Directions for Conservatory Measures to the Official Receiver—

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of:
Sidney Charles Schiff
Schiff & Associates Inc.


Directions for Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas Sidney Charles Schiff (the trustee) is the holder of an individual license as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas Schiff & Associates Inc. (the trustee) is the holder of a corporate trustee license;

Whereas during the course of an investigation regarding the corporate trustee Schiff & Associates Inc. and individual trustee Sidney Charles Schiff, the delegate of the Superintendent, Karen Smith, issued conservatory measures with a view to protecting the estates on February 15, 2006;

Whereas the measures previously issued were not directed at files in which the trustees have been discharged;

Whereas in files in which the trustees have already obtained their discharge, there could remain certain actions to perform in order to complete the administration;

Whereas I believe on reasonable grounds that the estates require protection;

Whereas the Superintendent may, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstances referred to in section 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with section 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified in section 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in section 14.03(2)(b), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act;

Whereas subsections 14.03(1)(b) and (c) and (2)(b) the Act apply;

I, Ann Speers, in my capacity as delegate for the Superintendent, direct:

The Official Receiver, to take possession and control of the property of the bankruptcy and proposal estates and the estate files, and also of accounting and electronic data related to estate files administered by Sidney Charles Schiff and Schiff & Associates Inc., of such closed estates as and when identified by the Guardian Trustee as being in need of administration, wherever they may be located and to remit them to Mr. Glenn Steiner agent of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, 600 – 25 St. Clair Avenue East, Toronto, Ontario, M4T 1M2.

To enforce these directions, the Official Receiver may seek the help of all the persons he or she considers necessary.

These directions take effect immediately and will stay in place until further notice.

In accordance with subsection 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind their addressees, who must comply with them;

In accordance with subsection 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with these directions is not liable for any act done by the person only to comply with them.

Signed at the City of Toronto Ontario this 19th day of December, 2006.

Ann Speers
Assistant Superintendent

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Instructions de mesures conservatoires à l'intention du Séquestre officiel —

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire :
Sidney Charles Schiff
Schiff & Associates Inc.


Instructions de mesures conservatoires
(article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi) confère au surintendant des faillites (le surintendant) un pouvoir général de surveillance des actifs et des affaires régis par la Loi;

Considérant que Sidney Charles Schiff (le syndic) est titulaire d'une licence individuelle de syndic de faillite;

Considérant que Schiff & Associates Inc. (le syndic) est titulaire d'une licence de syndic corporative;

Considérant que, dans le cadre d'une enquête visant le syndic corporatif Schiff & Associates Inc. et le syndic individuel Sidney Charles Schiff, la déléguée du surintendant Karen Smith a émis des mesures conservatoires le 15 février 2006 dans le but de sauvegarder les actifs;

Considérant que les mesures émises antérieurement ne visaient pas les dossiers pour lesquels les syndics ont obtenu leur libération;

Considérant qu'il pourrait y avoir encore des mesures à prendre afin de clore l'administration de certains dossiers pour lesquels les syndics ont obtenu leur libération;

Considérant que j'ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les actifs doivent être sauvegardés;

Considérant que le surintendant peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs conférés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant m'a délégué, en vertu de l'autorité du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, les attributions du surintendant prévues au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues à l'alinéa 14.03(2)b), dans un document de délégation dont on trouvera copie ainsi que des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi;

Considérant que les alinéas 14.03(1)b) et c) et 14.03(2)b) de la Loi s'appliquent;

Je soussignée, Ann Speers, en ma qualité de déléguée du surintendant, donne instruction au :

séquestre officiel de prendre possession et contrôle des biens et actifs des dossiers de faillite et de proposition ainsi que des données comptables et électroniques se rapportant aux dossiers d'actifs administrés par Sidney Charles Schiff et Schiff & Associates Inc., ainsi que des dossiers fermés si le syndic gardien indique qu'ils doivent faire l'objet d'une administration, où qu'ils soient, et de les remettre à M. Glenn Steiner, agent du Bureau du surintendant des faillites, 25, av. St. Clair Est, bureau 600, Toronto (Ontario) M4T 1M2.

Pour exécuter les présentes instructions, le séquestre officiel peut solliciter l'aide de toutes les personnes qu'il juge nécessaires.

Les présentes instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le demeureront jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient leurs destinataires, lesquels sont tenus de s'y conformer.

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Et j'ai signé à Toronto, en Ontario, ce 19 décembre 2006.

Ann Speers
Surintendante adjointe

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :