Scotiabank, Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Scotiabank
6416 Yonge St.
Toronto, ON
M2M 3X4
Canada

In the matter of:
Oscar Wald, CMA,
holder of an individual trustee license


Directions for Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas Oscar Wald is the holder of an individual license as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas an investigation made by the Superintendent pursuant to section 5(3)(e) of the Act revealed that Oscar Wald (the trustee) had a number of deficiencies in his accounting system and in the general administration of his estates;

Whereas a Monitoring Review was commenced in December 2004 and a Monitoring Report was issued on March 24, 2005 and documents the following serious deficiencies with respect to the administration of estates:

  • the accounting system of the Trustee is unreliable and is not in compliance with the requirements of Directive 5R–Estate Funds and Banking;
  • the Trustee has failed to adequately monitor Division II (Consumer) Proposals for receipt of payments, with the result that a significant number were deemed annulled pursuant to s. 66.31(1) of the Act;
  • the Trustee did not issue the required Notices of Deemed Annulment in a significant number of estates, pursuant to s. 66.31(1)(a) of the Act;
  • the Trustee omitted to pay dividends as required pursuant to s. 66.26(1) of the Act;
  • the Trustee had aged inventory of 100% open Ordinary Administration estates and 42% of open Summary Administration estates;
  • to date the Trustee has failed to submit a closing plan for the aged estates which is satisfactory to the OSB;

Whereas deficiencies regarding the Trustee's accounting system have been raised as concerns in a Monitoring Report dated November 4, 1999 and an Audit Report issued in September 2000;

Whereas the A/Division Assistant Superintendent has addressed these deficiencies with the Trustee via letters dated May 3, June 22, July 6 and July 7, 2005;

Whereas the Senior Bankruptcy Analyst and the A/Division Assistant Superintendent met with the Trustee regarding these deficiencies on May 18, June 2 and July 8, 2005;

Whereas the above cited deficiencies persist and the Trustee has provided no reasonable proposal for remedying them in a timely fashion;

Whereas I believe on reasonable grounds that the estates require protection;

Whereas the Superintendent may, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstances referred to in section 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with section 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at section 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in section 14.03(2)(b), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act;

I, Ann Speers, in my capacity as delegate for the Superintendent, direct Scotiabank as follows:

That, pursuant to sections 14.03(1)(b) and (c) of the Act,

  1. provide, by close of business on July 29, 2005, a list of estate trust bank accounts in the name of, administered by or in any other way in the control of Oscar Wald to Ann Speers, Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, 25 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 600, Toronto, Ontario, M4T 1M2;
  2. to consider upon receipt of the present directions, Emily Beckerman and Abubakar Khan, employees of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, as the only two authorized co-signatories as relate to any operations of the funds credited to the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Oscar Wald;
  3. make no debit, payment or transfer of funds credited to, or which ought to have been credited to, the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Oscar Wald the countersignature of either Emily Beckerman or Abubakar Khan;
  4. not pay out of these accounts: cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments, issued before the receipt of these directions which are presented for payment after the receipt of these directions, without these cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments being countersigned by either Emily Beckerman or Abubakar Khan;
  5. submit all statement of accounts, accepted cheques and other documents or information having to do with the above-mentioned estate trust bank accounts, to Ann Speers, Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, 25 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 600, Toronto, Ontario, M4T 1M2;

That these directions take effect immediately and will stay in place until such time as I am satisfied that the estates no longer require protection or until a decision is made under subsection 13.2(5) or 14.01(1) of the Act;

That in accordance with section 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind the Scotiabank, which must comply with them;

That in accordance with section 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with these directions is not liable for any act done by that person only to comply with these directions.

Signed at the City of Toronto Ontario, this 18th day of July, 2005.

Ann Speers

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Banque Scotia, rue Yonge, Toronto (Ontario)

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Banque Scotia
6416, rue Yonge
Toronto (Ontario)
Canada
M2M 3X4

Dans l'affaire :
Oscar Wald, CMA,
titulaire d'une licence individuelle de syndic de faillite


Instructions de mesures conservatoires
(article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi) attribue au surintendant des faillites (le Surintendant) un pouvoir général de surveillance des actifs et des affaires régis par la Loi;

Considérant qu'Oscar Wald est titulaire d'une licence individuelle de syndic de faillite;

Considérant qu'une enquête, menée par le Surintendant en vertu de l'alinéa 5(3)e) de la Loi, a révélé qu'Oscar Wald (le syndic) présentait plusieurs manquements dans son système de comptabilité et dans l'administration générale de ses dossiers;

Considérant qu'une surveillance a été effectuée en décembre 2004 et qu'un rapport de surveillance a été produit le 24 mars 2005, faisant état des manquements graves énumérés ci-après dans l'administration des dossiers :

  • le système de comptabilité du syndic n'est pas fiable et ne répond pas aux exigences de l'Instruction no 5R, Les fonds de l'actif et procédures bancaires;
  • le syndic n'a pas exercé de surveillance adéquate des propositions de consommateur en vue d'assurer que les paiements ont été effectués, ce qui a donné lieu à un grand nombre d'annulations présumées en vertu du paragraphe 66.31(1) de la Loi;
  • le syndic n'a pas émis les avis d'annulation présumée dans un nombre important d'actifs tel qu'il est prévu à l'alinéa 66.31(1)a) de la Loi;
  • le syndic n'a pas versé de dividendes tel qu'il est prévu au paragraphe 66.26(1) de la Loi;
  • le syndic avait beaucoup de dossiers âgés, soit la totalité de ses dossiers d'administration ordinaire et 42 p. 100 des dossiers d'administration sommaire ouverts;
  • à ce jour, le syndic n'a toujours pas présenté de plan de clôture à la satisfaction du BSF pour les dossiers âgés;

Considérant que les manquements concernant le système de comptabilité du syndic ont été mentionnés comme étant préoccupants dans un rapport de surveillance en date du 4 novembre 1999 et dans un rapport de vérification émis en septembre 2000;

Considérant que le surintendant adjoint de division par intérim a fait état de ces manquements dans des lettres à l'intention du syndic en date du 3 mai, du 22 juin, du 6 juillet et du 7 juillet 2005;

Considérant que l'analyste principal des faillites et le surintendant adjoint de division par intérim ont rencontré le syndic pour discuter de ces manquements le 18 mai, le 2 juin et le 8 juillet 2005;

Considérant que les manquements susmentionnés persistent et que le syndic n'a présenté aucune proposition valable pour y remédier dans un délai raisonnable;

Considérant que j'ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les actifs doivent être sauvegardés;

Considérant que le Surintendant peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs visés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le Surintendant m'a délégué, en vertu de l'autorité du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, les attributions du Surintendant prévues au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues à l'alinéa 14.03(2)b), des copies de la délégation et des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi sont jointes aux présentes;

Je soussignée, Ann Speers, en ma qualité de déléguée du Surintendant donne instruction à la Banque Scotia :

En vertu des alinéas 14.03(1)b) et c) de la Loi :

  1. de fournir, d'ici la fermeture des bureaux le 29 juillet 2005, la liste de tous les comptes bancaires d'actifs en fiducie au nom d'Oscar Wald, administrés par lui ou sous son contrôle de toute autre façon que ce soit à Ann Speers, Bureau du surintendant des faillites, 25, avenue St. Clair Est, bureau 600, Toronto (Ontario) M4T 1M2;
  2. sur réception des présentes instructions, de considérer Emily Beckerman et Abubakar Khan, employés du Bureau du surintendant des faillites, comme étant les deux seuls cosignataires autorisés relativement aux opérations sur les fonds déposés au crédit des actifs de faillite et de propositions sous l'administration d'Oscar Wald;
  3. de ne faire aucun débit, paiement ni transfert sur les fonds déposés au crédit, ou qui auraient dû être déposés au crédit, des actifs de faillite et de proposition sous l'administration d'Oscar Wald, sans que lesdits chèques, débits, paiements ou transferts ne soient contresignés par Emily Beckerman ou Abubakar Khan;
  4. de ne payer à même lesdits comptes aucun chèque, effet de commerce, traite bancaire ou autres, émis antérieurement à la réception des présentes mais qui seraient présentés pour paiement postérieurement à la réception des présentes, sans que lesdits chèques, effets de commerce, traites bancaires ou autres ne soient contresignés par Emily Beckerman ou Abubakar Khan;
  5. de fournir tout état de compte, chèque accepté et tout autre document et renseignement se rapportant aux comptes bancaires d'actifs en fiducie susmentionnés à Ann Speers, Bureau du surintendant des faillites, 25, avenue St. Clair Est, bureau 600, Toronto (Ontario) M4T 1M2;

Ces instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et demeureront en vigueur jusqu'à ce que j'estime que les actifs ne nécessitent plus de protection ou qu'une décision soit rendue en vertu des paragraphes 13.2(5) ou 14.01(1) de la Loi;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient la Banque Scotia, qui est tenue de s'y conformer;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Et j'ai signé en la ville de Toronto, en Ontario, ce 18 juillet 2005.

Ann Speers

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :