Directions for lifting of Conservatory Measures (Royal Bank)

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of: Daniel Adam


Directions for Lifting of Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas the Superintendent can and should, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act (Conservatory Measures), in the circumstances referred to in subsection 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas, on November 27, 2007, Marie Tardif, a person to whom the Superintendent had delegated the powers as specified at subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, issued certain directions to the Royal Bank of Canada, branch located at 700, Place d'Youville, Quebec, in the Province of Quebec, directions that were modified on December 10, 2007;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to myself, Robert Massé, Assistant Superintendent, Trustee Compliance, in accordance with subsection 14.01(2) of the Act, in certain situations referred to in subsection 14.03(2), the powers of the Superintendent as specified at subsection 14.03(1) of the Act;

Whereas Daniel Adam obtained an absolute discharge from his bankruptcy on May 27, 2008, and given that his licence was reactivated on August 26, 2008;

I, the undersigned, Robert Massé, in my capacity as Assistant Superintendent, Trustee Compliance, lift the conservatory measures issued on November 27, 2007, to the Royal Bank of Canada, branch located at 700, Place d'Youville, Quebec, as to the bank accounts related to the following estates:

43-127947 Learnix Limited 100-407-6
43-127977 TMI-Educaction.Com Inc. 207-397-1

By virtue of this lifting of conservatory measures issued on November 27, 2007, to Sylvie Laperrière and the Royal Bank of Canada, Mr. Daniel Adam will continue the administration of the estate files 43-127947 Learnix Limited and 43-127977 TMI-Educaction.Com Inc., subject to the rights of creditors under article 14 of the Act.

Signed, in the City of Montreal, Province of Quebec,
this August 29, 2008

Robert Massé
Assistant Superintendent, Trustee Compliance

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Instructions de levée des mesures conservatoires (Banque Royale)

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire de : Daniel Adam


Instructions de levée mesures conservatoires
(article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité attribue au surintendant des faillites un pouvoir général de surveillance des affaires et des actifs régis par ladite Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant des faillites peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde des actifs, exercer les pouvoirs visés au paragraphe 14.03(1) (Mesures conservatoires) de la Loi et ce, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le 27 novembre 2007, Marie Tardif, à qui le surintendant a délégué les attributions prévues au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, a donné certaines instructions à la Banque Royale du Canada, succursale située au 700, place d'Youville, Québec, province de Québec, instructions modifiées le 10 décembre 2007;

Considérant que le surintendant des faillites a aussi délégué à moi-même, Robert Massé, surintendant adjoint, Conformité des syndics, en vertu de l'autorité du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, dans certaines situations mentionnées au paragraphe 14.03(2), les attributions du surintendant prévues au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi;

Considérant que Daniel Adam a obtenu une libération absolue de sa cession le 27 mai 2008 et que sa licence a été réactivée le 26 août 2008;

Je, soussigné, Robert Massé, en ma qualité de surintendant adjoint (Conformité des syndics), lève les instructions de mesures conservatoires émises le 27 novembre 2007 à l'égard de la Banque Royale du Canada, succursale située au 700, place d'Youville, Québec, province de Québec, quant aux comptes bancaires attribués aux actifs ci-dessous mentionnés :

43-127947 Learnix Limited 100-407-6
43-127977 TMI-Educaction.Com Inc. 207-397-1

En vertu de cette levée des mesures conservatoires émises le 27 novembre 2007 à l'endroit de Sylvie Laperrière et de la Banque Royale du Canada, M. Danie lAdam continuera l'administration des dossiers d'actifs 43-127947 Learnix Limited et 43-127977 TMI-Educaction.Com Inc., sous réserve des droits des créanciers en vertu de l'article 14 de la Loi.

Et j'ai signé, en la ville de Montréal (Québec),
ce 29 août 2008

Robert Massé
Surintendant adjoint, Conformité des syndics

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :