Joseph Mathew; Mathew & Associates Ltd.
Directions for Conservatory Measures to Toronto Dominion Bank, 5650 Yonge Street, North York, Ontario, M2M 4G3

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of:
Joseph Mathew and
Mathew & Associates Ltd.


Directions for Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the Superintendent) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas Joseph Mathew (the “Trustee”) is the holder of an individual licence as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas Mathew & Associates Ltd. is the holder of a corporate licence as trustee in bankruptcy;

Whereas the Trustee is the sole practitioner of Mathew & Associates Ltd.;

Whereas the Honourable Justice B. Paris dismissed the Trustee's appeal from reassessments made under the Income Tax Act for the 2001, 2002 and 2003 taxation years pursuant to a judgment rendered August 2, 2012 (the “Judgment”);

Whereas the Superintendent is concerned about the solvency of the Trustee as a result of the Judgment;

Whereas the Trustee's current file inventory totals 1,822 estates;

Whereas according to the 2012 Annual Banking Report, the current estate inventory is comprised of an aggregate amount of approximately $1,643,000 in the trust bank accounts;

Whereas I believe on reasonable grounds that the estates require protection;

Whereas the Superintendent may, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstances referred to in section 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with section 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at section 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in section 14.03(2), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act; and

Whereas paragraphs and 14.03(2)(b) of the Act applies;

I, Diane Valic, in my capacity as delegate for the Superintendent, direct the Toronto Dominion Bank (5650 Yonge Street, North York, Ontario, M2M 4G3) that, pursuant to sections 14.03(1)(b) and (c) of the Act:

  1. it consider upon receipt of the present directions, Navpreet Saini or Marie-Josée Sicard, employees of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, as the only authorized signatories as relates to any operations on the funds credited to the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Joseph Mathew or Mathew & Associates Ltd.;
  2. it make no debit, payment or transfer of funds credited to, or which ought to have been credited to, the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Joseph Mathew or Mathew & Associates Ltd. without the countersignature of Navpreet Saini or Marie-Josée Sicard;
  3. it not pay out of these accounts: cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments, issued before the receipt of these directions which are presented for payment after the receipt of these directions without these cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments being signed by Navpreet Saini or Marie-Josée Sicard;

That these directions take effect immediately and will remain in effect until such time as the undersigned is satisfied that they are no longer required;

That in accordance with section 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind the Toronto Dominion Bank, who must comply with them;

That, pursuant to section 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with this direction is not liable for any act done by that person only to comply with this direction.

Signed at the City of Toronto, Ontario, this 1st day of October, 2012.

space to insert signature

Diane Valic
Assistant Superintendent of Bankruptcy


This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

Date modified:

Joseph Mathew; Mathew & Associates Ltd.
Instructions de mesures conservatoires à l'intention de la Banque Toronto Dominion, 5650, rue Yonge, North York (Ontario), M2M 4G3 —

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire :
Joseph Mathew et
Mathew & Associates Ltd.


Instructions de mesures conservatoires
(article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la Loi) confère au surintendant des faillites (le surintendant) le pouvoir général de contrôler l'administration des actifs et des affaires régis par la Loi;

Considérant que Joseph Mathew (le syndic) est titulaire d'une licence individuelle de syndic de faillite;

Considérant que Mathew & Associates  Ltd. est titulaire d'une licence de syndic de faillite pour personne morale;

Considérant que le syndic est le seul professionnel exerçant au sein de Mathew & Associates Ltd.;

Considérant que le juge B. Paris a rejeté l'appel que le syndic a interjeté à l'encontre de nouvelles cotisations établies en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu pour les années d'imposition 2001, 2002 et 2003 par un jugement rendu le 2 août 2012 (le jugement);

Considérant que le surintendant s'inquiète de la solvabilité du syndic à la suite du jugement;

Considérant que l'inventaire actuel des dossiers du syndic totalise 1 822 dossiers;

Considérant que selon le Rapport bancaire annuel de 2012, l'inventaire actuel des dossiers comprend un montant total d'environ 1 643 000 $ dans les comptes en fiducie;

Considérant que j'ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les actifs ont besoin d'être protégés;

Considérant que le surintendant peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde d'un actif, exercer les pouvoirs énoncés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant m'a délégué, en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, les pouvoirs que lui confère le paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2), et que des copies de la délégation et des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi sont jointes aux présentes;

Considérant que l'alinéa 14.03(2)b) de la Loi s'applique;

Je soussignée, Diane Valic, en ma qualité de déléguée du surintendant, donne instruction à la Banque Toronto Dominion (5650, rue Yonge, North York [Ontario] M2M 4G3), en application des alinéas 14.03(1)b) et c) de la Loi :

  1. de considérer, à compter de la réception des présentes instructions, Navpreet Saini ou Marie-Josée Sicard, employées du Bureau du surintendant des faillites, comme les seuls signataires autorisés relativement aux opérations sur les fonds déposés au crédit des actifs de faillite et de proposition administrés par Joseph Mathew ou Mathew & Associates  Ltd.;
  2. de n'effectuer aucun débit, paiement ou transfert sur les fonds qui ont été ou qui auraient dû être déposés au crédit des actifs de faillite et de proposition administrés par Joseph Mathew ou Mathew & Associates  Ltd., sans que ledit débit, paiement ou transfert ne soit contresigné par Navpreet Saini ou Marie-Josée Sicard;
  3. de ne pas payer à même ces comptes les chèques, lettres de change, traites bancaires ou autres effets de commerce, émis avant la réception des présentes mais présentés pour paiement après réception, sans que lesdits chèques, lettres de change, traites bancaires ou autre ne soient signés par Navpreet Saini ou Marie-Josée Sicard.

Les présentes instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le demeureront jusqu'à ce que la soussignée estime qu'elles ne sont plus nécessaires.

Conformément au paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient la Banque Toronto Dominion, qui est tenue de s'y conformer.

Conformément au paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour tout acte posé dans le seul but de s'y conformer.

Signé à Toronto (Ontario) le 1er octobre 2012.

champ de saisie de la signature

Diane Valic
Surintendante adjointe des faillites

Date de modification :