Allen W. MacLeod, Donald A. MacLeod and D. & A. MacLeod Company Limited — April 15, 2008

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Ontario
Superior Court of Justice
in Bankruptcy and Insolvency

In the matter of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy

And in the matter of the alleged allegation of professional
misconduct as against Allen W. MacLeod, Donald A. MacLeod and D. & A. MacLeod Company Limited

Appearances
Julia Martin and Alden Christian for the Trustees
Garry Wetzel and Mark Taggart for the Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Endorsement

[1] Sylvie Laperrière, Senior Analyst, Professional Contract, Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, has provided a report dated .

[2] In that report Ms. Laperrière, at paragraph 14, set out the alleged allegation of professional misconduct against the Trustees. These allegations are identified as A to L.

[3] Ms. Laperrière then breaks down each of the allegations and gives particulars, along with details of which document she is relying upon to support her allegations. She also identifies the attachments and page numbers that she is relying upon.

[4] The attachments are contained in four volumes of documents, and are voluminous.

[5] During preliminary meetings, counsel for the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, Mr. Wetzel, undertook to provide "will say" statements of the proposed witnesses to be called on behalf of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

[6] On , Mr. Wetzel provided five "will say" statements as follows:

  1. Barry Schur
  2. Jean-Louis Boucher
  3. Richard Hunter
  4. Sylvie Laperrière
  5. Dorothy Ann Deady

[7] Ms. Martin, on behalf of the Trustees, brings this motion to require counsel for the Superintendent of Bankruptcy to provide better and more detailed "will say" statements. Allen W. MacLeod filed an affidavit in support of their position that they cannot provide a proper answer or response unless they have more detailed "will say" statements from the proposed witnesses.

[8] At the hearing of the motion, Ms. Martin conceded the detailed report of Ms. Laperrière and the statement of Ms. Deady were accurate and sufficient.

[9] Ms. Martin relies upon the principles as set forth in R. v. Stinchombe [1991] 3 S.C.R. 326. The principles of Stinchombe have been applied in an administrative law text. See Todd Y. Sheriff et al. and Attorney General of Canada, 2006 FCA 139.

[10] In that case, it was a question of not disclosing a document, which is not the case here. What we are dealing with here is the respondent's ability to identify what document the Superintendent of Bankruptcy is relying upon to support the allegations of professional misconduct.

[11] Malone J.A., on behalf of the Court in Sheriff and Attorney General of Canada, refers to the high standard of disclosure in professional discipline cases. Commencing at paragraph 31 he states:

[31] In contrast, our Courts have repeatedly recognized a higher standard of procedure for professional discipline bodies when the right to continue in one's profession or employment is at stake (see Kane v. Board of Governors of University of British Columbia [1980] 1 S.C.R. 1105 at page 1113; Brown and Evans, Judicial Review of Administrative Action in Canada (Canvasback Publishing: Toronto, 1998) at pages 9–57 and 9–58). This higher standard of disclosure exists regardless of whether the provincial jurisdiction recognizes the application of section 7 of the Charter in these cases.

[32] The requirement for increased disclosure is justified by the significant consequences for the professional person's career and status in the community. Some Courts have noted that a finding of professional misconduct may be more serious than a criminal conviction (see Howe v. Institute of Chartered Accountants (1994), 19 O.R. (3d) 483 (C.A. per Laskin J.A. in dissent at pages 495–496); Emerson v. Law Society of Upper Canada (1983), 44 O.R. (2d) 729, at page 744).

[33] The scope of disclosure in professional hearings continues to be expanded by provincial courts, which have applied the Stinchombe principles in cases where the administrative body might terminate or restrict the right to practice or seriously impact on a professional reputation (see Hammami v. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia (1977), 47 Admin. L.R. (2d) 30 (B.C.S.C.) at paragraph 75; Milner v. Registered Nurses Association (British Columbia) (1997), 71 B.C.L.R. (3d) 372 (S.C.)). In Stinchombe, the Supreme Court of Canada held that there is a general duty on Crown prosecutors to disclose all evidence that may assist the accused, even if the prosecution did not plan to adduce it. While these principles originally only applied in the criminal law context, the similarities between a criminal prosecution and a disciplinary hearing are such that the objectives are, in my analysis, the same, i.e., the search for truth and finding the correct result.

[34] In this case, the Trustees face a suspension of their license and injury to their professional reputation. In order to fully understand the case against them and to ensure a fair disciplinary proceeding, the Trustees must have access to all relevant material which may assist them. This is consistent with the Superintendent's earlier ruling in this case that the SDA had a duty to disclose all documents unless they were "clearly irrelevant."

[12] On first reading of the "will say" statements relating to Schur, Boucher and Hunter, it would appear that they are inadequate. Each of these witnesses prepared detailed audit reports. They referred to a number of files. Their "will say" statements do not identify what documents or attachments they are relying upon.

[13] Mr. Wetzel, on behalf of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, says the only documents these witnesses are relying upon are those referred to in Ms. Laperrière's report of . They will not be relying upon anything else and their evidence will be confined and restricted to those documents.

[14] Based upon that restriction regarding their evidence, I find the "will say" statements are adequate to provide proper notice and to allow the Trustees to know the case they must meet. For these reasons, I dismiss the motion for better and more detailed "will say" statements.

[15] Originally the hearing, pursuant to s. 14.02 (1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, was scheduled to commence Monday, .

[16] Counsel for the Trustees requests this be adjourned to a later date. Considering all of the circumstances, I am prepared to set a new date for the hearing. After consulting counsel, the hearing will be adjourned to commence Monday,

Dated at Ottawa this .

The Honourable James B. Chadwick, Q.C.


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Allen W. MacLeod, Donald A. MacLeod et D. & A. MacLeod Company Limited — 15 avril 2008

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Ontario
Cour supérieure de Justice
(Faillite et Insolvabitilié)

Dans l'affaire du surintendant des faillites

Et de l'allégation de faute professionnelle formulée contre Allen W. MacLeod, Donald A. MacLeod et D. & A. MacLeod Company Limited

Comparutions :
Julia Martin et Alden Christian pour le syndic
Garry Wetzel et Mark Taggart pour le surintendant des faillites

Jugement

[1] Sylvie Laperrière, analyste principale, Conduite professionnelle, Bureau du surintendant des faillites, a produit un rapport daté du .

[2] Au paragraphe 14 de son rapport, Mme Laperrière présente les allégations de faute professionnelle formulées contre le syndic. Ces allégations sont désignées par les lettres A à L.

[3] Mme Laperrière distingue ensuite chacune des allégations en fournissant des détails et en précisant les documents sur lesquels elle se fonde pour étayer ses allégations. Elle donne des précisions sur les pièces jointes et indique les numéros de page auxquels elle fait référence.

[4] Les pièces jointes sont également contenues dans quatre volumes de documents, et elles sont nombreuses.

[5] Au cours des réunions préliminaires, l'avocat du surintendant des faillites, Me Wetzel, s'est engagé à fournir des sommaires des dépositions des témoins qu'il entend appeler à la barre pour le compte de son client.

[6] Le , Me Wetzel a produit cinq sommaires de dépositions relativement aux témoins suivants :

  1. Barry Schur
  2. Jean-Louis Boucher
  3. Richard Hunter
  4. Sylvie Laperrière
  5. Dorothy Ann Deady

[7] Me Martin, pour le compte du syndic, a déposé la présente motion, dans laquelle elle demande que l'avocat du surintendant des faillites fournisse des sommaires des dépositions des témoins plus approfondis et détaillés. Allan W. MacLeod a déposé un affidavit à l'appui de la position de l'intimé selon laquelle celui-ci ne peut produire une réponse convenable s'il ne dispose pas de sommaires des dépositions des témoins plus détaillés.

[8] Lors de l'audition de la motion, Me Martin a admis que le rapport détaillé de Mme Laperrière et la déclaration de Mme Deady étaient exacts et suffisants.

[9] Me Martin s'appuie sur les principes énoncés dans l'arrêt R. c. Stinchcombe, [1991] 3 R.C.S. 326. Les principes de l'arrêt Stinchcombe ont été appliqués dans le contexte du droit administratif. Voir Todd Y. Sheriff et al. c. Procureur général du Canada, 2006 CAF 139.

[10] Cette affaire porte sur la question de la non-communication d'un document. Ce qui n'est pas le cas en l'espèce, où il est plutôt question de la capacité de l'intimé de savoir sur quel document le surintendant des faillites se fonde pour étayer les allégations de faute professionnelle.

