Directions of the Official Receiver

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of: Donna M. Leitch


Amended Directions for Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas Donna M. Leitch (the trustee) is the holder of an individual license as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas an audit in 2004 and a practice review in 2006 resulted in numerous deficiencies related to the trustee's practice being noted, including a past failure to maintain an employee fidelity bond; a number of banking and financial deficiencies; a failure to comply with the minimum standards for accounting practices as required by Directive 5R; and, other operational deficiencies;

Whereas in March 2006 the trustee was placed under conservatory measures, in the form of the requirement for a co-signature from an official with the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy and a prohibition on the appointment of the trustee to any new estates;

Whereas initial cooperation and progress was noted in correcting the deficiencies, and as a result, in April 2007 the prohibition on the appointment of the trustee to new estates was modified to allow the trustee to be appointed to up to 30 estates within a 3 month period, commencing May 1, 2007;

Whereas the trustee failed to abide by the above licensing limitation in that, on three occasions between October 2008 and July 2009 she has filed, or attempted to file, in excess of 30 estates within a 3 month period. Initially, the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy allowed the additional estates in order to avoid prejudice to the bankrupts, but negotiated a reduction in subsequent estate filing and/or warned the trustee that it was her responsibility to avoid the overages. On the last occasion, in July 2009, when the trustee attempted to submit an estate in excess of the 30 allowed, that submission was refused.

Whereas a practice review in the fall of 2008 identified a reoccurrence of some of the earlier noted deficiencies, including:

  • deficiencies with the banking practices, including a failure to reconcile bank accounts and an increase in the number of unexplained reconciling items;
  • failure to provide proof of liability insurance and a current employee fidelity bond;
  • missing or late filing with respect to estates and proposals; and,
  • the number of estates in the trustee's aged inventory of estates has increased, from 171 in 2006 to a current total of 195.

Whereas the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy has received complaints from bankrupts related to the performance of the trustee, including her failure to return telephone calls and that income tax returns for bankrupts are not being filed in a timely manner;

Whereas attempts by the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy to have the trustee correct the deficiencies noted in 2008 have been largely unsuccessful, cooperation from the trustee has been diminishing and the trustee has failed to respond to communications from the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy in a timely manner;

Whereas I believe on reasonable grounds that the estates require additional protection;

Whereas the Superintendent may, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstances referred to in section 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with section 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at section 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in section 14.03(2), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act;

Whereas paragraphs 14.03(1)(b) and (c) and 14.03(2)(b) of the Act apply;

I, Darrin Ulley, in my capacity as delegate for the Superintendent, direct:

That pursuant to sections 14.03(1)(d) of the Act, the Official Receiver not appoint Donna M. Leitch in respect of any new estates until a decision is made under subsection 13.2(5) or 14.01(1), or until such time as I am satisfied that the estates no longer require protection;

That these directions take effect immediately and will remain in effect until such time as the undersigned is satisfied that they are no longer required;

That in accordance with section 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind the Official Receiver, who must comply with them;

That, pursuant to section 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with this direction is not liable for any act done by that person only to comply with this direction.

Signed at the City of Toronto, Ontario, this 15th day of July, 2009

space to insert signature
Darrin Ulley
Assistant Superintendent
Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Instructions au séquestre officiel

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire de : Donna M. Leitch


Modifications des instructions de mesures conservatoires
(Article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi) confère au surintendant des faillites (le surintendant) le pouvoir général de contrôler l'administration des actifs et des affaires régies par la Loi;

Considérant que Donna M. Leitch (la syndic) est titulaire d'une licence individuelle de syndic de faillite;

Considérant qu'une vérification en 2004 et un examen de la pratique en 2006 ont mis en lumière les multiples lacunes dans la pratique de la syndic, notamment l'omission antérieure de conserver une assurance 3D - contre la malhonnêteté; les multiples lacunes au chapitre des opérations bancaires et financières; le non-respect des normes minimales pour la comptabilité établies par l'instruction no 5R; ainsi que d'autres lacunes dans les opérations;

Considérant qu'en mars 2006 la syndic a fait l'objet de mesures conservatoires, sous la forme d'une exigence de signature par des cosignataires employés par le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (le BSF) et d'une interdiction de nommer la syndic pour administrer de nouveaux actifs;

Considérant que la syndic a collaboré et a commencé à corriger les lacunes, et qu'en conséquence, en avril 2007, l'interdiction de nommer la syndic pour administrer de nouveaux actifs a été modifiée pour permettre la nomination de la syndic à un maximum de 30 dossiers d'actifs au cours d'une période de 3 mois, à compter du 1er mai 2007;

Considérant que la syndic n'a pas respecté la restriction à la licence susmentionnée étant donné que, à trois reprises entre octobre 2008 et juillet 2009, elle a déposé ou a tenté de déposer plus de 30 dossiers d'actifs au cours d'une période de 3 mois. Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites a d'abord autorisé les dossiers d'actifs additionnels afin d'éviter de causer préjudice aux faillis, mais il a négocié une diminution des dossiers d'actifs déposés par la suite et/ou a avisé la syndic qu'il lui incombait d'éviter les excédents. La dernière fois, en juillet 2009, quand la syndic a tenté de déposer un dossier d'actifs en plus des 30 autorisés, ce dépôt a été refusé.

Considérant qu'un examen de la pratique à l'automne 2008 a mis en lumière la répétition de certaines lacunes relevées dans le passé, notamment :

  • des lacunes au chapitre des opérations bancaires, notamment l'omission d'effectuer la réconciliation des comptes bancaires et l'augmentation du nombre d'éléments de rapprochement inexpliqués;
  • l'omission de fournir la preuve de couverture par une assurance responsabilité et par une assurance 3D- contre la malhonnêteté en vigueur;
  • l'absence de dépôt ou le dépôt tardif relativement aux actifs et propositions;
  • le nombre de dossiers d'actifs composant les dossiers âgés de la syndic a augmenté, passant de 171 en 2006 à un total actuel de 195.

Considérant que le Bureau du surintendant des faillites a reçu des plaintes de faillis relativement à l'exercice par la syndic de ses fonctions, notamment qu'elle ne retourne pas ses appels et que les déclarations de revenus des faillis ne sont pas produites à temps;

Considérant que les tentatives du Bureau du surintendant des faillites pour que la syndic corrige les lacunes relevées en 2008 se sont avérées vaines dans une large mesure, que la collaboration de la syndic a commencé à diminuer et que la syndic n'a pas répondu aux communications du Bureau du surintendant des faillites en temps opportun;

Considérant que j'ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les actifs doivent être sauvegardés;

Considérant que le surintendant peut, pour assurer la protection d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs visés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant m'a délégué, conformément au paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, les attributions que lui confère le paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2), une copie de ladite délégation, ainsi que des copies des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi étant jointes aux présentes;

Considérant que les alinéas 14.03(1)b) et c) et 14.03(2)b) de la Loi s'appliquent;

Je, soussigné, Darrin Ulley, en ma qualité de délégué du surintendant donne l'instruction suivante :

que, selon les dispositions de l'alinéa 14.03(1)d) de la Loi, le séquestre officiel ne nomme pas Donna M. Leitch en tant que syndic de nouveaux actifs jusqu'à ce qu'une décision soit rendue en vertu des paragraphes 13.2(5) ou 14.01(1), ou jusqu'à ce que j'estime que les actifs ne nécessitent plus de protection;

Les présentes instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le demeureront jusqu'à ce que j'estime qu'elles ne sont plus nécessaires;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient le séquestre officiel, qui est tenu de s'y conformer;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Signé à Toronto, en Ontario, ce 15e jour de juillet 2009

champ de saisie de la signature
Darrin Ulley
Surintendant adjoint
Bureau du surintendant des faillites

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :