Directions for Conservatory Measures to TD Canada Trust, 443 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2B1

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of:
Sidney Charles Schiff
Schiff & Associates Inc.


Directions for Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas Sidney Charles Schiff (the trustee) is the holder of an individual license as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas Schiff & Associates Inc. (the trustee) is the holder of a corporate trustee license;

Whereas the investigations made by the Superintendent pursuant to paragraph 5(3)(e) of the Act revealed that the administration of all the open estates filed under the trustee's licence had been ongoing for a period exceeding three years;

Whereas the investigations made by the Superintendent pursuant to paragraph 5(3)(e) of the Act revealed a number of contraventions in the trust fund banking and general administration aspects of the trustee's administration of his estates;

Whereas the trustee failed to adhere to terms of the trustee's Closing Plan submitted on September 5, 2003, pursuant to the requirements set out in the Superintendent's Initiative for the Orderly and Timely Administration of Estates (IOTA);

Whereas the trustee failed to submit the monthly progress reports on the Closing Plan submitted on September 5, 2003, as per the requirements set out by the Acting Associate Division Assistant Superintendent in his letter of September 15, 2003;

Whereas the trustee failed to submit, after being unable to perform on the Closing Plan filed on September 5, 2003, another Closing Plan, as required by the Acting Senior Division Assistant Superintendent in her letter of June 13, 2005;

Whereas the trustee failed to ensure that adequate human resources are available to satisfactorily conduct and conclude the administration of estates under the trustee's supervision;

Whereas the trustee failed to maintain and produce for the Superintendent's inspection, proper books and records of the administration of estates to which the trustee is appointed;

Whereas the trustee failed to obtain and maintain on record, the inspector's authorization with respect to the disposition of estate assets and approval of the trustee's fee draws;

Whereas the trustee failed to properly reconcile the consolidated and individual trust accounts pertaining to the estates under the trustee's administration;

Whereas the trustee failed to obtain a competitive interest rate for the estate trust funds pertaining to estates under the trustee's administration;

Whereas the trustee failed to ensure that the estate trust funds pertaining to estates under the trustee's administration are not commingled with non-trust monies;

Whereas the trustee failed to obtain and post the estate bond in the matter of the Ling Jun Huan estate;

Whereas the trustee failed to administer the Vince Nino Delvecchio, Donald Robert George Wilson, and Jeanette Lesley Wilson proposals in accordance with the provisions governing the proposals filed under Part-III of the Act;

Whereas I believe on reasonable grounds that the estates require protection;

Whereas the Superintendent may, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstances referred to in section 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with section 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at section 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in section 14.03(2), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act;

Whereas paragraphs 14.03(2)(a) and (b) of the Act apply;

I, Karen Smith, in my capacity as delegate for the Superintendent, direct the TD Canada Trust, 443 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2B1, that, pursuant to sections 14.03(1) (b) and (c) of the Act:

  1. it consider upon receipt of the present directions, Tammy Turner, Guardian Trustee, as the only authorized signatory as relates to any operations on the funds credited to the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Sidney Charles Schiff or Schiff & Associates Inc.;
  2. it make no debit, payment or transfer of funds credited to, or which ought to have been credited to, the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Sidney Charles Schiff or Schiff & Associates Inc. without the signature of Tammy Turner, Guardian Trustee;
  3. it not pay out of these accounts: cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments, issued before the receipt of these directions that are presented for payment after the receipt of these directions, without these cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments being signed by Tammy Turner, Guardian Trustee;
  4. it submit all statement of accounts, accepted cheques and other documents or information having to do with the above-mentioned estate trust bank accounts to Tammy Turner, Guardian Trustee, Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, 25 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 304, Toronto, Ontario, M4T 1M2;

That these directions take effect immediately and will remain in effect until such time as the undersigned is satisfied that they are no longer required;

That in accordance with section 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind TD Canada Trust, who must comply with them;

That, pursuant to section 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with this direction is not liable for any act done by that person only to comply with this direction.

Signed at the City of Toronto, Ontario, this 12 day of October, 2011

Karen Smith
Surintendant adjointe


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Instructions de mesures conservatoires à l'intention de TD Canada Trust, 443, rue Queen Ouest, Toronto (Ontario) M5V 2B1 —

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire :
Sidney Charles Schiff
Schiff & Associates Inc.


Instructions de mesures conservatoires
(Article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi) confère au surintendant des faillites (le surintendant) le pouvoir général de contrôler l'administration des actifs et des affaires régis par la Loi;

Considérant que Sidney Charles Schiff (le syndic) est titulaire d'une licence individuelle de syndic de faillite;

Considérant que Schiff & Associates Inc. (le syndic) est titulaire d'une licence de syndic de faillite pour personne morale;

Considérant qu'il appert des enquêtes effectuées par le Surintendant en vertu de l'alinéa 5(3)e)de la Loi que tous les dossiers ouverts sous le numéro de licence du syndic étaient sous administration depuis plus de trois ans;

Considérant qu'il appert des enquêtes effectuées par le Surintendant en vertu de l'alinéa 5(3)e) de la Loi qu'il y a eu des irrégularités dans les opérations bancaires sur les comptes en fiducie et dans l'administration générale des dossiers sous la supervision du syndic;

Considérant que le syndic n'a pas respecté les conditions du plan de fermeture présenté le 5 septembre 2003 conformément aux exigences de l'Initiative pour l'administration ponctuelle et ordonnée des dossiers d'insolvabilité (IAPO) établie par le surintendant des faillites;

Considérant que le syndic a omis de soumettre les rapports d'étape mensuels afférents au plan de fermeture présenté le 5 septembre 2003, conformément aux exigences établies par le surintendant adjoint de division associé par intérim dans sa lettre du 15 septembre 2003;

Considérant que le syndic, qui avait été incapable de suivre le plan de fermeture soumis le 5 septembre 2003, n'a présenté aucun autre plan de fermeture, comme l'exigeait la surintendante adjointe de division principale par intérim dans sa lettre du 13 juin 2005;

Considérant que le syndic ne s'est pas assuré de disposer du personnel adéquat pour administrer de façon satisfaisante les actifs sous sa supervision et en mener l'administration à terme;

Considérant que le syndic a omis de tenir des livres et des registres convenables de l'administration des actifs qui lui étaient confiés et de les produire pour examen par le Surintendant;

Considérant que le syndic a omis d'obtenir et verser au dossier l'autorisation de l'inspecteur relativement à la liquidation des biens des actifs et l'approbation du prélèvement des honoraires du syndic;

Considérant que le syndic n'a pas concilié adéquatement les comptes bancaires en fiducie consolidés et individuels se rapportant aux actifs sous son administration;

Considérant que le syndic a omis de s'assurer que les fonds en fiducie des actifs sous son administration produisent des intérêts à des taux concurrentiels;

Considérant que le syndic a omis de s'assurer que les fonds en fiducie des actifs sous son administration ne soient pas confondus avec les fonds non en fiducie;

Considérant que le syndic n'a ni obtenu ni enregistré de cautionnement relativement à l'actif Ling Jun Huan;

Considérant que le syndic n'a pas administré les propositions de Vince Nino Delvecchio, Donald Robert George Wilson et Jeanette Lesley Wilson conformément aux dispositions applicables aux propositions déposées sous le régime de la partie III de la Loi;

Considérant que j'ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les actifs ont besoin d'être protégés;

Considérant que le surintendant peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs énoncés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant m'a délégué, en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, les attributions du surintendant prévues au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2), et que des copies de la délégation et des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi sont jointes aux présentes;

Considérant que les alinéas 14.03(2)a) et b) de la Loi s'appliquent;

Je, soussignée, Karen Smith, en ma qualité de déléguée du surintendant, donne instruction à TD Canada Trust, 443, rue Queen Ouest, Toronto (Ontario) M5V 2B1, en application des alinéas 14.03(1)b) et c) de la Loi :

  1. de considérer, sur réception des présentes instructions, Tammy Turner, syndic gardien, comme seule signataire autorisée relativement aux opérations sur les fonds déposés au crédit des actifs de faillite et de proposition sous l'administration de Sidney Charles Schiff ou Schiff & Associates Inc.;
  2. de ne faire aucun débit, paiement ni transfert sur les fonds déposés au crédit, ou qui auraient dû être déposés au crédit, des actifs de faillite et de proposition sous l'administration de Sidney Charles Schiff ou Schiff & Associates Inc., sans la signature de Tammy Turner, syndic gardien;
  3. de ne payer à même lesdits comptes aucun chèque, effet de commerce, traite bancaire ou autres, émis antérieurement à la réception des présentes mais qui seraient présentés pour paiement postérieurement à la réception des présentes sans que ceux-ci ne soient signés par Tammy Turner, syndic gardien;
  4. de fournir tout état de compte, chèque accepté et tout autre document et renseignement se rapportant aux comptes bancaires d'actifs en fiducie susmentionnés à Tammy Turner, syndic gardien, Bureau du Surintendant des faillites, 25, avenue St. Clair Est, Pièce 304, Toronto (Ontario) M4T 1M2;

Les présentes instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le demeurent jusqu'à ce que j'estime qu'elles ne sont plus nécessaires;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient TD Canada Trust, qui est tenue de s'y conformer;

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Et j'ai signé en la ville de Toronto (Ontario), ce 12 octobre 2011

Champ de saisie de la signature
Karen Smith
Surintendant adjointe


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :