Multiple Assignments by Undischarged Bankrupts

It has come to the attention of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) that a number of undischarged bankrupts are filing assignments.

This is contrary to the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA), which, at subsection 49(1), states that "An insolvent person … may make an assignment of all of the insolvent person's property for the general benefit of the insolvent person's creditors" (emphasis added). Section 2 of the BIA defines an "insolvent person" as "a person who is not bankrupt …" (emphasis added). As such, a bankrupt who is undischarged from bankruptcy is not eligible to make an assignment under subsection 49(1) of the BIA.

Multiple assignments by the same debtor can be avoided if trustees routinely conduct a "Name Search" with the OSB prior to filing a new assignment, as instructed on the "New Filing" page in the e-filing system. By conducting a name search, trustees can verify whether or not a debtor is currently in bankruptcy.

Trustees can use the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Records service free of charge. They must first register and open an account with the OSB. Once registered and in receipt of a client number, trustees are required to call the OSB at 1-866-941-2863 in order to link their client number with their Registered Industry Canada Username (this confirms that the trustee is a "non payable" client).

Where an assignment is made by an undischarged bankrupt, the responsible trustee must immediately take steps to correct the situation. This is typically done by applying to court for an annulment of the subsequent assignment.

Date modified:

Cessions multiples par des faillis non libérés

Le

Il a été porté à l'attention du Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) que plusieurs faillis non libérés font des cessions.

Cette pratique contrevient à l'article 49(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI), selon lequel « Une personne insolvable […] peut faire une cession de tous ses biens au profit de ses créanciers en général » (nous soulignons). À l'article 2 de la LFI, une « personne insolvable » est définie comme étant une « personne qui n'est pas en faillite » (nous soulignons). Par conséquent, un failli qui n'a pas été libéré de sa faillite ne peut déposer aucune nouvelle cession en vertu de l'article 49(1) de la LFI.

Les syndics peuvent empêcher les cessions multiples de la part d'un même débiteur en effectuant régulièrement une « Recherche de nom » sur le site du BSF avant de déposer une nouvelle cession, suivant les instructions indiquées à la page « Nouveau dossier » du système de dépôt électronique. Ce faisant, les syndics peuvent vérifier si un débiteur est actuellement en faillite.

Le registre des dossiers de faillite et d'insolvabilité est offert gratuitement aux syndics. Ces derniers doivent tout d'abord s'inscrire et ouvrir un compte auprès du BSF. Une fois inscrits et en possession d'un numéro de client, les syndics doivent téléphoner au BSF au 1-866-941-2863, qui se chargera de faire correspondre le numéro de client avec leur Nom d'utilisateur d'Industrie Canada, ce qui leur donnera l'accès gratuit au service.

Lorsqu'une cession est faite par un failli non libéré, le syndic responsable doit y remédier immédiatement. En général, il présente à cette fin au tribunal une demande d'annulation de la cession subséquente.

Date de modification :