Directions for Conservatory Measures to Alterna Savings, 400 Albert Street, Ottawa, ON, K1R 5B2—March 8, 2012

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of:
Subhash Dhingra and
Dhingra and Associates


Directions for Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas Subhash Dhingra (the trustee) is the holder of an individual license as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas Dhingra and Associates is the holder of a corporate licence as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas the trustee was the sole practitioner of Dhingra and Associates;

Whereas Ms. Kim Desjardins from the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy was informed by Mr. Muneesh Dhingra that the trustee has been hospitalized since the week and that to this date, he has not returned to his office;

Whereas on , Ms. Desjardins was informed by Mr. Muneesh Dhingra that the trustee’s health had further deteriorated;

Whereas on , Ms. Desjardins was informed by Mr. Muneesh Dhingra that the trustee passed away on ;

Whereas the trustee’s current file inventory totals 80 estates;

Whereas according to the 2010 Annual Banking Report, the current estate inventory is comprised of an aggregate amount of approximately $125 000 in the trust bank accounts;

Whereas it has become necessary to substitute another Guardian Trustee in the place of the current Guardian Trustee, Tammy Turner;

Whereas I believe on reasonable grounds that the estates require protection;

Whereas the Superintendent may, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstances referred to in section 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with section 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at section 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in section 14.03(2), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act;

Whereas paragraphs 14.03(1)(b) and (c) and 14.03(2)(a) of the Act apply;

I, Rebekah Johnston, in my capacity as delegate for the Superintendent, direct Alterna Savings, 400 Albert Street, Ottawa, ON, K1R 5B2, that, pursuant to sections 14.03(1)(b) and (c) of the Act:

  1. it consider upon receipt of the present directions, Abubakar Khan, Guardian Trustee, as the only authorized signatory as relates to any operations on the funds credited to the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Subhash Dhingra and Dhingra and Associates;
  2. it make no debit, payment or transfer of funds credited to, or which ought to have been credited to, the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Subhash Dhingra and Dhingra and Associates without the countersignature of Abubakar Khan;
  3. it not pay out of these accounts: cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments, issued before the receipt of these directions which are presented for payment after the receipt of these directions without these cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments being signed by Abubakar Khan;
  4. it submit all statement of accounts, accepted cheques and other documents or information having to do with the above-mentioned estate trust bank accounts, to Abubakar Khan, Guardian Trustee, Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, 25 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 600, Toronto, Ontario, M4T 1M2;

That these directions take effect immediately and will remain in effect until such time as the undersigned is satisfied that they are no longer required;

That in accordance with section 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind the Alterna Savings, who must comply with them;

That, pursuant to section 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with this direction is not liable for any act done by that person only to comply with this direction.

Signed at the City of Ottawa, Ontario, this .

space to insert signature

Rebekah Johnston
Assistant Superintendent of Bankruptcy


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Instructions de mesures conservatoires à l'intention de la Caisse Alterna, 400, rue Albert, Ottawa (Ontario) K1R 5B2 — 8 mars 2012

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire :
Subhash Dhingra et
Dhingra et associés inc.


Instructions de mesures conservatoires
(Article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi) confère au surintendant des faillites (le surintendant) le pouvoir général de contrôler l'administration des actifs et des affaires régis par la Loi;

Considérant que Subhash Dhingra (le syndic) est titulaire d'une licence individuelle de syndic de faillite;

Considérant que Dhingra et associés est titulaire d'une licence corporative de syndic de faillite;

Considérant que le syndic était le seul professionnel exerçant pour Dhingra et associés;

Considérant que Mme Kim Desjardins, du Bureau du surintendant des faillites Canada, a été avisée par M. Muneesh Dhingra que le syndic était hospitalisé depuis le et que depuis ce jour, il n'était pas retourné à son bureau;

Considérant que le , Mme Desjardins a été avisée par M. Muneesh Dhingra que la santé du syndic s'était détériorée davantage;

Considérant que le , Mme Desjardins a été avisée par M. Muneesh Dhingra que le syndic était décédé le ;

Considérant que l'inventaire actuel des dossiers du syndic totalise 80 dossiers d'actifs;

Considérant que selon le rapport bancaire annuel de 2010, l'inventaire actuel des actifs comprend un montant total d'environ 125 000 $ dans les comptes en fiducie;

Considérant qu'il est devenu nécessaire de remplacer le présent syndic gardien, Mme Tammy Turner, par un autre syndic gardien;

Considérant que j'ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les actifs ont besoin d'être protégés;

Considérant que le surintendant peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs prévus au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances décrites au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant m'a délégué, en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, les pouvoirs que lui confère le paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances décrites au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi, et que copie de ladite délégation et des articles 14.01,14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi est jointe aux présentes;

Considérant que les alinéas 14.03(1)b) et c) et 14.03(2)a) de la Loi s'appliquent;

Je soussignée, Rebekah Johnston, en ma qualité de déléguée du surintendant, donne instruction à la Caisse Alterna, 400, rue Albert, Ottawa (Ontario) K1R 5B2, conformément aux alinéas 14.03(1)b) et c) de la Loi :

  1. de considérer, à compter de la réception des présentes instructions, Abubakar Khan, syndic gardien, comme étant le seul signataire autorisé relativement aux opérations sur les fonds déposés au crédit des actifs de faillite et de proposition administrés par Subhash Dhingra et Dhingra et associés;
  2. de ne faire aucun débit, paiement ou transfert de fonds déposés au crédit, ou qui auraient dû être déposés au crédit, des actifs de faillite et de proposition administrés par Subhash Dhingra et Dhingra et associés sans qu'ils soient contresignés par Abubakar Khan;
  3. de ne payer à même lesdits comptes aucun chèque, effet de commerce, traite bancaire ou autres, émis avant la réception des présentes, mais qui seraient présentés pour paiement après réception des présentes, sans que lesdits chèques, effets de commerce, traites bancaires ou autres ne soient signés par Abubakar Khan;
  4. de fournir tout état de compte, chèque accepté et autre document ou renseignement se rapportant aux comptes bancaires d'actifs en fiducie susmentionnés à Abubakar Khan, syndic gardien, 25, avenue St. Clair Est, pièce 600, Toronto (Ontario) M4T 1M2.

Les présentes instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le demeureront jusqu'à ce que la soussignée soit convaincue qu'elles ne sont plus nécessaires.

Conformément au paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient la Caisse Alterna, qui est tenue de s'y conformer.

Conformément au paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Signé à Ottawa (Ontario) le .

champ d'insertion pour la signature

Rebekah Johnston
Surintendante adjointe des faillites


Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :