Edward Bryce Quon; Quon & Associates Ltd.
Directions for Conservatory Measures to TD Canada Trust, Rexdale CBC, 2038 Kipling Avenue, Rexdale, Ontario, M9W 4K1—October 7, 2011

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of:
Quon and Associates Ltd.
Edward Bryce Quon


Directions for Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas Edward Bryce Quon (the trustee) is the holder of an individual license as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas Quon and Associates Ltd. (the trustee) is the holder of a corporate trustee license;

Whereas the investigations made by the Superintendent pursuant to paragraph 5(3)(e) of the Act revealed that the administration of all the open estates filed under the trustee's licence had been ongoing for a period exceeding three years;

Whereas the investigations made by the Superintendent pursuant to paragraph 5(3)(e) of the Act revealed a number of contraventions in the trust fund banking and general administration aspects of the trustee's administration of his estates;

Whereas the Toronto Division Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy conducted a monitoring of Quon and Associates Ltd. on and , 2002 where cash receipts were identified without being deposited to their respective estate trust bank accounts;

Whereas the Toronto Division Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy did not receive a satisfactory response from the trustee regarding discrepancies between estate ledgers, cash receipts book records, bank deposit slips and estate bank statements following correspondence exchanged in August 2002;

Whereas the Toronto Division Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy requested a special audit of Quon and Associates Ltd to determine the extent of the serious deficiencies discovered during the monitoring visit of August 2002;

Whereas the special audit started on and on , the auditor reported in part that:

  • further cash receipts were not deposited to their respective estate trust bank accounts in accordance with the requirements of the Act;
  • a significant number of bank accounts are not held in trust; and,
  • a significant sum of money is invested in GIC's without being able to match the amount invested to the estate ledgers or estate bank statements;

Whereas a review of the estate files on revealed that the trustee has failed to remedy many of the problems reflected in the earlier audit;

Whereas the trustee has allowed the corporate charter to lapse and has failed to take any steps to rectify the situation as required by the Acting Senior Division Assistant Superintendent in her letter of ;

Whereas the trustee has failed to provide proof of insurance coverage for liability and fidelity or employee dishonesty and this, together with the lapse of the corporate charter, raises serious concerns as to the availability of such insurance, as required under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;

Whereas the trustee has a large number of estates which have remained open for an excessive period of time;

Whereas the trustee failed to submit a Closing Plan, as required by the Acting Senior Division Assistant Superintendent, most recently in her letter of ;

Whereas information has raised concerns that the individual trustee may not be solvent, as required by the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;

Whereas I believe on reasonable grounds that the estates require protection;

Whereas the Superintendent may, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstances referred to in section 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with section 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at section 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in section 14.03(2), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act;

Whereas paragraph 14.03(2)(b) of the Act applies;

I, Karen Smith, in my capacity as delegate for the Superintendent, direct TD Canada Trust, Rexdale CBC, 2038 Kipling Avenue, Rexdale, Ontario, M9W 4K1 that, pursuant to sections 14.03(1)(b) and (c) of the Act:

  1. it consider upon receipt of the present directions, Abubakar Khan, Guardian Trustee, as the only authorized signatory as relates to any operations on the funds credited to the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Quon and Associates Ltd. or Edward Bryce Quon.
  2. it make no debit, payment or transfer of funds credited to, or which ought to have been credited to, the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Quon and Associates Ltd. or Edward Bryce Quon without the signature of Abubakar Khan, Guardian Trustee;
  3. it not pay out of these accounts: cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments, issued before the receipt of these directions that are presented for payment after the receipt of these directions, without these cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments being signed by Abubakar Khan, Guardian Trustee;
  4. it submit all statement of accounts, accepted cheques and other documents or information having to do with the above-mentioned estate trust bank accounts to Abubakar Khan, Guardian Trustee, Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, 25 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 304, Toronto, Ontario, M4T 1M2;

That these directions take effect immediately and will remain in effect until such time as the undersigned is satisfied that they are no longer required;

That in accordance with section 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind TD Canada Trust, which must comply with them;

That, pursuant to section 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with this direction is not liable for any act done by that person only to comply with this direction.

Signed at the City of Toronto, Ontario, this 7 day of October, 2011


space to insert signature

Karen Smith
Assistant Superintendent


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Edward Bryce Quon; Quon & Associates Ltd.
Instructions de mesures conservatoires à l'intention de TD Canada Trust, Rexdale CBC, 2038, avenue Kipling, Rexdale (Ontario), M9W 4K1 — 7 octobre 2011

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire :
Quon and Associates Ltd.
Edward Bryce Quon


Instructions pour mesures conservatoires
(Article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi) confère au surintendant des faillites (le surintendant) le pouvoir général de contrôler l'administration des actifs et des affaires régis par la Loi;

Considérant qu'Edward Bryce Quon (le syndic) est titulaire d'une licence individuelle de syndic de faillite;

Considérant que Quon and Associates Ltd. (le syndic) est titulaire d'une licence de syndic de faillite pour personne morale;

Considérant qu'il appert des enquêtes effectuées par le surintendant en vertu de l'alinéa 5(3)e) de la Loi que tous les dossiers ouverts sous le numéro de licence du syndic sont sous administration depuis plus de trois ans;

Considérant qu'il appert des enquêtes effectuées par le Surintendant en vertu de l'alinéa 5(3)e) de la Loi qu'il y a eu des irrégularités dans les opérations bancaires sur les comptes en fiducie et dans l'administration générale des dossiers sous la supervision du syndic;

Considérant que, dans le cadre d'une visite de surveillance de Quon & Associates Ltd. effectuée les 20 et 21 août 2002, le bureau de division de Toronto du surintendant des faillites a découvert des encaissements non déposés dans leurs comptes bancaires en fiducie respectifs;

Considérant que le syndic n'a pas expliqué de façon satisfaisante au bureau de division de Toronto du surintendant des faillites les écarts entre les grands livres de l'actif, les registres des encaissements, les bordereaux de dépôt et les relevés bancaires de l'actif, dans le cadre de la correspondance échangée en août 2002;

Considérant que le bureau de division de Toronto du surintendant des faillites a demandé une vérification spéciale de Quon & Associates Ltd. afin de déterminer l'ampleur des graves lacunes mises en évidence au cours de la visite de surveillance effectuée en août 2002;

Considérant que la vérification spéciale a commencé le 23 septembre 2002 et que, le 6 octobre 2002, le vérificateur a notamment signalé ce qui suit :

  • d'autres encaissements n'avaient pas été déposés dans leurs comptes bancaires en fiducie respectifs conformément aux exigences de la Loi;
  • un nombre important de comptes bancaires n'étaient pas détenus en fiducie,
  • une importante somme d'argent était investie dans des certificats de placement garanti (CPG), mais ne correspondait pas au montant de l'investissement figurant dans les grands livres ou les relevés bancaires de l'actif;

Considérant qu'il ressort d'un examen des dossiers d'actifs effectué le 19 décembre 2005 que beaucoup des problèmes mis en évidence par la vérification antérieure n'avaient pas été corrigés par le syndic;

Considérant que le syndic a laissé tomber la charte de la société en caducité et qu'il n'a pas pris aucune mesure pour corriger la situation, contrairement à ce qu'exigeait la surintendante adjointe de division principale par intérim dans sa lettre du 22 novembre 2004;

Considérant qu'outre le fait d'avoir laissé tomber la charte de la société en en caducité, le syndic a omis de fournir une preuve d'assurance responsabilité et une preuve d'assurance détournement et vol couvrant le personnel, faisant ainsi naître de graves préoccupations concernant l'existence d'une telle assurance exigée par la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Considérant que le syndic a un grand nombre de dossiers ouverts depuis trop longtemps;

Considérant que le syndic ne s'est pas conformé à l'exigence de présenter un plan de fermeture, qui lui a été signifiée, le plus récemment, dans la lettre du 22 novembre 2004 de la surintendante adjointe de division principale par intérim;

Considérant que des renseignements récents font craindre que le syndic soit personnellement insolvable, ce qui contrevient à la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;

Considérant que j'ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les actifs ont besoin d'être protégés;

Considérant que le surintendant peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs énoncés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant m'a délégué, en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, les attributions du surintendant prévues au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2), et que des copies de la délégation et des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi sont jointes aux présentes;

Considérant que l'alinéa 14.03(2)b) de la Loi s'applique;

Je, soussignée, Karen Smith, en ma qualité de déléguée du surintendant, donne instruction à TD Canada Trust, Rexdale CBC, 2038, avenue Kipling, Rexdale (Ontario), M9W 4K1, en application des alinéas 14.03(1)b) et c) de la Loi :

  1. de considérer, sur réception des présentes instructions, Abubakar Khan, syndic gardien, comme seul signataire autorisé relativement aux opérations sur les fonds déposés au crédit des actifs de faillite et de proposition administrés par Quon and Associates Ltd. ou Edward Bryce Quon.
  2. de ne faire aucun débit, paiement ni transfert sur les fonds déposés au crédit, ou qui auraient dû être déposés au crédit, des actifs de faillite et de proposition administrés par Quon and Associates Ltd. ou Edward Bryce Quon, sans la signature d'Abubakar Khan, syndic gardien;
  3. de ne payer à même lesdits comptes aucun chèque, effet de commerce, traite bancaire ou autres, émis antérieurement à la réception des présentes mais qui seraient présentés pour paiement postérieurement à la réception des présentes sans que ceux ci ne soient signés par Abubakar Khan, syndic gardien;
  4. de fournir tout état de compte, chèque accepté et tout autre document et renseignement se rapportant aux comptes bancaires d'actifs en fiducie susmentionnés à Abubakar Khan, syndic gardien, Bureau du Surintendant des faillites, 25, avenue St. Clair Est, Pièce 304, Toronto (Ontario) M4T 1M2;

Les présentes instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le demeurent jusqu'à ce que j'estime qu'elles ne sont plus nécessaires;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient TD Canada Trust, qui est tenue de s'y conformer;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Et j'ai signé en la ville de Toronto (Ontario), ce 7 octobre 2011

champ de saisie de la signature

Karen Smith
Surintendante adjointe des faillites


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :