You Owe Money—
Rights and Responsibilities of Creditors, Licensed Insolvency Trustees and the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB)

Creditors

A creditor can oppose a bankrupt's discharge from bankruptcy. The grounds for opposition are set out in section 173 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA). The creditor must notify the Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) and the bankrupt of his/her opposition and the reasons for it, and must present evidence to the Court to support his/her arguments. In such cases, after hearing the parties, the Court will decide on the type of discharge for the bankrupt. Learn more about bankruptcy discharge and its consequences for the bankrupt

A creditor may also inform the LIT of any inappropriate transactions or preferential treatment on the part of the bankrupt that harmed his/her interests and those of other creditors. For example, a creditor may have knowledge of assets or transactions that the bankrupt failed to declare.

If a creditor suspects misconduct on the part of the bankrupt or fraudulent activities in connection with a bankruptcy file, he/she should contact the OSB at the following toll-free number: 1-877-376-9902.

Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LITs)

About Licensed Insolvency Trustees

If an LIT observes that a bankrupt is not respecting the law, the LIT:

  • Must report to the OSB that he/she has reason to believe that an offence has been committed by the bankrupt;
  • Must analyze preferential payments made by the bankrupt;
  • May ask the Court to make a ruling on the bankrupt's transactions;
  • Must prepare a report, at the time of the bankrupt's discharge, dealing in particular with the bankrupt's conduct and how the bankrupt fulfilled his/her obligations;
  • May oppose the bankrupt's discharge.

Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy

The OSB conducts an investigation when it has reasonable grounds to believe that an offence has been committed in the context of a bankruptcy. The investigation deals with the bankrupt's conduct and transactions, the causes of the bankruptcy, and what became of the bankrupt's property. Investigations are conducted by one of the OSB's three special investigation units or by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

In addition, the OSB can oppose a bankrupt's discharge if it believes that the bankrupt has committed an act of misconduct within the meaning of the BIA.

Date modified:

Vous devez de l’argent —
Droits et responsabilités des créanciers, des syndics autorisés en insolvabilité et du Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF)

Créanciers

En cas de faillite, un créancier peut s'opposer à la libération d'un failli. Les motifs d'opposition sont mentionnés à l'article 173 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI). Le créancier doit prévenir le syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) et le failli de son opposition et de ses motifs, et doit présenter au tribunal des preuves à l'appui de ses arguments. En pareil cas, après avoir entendu les parties, le tribunal décidera du type de libération du failli. En apprendre davantage sur la libération de la faillite et ses conséquences pour le failli

Un créancier peut également informer le SAI de toute transaction inappropriée ou de tout traitement préférentiel fait par le failli et ayant nui à ses intérêts et à ceux des autres créanciers. Par exemple, un créancier pourrait avoir connaissance de biens ou de transactions que le failli n'a pas déclarés.

Si un créancier soupçonne des manquements dans la conduite du failli ou des activités frauduleuses en relation avec un dossier de faillite, il peut communiquer avec le BSF en composant sans frais le 1-877-376-9902.

Syndics autorisés en insolvabilité (SAI)

À propos des syndics autorisés en insolvabilité

S'il constate qu'un failli ne respecte pas la loi, le SAI :

  • doit signaler au BSF qu'il a des motifs de croire qu'une infraction a été commise par le failli;
  • doit analyser les paiements préférentiels faits par le failli;
  • peut demander au tribunal de statuer sur des transactions faites par le failli;
  • doit, au moment de la libération du failli, préparer un rapport portant notamment sur la conduite du failli et la manière dont celui-ci a rempli ses obligations;
  • peut s'opposer à la libération du failli.

Bureau du surintendant des faillites

Le BSF fait enquête lorsqu'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une infraction a été commise dans le cadre d'une faillite. Ces enquêtes portent sur la conduite et les transactions du failli, les causes de la faillite et la disposition des biens du failli. Les enquêtes sont menées par une des trois unités des enquêtes spéciales du BSF ou par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC).

De plus, si le BSF croit que le failli a commis des manquements au sens de la LFI, il peut s'opposer à la libération du failli.

Date de modification :