You Owe Money—
OSB Special Investigation Units

The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy’s special investigation units conduct investigations into criminal offences under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) and the Criminal Code when they are committed in the context of bankruptcies and insolvencies.

There are three Special investigation units – one in each of Montréal, Toronto and Vancouver. The special investigation units work in close collaboration with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) to investigate alleged criminal activities and to enforce provisions of the BIA and the Criminal Code.

In 2010, the OSB and the RCMP renewed the memorandum of understanding respecting their cooperation in bankruptcy investigations. These investigations are aimed at maintaining the integrity of the Canadian insolvency system.

Statistics on investigations conducted across the country in 2015-2016

Between and , 66 new investigation orders were sent to the OSB Special Investigation Units. Legal proceedings were commenced in 34 bankruptcy files, with liabilities totaling approximately $17 million, several of which resulted from investigation orders issued prior to the period in question. Specifically, 134 charges were laid under the BIA and 131 charges under the Criminal Code.

A variety of sentences have been imposed on bankrupts found guilty of offences, for example:

  • prison;
  • conditional sentence orders which can include (but are not limited to) house arrest, community service hours, probation, curfews, electronic monitoring; and
  • restitution orders.
Date modified:

Vous devez de l’argent —
Unités des enquêtes spéciales du BSF

Les unités des enquêtes spéciales du Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) enquêtent sur des infractions pénales et criminelles au sens de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI) et du Code criminel qui prennent place dans le cadre des faillites ou de situations d'insolvabilité.

Il y a trois unités des enquêtes spéciales et elles sont situées à Montréal, Toronto et Vancouver. Elles travaillent en étroite collaboration avec la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) dans les enquêtes où l'on soupçonne la présence d'activités criminelles en rapport avec la LFI et le Code criminel.

En 2010, le BSF et la GRC ont renouvelé leur protocole d'entente à l'appui de leur coopération au niveau des enquêtes dans les dossiers de faillite, ces enquêtes visant le maintien de l'intégrité du système d'insolvabilité au Canada.

Statistiques sur les enquêtes menées dans l’ensemble du pays en 2015-2016

Entre le 1er avril 2015 et le 31 mars 2016, 66 nouveaux mandats d’enquête ont été envoyés aux Unités des enquêtes spéciales du BSF. Des poursuites en justice ont été intentées dans 34 dossiers de faillite (pour un montant global d’environ 17 M$), dont plusieurs à la suite de mandats d’enquête émis avant la période visée. Au total, 134 accusations ont été portées en vertu de la LFI et 131 accusations, en vertu du Code criminel.

Différentes peines ont été imposées aux faillis reconnus coupables d’une infraction, par exemple :

  • emprisonnement;
  • peines avec sursis, y compris, mais non de façon limitative, la détention à domicile, les travaux communautaires, la probation, les couvre-feux et la surveillance électronique;
  • ordonnances de restitution.
Date de modification :