Edward Bryce Quon and Quon & Associates Ltd. —

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

Canada
Province of Ontario
Industry Canada
Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy

In the matter of Edward Bryce Quon
Presently holder of a trustee licence for the Province of Ontario
and Quon & Associates Ltd.
Presently holder of a trustee licence for the Province of Ontario

Decision under
Section 13.2(5) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA)

Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas the Superintendent of Bankruptcy may, for the protection of the estates, exercise the powers set out in subsection 13.2(5) of the Act in suspending or cancelling a trustee's licence under the circumstances referred to in paragraphs (a) to (d) of subsection 13.2(5) and in accordance with subsection 13.2(6) of the Act;

Whereas Mrs. Ann Speers, Assistant Superintendent, Trustee Compliance, submitted her report on this matter on ;

Whereas Mrs. Ann Speers' report states the following as serious deficiencies on the part of the trustee:

  • failure to comply with paragraph 30(a) of Directive 13R – Trustee Licensing, which requires a trustee, as a condition to practise, to be solvent at all times;
  • failure to comply with paragraph 30(d) of Directive 13R – Trustee Licensing, which requires a trustee to have adequate professional liability insurance and either adequate employee fidelity insurance, a bond or other financial arrangements; and
  • failure to comply with paragraph 31 of Directive 13R – Trustee Licensing, which requires a corporate trustee to operate through an individual trustee at all times and in each district for which it holds a licence;

Whereas a notice of intended decision to cancel the trustee's individual and corporate trustee licences pursuant to paragraph 13.2(5)(b) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act was sent by the Superintendent to the trustee on , in accordance with section 13.2(6) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act; and

Whereas the trustee, Mr. Edward Bryce Quon, did not respond to the Superintendent before , as requested in his notice of intended decision.

Order

I, the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, pursuant to the statutory powers provided to me, by virtue of subsections 13.2(5) and 14.01(1) of the BIA, hereby order as follows:

That the trustee licences of Mr. Edward Bryce Quon (individual) and Quon & Associates Ltd. (corporate) be cancelled ten days after the issuance of this order.

Ottawa,

Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Alain Lafontaine


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Edward Bryce Quon et Quon & Associates Ltd. —

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Canada
Province de l'Ontario
Industrie Canada
Bureau du surintendant des faillites

Dans l'affaire d'Edward Bryce Quon,
actuellement détenteur d'une licence de syndic pour l'Ontario,
et de Quon & Associates Ltd.,
actuellement détentrice d'une licence de syndic pour l'Ontario

Décision en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI)

Attendu que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité attribue au surintendant des faillites un pouvoir général de surveillance des actifs et des affaires régis par la Loi;

Attendu que le surintendant des faillites peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde des actifs, exercer les pouvoirs énoncés au paragraphe 13.2(5) de la Loi pour suspendre ou annuler la licence d'un syndic dans les circonstances prévues aux alinéas a) à d) du paragraphe 13.2(5) et conformément au paragraphe 13.2(6) de la Loi;

Attendu que Mme Ann Speers, surintendante adjointe – Conformité des syndics, a présenté son rapport sur la présente affaire le ;

Attendu que le rapport de Mme Ann Speers fait état des sérieuses lacunes suivantes de la part du syndic :

  • défaut de se conformer à l'alinéa 30a) de l'Instruction 13R, Délivrance des licences de syndic, lequel exige, à titre de condition d'exercice de la profession, que le syndic soit solvable en tout temps;
  • défaut de se conformer à l'alinéa 30d) de l'Instruction 13R, Délivrance des licences de syndic, lequel exige que le syndic détienne une assurance responsabilité professionnelle suffisante, ainsi que l'une des options suivantes : soit une assurance suffisante contre la malhonnêteté, soit un cautionnement ou toute autre entente financière satisfaisante;
  • défaut de se conformer à l'article 31 de l'Instruction 13R, Délivrance des licences de syndic, lequel exige que la personne morale agissant en qualité de syndic agisse par l'entremise d'un syndic individuel, en tout temps et dans chaque district visé par une licence qu'elle détient;

Attendu qu'un avis de la décision proposée d'annuler les licences de syndic individuelle et corporative du syndic en vertu de l'alinéa 13.2(5)b) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité a été envoyé par le surintendant au syndic le , conformément au paragraphe 13.2(6) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Attendu que le syndic, M. Edward Bryce Quon, n'a pas répondu au surintendant avant le , tel que le demandait l'avis de la décision proposée qui lui a été envoyé.

Ordonnance :

Je soussigné, surintendant des faillites, conformément aux pouvoirs qui me sont conférés par les paragraphes 13.2(5) et 14.01(1) de la LFI, ordonne ce qui suit :

Que les licences de syndic de M. Edward Bryce Quon (individuelle) et de Quon & Associates Ltd. (corporative) soient annulées dix jours après la date de la présente ordonnance.

Ottawa, le

Le surintendant des faillites,

Alain Lafontaine


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :