Frank Sheldon Kisluk and Frank S. Kisluk Limited —

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

In the Matter of
Frank Sheldon Kisluk
Holder of a Trustee Licence
for the Province of Ontario
And
Frank S. Kisluk Limited
Holder of a Corporate Trustee Licence
For the Province of Ontario

Decision under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
In Respect of Professional Conduct

This decision is rendered as a result of a joint submission by the parties in order to obviate the necessity for a hearing on the merits.

An initial pre-trial telephone conference had been held on and the parties made certain undertakings thereat. A second conference was then scheduled for to finish preparations for the hearing on the merits.

As undertaken, the Trustees' response to the Analyst's report was received in April followed by a joint statement of facts in May, Counsel for the Analyst having elected not to reply in writing to the response of the Trustees. The parties jointly requested a postponement of the second conference, to which the undersigned consented, and the second conference was duly held on .

At the second conference, Counsel advised the Delegate that there would be no need for a hearing on responsibility, and that they were in the process of finalizing a joint submission to the Delegate, which, if ratified by him, could hopefully dispose of the matter of sanctions or penalties without any hearing whatsoever.

The electronic version of the joint submission was received on and , in signed pdf format from the Trustees and in Word format from the Analyst. A copy of the Word version is attached hereto to form part hereof. It embodies a draft submitted to me for acceptance, and contains numerous terms and conditions.

After noting certain imperfections in the draft as submitted, I am nonetheless inclined to accept the parties' agreement. However it seems to me that problems may conceivably arise in its interpretation or execution, or as a result of any failure by the Trustees to comply in full and timely fashion with their undertakings, resulting in the need for further action by me.

I will therefore remain seized of this case in order to be able to intervene further to resolve any difficulties of any nature whatsoever, including those arising from any action or inaction by the Trustees, or from any ambiguity, contradiction, or lacuna in the joint submission, and in order to render another decision later if this seems necessary or desirable.

The present decision may thus be considered to be an interim one, unless no further action by the undersigned proves to be necessary to finally dispose of these proceedings. If further action is required, the parties will of course have the right to make representations and/or to request a hearing on any outstanding matters, and I will deal with such requests as and if they arise.

For the foregoing reasons, the undersigned Delegate Ratifies the joint submission and agreement of the parties attached hereto to form part hereof for all legal purposes;

Declares it to be binding and executory as if it were a decision of this tribunal, and orders the Trustees to conform thereto, under pain of all legal penalties;

Declares that he remains seized of this case, and reserves the right to render any further orders or decisions which may be necessary to give effect to or complete the said agreement, or to finally dispose of the present case, and to impose any further sanctions or penalties which may be appropriate or in the event of any failure by the Trustees to comply integrally with their obligations under the present decision for any reason and in any way whatsoever.

Signed at Montreal this

The Honourable Perry Meyer, Q.C.
Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Frank Sheldon Kisluk et Frank S. Kisluk Limited — le 

Professional Conduct Decision

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Dans l'affaire de
Frank Sheldon Kisluk,
titulaire d'une licence de syndic
de la province de l'Ontario,
et de
Frank S. Kisluk Limited,
personne morale titulaire d'une licence de syndic
de la province de l'Ontario

Décision en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité
visant la conduite professionnelle

La présente décision est rendue par suite d'une proposition conjointe des parties afin d'éviter la nécessité d'une audience sur le fond.

Une première conférence préalable à l'instruction par téléphone avait été tenue le , et les parties y avaient pris certains engagements. Une deuxième conférence a ensuite été prévue pour le 19 juin afin de terminer les préparatifs en vue de l'audience sur le fond.

Conformément à un engagement qui a été pris, la réponse des syndics au rapport de l'analyste a été reçue en avril et suivie d'un exposé conjoint des faits en mai, l'avocat de l'analyste ayant choisi de ne pas répondre par écrit à la réponse des syndics. Les parties ont demandé conjointement l'ajournement de la deuxième conférence, auquel le soussigné a consenti, et la deuxième conférence a été tenue en bonne et due forme le .

Lors de la deuxième conférence, les avocats ont informé le délégué qu'aucune audience sur la responsabilité ne serait nécessaire et qu'ils étaient en voie de finaliser une proposition conjointe au délégué qui, advenant sa ratification par ce dernier, était susceptible de trancher la question des sanctions ou pénalités sans la tenue d'une audience quelconque.

La version électronique de la proposition conjointe a été reçue les et , en format pdf signé de la part des syndics et en format Word de la part de l'analyste. Une copie de la version Word est jointe aux présentes et en fait partie. Elle concrétise une ébauche qui m'a été présentée en vue de son acceptation et contient de nombreuses conditions.

Après avoir remarqué certaines imperfections dans l'ébauche présentée, je suis néanmoins enclin à accepter l'entente des parties. Cependant, il me semble que des problèmes pourraient apparaître au niveau de son interprétation ou de son exécution, ou en raison de tout défaut des syndics de se conformer pleinement et en temps opportun à leurs engagements, ce qui nécessiterait d'autres mesures de ma part.

Par conséquent, je demeurerai saisi de la présente affaire afin de pouvoir intervenir davantage pour résoudre toute difficulté de quelque nature que ce soit, notamment les difficultés résultant d'une action ou inaction de la part des syndics, ou de toute ambiguïté, contradiction ou lacune dans la proposition conjointe, et afin de rendre une autre décision par la suite si cela semble nécessaire ou souhaitable.

La présente décision peut donc être considérée comme une décision provisoire, à moins qu'aucune autre mesure de la part du soussigné ne s'avère nécessaire pour statuer de façon définitive sur la présente instance. Si une autre mesure est requise, les parties auront évidemment le droit de présenter des observations ou de demander la tenue d'une audience sur toute question encore en litige et je me pencherai sur de telles demandes si elles me sont présentées.

Pour les motifs énoncés ci-haut, le délégué soussigné; : ratifie la proposition conjointe et l'entente des parties jointes aux présentes et en faisant partie à toutes fins que de droit;

déclare que la décision est obligatoire et exécutoire comme s'il s'agissait d'une décision du présent tribunal et ordonne que les syndics s'y conforment, sous peine des pénalités prévues par la Loi;

déclare qu'il demeure saisi de la présente affaire et se réserve le droit de rendre toute autre ordonnance ou décision nécessaire pour donner effet à ladite entente ou la compléter, ou pour statuer de façon définitive sur la présente affaire, et d'imposer toute autre sanction ou pénalité appropriée ou en cas de défaut des syndics de se conformer intégralement à leurs obligations prévues par la présente décision pour quelque motif et de quelque manière que ce soit.

Signé à Montréal le

L'honorable Perry Meyer, c.r.
Délégué du surintendant des faillites


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :