Collection practices: Debt alleged to fall under BIA s. 178(1)(e)

Certain creditors or their agents have been actively seeking debt recovery of amounts they allege fall under section 178(1)(e) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA). This section provides that a debt or liability resulting from obtaining property by false pretenses or fraudulent misrepresentation is not released by a bankrupt's order of discharge. The practice is generally used in cases where a bankrupt has made a credit card purchase of some significance shortly before filing an assignment in bankruptcy. The creditor contends that, at the time of the purchase, such individuals must have been aware that they were insolvent and would be unable to satisfy their obligation to the creditor.

Creditors or their agents typically send a "warning letter" to the bankrupt during the bankruptcy stating their intention to pursue a court finding of fraudulent misrepresentation unless the bankrupt is willing to voluntarily repay the amount in question. The letter notes that legal steps will be taken should repayment not be made by the bankrupt after both the trustee and bankrupt are discharged. Of particular interest for the purposes of this position paper is the scenario where such a letter is sent to the bankrupt (who is either discharged or yet to be discharged) prior to discharge of the bankruptcy trustee.

Some concerns have been raised by various stakeholders who question the ethics of this collection technique as it appears to conflict with the public policy "fresh start" objectives of the insolvency regime. The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) has concluded that the BIA provides creditors the opportunity to seek redress by means of obtaining a civil court order granting a section 178(1)(e) exemption from debt discharge provided that creditors comply with the statutory requirements. However, it is the position of the OSB that sending the warning letter to the bankrupt prior to discharge of the trustee constitutes a violation of the stay of proceedings set out in section 69.3(1).

The OSB has conveyed this position in writing to creditors / creditor agents that are known to have been employing this collection technique in the hopes that they will agree to adjust their practices voluntarily in order to comply with the Act. However, should this adjustment not occur, the OSB has indicated that it will take whatever steps are necessary to protect the integrity of the insolvency process. One such creditor has responded to date, indicating that changes have been made to collection procedures in accordance with the OSB's position and, furthermore, that many trustees have supported the OSB's active involvement in cases of credit abuse.

Practitioners and debtors who become aware of non-compliant collection actions of this type that are initiated after publication of this position paper are asked to contact the appropriate OSB division office with details.

Trustees have an opportunity to contribute to a more informed bankrupt population by identifying at the time of assessment those debts that may be more likely to be subject to such actions by a creditor.

Date modified:

Pratiques de recouvrement : Dettes présumées visées par l'alinéa 178(1)e)

Certains créanciers ou leurs représentants s'efforcent de recouvrer des montants d'argent qui, selon eux, sont visés par l'alinéa 178(1)e) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI). En vertu de cet alinéa, l'ordonnance de libération ne dégage pas le failli de ses dettes ou obligations résultant de l'obtention de biens par des fausses représentations ou des présentations erronées et frauduleuses des faits. Cette situation se présente généralement lorsqu'un failli a effectué un achat important par carte de crédit peu de temps avant de déposer une cession de faillite. Le créancier prétend que le débiteur savait vraisemblablement au moment de l'achat qu'il était insolvable et qu'il ne pourrait pas s'acquitter de son obligation envers le créancier.

En général, le créancier ou son représentant envoie au failli, au cours de la faillite, une « lettre d'avertissement » pour lui annoncer son intention de demander au tribunal de produire une déclaration de représentation frauduleuse si le failli n'est pas disposé à rembourser de son plein gré le montant dû. La lettre précise que des procédures juridiques seront intentées une fois le syndic et le failli libérés, si le failli ne rembourse pas le montant dû. Le présent exposé de principe vise particulièrement les cas où la lettre est envoyée au failli (qui est libéré ou qui doit l'être) avant la libération du syndic.

Divers intervenants mettent en doute le caractère déontologique de cette pratique de recouvrement, car elle semble contrevenir à la politique publique du « nouveau départ » inhérente au système d'insolvabilité. Le BSF a conclu que la LFI donne aux créanciers la possibilité de demander réparation en obtenant une ordonnance d'un tribunal civil octroyant une exemption de libération de dette au titre de l'alinéa 178(1)e), dans la mesure où les créanciers se conforment aux exigences de la loi. Toutefois, il est d'avis que l'envoi d'une lettre d'avertissement au failli avant la libération du syndic contrevient à la disposition sur la suspension des procédures prévue au paragraphe 69.3(1).

Le BSF a fait état de sa position par écrit aux créanciers ou à leurs représentants connus qui avaient utilisé cette pratique de recouvrement, dans l'espoir qu'ils acceptent de modifier volontairement leur façon de faire pour respecter la loi. Toutefois, le BSF a indiqué qu'il prendra dans le cas contraire les mesures requises pour protéger l'intégrité du système d'insolvabilité. Jusqu'à maintenant, un des créanciers visés a fait savoir qu'il avait modifié ses procédures de recouvrement pour se conformer à la position du BSF, ajoutant que de nombreux syndics étaient en faveur de ces mesures dans les cas d'utilisation abusive du crédit.

Si des intervenants ou des débiteurs savent que des mesures de recouvrement illégales de ce type ont été mises en œuvre après la publication du présent exposé de principe, ils sont priés de communiquer avec le bureau de division du BSF compétent pour lui donner des renseignements détaillés.

Les syndics peuvent contribuer à mieux informer les faillis en signalant dès l'évaluation les dettes les plus susceptibles de donner lieu à de telles mesures de la part d'un créancier.

Date de modification :