Directions to the Royal Bank of Canada

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

In the matter of: Douglas Jon Kovack


Directions for Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas Douglas Jon Kovack (the trustee) is the holder of an individual license as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas a Practice Review commenced in November of 2008 has revealed a number of banking and financial deficiencies detailed below;

Whereas the trustee has failed to comply with the provisions of Directive 5R2, Estate Funds and Banking, which sets out the minimum standards for the accounting for and proper custody of estate trust funds, particularly by:

  • failing to maintain up-to-date books and records showing all disbursements and receipts of estate funds.;
  • failing to maintain complete banking records for estate accounts.

Whereas the trustee has failed to comply with the provisions of Directive 8, Unclaimed Dividends and Undistributed Funds, which sets out guidelines for the distribution of undistributed funds, particularly by:

  • failing to distribute funds in the estate accounts for seventeen closed estates.

Whereas the trustee has since January 22, 2008 failed to maintain professional liability insurance coverage which is a condition of maintaining his trustee license and performing professional engagements per the provisions of Directive 13R, Trustee Licensing.

Whereas I believe on reasonable grounds that the estates require protection;

Whereas the Superintendent may, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstances referred to in section 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with section 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at section 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in section 14.03(2)(b), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of section 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act;

I, Darrin Ulley, in my capacity as delegate for the Superintendent, direct the Royal Bank of Canada (245 Ouellette Avenue, Windsor, Ontario, N9A 7J2) that, pursuant to section 14.03(1)(b) and (c) of the Act:

  1. it consider, upon receipt of the present directions, Kyla Nauman, an employee of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, as the only authorized co-signatory as relate to any operations of the funds credited to the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Douglas Jon Kovack;
  2. it make no debit, payment or transfer of funds credited to, or which ought to have been credited to, the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Douglas Jon Kovack without the countersignature of Kyla Nauman;
  3. it not pay out of these accounts: cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments, issued before the receipt of these directions which are presented for payment after the receipt of these directions, without these cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments being countersigned by Kyla Nauman;
  4. it submit all statement of accounts, accepted cheques and other documents or information having to do with the above-mentioned estate trust bank accounts, to Kyla Nauman, Senior Bankruptcy Analyst, Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, 303 – 451 Talbot Street, London, Ontario, N6A 5C9;

That these directions take effect immediately and will stay in place until such time as the undersigned is satisfied that the estates no longer require protection;

That in accordance with section 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind the Royal Bank of Canada, which must comply with them;

That, pursuant to section 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with this direction is not liable for any act done by that person only to comply with this direction.

Signed at the City of Hamilton, Ontario, this 28th day of November, 2008

Darrin Ulley
Assistant Superintendent,
Trustee Compliance

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Instructions à l'intention de la Banque Royale du Canada

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Dans l'affaire : Douglas Jon Kovack


Instructions de mesures conservatoires
(Article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi) attribue au surintendant des faillites (le surintendant) un pouvoir général de surveillance des actifs et des affaires régis par la Loi;

Considérant que Douglas Jon Kovack (le syndic) est titulaire d'une licence individuelle de syndic de faillite;

Considérant qu'un examen de la pratique entrepris en novembre 2008 a mis en lumière les multiples lacunes au chapitre des opérations bancaires et financières énumérées ci-après;

Considérant que le syndic n'a pas respecté les dispositions de l'instruction no 5R2, Fonds de l'actif et procédures bancaires, qui établit les normes minimales régissant l'administration et la garde adéquate des fonds en fiducie de l'actif, c'est-à-dire :

  • n'a pas conservé les livres et les registres jour, y compris le registre de contrôle des fonds de l'actif;
  • n'a pas conservé des registres bancaires complets pour les comptes d'actifs.

Considérant que le syndic n'a pas respecté les dispositions de l'instruction no 8, Dividendes non réclamés et fonds non distribués, qui énonce les directives concernant la distribution des fonds non distribués, c'est-à-dire :

  • n'a pas distribué les fonds dans les comptes d'actifs liés dix-sept (17) dossiers d'actifs fermés.

Considérant que le syndic ne détient pas, depuis le 22 janvier 2008, une protection d'assurance responsabilité suffisante, comme il est tenu de le faire pour maintenir sa licence de syndic et exercer ses activités professionnelles, conformément à l'instruction no 13R, Délivrance des licences de syndic.

Considérant que j'ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les actifs doivent être sauvegardés;

Considérant que le surintendant peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs visés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant m'a délégué, conformément au paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, les attributions que lui confère le paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi dans les circonstances visées à l'alinéa 14.03(2)a), une copie de ladite délégation ainsi que des copies des articles 14.01,14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi étant jointes aux présentes;

Je soussigné, Darrin Ulley, en ma qualité de délégué du surintendant, donne instruction à la succursale de la Banque Royale du Canada (située au 245, avenue Ouellette, Windsor (Ontario)  N9A 7J2) en vertu des alinéas 14.03(1)b) et c) de la Loi :

  1. de considérer, à compter de la réception des présentes instructions, Kyla Nauman, une employée du Bureau du surintendant des faillites, comme étant la seule cosignataire autorisée relativement aux opérations sur les fonds déposés au crédit des actifs de faillite et de proposition sous l'administration de Douglas Jon Kovack;
  2. de ne faire aucun débit, paiement ni transfert sur les fonds déposés au crédit, ou qui auraient dû être déposés au crédit, des actifs de faillite et de proposition sous l'administration de Douglas Jon Kovack, sans que lesdits chèques, débits, paiements ou transferts ne soient contresignés par Kyla Nauman;
  3. de ne payer à même lesdits comptes aucun chèque, effet de commerce, traite bancaire ou autres, émis avant la réception des présentes mais qui seraient présentés pour paiement après réception des présentes, sans que lesdits chèques, effets de commerce, traites bancaires ou autres ne soient contresignés par Kyla Nauman;
  4. de fournir tout état de compte, chèque accepté et autre document et renseignement se rapportant aux comptes bancaires d'actifs en fiducie susmentionnés Kyla Nauman, analyste principale des faillites, Bureau du surintendant des faillites, 451, rue Talbot, bureau 303, London (Ontario) N6A 5C9;

Les présentes instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le demeureront jusqu'à ce que j'estime que les actifs ne nécessitent plus de protection;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient la Banque Royale du Canada, qui est tenue de s'y conformer;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Et j'ai signé à Hamilton, en Ontario, ce 28 novembre 2008.

Darrin Ulley
Surintendant adjoint des faillites,
Conformité des syndics

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :