Treatment of the Quebec Solidarity Tax Credit under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act

September 24, 2012

Issue

The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) has been asked for its position regarding treatment, under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA), of the Quebec solidarity tax credit. Since 2011, this tax credit combines three existing refundable tax credits: the Quebec sales tax (QST) credit, the property tax refund and the credit for individuals living in northern villages. The OSB has been asked whether the solidarity tax credit is to be considered as income for the purpose of calculating surplus income obligations or whether it is to be considered as property of the bankrupt, thereby forming part of the estate of the bankrupt.

Position

The OSB's position is that, subject to court interpretation to the contrary, the Quebec solidarity tax credit is exempt from seizure. Therefore, the credit must be remitted to the bankrupt. However, because the amount paid under the solidarity tax credit is considered to be an overpayment of income tax by the individual, it is captured under the definition of “total income” in section 68 of the BIA and must be accounted for in the surplus income calculation.

Background

The solidarity tax credit provides relief to low-to middle-income households with regard to costs associated with the QST and housing, while also recognizing that the cost of living is higher in northern villages than elsewhere.

Analysis

The solidarity tax credit is set out in sections 1029.8.116.12 to 1029.8.116.35 of the Quebec Taxation Act.Footnote 1 Section 33 of the Quebec Tax Administration ActFootnote 2 provides that "every amount owing by the State in respect of a fiscal law as a refund is inalienable and unseizable." Therefore, the solidarity tax credit, pursuant to paragraph 67(1)(b)Footnote 3 of the BIA, is not property of the bankrupt that is divisible among creditors.

However, pursuant to section 1029.8.116.16 of the Quebec Taxation Act,Footnote 4 the amount paid under the solidarity tax credit is deemed to be an overpayment of tax payable for a taxation year by an individual. Since taxes payable can only be derived from revenue generated during the year by the individual and the solidarity tax credit is deemed to be an overpayment of income tax, the funds paid retain their character as income. Subsection 68(2) of the BIA provides that a bankrupt’s revenues of whatever nature (regardless of whether they are exempt from seizure) are captured by the definition of "total income." Therefore, while the bankrupt is entitled to retain the solidarity tax credit, it shall be accounted for by the trustee in the surplus income calculation under section 68 of the BIA.

Date modified:

Application de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité au crédit d'impôt pour solidarité du Québec

Le 24 septembre 2012

Question

Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) a été prié de faire connaître sa position concernant le traitement, sous le régime de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI), du crédit d'impôt pour solidarité du Québec. Depuis 2011, ce crédit d'impôt regroupe trois crédits d'impôt remboursables déjà en place, soit le crédit d'impôt pour la taxe de vente du Québec (TVQ), le remboursement d'impôts fonciers et le crédit d'impôt pour particulier habitant un village nordique. On a demandé au BSF si le crédit d'impôt pour solidarité devait être considéré comme un revenu aux fins du calcul des paiements au titre du revenu excédentaire ou s'il constituait un bien du failli et, par conséquent, un élément d'actif.

Position

Sous réserve de l'interprétation contraire des tribunaux, le BSF est d'avis que le crédit d'impôt pour solidarité du Québec ne peut faire l'objet d'une mesure de saisie. Par conséquent, il doit être remis au failli. Toutefois, puisque le montant versé au titre du crédit d'impôt pour solidarité est considéré comme un trop-perçu d'impôt calculé à partir du revenu du particulier, il est visé par la définition de « revenu total » de l'article 68 de la LFI et doit être comptabilisé dans le calcul du revenu excédentaire.

Contexte

Le crédit d'impôt pour solidarité offre une aide aux ménages à faible ou à moyen revenu pour atténuer les coûts reliés à la TVQ et au logement, tout en reconnaissant que les habitants des villages nordiques doivent supporter un coût de la vie plus élevé qu'ailleurs.

Analyse

Le crédit d'impôt pour solidarité est prévu aux articles 1029.8.116.12 à 1029.8.116.35 de la Loi sur les impôtsNote de bas de page 1 du Québec. L'article 33 de la Loi sur l'administration fiscaleNote de bas de page 2 du Québec prévoit que « toute somme due par l'État à l'égard d'une loi fiscale à titre de remboursement est incessible et insaisissable ». Par conséquent, le crédit d'impôt pour solidarité, conformément à l'alinéa 67(1)b)Note de bas de page 3 de la LFI, n'est pas un bien du failli constituant le patrimoine attribué à ses créanciers.

Toutefois, selon l'article 1029.8.116.16 de la Loi sur les impôtsNote de bas de page 4 du Québec, le montant versé au titre du crédit d'impôt pour solidarité est réputé un montant payé en trop de l'impôt à payer par un particulier pour une année d'imposition. Comme l'impôt à payer ne peut être calculé qu'à partir des revenus générés par le particulier durant l'année d'imposition et que le remboursement versé au titre du crédit d'impôt pour solidarité constitue un paiement en trop au titre de l'impôt sur le revenu du particulier, le montant ainsi versé conserve sa nature de revenu. Le paragraphe 68(2) de la LFI prévoit que les revenus de toute nature du failli (qu'ils soient insaisissables ou non) sont visés par la définition de « revenu total ». Par conséquent, même si le failli a le droit de conserver le crédit d'impôt pour solidarité, celui-ci doit être comptabilisé par le syndic dans le calcul du revenu excédentaire en vertu de l'article 68 de la LFI.

Date de modification :