[11] Dans l'arrêt Sheriff c. Procureur général du Canada, le juge Malone, au nom de la Cour, fait état d'une norme de communication rigoureuse dans les cas de procédures disciplinaires. Le juge Malone déclare ce qui suit, à partir du paragraphe 31 :

[31] Par contre, nos tribunaux judiciaires ont à plusieurs reprises reconnu la nécessité d'une norme de procédure plus rigoureuse pour les instances disciplinaires des professions lorsque est en jeu le droit de poursuivre l'exercice de sa profession ou de conserver son emploi; voir Kane c. Conseil d'administration (Université de la Colombie-Britannique), [1980] 1 R.C.S. 1105, à la page 1113; et Brown et Evans, Judicial Review of Administrative Action in Canada, édition à feuilles mobiles, Toronto, Canvasback Publishing, 1998, aux pages 9–57 et 9–58. Cette norme de communication plus rigoureuse doit être suivie, que la province en question reconnaisse ou non l'applicabilité aux affaires en question de l'article 7 de la Charte Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, qui constitue la partie I de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, annexe B, Loi de 1982 sur le Canada, 1982, ch. 11 (R.-U.) [L.R.C. (1985), appendice II, no 44]].

[32] La rigueur plus grande de la norme de communication se justifie par les conséquences sérieuses des procédures dont il s'agit pour la carrière et la position sociale de la personne qui en fait l'objet. Certains tribunaux judiciaires ont fait observer qu'une déclaration d'inconduite professionnelle peut se révéler plus grave qu'une condamnation au pénal; voir Howe v. Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario (1994), 19 O.R. (3d) 483 (C.A.), le juge Laskin, dissident, aux pages 495 et 496; et Re Emerson and Law Society of Upper Canada (1983), 44 O.R. (3d) 729, à la page 744.

[33] Les tribunaux judiciaires provinciaux continuent d'étendre les obligations de communication dans les auditions disciplinaires des professions, appliquant les principes de Stinchcombe aux affaires où l'organisme administratif pourrait retirer ou restreindre le droit d'exercice de la profession ou porter gravement atteinte à la réputation professionnelle; voir Hammami v. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, [1997] 9 W.W.R. 301 (C.S.C.-B.), au paragraphe 75; et Milner v. Registered Nurses Assn. of British Columbia (1999), 71 B.C.L.R. (3d) 372 (C.S.). Dans l'arrêt Stinchcombe, la Cour suprême du Canada a statué que le ministère public est soumis à l'obligation générale de communiquer à l'accusé tous les éléments de preuve qui pourraient l'aider dans sa défense, même ceux que l'accusation ne prévoit pas de produire. Si ces principes ne s'appliquaient à l'origine qu'au contexte du droit pénal, les analogies entre les poursuites au pénal et les auditions disciplinaires s'avèrent telles que les objectifs sont, selon mon analyse, les mêmes, soit la recherche de la vérité et l'obtention du résultat juste.

[34] Dans la présente espèce, les syndics risquent la suspension de leur licence et une atteinte à leur réputation professionnelle. Afin qu'ils puissent bien comprendre les faits qui leur sont opposés et que leur soit garantie une procédure disciplinaire équitable, ils doivent avoir accès à tous les éléments pertinents susceptibles de les aider. Cette conclusion est conforme à la décision qu'a déjà rendue le surintendant, selon laquelle l'analyste principale était tenue de communiquer tous les documents à moins qu'ils n'aient « visiblement rien à voir avec l'affaire ».

[12] À la première lecture des sommaires des dépositions des témoins Schur, Boucher et Hunter, il semblerait qu'ils sont incomplets. Chacun de ces témoins a établi des rapports de vérification détaillés. Ils ont fait référence à un certain nombre de dossiers. Le sommaire de leurs dépositions ne précise pas sur quels documents ou pièces jointes ces témoins s'appuient.

[13] Me Wetzel affirme, au nom du surintendant des faillites, que les seuls documents sur lesquels ces témoins s'appuient sont ceux dont Mme Laperrière fait mention dans son rapport du 27 février 2007. Les témoins ne s'appuieront sur rien d'autre, et leur témoignage se rapportera uniquement à ces documents.

[14] Compte tenu de cette restriction quant à leur témoignage, je conclus que les sommaires des dépositions des témoins sont satisfaisants pour ce qui est de constituer un avis suffisant pour permettre au syndic de présenter sa défense. Pour ces motifs, je rejette la motion par laquelle le syndic demande des sommaires des dépositions des témoins plus approfondis et détaillés.

[15] Initialement, l'audition devait débuter le lundi , conformément au paragraphe 14.02(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité. L'avocat du syndic nous demande de reporter l'audition de l'affaire. Compte tenu de l'ensemble des circonstances, je suis disposé à fixer une nouvelle date d'audition. Après avoir consulté les avocats, j'ai fixé le début de l'audition au lundi .

Fait à Ottawa le .

L'honorable James B. Chadwick, c.r.


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :