Directions for Conservatory Measures

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of: Domenic A. Giustini


Directions for Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas Domenic A. Giustini (the Trustee) is the holder of an individual license as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas a practice review conducted between January 6 to 15, 2010, identified numerous deficiencies in the reconciliation of the consolidated accounts of the Trustee, specifically that:

  • the June 2009 bankruptcy account identified GST returns had been returned to 22 individual debtors. The bank statement showed these cheques as clearing but the cancelled cheques were missing;
  • the August 2009 bankruptcy account indicated that stale-dated cheques representing unclaimed dividends and unclaimed GST refunds were cleared from the account that month but the cancelled cheques were missing;
  • an individual account was debited $114.11 for bank deposit books, but this estate had only one deposit; and
  • a Division 1 Proposal which was refused indicated a $1000.00 deposit had been received, but the estate account was not opened until well after the refusal of the proposal and did not have a deposit of $1000.00.

Whereas the Finance section of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) reported that they had not received any such unclaimed dividends and undistributed assets from the Trustee.

Whereas at a meeting on January 29, 2010 officials of the OSB presented the findings of the practice review to the Trustee. OSB officials reviewed the practice report with the Trustee and required the Trustee to produce the missing cheques by the end of the business day on Monday, February 1, 2010 and respond to the allegations in the practice report by February 28, 2010.

Whereas the Trustee met with Glen Schmid, Senior Bankruptcy Analyst, Trustee Compliance, and Bill Webster, Senior Bankruptcy Analyst, Trustee Compliance, on February 1, 2010. At this meeting the Trustee informed the OSB officials that he had diverted the funds to his own account by having the cheques made payable to himself. The Trustee provided photocopies of the cheques, dated from October 26, 2008 through October 20, 2009. The Trustee also provided copies of 114 cheques made out to the individuals for their GST refunds. The Trustee also provided a copy of the submission of the unclaimed dividends and undistributed funds that he had made.

Whereas OSB officials have identified the diversion of $37,010.77 from trust accounts;

Whereas I believe on reasonable grounds that the estates require protection;

Whereas the Superintendent may, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstances referred to in section 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with section 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at section 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in section 14.03(2), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act;

Whereas paragraphs 14.03(1)(c) and 14.03(2)(b) of the Act apply;

I, Fred Sheeler, in my capacity as delegate for the Superintendent,

Direct The Bank of Nova Scotia, St. Georges Square Branch, 83 Wyndham Street North, Guelph, Ontario, N1H 4E9;

  1. To consider, upon receipt of the present directions Bill Webster or Glenn Schmid, employees of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, as the only two authorized co-signatories as relates to any operations on the funds credited to the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Domenic A. Giustini;
  2. to make no debit and/or payment and/or transfers on funds credited or ought to have been credited to the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Domenic A. Giustini without the countersignature of Bill Webster or Glenn Schmid;
  3. to not pay, out of these accounts, cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments, issued before the receipt of these directions which are presented for payment after the receipt of these directions without these cheques, bills of exchange or drafts or other instruments being countersigned by Bill Webster or Glenn Schmid;

That these directions take effect immediately and will remain in effect until such time as the undersigned is satisfied that they are no longer required;

That in accordance with section 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind the addressee, who must comply with them;

That, pursuant to section 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with this direction is not liable for any act done by that person only to comply with this direction.

Signed at the City of London, Ontario, this 8th day of February, 2010.

Space to insert signature
Fred Sheeler
Assistant Superintendent
Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Instructions de mesures conservatoires

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire de : Domenic A. Giustini


Instructions de mesures conservatoires
(article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi) attribue au surintendant des faillites (le surintendant) le pouvoir général de contrôler l'administration des actifs et des affaires régis par la Loi;

Considérant que Domenic A. Giustini (le syndic) est titulaire d'une licence individuelle de syndic de faillite;

Considérant qu'un examen de la pratique effectué entre les 6 et 15 janvier 2010 a mis en lumière de multiples lacunes dans le rapprochement des comptes consolidés du syndic, plus précisément :

  • En juin 2009, le compte de faillite montrait que des montants de TPS ont été retournés à 22 débiteurs particuliers. Selon le relevé bancaire, les montants des chèques ont été débités, mais les chèques oblitérés étaient manquants;
  • En août 2009, le compte de faillite montrait que les montants de chèques périmés relatifs à des dividendes non réclamés et des remboursements de TPS non réclamés ont été débités ce mois-là du compte, mais les chèques oblitérés étaient manquants;
  • Dans un compte distinct, on relève un débit de 114,11 $ pour des livrets bancaires, mais un seul dépôt a été fait dans ce compte d'actifs;
  • une proposition faite en vertu de la section I qui a été refusée faisait état d'un dépôt de 1000 $; or, le compte d'actifs n'a été ouvert qu'après le refus de la proposition et le dépôt de 1000 $ n'y figurait pas.

Considérant que la section des finances du Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) a indiqué qu'elle n'a reçu aucun dividende non réclamé ni d'actif non distribué du syndic.

Considérant que lors d'une rencontre tenue le 29 janvier 2010, des représentants du BSF ont présenté au syndic les conclusions de l'examen des pratiques. Les représentants du BSF ont examiné le rapport sur la pratique avec le syndic et exigé qu'il produise les chèques manquants avant la fermeture des bureaux le lundi 1er février 2010, et qu'il réponde, au plus tard le 28 février 2010, aux allégations formulées dans le rapport sur la pratique.

Considérant que le syndic a rencontré Glen Schmid, analyste principal des faillites, Conformité des syndics, et Bill Webster, analyste principal des faillites, Conformité des syndics, le 1er février 2010. Lors de cette rencontre, le syndic a informé les représentants du BSF qu'il avait transféré les fonds dans son compte personnel en émettant des chèques à son ordre. Le syndic a aussi fourni des copies de 114 chèques libellé à l'ordre de particuliers pour leurs remboursements de TPS et remis une copie de la demande relative aux dividendes non réclamés et aux fonds non distribués qu'il avait faite.

Considérant que les représentants du BSF ont constaté un détournement de 37 010,77 $ des comptes en fiducie;

Considérant que j'ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les actifs ont besoin d'être protégés;

Considérant que le surintendant peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs visés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant m'a délégué, en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, les attributions du surintendant énoncées au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2), et que copie de la délégation et des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi est jointe aux présentes;

Considérant que les alinéas 14.03(1)c) et 14.03(2)b) de la Loi s'appliquent;

Je, soussigné Fred Sheeler, en ma qualité de délégué du surintendant,

Donne instruction à la succursale de La Banque de Nouvelle-Écosse, située au St. Georges Square, 83, rue Wyndham Nord, Guelph (Ontario), N1H 4E9;

  1. de considérer, à compter de la réception des présentes instructions, Bill Webster ou Glenn Schmid, employés du Bureau du surintendant des faillites, comme étant les deux seuls cosignataires autorisés relativement aux opérations sur les fonds déposés au crédit des actifs de faillite et de propositions administrés par Domenic A. Giustini;
  2. de ne faire aucun débit, paiement ou transfert sur les fonds déposés ou devant être au crédit des actifs de faillite et de propositions sous l'administration de Domenic A. Giustini sans avoir obtenu la signature de Bill Webster ou de Glenn Schmid;
  3. de ne payer de ces comptes aucun effet de commerce, chèque, traite bancaire ou autre instrument de ce type, émis antérieurement à la réception des présentes mais qui seraient présentés pour paiement postérieurement à la réception des présentes, sans que lesdits chèques, effets de commerce, traites bancaires ou autres ne soient signés par Bill Webster ou Glenn Schmid;

Étant donné que les présentes instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le demeurent jusqu'à ce que le soussigné estime qu'elles ne sont plus nécessaires;

Qu'aux termes du paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient leur destinataire, qui est tenu de s'y conformer;

Qu'aux termes du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Signé en la ville de London (Ontario), le 8 février 2010

champ de saisie de la signature
Fred Sheeler
Surintendant adjoint
Bureau du surintendant des faillites

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :