Section 178 Claim

PDF version


I, (name of bankrupt), hereby acknowledge having been advised by my trustee (name of trustee) or his/her representative (name of administrator), that the following debt:

  • Description of debt. For example, my student loan debt.

may not be discharged by my order of discharge for the following reason(s):

  • Description of reason(s) why debt will not be released. For example, I graduated (finished or abandoned my studies) four years ago and paragraph 178(1)(g) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) applies if the bankruptcy was filed within seven years after the date on which I ceased to be a full- or part-time student.

I recognize that interest on this particular debt will continue to accrue during my bankruptcy.

Considering this and recognizing that I am under no obligation to make any payments toward this debt until the day on which my trustee is discharged (as per subsections 69.3(1) and 69.3(1.1) of the BIA) or, if required, a successful application under section 178 is made, I nevertheless voluntarily agree to make payments toward this debt during the course of my bankruptcy in order to mitigate the amount of debt that may be outstanding on the day of my trustee’s discharge.

I confirm that this document is not an admission of any wrongdoing on my part and cannot be used against me in any proceeding in relation to this particular debt. The advice provided by my trustee or his/her representative is based solely on the information provided by me and/or the creditor involved.

Dated at space to insert city, this space to insert day day of space to insert month, 20space to insert year

space to insert signature of trustee
Signature of Trustee
space to insert signature of debtor
   Signature of Debtor

Date modified:

Réclamation prévue à l'article 178


Je (nom du failli) reconnais avoir été informé par mon syndic (nom du syndic) ou son représentant (nom de l'administrateur) que la dette suivante :

  • Description de la dette. Par exemple, ma dette découlant d'un prêt étudiant.

ne peut être libérée par mon ordonnance de libération pour les raisons suivantes :

  • Description des raisons pour lesquelles la dette ne peut être libérée. Par exemple, j'ai obtenu mon diplôme (ou j'ai achevé ou abandonné mes études) il y a quatre ans, et l'alinéa 178(1)g) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI) s'applique compte tenu du fait que la faillite est survenue dans les sept ans suivant la date à laquelle j'ai cessé d'être un étudiant à temps plein ou à temps partiel.

Je reconnais que cette dette particulière continuera de porter intérêt durant ma faillite.

Étant donné ce qui précède, et conscient du fait que je n'ai aucune obligation d'effectuer des paiements à l'égard de cette dette jusqu'au jour de la libération de mon syndic (conformément aux paragraphes 69.3(1) et 69.3(1.1) de la LFI) ou, s'il y a lieu, jusqu'à ce qu'une décision d'un tribunal confirme l'application de l'article 178, je conviens néanmoins, de mon plein gré, de verser des paiements relativement à cette dette durant ma faillite afin de réduire le montant de la dette non remboursée le jour où mon syndic sera libéré.

Je confirme que le présent document ne constitue pas une admission de mauvaise conduite de ma part, et il ne peut être utilisé contre moi dans le cadre de toute procédure relative à cette dette en particulier. L'avis formulé par mon syndic ou son représentant est fondé uniquement sur l'information que je lui ai fournie ou qui lui a été fournie par le créancier concerné.

Daté le champ de saisie de la date, à champ de saisie de la ville

champ de saisie de la signature du syndic
Signature du syndic
champ de saisie de la signature du débiteur
   Signature du débiteur

Date de modification :