Claude Lacroix, Pierre Martin et Raymond Chabot Inc. —

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

In the matter of:

Claude Lacroix
formerly holder of an individual trustee licence
for the Province of Quebec

Pierre Martin
holder of an individual trustee licence
for the Province of Quebec

Raymond Chabot Inc.
holder of a corporate trustee licence
for the provinces of Quebec and Ontario

Decision on the professional conduct of the trustees rendered pursuant to the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act

Whereas the licence of trustee Claude Lacroix expired on ;

Whereas Pierre Martin is the holder of an individual trustee licence for the Province of Quebec;

Whereas Raymond Chabot Inc. is the holder of a corporate trustee licence for the provinces of Quebec and Ontario, and operates an office in Chicoutimi;

Whereas Michel Leduc, Senior Advisor, in accordance with the generic delegation of the powers set out in subsection 14.01(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (hereinafter the Act), submitted to the Superintendent a report on the professional conduct of the above-mentioned trustees;

Whereas in that report, it was alleged that trustee Raymond Chabot Inc., acting through Claude Lacroix and Pierre Martin, neglected to disclose to the various parties involved any information regarding a fee guarantee in the matter of the bankruptcy of Rosaire Gagné;

Whereas in that report, it was alleged that the trustees did not appropriately document the bankruptcy files of Rosaire Gagné, Les Gîtes du Fjord Inc., 2750-4513 Québec Inc. and Construction Houde et Gagné Inc.;

Whereas in that report, it was alleged that the trustees' time sheets did not provide for rendering account of all the ongoing work that was transferred from the estate of the bankruptcy of Construction Houde et Gagné Inc. to the estate of the bankruptcy of 2750-4513 Québec Inc., and from the estate of the bankruptcy of Les Gîtes du Fjord Inc. to the estate of the bankruptcy of 2750-4513 Québec Inc.;

Whereas the trustees do not acknowledge the alleged offences;

Whereas the alleged offences date back to the years 1992 and 1995 and the various proceedings that followed them engendered trustee fees and expenses that have still not been submitted to the courts for taxation;

Whereas the parties submitted to me the text of this decision, which given the circumstances of this matter, appears to be fair, reasonable and in keeping with public order;

I, the undersigned, in my capacity as Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, in accordance with the powers conferred on me pursuant to subsection 14.01(2) of the Act, approve the agreement reached and order as follows:

  1. that the fees of $16,520 paid by the estate of the bankruptcy of 2750-4513 Québec Inc. be reimbursed, out of the estate of the bankruptcy of Construction Houde et Gagné Inc. in the amount of $10,815, and out of the estate of the bankruptcy of Les Gîtes du Fjord Inc. in the amount of $5,705, to the estate of the bankruptcy of 2750-4513 Québec Inc., by no later than ;
  2. that, subject to subsequent taxation, trustee Raymond Chabot Inc. reimburse fee advances totalling $38,186 to the estate of the bankruptcy of 2750-4513 Québec Inc. no later than ;
  3. that in the event that Claude Lacroix wishes to reactivate her trustee licence, she may not do so before a period of four (4) months following the date of signature of this order;
  4. that the licence of trustee Pierre Martin be suspended for a period of four (4) weeks, beginning on , during which time he may not act in the capacity of trustee, nor accept any mandate pursuant to the Act, either in his own name or that of the corporate trustee;
  5. that the licence of trustee Pierre Martin be restricted, upon expiration of the suspension period mentioned in point four (4) above, for a period of four (4) weeks, during which time he may only file summary administration files or consumer proposals;
  6. that the licence of trustee Raymond Chabot Inc. be restricted for a period of three (3) weeks, beginning on , during which time the trustee may not make any new filings under the Act in the judicial districts of Chicoutimi, Alma or Roberval;
  7. that if the trustees fail to respect this order, they will be considered not to have met one of the conditions of their licence within the meaning of paragraph 13.2(5)b) of the Act.

Signed in Ottawa, Ontario,

Original signed by

Roger Tassé
Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Claude Lacroix, Pierre Martin et Raymond Chabot Inc. —

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Dans l'affaire de :

Claude Lacroix,
ex-détenteur d'une licence de syndic individuel
pour la province de Québec

Pierre Martin,
détenteur d'une licence de syndic individuel
pour la province de Québec

Raymond Chabot inc.,
détenteur d'une licence corporative
pour la province de Québec et de l'Ontario

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle des syndics
rendue en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité

Considérant que la licence du syndic Claude Lacroix est expirée depuis le ;

Considérant que Pierre Martin est détenteur d'une licence de syndic individuel pour la province de Québec;

Considérant que Raymond Chabot inc. est détenteur d'une licence corporative pour les provinces de Québec et d'Ontario et a un bureau à Chicoutimi;

Considérant que Michel Leduc, conseiller principal, conformément à la délégation générale des attributions prévues au paragraphe 14.01(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (ci-après « la Loi »), a soumis au surintendant un rapport sur la conduite professionnelle des syndics précités;

Considérant que dans ce rapport, il est allégué que le syndic Raymond Chabot inc., agissant par Claude Lacroix et Pierre Martin, a omis de divulguer aux différents intervenants, toute l'information concernant une garantie d'honoraires dans le dossier de la faillite de Rosaire Gagné;

Considérant que dans ce rapport, il est allégué que les syndics n'ont pas documenté de façon convenable les dossiers des faillites de Rosaire Gagné, Les Gîtes du Fjord inc., 2750-4513 Québec inc. et Construction Houde et Gagné inc.;

Considérant que dans ce rapport, il est allégué que les feuilles de temps des syndics ne permettaient pas de rendre compte des différents travaux en cours transférés de l'actif de la faillite de Construction Houde et Gagné inc. à l'actif de la faillite de 2750-4513 Québec inc., et de l'actif de la faillite de Les Gîtes du Fjord inc. à l'actif de la faillite de 2750-5413 Québec inc.;

Considérant que les syndics n'admettent pas les faits reprochés;

Considérant que les faits reprochés remontent aux années 1992 et 1995 et que les différentes procédures qui s'en sont suivies ont entraîné que les honoraires et déboursés des syndics n'ont toujours pas été soumis au tribunal pour taxation;

Considérant que les parties m'ont soumis le texte de la présente décision, lequel m'apparaît dans les circonstances de cette affaire, juste, raisonnable et non contraire à l'ordre public;

Je soussigné, en qualité de délégué du surintendant des faillites, conformément aux pouvoirs qui me sont conférés en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, approuve l'entente intervenue et ordonne ce qui suit :

  1. que les frais de 16 520 $ payés par l'actif de la faillite de 2750-4513 Québec inc. soient remboursés, par l'actif de la faillite de Construction Houde et Gagné inc., pour une somme de 10 815 $ et par l'actif de la faillite de Les Gîtes du Fjord inc., pour une somme de 5 705 $, à l'actif de la faillite de 2750-4513 Québec inc., et ce, au plus tard le ;
  2. que, sous réserve de taxation ultérieure, le syndic Raymond Chabot inc. rembourse des avances d'honoraires totalisant 38 186 $ à l'actif de la faillite de 2750-4513 Québec inc., et ce, au plus tard le ;
  3. que dans l'éventualité où Claude Lacroix désirerait réactiver sa licence de syndic, elle ne pourra l'être avant une période de quatre (4) mois, à compter de la date de la signature de la présente ordonnance;
  4. que la licence du syndic Pierre Martin soit suspendue pour une période de quatre (4) semaines, à compter du , période pendant laquelle il ne pourra aucunement agir à titre de syndic ni accepter aucun mandat en vertu de la Loi, et ce, tant en son nom personnel qu'au nom d'un syndic corporatif;
  5. que la licence du syndic Pierre Martin soit restreinte, à l'expiration de la période de suspension mentionnée au point quatre (4) ci-dessus, pour une période de quatre (4) semaines, période pendant laquelle il ne pourra déposer que des dossiers d'administration sommaire ou des propositions de consommateur;
  6. que la licence du syndic Raymond Chabot inc. soit restreinte pour une période de trois (3) semaines, à compter du , période pendant laquelle le syndic ne pourra déposer aucun nouveau dossier en vertu de la Loi dans les districts judiciaires de Chicoutimi, Alma et Roberval;
  7. qu'à défaut de respecter la présente ordonnance, les syndics seront considérés ne pas avoir observé l'une des conditions de leur licence au sens de l'alinéa 13.2(5)b) de la Loi.

Signé à Ottawa, en Ontario, le .

Original signé par

Roger Tassé
Délégué du surintendant des faillites


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :