Alberta Resource Rebates

On , Bill 43, entitled the Alberta Resource Rebate Statutes Amendment Act (ARRSAA) received Royal Assent in the Alberta Legislature, paving the way for a one-time rebate to be paid to nearly all Albertans resident in Alberta on who had filed a 2004 tax return. The refunds were announced in response to a larger-than-expected surplus in that province, generated mostly by high energy revenues. The majority of the rebate cheques should be sent out in late January 2006.

The announcement of the $400-per-person rebate program has prompted enquiries from trustees who wish to know how these monies should be treated in a bankruptcy context. Are these monies seizable by the trustee or exempt, or are they to be considered income for the purposes of calculating surplus income obligations? How should those rebates issued in respect of dependant children to be treated? (Under the rebate program, the primary caregiver receives a rebate amount for each eligible child.)

Nature of the Resource Rebates

According to the enabling legislation, the rebates are considered to be 'refunds of an overpayment of the individual's liability under this Act for the 2005 taxation year.' Since the rebate amounts do not have any connection to income, salary, wages or remuneration, they do not fall under s. 68 of the BIA, and therefore are included as the property of the bankrupt as per s. 67. The rebates therefore should not be included in 'income' for the purposes of calculation of surplus income obligations under the BIA.

Except for certain Maintenance Enforcement arrears, the rebate amounts are exempt from execution or seizure, and cannot be assigned except under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act. (s. 35.3 (2) (b) and (c) of the ARRSAA) Therefore, unless voluntarily assigned, the rebates are considered property of the bankrupt that is not divisible amongst the creditors, as per s. 67 (1) (b) of the BIA.

Rebate cheques relating to bankrupt Albertans will be forwarded to the attention of the trustee by the Canada Revenue Agency, which is issuing the cheques on behalf of the province of Alberta. Trustees should explain to bankrupts that the amounts are exempt from seizure unless the bankrupt voluntarily assigns the rebate to the trustee for the benefit of the estate. Trustees should retain on file such an assignment signed by the bankrupt specifically identifying the resource rebate, and acknowledging that they have been informed that the rebate is exempt and that such assignment is being made on a voluntary basis. In the absence of such an assignment, the rebate is to be turned over to the bankrupt.

Rebate amounts relating to eligible children of the bankrupt (provided the bankrupt is the primary caregiver under the Child Tax Benefit program) do not appear to be paid in trust, and can likewise only be retained by the trustee for the benefit of the estate with a voluntary assignment of same by the bankrupt.

If the rebate cheques are received prior to the filing of an assignment in bankruptcy, the bankrupt would be required to demonstrate that any such funds deposited to a bank account were related to the Alberta Resource Rebate in order to benefit from the exemption. If the funds were spent on non-exempt property before the assignment, the exemption status for the rebate is lost.

Date modified:

Remise sur les ressources de l'Alberta

31 mars 2006

Le 1er décembre 2005, le projet de loi 43, intitulé Alberta Resource Rebate Statutes Amendment Act (ARRSAA) (anglais seulement), a reçu la sanction royale à la législature de l'Alberta, ouvrant ainsi la voie au versement d'une remise ponctuelle à presque tous les Albertains qui résidaient dans cette province le et avaient produit une déclaration de revenus pour l'année 2004. Cette remise fait suite à un excédent supérieur aux prévisions enregistré en Alberta, attribuable principalement aux recettes élevées tirées de l'énergie. La plupart des chèques de remise devraient être expédiés à la fin de janvier 2006.

L'annonce du programme de remise de 400 $ par personne a suscité des questions de la part des syndics, qui se demandent comment traiter ce montant dans le contexte d'une faillite. La remise peut-elle être saisie par le syndic ou est-elle exclue de la faillite? Doit-on la considérer comme un revenu aux fins du calcul des obligations relatives au revenu excédentaire? Comment doit-on traiter la remise accordée pour les enfants à charge du failli? (En vertu du programme de remise, le principal responsable des soins et de l'éducation recevra une remise pour chaque enfant admissible.)

Nature de la remise sur les ressources

Conformément à la loi habilitante, la remise représente le remboursement d'un paiement en trop par un particulier aux termes de cette loi pour l'année d'imposition 2005. Comme le montant versé n'est nullement fonction du revenu, du salaire ou de la rémunération, la remise n'est pas assujettie à l'article 68 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI) et ne fait par conséquent pas partie des biens du failli déterminés selon l'article 67. La remise ne devrait donc pas être comprise dans le « revenu » servant au calcul des obligations relatives au revenu excédentaire prévues par la LFI.

Exception faite de certains arriérés de pension alimentaire, la remise est exempte d'exécution ou de saisie et elle ne peut être cédée sauf en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (al. 35.3[2]b] et c] de l'ARRSAA) Donc, à moins qu'elle ne soit cédée volontairement, on considère que la remise appartient au failli et qu'elle n'est pas attribuable aux créanciers au sens de l'alinéa 67(1)b) de la LFI.

Les chèques de remise à l'ordre des Albertains en faillite seront envoyés à l'attention du syndic par l'Agence du revenu du Canada, qui émet les chèques au nom de la province d'Alberta. Le syndic devrait expliquer au failli que ce montant est insaisissable à moins qu'il ne le cède volontairement au bénéfice de l'actif. En pareil cas, le syndic doit verser au dossier le document de cession signé par le failli, mentionnant expressément la remise sur les ressources et reconnaissant que le failli a été informé que la remise est insaisissable et cédée de façon volontaire. En l'absence de cette cession, la remise est transférée au failli.

Le montant de la remise se rapportant aux enfants admissibles du failli (à condition que celui-ci soit le principal responsable des soins et de l'éducation en vertu du Programme de la prestation fiscale pour enfants) ne semble pas versé en fiducie et il peut aussi être retenu par le syndic au bénéfice de l'actif sur la base d'une cession volontaire par le failli.

Si le chèque de remise a été reçu avant la date de la cession de faillite, le failli devra faire la preuve que les fonds déposés dans un compte de banque représentent la remise sur les ressources de l'Alberta pour bénéficier de l'exemption. Si les fonds ont servi avant la cession de faillite à l'achat de biens non exemptés, la remise n'est plus exemptée.

Date de modification :