Directive No. 8R14

The Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act Forms

PDF version

Directive No. 8R14

286 KB, 18 pages

Issued:

The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) has amended Form 60, Request for Mediation Made by Trustee, and Form 63, Mediation Settlement Agreement, to introduce an email option to streamline the mediation process in cases where a mediation settlement agreement has been reached between the parties prior to the actual meeting.

Furthermore, to eliminate unnecessary administrative obligations of trustees when administering ordinary bankruptcy estates of individuals, the OSB has combined Form 67, Notice of Bankruptcy and First Meeting of Creditors, and Form 68, Notice of Impending Automatic Discharge of Bankrupt, into one new Form 68, Notice of Bankruptcy, First Meeting of Creditors and Impending Automatic Discharge of Bankrupt. Note that Form 67 is revoked.

Coming into Force

Amended Forms 60, 63 and 68 come into force on December 20, 2013 and apply to persons to whom the , amendments apply.

Enquiries

If you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact the OSB office nearest you.


(This Directive amends Directive No. 8R13 issued on December 19, 2012, on the same topic.)

Interpretation

  1. In this Directive,
    • "Act" means the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;
    • "Forms" means the forms under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act;
    • "OSB" means the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Authority and Purpose

  1. This Directive is issued pursuant to the authority of paragraphs 5(4)(c) and (e) of the Act for the purpose of prescribing the form of certain documents required by the Act and the information to be given therein.
  2. This Directive prescribes amendments to Form 60, Request for Mediation Made by Trustee, Form 63, Mediation Settlement Agreement, and Form 68, Notice of Impending Automatic Discharge of Bankrupt.
  3. This Directive revokes Form 67, Notice of Bankruptcy and First Meeting of Creditors.

Summary

  1. Form 60, Request for Mediation Made by Trustee, and Form 63, Mediation Settlement Agreement, have been amended to introduce an email option to streamline the mediation process in cases where an agreement has been reached between the parties prior to the time set for the mediation. In these select cases, the OSB believes that email provides a suitable alternative to telephone conference calls or in-person mediation provided that all parties to the mediation agree to proceed by email. Therefore, parties choosing to communicate by way of email will have the ability to transmit a signed Form 63, Mediation Settlement Agreement – Expedited Mediation Process, electronically.
  2. Standard confidentiality clauses have been added to Form 63 for cases where the expedited mediation process is chosen. These clauses remind the parties that they must keep confidential all information disclosed during the mediation and must not use the information for any purpose other than for the mediation, except to the extent required by law or as authorized by the person to whom the confidential information relates.
  3. To eliminate unnecessary administrative obligations of trustees when administering ordinary bankruptcy estates of individuals, Form 67, Notice of Bankruptcy and First Meeting of Creditors, and Form 68, Notice of Impending Automatic Discharge of Bankrupt, have been combined into one new Form 68, Notice of Bankruptcy, First Meeting of Creditors and Impending Automatic Discharge of Bankrupt. Note that Form 67 is revoked.
  4. Paragraphs 2–6 of revoked Form 67, Notice of Bankruptcy and First Meeting of Creditors, were added to newly amended Form 68, Notice of Bankruptcy, First Meeting of Creditors and Impending Automatic Discharge of Bankrupt. As a result, in cases where the bankrupt is an individual, trustees will now send the notice of bankruptcy and first meeting of creditors along with the notice of impending automatic discharge of the bankrupt. Merging two forms into one will streamline some of the administrative obligations of trustees and enhance practical application.

Coming into Force

  1. Amended Form 60, Request for Mediation Made by Trustee, Form 63, Mediation Settlement Agreement // Mediation Settlement Agreement – Expedited Mediation Process, and Form 68, Notice of Bankruptcy, First Meeting of Creditors and Impending Automatic Discharge of Bankrupt, come into force on .
  2. Amended Forms 60, 63 and 68 apply to persons to whom the , amendments apply.

Enquiries

  1. For any questions pertaining to this Directive, please contact your local OSB office.

Bill James
Superintendent of Bankruptcy

Date modified:

Instruction no 8R14

Formulaires de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité

Version PDF

Instruction No 8R14

286 Ko, 18 pages

Émise : 6 juin, 2013

Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) a apporté des modifications au formulaire 60, Demande de médiation par le syndic, et au formulaire 63, Entente résultant de la médiation, afin d'y incorporer une option de courriel visant èrationaliser le processus de médiation lorsqu'une entente a été conclue entre les parties avant la date fixée pour la médiation.

De plus, afin d'éliminer les obligations administratives inutiles des syndics dans l'administration ordinaire d'un dossier de faillite d'une personne physique, le BSF a combiné le formulaire 67, Avis de la faillite et de la première assemblée des créanciers, et le formulaire 68, Préavis de la libération d'office du failli, dans un nouveau formulaire 68 intitulé Avis de la faillite, de la première assemblée des créanciers et de la libération d'office imminente du failli. Par conséquent, le formulaire 67 est révoqué.

Entrée en vigueur

Les versions modifiées des formulaires 60, 63 et 68 entrent en vigueur le et s'appliquent aux personnes visées par les modifications entrées en vigueur le .

Demandes de renseignements

Si vous souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec le bureau du BSF le plus proche.


(La présente instruction modifie l'instruction no 8R13 émise le 19 décembre sur le même sujet.)

Interprétation

  1. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente instruction :
    • « BSF » Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites;
    • « Formulaires » Les formulaires émis en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité;
    • « Loi » La Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité.

Autorité et objet

  1. La présente instruction, qui est émise en vertu de l'autorité conférée par les alinéas 5(4)c) et e) de la Loi, établit la forme de certains documents requis par la Loi ainsi que les renseignements à y porter.
  2. La présente instruction prescrit des modifications au formulaire 60, Demande de médiation par le syndic, au formulaire 63, Entente résultant de la médiation, et au formulaire 68, Préavis de la libération d'office du failli.
  3. La présente instruction révoque le formulaire 67, Avis de la faillite et de la première assemblée des créanciers.

Résumé

  1. Le formulaire 60, Demande de médiation par le syndic, et le formulaire 63, Entente résultant de la médiation, ont été modifiés afin d'y incorporer une option de courriel visant à rationaliser le processus de médiation lorsqu'une entente a été conclue entre les parties avant la date fixée pour la médiation. Dans ces cas particuliers, le BSF estime que le courriel offre une bonne solution de rechange à la téléconférence ou à la médiation en personne, à condition que toutes les parties à la médiation acceptent de procéder par courriel. Ainsi, les parties ayant choisi de communiquer par courriel pourront transmettre par voie électronique le formulaire 63, Entente résultant de la médiation – Procédure de médiation accélérée, dûment signé.
  2. Des clauses de confidentialité standard ont été ajoutées au formulaire 63 pour les cas où la procédure de médiation accélérée est choisie. Ces clauses rappellent aux parties qu'elles doivent garder confidentielle toute l'information divulguée pendant la médiation et qu'elles ne doivent pas utiliser cette information à des fins autres que la médiation, sauf lorsqu'elles y sont tenues par la loi ou lorsqu'elles ont obtenu le consentement de la personne visée par l'information confidentielle.
  3. Afin d'éliminer les obligations administratives inutiles des syndics dans l'administration ordinaire d'un dossier de faillite d'une personne physique, le formulaire 67, Avis de la faillite et de la première assemblée des créanciers, et le formulaire 68, Préavis de la libération d'office du failli, ont été combinés dans un nouveau formulaire 68 intitulé Avis de la faillite, de la première assemblée des créanciers et de la libération d'office imminente du failli. Par conséquent, le formulaire 67 est révoqué.
  4. Les paragraphes 2 à 6 du formulaire 67 révoqué, Avis de la faillite et de la première assemblée des créanciers, ont été ajoutés au nouveau formulaire 68, Avis de la faillite, de la première assemblée des créanciers et de la libération d'office imminente du failli. Par conséquent, lorsque le failli est une personne physique, les syndics enverront dorénavant l'avis de la faillite et de la première assemblée des créanciers avec l'avis de la libération d'office du failli. La fusion des deux formulaires en un seul vise à rationaliser certaines obligations administratives des syndics et à améliorer l'application pratique.

Entrée en vigueur

  1. Les versions modifiées du formulaire 60, Demande de médiation par le syndic, du formulaire 63, Entente résultant de la médiation // Entente résultant de la médiation – Procédure de médiation accélérée, et du formulaire 68, Avis de la faillite, de la première assemblée des créanciers et de la libération d'office imminente du failli, entrent en vigueur le .
  2. Les versions modifiées des formulaires 60, 63 et 68 s'appliquent aux personnes visées par les modifications entrées en vigueur le .

Demandes de renseignements

  1. Si vous souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec le bureau du BSF le plus proche.

Bill James
Surintendant des faillites

Date de modification :