Illegal Soliciting Activity and Rule 49 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees

It has been brought to our attention that a company operating out of Edmonton called Canada Debt Leads (CDL) is using the Internet to collect data on financially troubled individuals (or "leads") and then soliciting their data to insolvency practitioners for a fee. It is then up to the insolvency practitioners to contact the leads to see if they would like to seek protection under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

It is the position of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) that CDL's data collection and soliciting activity is an offence under paragraph 202(1)(f) of the BIA. We have asked the company to cease their practice immediately.

The purpose of this notice is to advise you of our position on this kind of activity and to remind you about Rule 49 of the Code of Ethics for Trustees, which states the following:

Trustees shall not, directly or indirectly, pay to a third party a commission, compensation or other benefit in order to obtain a professional engagement or accept, directly or indirectly from a third party, a commission, compensation or other benefit for referring work relating to a professional engagement.

To our knowledge, CDL has only contacted trustees in the Edmonton area. Regardless, we ask that you communicate with the OSB office nearest you if you are contacted by the company.

Kind regards,

James Callon
Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Date modified:

Activités illégales de sollicitation et règle 49 du Code de déontologie des syndics

Le 5 février 2010

Il a été porté à notre attention qu'une entreprise appelée Canada Debt Leads (CDL), située à Edmonton, utilise Internet pour recueillir des renseignements sur des personnes ayant des difficultés financières, puis offre ces renseignements à des professionnels de l'insolvabilité moyennant des frais. Il revient ensuite aux professionnels de l'insolvabilité de communiquer avec les personnes en difficulté pour leur demander si elles veulent se placer sous la protection de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) considère que ces activités de collecte de renseignements et de sollicitation constituent une infraction à l'alinéa 202(1)f) de la LFI. Nous avons demandé à l'entreprise de mettre immédiatement un terme à ces activités.

Le présent avis a pour but de vous informer de notre position à l'égard de ce type d'activité et de vous rappeler la règle 49 du Code de déontologie des syndics, qui se lit comme suit :

Le syndic ne verse, ni directement ni indirectement, de commission, de rémunération ou d'autre avantage à un tiers en vue d'exercer une activité professionnelle et il n'accepte, ni directement ni indirectement, le versement par un tiers d'une commission, d'une rémunération ou de tout autre avantage pour lui avoir confié un travail lié à une activité professionnelle.

À notre connaissance, CDL a communiqué uniquement avec des syndics situés dans la région d'Edmonton. Néanmoins, si l'entreprise communique avec vous, nous vous demandons d'en aviser le bureau du BSF le plus près.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

James Callon
Surintendant des faillites

Date de modification :