Annual Insolvency Rates

The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) compiles annual insolvency rates for both consumers and businesses by province and economic region (ER), census metropolitan area (CMA) and sector as defined by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).

The consumer insolvency rate is defined as the number of consumer insolvencies per thousand residents aged 18 years or above. The business insolvency rate is defined as the number of business insolvencies per thousand businesses. Annual insolvency rates are available for consumers starting from 1987 and for businesses starting from 1998. Insolvency rates by NAICS sector are available starting from 1999. For your convenience, the information is also provided in Excel format (see downloadable version below).

Insolvency rates may be used to compare geographical areas of different population sizes as well as industrial sectors of different scales. It is important to note that variations in insolvency rates for a specific geographical area could result from a change in the number of insolvencies, a change in the size of the reference population (the number of consumers or businesses) or both.

Reports

Downloadable version: Annual Insolvency Rates (Excel format, 420 KB)

Note: Use the tabs to view the different reports.


Definitions

Consumer:
An individual with more than 50 percent of total liabilities related to consumer goods and services.
Business:
Any commercial entity or organization other than an individual, or an individual who has incurred 50 percent or more of total liabilities as a result of operating a business.
Bankruptcy:
The state of a consumer or a business that has made an assignment in bankruptcy or against whom a bankruptcy order has been made.
Proposal:
An offer to creditors to settle debts under conditions other than the existing terms. A proposal is a formal agreement under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act.
NAICS:
North American Industry Classification System.
Economic Region (ER):
Standard geographical units created for analysis of regional economic activity (Statistics Canada's geographical definitions of ERs).
Census Metropolitan Area (CMA):
Each census metropolitan area consists of one or more adjacent municipalities situated around a major urban core. To form a census metropolitan area, the urban core must have a population of at least 100 000 (Statistics Canada's geographical definitions of CMAs).
Date modified:

Taux annuels d’insolvabilité

Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) calcule les taux annuels d'insolvabilité des consommateurs et des entreprises par province et par région économique, par région métropolitaine de recensement et par secteur économique du Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN).

Le taux d'insolvabilité des consommateurs renvoie au nombre de personnes insolvables par millier d'habitants âgés de 18 ans ou plus et le taux d'insolvabilité des entreprises désigne le nombre d'entreprises insolvables par millier d'entreprises. Les taux annuels d'insolvabilité sont présentés à partir de 1987 pour les consommateurs et de 1998 pour les entreprises. Les taux d'insolvabilité pour les secteurs du SCIAN sont présentés à partir de 1999. L'information est également fournie en format Excel pour faciliter la consultation (voir la version téléchargeable ci-dessous).

Les taux d'insolvabilité peuvent être utilisés pour comparer des régions géographiques ayant des populations de tailles différentes et des secteurs industriels de différentes envergures. Il est important de souligner que les variations des taux d'insolvabilité dans une région géographique donnée peuvent être le résultat d'une variation visant le nombre de dossiers d'insolvabilité, d'une variation de la taille de la population de référence (nombre de personnes ou d'entreprises), ou des deux.

Rapports

Version téléchargeable : Taux annuels d'insolvabilité (format Excel, 406 Ko)
Nota : Veuillez utiliser les onglets pour visionner les différents rapports.


Définitions

Consommateur :
Individu dont plus de cinquante pour cent de la dette totale est reliée aux biens et services de consommation.
Entreprise :
Toute entité ou organisation de nature commerciale autre qu'un individu, ou un individu dont cinquante pour cent ou plus de la dette totale est reliée à l'exploitation d'une entreprise commerciale.
Faillite :
Situation juridique d'un consommateur ou d'une entreprise qui a fait une cession de ses biens ou contre laquelle une ordonnance de faillite a été rendue.
Proposition :
Offre de règlement d'une dette présentée aux créanciers en vertu de conditions différentes des modalités existantes. Il s'agit d'une entente officielle, aux termes de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité.
SCIAN :
Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord.
Région économique () :
Unité géographique normalisée servant à l'analyse de l'activité économique régionale (définition géographique des de Statistique Canada).
Région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) :
Territoire formé d'une ou de plusieurs municipalités voisines les unes des autres qui sont situées autour d'un grand centre urbain. Pour former une région métropolitaine de recensement, le centre urbain doit compter au moins 100 000 habitants (définition géographique des RMR de Statistique Canada).
Date de modification :