Michael J. Connor (Nova Scotia) — December 16, 2005

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada
Province of Nova Scotia
County of Halifax

In the Matter of:
Professional Disciplinary Proceedings under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act respecting Michael J. Connor.

Final Order

Whereas Michael J. Connor (the 'Trustee') is holder of an individual trustee license;

Whereas the Trustee was formerly employed by KPMG Inc., in their Sydney, Nova Scotia, office;

Whereas it became apparent that there were serious deficiencies in the operation of the KPMG Inc. Sydney office during a time in which the Trustee was the sole individual Trustee responsible for that office;

Wherewas an investigation was conducted by the Senior Analyst and as a result thereof, a report of the Senior Analyst was made to the Superintendent pursuant to subsection 14.02(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the 'Act') on February 16, 2004; Whereas said report alleged, inter alia, that the Trustee:

  1. Contrary to the provisions of Section 157.1 of the Act, Rules 36, 38 and 45 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees; and Directive 1R2 — Counselling in Insolvency Matters, failed to properly provide, or provide for, counselling as required by the Act, which failures included: 
    1. 18 instances of the falsification of counselling certificates by the mechanical duplication of the bankrupt's signature where no counselling had taken place, contrary to the provisions of Rule 45 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees;
    2. 41 instances of failing to provide counselling at all contrary to Section 157.1 of the Act and Rule 36 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees;
    3. 34 instances of the signing of counselling certificates where no counselling was provided contrary to Directive 1R2, Counselling in Insolvency Matters, and Rule 45 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees;
    4. 7 instances of submitting certificates to bankrupts for their signature, where the date was incorrect or where no counselling was provided, contrary to Rule 38 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees;
  2. Contrary to the provisions of Directive 1R2 – Counselling in Insolvency Matters, and Rules 36 and 48(b) of the Code of Ethics for Trustees, on 18 occasions engaged in the unauthorized drawing of counselling fees;
  3. Contrary to the provisions of Section 102(4) of the Act, Bankruptcy Rule 6(3), and Rule 36 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees, on 12 occasions failed to publish Notices of Bankruptcy, notwithstanding which, contrary to Rules 38, 45 and 52 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees, in 6 of those cases the Trustee as a Commissioner of Oaths allowed employees to swear false Affidavits before him in proof of publications which he knew, or ought to have known, had not taken place;
  4. Contrary to the provisions of Sections 16(3), 19(3), 170(1), and 30(1) of the Act, Directive 16R, Preparation of the Statement of Affairs, Directive 6R – Assessment of An Individual Debtor, and Rules 36, 37 and 44 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees, allowed to occur numerous deficiencies with respect to the administration of estate property, including:
    1. 1 instance of failing to assess the bankrupt, contrary to Directive 6R, Assessment of An Individual Debtor;
    2. 6 instances of failing to adequately assist the bankrupt in the preparation of the Statement of Affairs, contrary to Directive 16R — Preparation of the Statement of Affairs;
    3. 24 instances of failing to verify the Bankrupt's Statement of Affairs, contrary to Section 19(3) of the Act;
    4. 19 instances of failing to take possession of the property of a bankrupt, contrary to Section 16(3) of the Act;;
    5. 7 instances of failing to seek or obtain the approval of estate inspectors for his actions, contrary to Section 30(1) of the Act;
    6. 11 instances of failing to realize upon estate property, contrary to Section 16(3) of the Act;
    7. 3 instances of failing to seek or obtain a resolution of estate inspectors approving the Section 170 report, contrary to Section 170(1) of the Act;
    8. 3 instances of failing to provide complete and accurate information to the Superintendent and the Court in Section 170 reports, contrary to Section 170(1) of the Act;
    9. Numerous instances of failure to carry out his duties in a timely manner, contrary to Rule 36 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees;
    10. 1 instance of failing to provide accurate information to the Superintendent, contrary to Rule 37 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees;
    11. 3 instances of failing to avoid influence, interest or a relationship that might, in the opinion of an informed person, impair his judgment, contrary to Rule 44 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees;
  5. Contrary to sections 19(3), 26(1), 49(6), 66.12(6), 66.31(1), 102(3), 105(4), 106(1), 121(1), 168.1(1)(e), 168.1(1)(f), 170(1)(f), 170.1(8) and 178(2) of the Act, Directive 13 — Estate Bonding, Directive 3 — Duties of the Bankrupt to Deliver Credit Cards to the Trustee, and Bankruptcy Rule 115(2), failed to properly administer estates of which he was trustee, which failures included:
    1. 6 instances of failing to submit estates as ordinary administration estates where appropriate, contrary to section 49(6) of the Act;
    2. 2 instances of failing to convert estates to ordinary administration estates where appropriate, contrary to sections 49(6) and 102(3) of the Act, and Directive 13 – Estate Bonding;
    3. 11 instances of failing to accurately keep and record estate receipts, contrary to section 26(1) of the Act;
    4. 6 instances of charging of disbursements in excess of the tariff, contrary to Bankruptcy Rule 115(2);
    5. 8 instances of failing to dispose of the credit cards of bankrupts, contrary to Directive 3 – Duties of the Bankrupt to Deliver Credit Cards to the Trustee;
    6. 7 instances of committing errors and omissions with respect to first meetings of creditors, in failing to record the failure of a bankrupt to attend said meeting without cause, contrary to section 105(4) of the Act;
    7. 4 instances of failing to report the failure of a bankrupt to attend first meetings of creditors without cause in the section 170 report, contrary to section 170(1)(f) of the Act;
    8. 4 instances of failing to properly determine quorum at first meetings of creditors, contrary to section 106(1) of the Act, and failing to keep accurate minutes of said meetings, contrary to section 105(4) of the Act;
    9. Generally failing to verify bank deposits, contrary to section 19(3) of the Act;
    10. 2 instances of failing to issue Certificates of Discharge, contrary to sections 168.1(1)(f) and 170.1(8) of the Act;
    11. 4 instances of failing to promptly apply for a discharge hearing after opposing the discharge of a bankrupt, contrary to section 168.1(1)(e) of the Act;
    12. 2 instances of failing to properly deal with deemed annulments of consumer proposals, contrary to section 66.31(1) of the Act;
    13. 3 instances of failing to distribute dividends in consumer proposals, contrary to section 66.12(6) of the Act.
  6. Contrary to an agreement between CIPA and the Superintendent dated March 21, 2001, and contrary to sections 121(1) and 178(2) of the Act, in numerous estates the Trustee received payments from the bankrupt after the bankrupt's discharge.

Whereas the Trustee has elected not to proceed to a hearing regarding the allegations;

Whereas while the Trustee does not accept all the allegations and findings in the report of the Senior Analyst, the Trustee does acknowledge that his conduct fell markedly below the standard expected of a licensed Trustee in Bankruptcy, particularly insofar as the Trustee did falsify counselling certificates and thereby failed to comply with the Code of Ethics for Trustees;

Whereas the Trustee and the Superintendent have agreed to a disposition of this proceeding, which in the circumstances of this case appear to be fair, reasonable and not contrary the public interest;

For these reasons:

I, the undersigned, the Honourable Benjamin J. Greenberg, Q.C., Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, pursuant to the powers delegated to me under section 14.01 of the BIA, hereby:

  1. Suspend the license of Michael J. Connor for a period of 15 months from a date beginning one week after the issuance of this Order;
  2. Order that prior to the end of the period of suspension, and as a condition of reinstatement, Michael J. Connor attend an oral board to be constituted by the Superintendent, the questions therein to be limited to the Delegation of Tasks Directive including Assessments;
  3. Order that prior to the end of the period of suspension, and as a condition of reinstatement, Michael J. Connor take a business ethics course which he shall select and have approved by the Office of the Superintendent prior to taking said course;
  4. Order that, at the end of the period of suspension, the license of Michael J. Connor shall thereafter be limited to undertaking assessments only, and Michael J. Connor shall not be able to engage in any other activities required to be performed by trustees.
  5. Order that, in the event that the Trustee fails to comply with the terms of this Order the Trustee shall be in default pursuant to section 13.2(5) of the Act.

Signed at Montreal, Québec, this sixteenth day of December, 2005

The Honourable Benjamin J. Greenberg, Q.C.
Delegate of the Superintendent



This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Michael J. Connor (Nouvelle-Écosse) — 16 décembre 2005

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada
Province de Nouvelle-Écosse
Comté d'Halifax

Dans l'affaire de:
Instance de discipline professionnelle tenue sous le régime de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité concernant Michael J. Connor.

Ordonnance définitive

Attendu que Michael J. Connor (le « syndic ») est titulaire d'une licence de syndic individuel;

Attendu que le syndic a travaillé pour KPMG Inc., dans son bureau de Sydney (Nouvelle-Écosse);

Attendu qu'il est ressorti qu'il y a eu d'importantes déficiences dans les activités du bureau de Sydney de KPMG Inc. pendant la période où le syndic était l'unique syndic individuel responsable de ce bureau;

Attendu que l'analyste principale a effectué une enquête et a, le 16 février 2004, remis un rapport au surintendant conformément au paragraphe 14.02(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la « Loi »);

Attendu que ce rapport fait, entre autres, état que le syndic :

  1. n'a pas, tel que le requiert la Loi, régulièrement offert de consultations ou fait en sorte que des consultations soient offertes, contrairement aux dispositions de l'article 157.1 de la Loi, des Règles 36, 38 et 45 du Code de déontologie des syndics et de l'Instruction 1R2, Consultations en matière d'insolvabilité, et notamment :
    1. a, à 18 occasions, et alors qu'aucune consultation n'avait été offerte, falsifié les certificats de consultation en se servant d'un procédé mécanique pour reproduire la signature du failli, contrairement aux dispositions de la Règle 45 du Code de déontologie des syndics;
    2. n'a pas, à 41 occasions, offert de consultations, contrairement à l'article 157.1 de la Loi et à la Règle 36 du Code de déontologie des syndics;
    3. a, à 34 occasions, et alors qu'aucune consultation n'avait été offerte, signé les certificats de consultation, contrairement à l'Instruction 1R2, Consultations en matière d'insolvabilité et à la Règle 45 du Code de déontologie des syndics;
    4. a, à sept occasions, bien que la date était inexacte ou qu'aucune consultation n'avait été offerte, demandé aux faillis de signer un certificat de consultation contrairement à la Règle 38 du Code de déontologie des syndics;
  2. a, à 18 occasions, effectué des retraits non autorisés d'honoraires de consultation, contrairement aux dispositions de l'Instruction 1R2, Consultations en matière d'insolvabilité et aux Règles 36 et 48(b) du Code de déontologie des syndics;
  3. n'a pas, à 12 occasions, publié les Avis de faillite, contrairement au paragraphe 102(4) de la Loi, au paragraphe 6(3) des Règles sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité et à la Règle 36 du Code de déontologie des syndics, et, dans six de ces occasions, a, contrairement aux Règles 38, 45 et 52 du Code de déontologie des syndics, en sa qualité de commissaire à l'assermentation, permis à des employés de souscrire devant lui des affidavits pour prouver des publications qu'il savait ou aurait dû savoir qu'elles n'avaient pas eu lieu;
  4. a toléré de nombreuses déficiences dans l'administration de biens, contrairement aux dispositions des paragraphes 16(3), 19(3), 170(1) et 30(1) de la Loi, de l'Instruction 16R, Préparation du bilan statutaire, de l'Instruction 6R, Évaluation d'un débiteur particulier et des Règles 36, 37 et 44 du Code de déontologie des syndics, et notamment :
    1. n'a pas, à une occasion, évalué le failli, contrairement à l'Instruction 6R, Évaluation d'un débiteur particulier;
    2. n'a pas, à six occasions, aidé convenablement le failli à préparer le bilan, contrairement à l'Instruction 16R, Préparation du bilan statutaire;
    3. n'a pas, à 24 occasions, vérifié le bilan du failli, contrairement au paragraphe 19(3) de la Loi;
    4. n'a pas, à 19 occasions, pris possession des biens d'un failli, contrairement au paragraphe 16(3) de la Loi;
    5. n'a pas, à sept occasions, demandé ou obtenu d'autorisation de la part des inspecteurs de l'actif pour ses actions, contrairement au paragraphe 30(1) de la Loi;
    6. n'a pas, à 11 occasions, réalisé des biens, contrairement au paragraphe 16(3) de la Loi;
    7. n'a pas, à trois occasions, obtenu de résolution des inspecteurs de l'actif approuvant le rapport visé à l'article 170, contrairement au paragraphe 170(1) de la Loi;
    8. n'a pas, à trois occasions, fourni de renseignements complets et exacts au surintendant et à la cour dans les rapports visés à l'article 170, contrairement au paragraphe 170(1) de la Loi;
    9. ne s'est pas, à de nombreuses occasions, acquitté de ses obligations dans les meilleurs délais, contrairement à la Règle 36 du Code de déontologie des syndics;
    10. n'a pas, à une occasion, transmis de renseignements exacts au surintendant, contrairement à la Règle  37 du Code de déontologie des syndics;
    11. n'a pas, à trois occasions, évité les influences, les intérêts ou les relations qui, aux yeux d'une personne avisée, auraient pu compromettre son jugement, contrairement à la Règle 44 du Code de déontologie des syndics;
  5. n'a pas administré les actifs dont il était le syndic de la manière prescrite, contrairement aux paragraphes 19(3), 26(1), 49(6), 66.12(6), 66.31(1), 102(3), 105(4), 106(1), 121(1), aux alinéas 168.1(1)e), 168.1(1)f) et 170(1)f) et aux paragraphes 170.1(8) et 178(2) de la Loi, à l'Instruction 13, Cautionnement de l'actif, et à l'Instruction 3, Devoirs du failli de remettre ses cartes de crédit au syndic, et notamment :
    1. n'a pas, à six occasions, fait en sorte, le cas échéant, que des actifs fassent l'objet d'une administration sommaire, contrairement au paragraphe 49(6) de la Loi;
    2. n'a pas, à deux occasions, fait en sorte, le cas échéant, de convertir des dossiers en dossiers d'administration ordinaire, contrairement aux paragraphes 49(6) et 102(3) de la Loi et à l'Instruction 13, Cautionnement de l'actif;
    3. n'a pas, à 11 occasions, tenu de registres exacts des recettes de l'actif, contrairement au paragraphe 26(1) de la Loi;
    4. a, à six occasions, effectué des débours qui excédaient le tarif, contrairement au paragraphe 115(2) des Règles sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;
    5. n'a pas, à huit occasions, détruit les cartes de crédit des faillis, contrairement à l'Instruction 3, Devoirs du failli de remettre ses cartes de crédit au syndic;
    6. a, à sept occasions, commis des erreurs ou n'a pas fait ce qu'il devait faire en ce qui a trait aux premières assemblées des créanciers, en ne faisant pas état, dans les procès-verbaux, de l'absence non motivée du failli aux assemblées, contrairement au paragraphe 105(4) de la Loi;
    7. n'a pas, à quatre occasions, fait état dans le rapport visé à l'article 170 de l'absence non motivée du failli aux premières assemblées des créanciers, contrairement à l'alinéa 170(1)f) de la Loi;
    8. n'a pas, à quatre occasions, vérifié adéquatement s'il y avait quorum aux premières assemblées des créanciers, contrairement au paragraphe 106(1) de la Loi et n'a pas rédigé de procès-verbaux exacts des ces assemblées, contrairement au paragraphe 105(4) de la Loi;
    9. n'a pas, de façon générale, vérifié les dépôts bancaires, contrairement au paragraphe 19(3) de la Loi;
    10. n'a pas, à deux occasions, délivré le certificat de libération, contrairement à l'alinéa 168.1(1)f) et au paragraphe 170.1(8) de la Loi;
    11. n'a pas, à quatre occasions, demandé sans délai la tenue d'une audience relative à la libération après s'être opposé à la libération du failli, contrairement à l'alinéa 168.1(1)e) de la Loi;
    12. n'a pas, à deux occasions, pris de dispositions adéquates à l'égard de propositions de consommateurs réputées annulées, contrairement au paragraphe 66.31(1) de la Loi;
    13. n'a pas, à trois occasions, distribué de dividendes dans des propositions de consommateurs, contrairement au paragraphe 66.12(6) de la Loi.
  6. le syndic a, à de nombreuses occasions, reçu des paiements d'un failli après la libération du failli, contrairement à une entente datée du 21 mars 2001 intervenue entre l'ACPIR et le surintendant et contrairement aux paragraphes 121(1) et 178(2) de la Loi.

Attendu que le syndic a décidé de ne pas demander d'audience en ce qui concerne les allégations; Attendu que le syndic n'accepte pas toutes les allégations et conclusions énoncées dans le rapport de l'analyste principale, mais reconnaît que sa conduite est loin d'avoir répondu aux normes auxquelles est assujetti un syndic de faillite titulaire de licence, particulièrement dans la mesure où le syndic a falsifié des certificats de consultation et a, par conséquent, enfreint le Code de déontologie des syndics;

Attendu que le syndic et le surintendant se sont entendus sur l'issue de la présente instance et, que, dans les circonstances en l'espèce, cette issue semble juste, raisonnable et conforme à l'ordre public;

Pour ces motifs :

Je, le soussigné, l'honorable Benjamin J. Greenberg, c. r., délégué du surintendant des faillites en vertu des pouvoirs qui m'ont été délégués conformément à l'article 14.01 de la LFI, par les présentes :

  1. suspends la licence de Michael J. Connor pour 15 mois à compter d'une date commençant une semaine après l'émission de la présente ordonnance;
  2. ordonne à Michael J. Connor de comparaître, avant la fin de la période de suspension et comme condition pour la réintégration, devant un jury d'examen oral constitué par le surintendant, les questions devant alors porter seulement sur l'Instruction concernant la délégation des tâches, y compris les évaluations;
  3. ordonne à Michael J. Connor de suivre, avant la fin de la période suspension et comme condition pour la réintégration, un cours en déontologie des affaires qu'il aura choisi et fait approuver par le Bureau du surintendant avant de le suivre;
  4. ordonne qu'une fois la période de suspension terminée, la licence de Michael J. Connor soit par la suite limitée à la réalisation d'évaluations et que Michael J. Connor ne soit pas autorisé à exercer les autres activités qui doivent être accomplies par des syndics;
  5. ordonne que, si le syndic ne respecte pas les modalités de la présente ordonnance, le syndic soit en défaut conformément au paragraphe 13.2(5) de la Loi.

Signé à Montréal, Québec, le 16 décembre 2005

L'honorable Benjamin J. Greenberg, c. r.
Délégué du Surintedant


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :