Monthly Income and Expense Statements

Issue:

Paragraph 3 of Directive No. 11R2, Surplus Income, requires the bankrupt to provide the trustee with monthly income and expense statements for the entire period of bankruptcy in order to determine whether or not the bankrupt has surplus income. However, it has come to the attention of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) that this paragraph of the Directive has been interpreted differently across Canada by both trustees and OSB staff.

Analysis:

Several trustees use different approaches with good justifications and report good results. For example, some trustees are not asking the debtor for a monthly income and expense statement in situations where the debtor is an elderly person receiving a Canada Pension Plan (CPP) retirement pension and/or an Old Age Security (OAS) pension as these benefits generally constitute regular monthly income. Even when the income received seems regular and steady, the debtor is advised to contact the trustee in the event of a material change in his or her financial situation.

Conclusion:

The OSB has decided to apply a practical approach to the interpretation of this requirement. Trustees must use their professional judgment in exercising their duty to apply due diligence when determining the bankrupt's average monthly income. The trustee's file should clearly document the method by which they have appropriately calculated the amount, if any, the bankrupt is required to pay to the estate. Consequently, the OSB will not intervene in the administration of these files, unless it becomes clear that the trustee has not fulfilled their duties and obligations.

Date modified:

États mensuels des revenus et des dépenses

Le

Objet :

D'après le paragraphe 3 de l'instruction no 11R2, Revenu excédentaire, le failli est tenu de fournir au syndic des états mensuels des revenus et des dépenses pour la période entière de la faillite afin que le syndic détermine si le failli a ou non un revenu excédentaire. Toutefois, il a été signalé au Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) que ce paragraphe de l'instruction est interprété différemment à l'échelle du Canada tant par les syndics que par le personnel du BSF.

Analyse :

Plusieurs syndics emploient des approches différentes fondées sur de bonnes justifications et signalent de bons résultats. Par exemple, certains syndics ne demandent pas au débiteur de produire un état mensuel des revenus et des dépenses dans les cas où le débiteur est une personne âgée qui reçoit une pension de retraite du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) et/ou une pension de la Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV), car ces prestations constituent généralement un revenu mensuel régulier. Même lorsque le revenu reçu semble régulier et fixe, on recommande au débiteur de communiquer avec le syndic s'il se produit un changement important dans sa situation financière.

Conclusion :

Le BSF a décidé d'appliquer une approche pratique à l'interprétation de cette exigence. Les syndics doivent exercer leur jugement professionnel pour s'acquitter de leur obligation de diligence raisonnable lorsqu'ils déterminent le revenu mensuel moyen du failli. Le syndic doit clairement consigner au dossier la méthode utilisée pour calculer avec exactitude le montant, s'il y a lieu, que le failli doit verser à l'actif. En conséquence, le BSF n'interviendra pas dans l'administration de ces dossiers, sauf s'il devient clair que le syndic ne s'est pas acquitté de ses tâches et de ses obligations.

Date de modification :