from the Abbotsford Chilliwac area, or which would normally be opened in its Abbotsford office.

  3. As to both the individual and corporate Trustees:

    The Trustees are hereby condemned jointly and severally to reimburse to the estate of the consumer proposal of April Davies the sum of $ 2,107.61, being the net dividend paid to John and Maxine Vozza without proper documentation (and which the individual Trustee had previously undertaken to reimburse) together with interest thereon at the rate of 5 % from , the date of payment of the said dividend; such reimbursement to be made within thirty (30) days of the present decision, to be re-distributed to the creditors, together with interest thereon as aforesaid, as follows:

    Reimbursement to be made
    Creditor % of Total Dividend Payable
    CIBC Visa 79% 1665.01 + interest
    Van City CU 3% 63.23 + interest
    Van City Visa 18% 379.37 + interest

Upon the failure of the Trustees to comply with any of the ordered sanctions to which their licenses are subject, such Trustee shall immediately be deemed in default pursuant to paragraph 13.2 (5)(b) of the Act. The sanctions (except for the payment of $2,107.61 plus interest) shall come into effect three (3) business days after the date of the present decision.

Signed at Montreal this

The Honorable Perry Meyer, Q.C.
Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

John Hainsworth Todd et Todd McMahon Inc. (Colombie-Britannique) —

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Dans l'affaire de
la conduite professionnelle
de
John Hainsworth Todd
titulaire d'une licence de syndic
pour la province de Colombie-Britannique
et
de
Todd McMahon Inc.
titulaire d'une licence de syndic corporatif
pour la province de Colombie-Britannique

Décision sur la sanction
sous le régime de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité

L'audience au cours de laquelle les parties ont présenté tous leurs éléments de preuve dans la présente affaire et fait leurs représentations uniquement quant à la question de savoir si la plainte était fondée a été tenue à Vancouver du 6 au . À cette audience, il avait été convenu que je me prononcerais d'abord sur la question de savoir si la plainte était fondée et que, si je concluais qu'elle l'était, les parties déposeraient leurs représentations écrites quant à la seconde question en litige, celle de la sanction, et feraient ensuite leurs représentations verbales au cours d'une conférence téléphonique.

Dans ma première décision, rendue le , j'ai conclu que la plainte était fondée et les parties ont déposé leurs représentations écrites comme elles avaient convenu de le faire. L'avocate de l'analyste principale puis l'avocat des syndics ont déposé leurs représentations écrites. Ensuite, l'avocate de l'analyste principale a répondu aux représentations de l'avocat des syndics, puis ce dernier répliqué à la réponse de l'avocate de l'analyste principale. Les représentations verbales ont été faites lors d'une conférence téléphonique tenue le . Ont participé à la conférence, l'avocat des syndics, le syndic individuel lui-même (à Vancouver), l'avocate de l'analyste principale (à Ottawa), l'analyste principale (à Toronto) et le soussigné délégué du surintendant (à Montréal).

J'ai examiné soigneusement les représentations des deux parties, les décisions qu'elles ont citées, les éléments de preuve et le droit applicable et je suis maintenant en mesure de me prononcer quant à la sanction et à la pénalité adéquates en tenant compte du raisonnement et des recommandations des deux avocats. Ma précédente décision sur la question de savoir si la plainte était fondée étant bien étoffée, il ne me sera pas nécessaire d'entrer dans les détails.

J'aimerais tout d'abord faire certaines observations concernant la dernière lettre de Me Clark, l'avocat des syndics. Dans cette lettre, l'avocat formule des objections à l'égard du paragraphe 10 de la réponse de Me Lang, avocate de l'analyste principale, à ses représentations écrites.

Dans ce paragraphe, Me Lang répond aux allégations de Me Clark selon lesquelles M. Todd a un dossier disciplinaire impeccable et qu'il s'agit de la première plainte portée contre lui en renvoyant à un certain nombre de décisions et de conclusions officielles du BSF qui sont défavorables à M. Todd, mais ne sont pas de nature disciplinaire et qu'elle annexe à sa réponse. Me Clark s'est opposé énergiquement à cette partie de la réponse de Me Lang dans laquelle elle allègue des faits nouveaux qui n'avaient pas préalablement été mis en preuve.

Durant la conférence téléphonique, j'ai conclu que l'objection de Me Clark était bien fondée en ce sens que si j'avais pris connaissance en quelque mesure que ce soit des documents en question j'aurais été tenu d'ordonner de rouvrir l'enquête pour donner à Me Clark la possibilité de présenter d'autres éléments de preuve à cet égard. Après discussion, Me Lang a accepté de mettre un point après les mots « contraire à l'intuition » à la septième ligne du paragraphe 10 de sa réponse, de rayer le reste du paragraphe et de retirer les documents en question. Je n'ai, par conséquent, accordé aucune attention que ce soit aux documents en question ou à la partie du paragraphe qui a été rayée; Me Clark s'est déclaré satisfait, et les deux avocats se sont entendus pour dire qu'il ne serait pas nécessaire de rouvrir l'enquête.

Pour déterminer la sanction adéquate, j'ai tenu compte des faits établis, des représentations écrites et verbales, des décisions citées, du but recherché par l'imposition d'une pénalité, des facteurs subjectifs et objectifs qui doivent être soupesés et des recommandations particulières des deux parties. Il est vrai que le syndic individuel n'a pas cherché à obtenir pour lui-même un avantage financier ou autre inapproprié en commettant un acte frauduleux, qu'il n'a pas obtenu de tel avantage et qu'il se peut qu'il ait uniquement eu l'intention de gagner du temps et d'épargner de l'argent en « recourant à des expédients ». Il est également vrai qu'il est question dans la présente affaire d'une seule proposition de consommateur conjointe, celle de M. et de Mme Davies, et que c'est la première fois que M. Todd fait l'objet d'une instance disciplinaire sous le régime de la LFI.

Malgré cela, l'affaire est extrêmement grave et une des rares comportant des allégations de violation du Code de déontologie des syndics. La conduite de M. Todd et le grand nombre d'actes et d'omissions inexplicables établis par les éléments de preuve ont compromis l'intégrité du système d'insolvabilité. De plus, certains individus et certaines personnes morales ont subi un grave préjudice. Il y a M. Orrell, un ami et collègue-syndic qui, parce qu'il avait naïvement accepté de rendre service à M. Todd a fait l'objet d'une sanction disciplinaire et a subi des conséquences négatives au plan professionnel; il y a la société Deloitte Touche, cabinet de comptables réputé, qui a pu, par chance, éviter l'imposition d'une mesure disciplinaire et qui a dû s'adresser elle-même aux tribunaux pour pouvoir se dégager du dossier; il y a la compagnie AFC, le plus important créancier des débiteurs, que M. Todd a exclu de la liste de créanciers et qui a dû intenter une poursuite pour faire annuler la proposition; il y a les débiteurs eux-mêmes dont la proposition entièrement exécutée s'est, à cause des actes et des omissions de M. Todd, avérée totalement inefficace pour résoudre leurs difficultés, particulièrement dans le cas de M. Davies dont la dette importante envers AFC subsiste par suite de l'annulation de sa proposition. (AFC a gracieusement accepté, pour des motifs d'ordre humanitaire, de retirer sa requête visant à obtenir l'annulation de la proposition de Mme Davies qui, autrement, aurait vraisemblablement été également accordée)

Chaque affaire est unique, et la sanction qui convient doit être déterminée en tenant compte de la situation particulière en cause. Dans la présente affaire, il ne semble pas que le syndic individuel ait intériorisé ou accepté le caractère répréhensible de son comportement à de très nombreux égards : il n'a pas suivi les règles et procédures de base dans les propositions; il n'a pas effectué le changement d'administrateur de la façon prévue dans la loi; il n'a pas convoqué les assemblées de créanciers requises aux termes de la loi; il n'a pas avisé le plus important créancier; il a administré l'actif, signé des documents et s'est fait passer lui-même ou le titulaire d'une licence de syndic corporatif comme l'administrateur, sans en avoir le droit; il a modifié un document déjà signé ou assermenté, sans en avoir le droit; il n'a pas modifié la proposition de la manière prévue dans la loi; il n'a pas suivi les règles concernant l'admissibilité d'une preuve de réclamation; et, d'une façon générale, il n'a pas compris en quoi consistent les devoirs de l'administrateur d'une proposition ou il les a délibérément ignorés.

Compte tenu de toutes les circonstances, je conclus que les sanctions qui conviennent sont les suivantes :

  1. En ce qui concerne le syndic individuel :

    1. la licence de John Todd est, par les présentes, suspendue pour au moins un an à compter de la date de la présente décision, et, pendant cette période, il n'aura pas le droit de remplir les devoirs et fonctions d'un syndic de faillite;

    2. la suspension de la licence de John Todd sera maintenue tant :

      1. qu'il n'aura pas comparu devant un comité ad hoc et réussi à démontrer oralement sa connaissance, sa compétence et son éthique professionnelle en relation avec l'administration des propositions de consommateurs;

      2. terminé avec succès un cours en déontologie des affaires dans un établissement d'enseignement reconnu, le cours et l'établissement d'enseignement devant être acceptables aux yeux du directeur régional du BSF pour l'Ouest du Canada.

  2. En ce qui concerne le titulaire d'une licence de syndic corporatif, Todd McMahon Inc. :

    la licence du titulaire d'une licence de syndic corporatif est, par les présentes, restreinte pour quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours à compter de la date de la présente décision et, pendant cette période, il n'aura pas le doit d'accepter de nouvelles nominations en vertu de la LFI dans son bureau d'Abbotsford ni aucune nouvelle nomination dans son bureau de Vancouver provenant de la région d'Abbotsford/Chilliwack ou qui seraient normalement ouvertes dans son bureau d'Abbotsford.

  3. En ce qui concerne le syndic individuel et le titulaire d'une licence de syndic corporatif :

    ils sont, par les présentes, condamnés conjointement et solidairement à rembourser à l'actif de la proposition de consommateur d'April Davies le montant de 2 107,61 $, soit le dividende net versé à John et Maxine Vozza sans documentation adéquate (montant que le syndic individuel s'était antérieurement engagé à rembourser) avec intérêts au taux de 5 % à compter du , la date de paiement du dividende; ce montant devant être remboursé dans les trente (30) jours suivant la date de la présente décision puis distribué avec intérêts de la façon suivante aux créanciers suivants :

    Ce montant devant être remboursé
    Créancier % du total Dividende payable
    CIBC Visa 79 % 1665,01 + intérêt
    Van City CU 3 % 63,23 + intérêt
    Van City Visa 18 % 379,37 + intérêt

Dès l'omission par les syndics d'observer l'une des sanctions ordonnées et à laquelle leurs licences sont assujetties, tel syndic sera immédiatement réputé en défaut conformément à l'alinéa 13.2 (5)b) de la Loi. Les sanctions (sauf le paiement du montant de 2 107,61 $ plus intérêt) entrent en vigueur trois (3) jours ouvrables après la date de la présente décision.

Fait à Montréal, le

L'honorable Perry Meyer, C.R.
Délégué du surintendant des faillites


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :