Monthly Trust Account Reconciliation

Context

In light of the recent, substantial drop in interest rates, most trustees' trust accounts are no longer earning interest. Prior to this decline, interest earned on a trust account meant that there was at least one transaction per month on the account, and a bank statement was issued. Currently, however, some financial institutions do not issue a monthly statement when there has been no activity on the account. This means that trustees are not receiving a bank statement upon which to base their monthly trust account reconciliation.

Question

Is the trustee required to complete a monthly trust account reconciliation, as instructed by Directive No. 5R4, Estate Funds and Banking, at subparagraph 4(3), even if the financial institution administering the account has not issued a bank statement due to a lack of activity on the account?

Analysis

Pursuant to section 25 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA), "a trustee shall, without delay, deposit in a bank all funds received for an estate in a separate trust account for each estate." When a trustee opens a trust account within a financial institution, he/she establishes with the institution details and parameters regarding the account, including fees associated with the account.

Directive No. 5R4 provides the trustee and/or administrator with instructions on how to carry out their duties with respect to the administration of estate funds. Paragraph 2 of Directive No. 5R4 "imposes upon a trustee the minimum standards for the accounting for and the proper custody of estate trust funds."

Subparagraph 4(1) of Directive No. 5R4 maintains that the trustee has a fiduciary relationship with an estate under his/her administration and, as such, has a duty to control and account for the funds under his/her administration in accordance with the BIA. Subparagraph 4(3) of Directive No. 5R4 expressly states that, "The trustee shall complete and sign the reconciliation of all trust accounts, monthly, within forty-five (45) days of the bank statement date" (emphasis added). There is no exception to this requirement, which also falls under the trustee's general statutory obligation to keep proper books and records of the administration of each estate to which he/she is appointed (subparagraph 26(1) of the BIA).

A trust account reconciliation completed by a trustee in the bankruptcy and insolvency context is a process that ensures that the trustee's records and the financial institution's records accurately reflect the amount of money in the trust account (after taking into account uncashed cheques, bank errors, posting errors, delayed deposits, etc.). A proper trust account reconciliation provides the trustee (and the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB)) with some assurance that there have not been any errors in the handling of funds in the trust account. Specifically, a trust account reconciliation is completed to:

  • confirm that current account balances match balances shown on the previous bank statement;
  • confirm deposit transactions that occurred in the account;
  • update the list of outstanding cheques; and
  • avoid any fraudulent activity on the account.

Subparagraph 4(5)(a) of Directive No. 5R4 provides that "Each monthly trust account reconciliation must be supported by an original detailed monthly bank statement for each trust account, supported by cancelled cheques and deposit receipts" (emphasis added). In spite of this, the OSB is aware that some financial institutions do not automatically issue a monthly bank statement for months during which there has been no activity on the account. However, the OSB has been informed that it is possible for a trustee to request from his/her financial institution a bank statement for any month regardless of the activity on the account. Some financial institutions may charge a minimum fee for this service.

Conclusion

Based on the foregoing, trustees must complete a monthly trust account reconciliation for the trust account(s) opened for each estate to which they are appointed, regardless of the activity on the account(s) and regardless of their financial institution' practice with respect to issuing monthly bank statements.

Where a financial institution has a policy of not issuing a bank statement when there has been no activity on the account, the OSB expects the trustee to proceed as follows:

1. Determine if there is an option to receive monthly bank statements from the financial institution, regardless of the activity on the account. If there is a cost for doing so, the trustee may pay the fee from the estate.

2. If no option exists for obtaining a monthly bank statement, the trustee must obtain a printout of the trust account balance and reconcile that balance with the balance shown on the previous bank statement.

The OSB consulted with the Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals on this issue, and they support this conclusion.

Date modified:

Conciliation mensuelle des comptes en fiducie

Le

Contexte

Étant donné la récente baisse substantielle des taux d'intérêt, la plupart des comptes en fiducie des syndics ne génèrent plus d'intérêts. Avant cette baisse, les intérêts générés par un compte en fiducie faisaient en sorte qu'il y avait au moins une transaction par mois dans le compte et qu'un relevé bancaire était émis. Cependant, comme certaines institutions financières n'émettent pas de relevé mensuel en l'absence d'activité dans le compte, les syndics ne reçoivent pas de relevé bancaire pouvant servir de base à la conciliation mensuelle de leur compte en fiducie.

Question

Le syndic est-il tenu de faire la conciliation mensuelle du compte en fiducie, comme le prévoit le paragraphe 4(3) de l'instruction no 5R4, Les fonds de l'actif et procédures bancaires, même si l'institution financière avec lequel il fait affaire n'a pas émis de relevé bancaire en raison de l'absence d'activité dans le compte?

Analyse

Conformément à l'article 25 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI), « le syndic dépose sans délai dans une banque tous les fonds reçus pour le compte de chaque actif dans un compte en fiducie ou en fidéicommis distinct ». Lorsqu'il ouvre un compte en fiducie dans une institution financière, le syndic détermine avec elle les détails et paramètres relatifs au compte, y compris les frais qui y sont associés.

L'instruction no 5R4 donne au syndic et/ou à l'administrateur des instructions sur la façon d'exécuter ses fonctions touchant l'administration des fonds de l'actif. Le paragraphe 2 de l'instruction no 5R4 « impose au syndic des normes minimales pour la comptabilité et la protection adéquate des fonds en fiducie de l'actif ».

Le paragraphe 4(1) de l'instruction no 5R4 précise qu'il existe une relation de fiduciaire entre un syndic et un actif et que le syndic a donc le devoir de contrôler les fonds sous son administration et d'en rendre compte conformément à la LFI. Le paragraphe 4(3) de la même instruction énonce expressément que « Chaque mois, le syndic doit concilier tous les comptes en fiducie et apposer sa signature sur le rapport de conciliation dans les quarante-cinq (45) jours de la date du relevé bancaire » (c'est nous qui soulignons). Aucune exception n'est prévue à cette exigence, qui découle aussi de l'obligation générale du syndic de tenir des livres et registres convenables de l'administration de chaque actif auquel il est commis (paragraphe 26[1] de la LFI).

La conciliation du compte en fiducie effectuée par le syndic dans les dossiers de faillite et d'insolvabilité permet de s'assurer que les registres du syndic et ceux de l'institution financière reflètent avec exactitude le solde du compte en fiducie (après prise en compte des chèques à encaisser, des erreurs bancaires, des erreurs de report, des dépôts en retard, etc.). Une conciliation appropriée donne au syndic (et au Bureau du surintendant des faillites [BSF]) une certaine assurance qu'aucune erreur n'a été commise dans le traitement des fonds du compte en fiducie. En effet, la conciliation est effectuée pour :

  • confirmer que le solde actuel du compte concorde avec celui figurant sur le relevé bancaire précédent;
  • confirmer les opérations de dépôt effectuées dans le compte;
  • mettre à jour la liste des chèques en circulation;
  • éviter toute activité frauduleuse dans le compte.

En vertu de l'alinéa 4(5)a) de l'instruction no 5R4, « Chaque conciliation mensuelle d'un compte en fiducie doit être appuyée par l'original d'un relevé bancaire mensuel détaillé pour chaque compte en fiducie accompagné des chèques payés et des reçus de dépôts » (c'est nous qui soulignons). Cela dit, le BSF est conscient du fait que certaines institutions financières n'émettent pas systématiquement de relevé bancaire pour les mois où il n'y a eu aucune transaction dans le compte. Le BSF a toutefois été informé que le syndic pouvait demander à son institution financière d'émettre systématiquement un relevé bancaire mensuel quel que le soit le niveau d'activité du compte. Certaines institutions peuvent exiger des frais minimaux pour ce service.

Conclusion

Étant donné ce qui précède, le syndic doit procéder chaque mois à la conciliation de tous les comptes en fiducie des actifs pour lesquels il a été nommé, quels que soient le niveau d'activité du compte et la politique de son institution financière concernant l'émission des relevés bancaires mensuels.

Si l'institution a pour politique de ne pas émettre de relevé bancaire en l'absence d'activité dans le compte, le BSF s'attend à ce que le syndic procède comme suit :

1. Le syndic doit déterminer si l'institution financière peut lui envoyer des relevés bancaires mensuels quel que soit le niveau d'activité du compte. Si l'institution exige des frais pour ce service, le syndic peut les payer à même l'actif.

2. S'il n'est pas possible de recevoir des relevés bancaires mensuels, le syndic doit obtenir une copie imprimée du solde du compte en fiducie et vérifier qu'il concorde avec celui figurant sur le relevé précédent.

Le BSF a consulté l'Association canadienne des professionnels de l'insolvabilité et de la réorganisation sur ce point, qui appuie cette conclusion.

Date de modification :